NEADS Logo - Home
Find us on: Facebook YouTube

Question MarkQuick Question:
Will there be any fees that come with the use of special services at the post-secondary level?


Upcoming Events

More Events

Link of the day

More Links

Donate Now to support NEADS! We need your support!
Donations are tax deductible and you will receive a charitable tax receipt for 100% of your gift.

Donate Now Through CanadaHelps.org!

High School Transition

Student Success Stories

Photo of Holly Bartlett

Holly Bartlett

Holly Bartlett is a fourth year honours psychology student at St. Francis Xavier University in Antigonish, Nova Scotia. For three years, Holly was in the business program, after which she changed to psychology. She is presently applying to grad school. She is visually impaired and has a guide dog named Willow, who helps her live independently. [Full Story]

Photo of Danny Freeman

Danny Freeman

Danny Freeman is a fourth year electrical engineering student who attends Memorial University in Newfoundland. Although he’s faced challenges as a student with Muscular Dystrophy, he had an extremely successful transition from high school to post-secondary school. [Full Story]

Photo of Shane Parker

Shane Parker

Shane is a history major in his fourth year at Mount Allison University in Sackville, New Brunswick. As a student with a learning disability, Shane uses the services of the Meighen Centre for Learning Assistance and Research at Mount Allison. [Full Story]

Photo of Shawn Smith

Shawn Smith

Shawn Smith is a third-year undergraduate student at the University of Prince Edward Island, majoring in history with a minor in political science. He is interested in education and plans to work towards an education degree. Shawn is also a student with a learning disability. [Full Story]

Photo of Jennifer Eddy

Jennifer Eddy

Jennifer Eddy is about to complete her first year at Cambrian College in Ontario. She is a business administration student who says she is extremely happy with her program. Jennifer has a moderate visual impairment to the degree that people often cannot notice her disability. [Full Story]

Photo of Joëlle Arvisais

Joëlle Arvisais

Joëlle Arvisais admits to being one of the “lucky ones.” She says she sailed through the transition from high school to post-secondary education without encountering any problems related to being a student with a physical disability. She recently obtained her bachelor’s degree in Social Work from UQAM (Université du Québec à Montréal), and is currently enjoying a career in the field. [Full Story]

Photo of Lena Cook

Lena Cook

Lena Cook is a student with Cerebral Palsy, but she hasn’t let that stop her from reaching her academic goals. She is currently in her third year of a bachelor of sociology program at the University of Saskatchewan. Lena completed a one-year business program at a community college after high school, and chose to attend university after having trouble finding work out of college. [Full Story]

Photo of Catherine McGowan

Catherine McGowan

Catherine McGowan’s post-secondary career has presented her with a variety of challenges and forks in the road. But with each new path taken, she has learned something about herself and her abilities. [Full Story]

Photo of Jake Fehr

Jake Fehr

Jake Fehr graduated last fall with a bachelor of science degree from the University of Calgary. Despite the difficulties posed by being a postsecondary student with a disability, Jake looks back fondly on his time in university. [Full Story]

Photo of Corey Walker

Corey Walker

Corey Walker has big goals for himself, and he doesn’t intend to let his disabilities get in the way. Corey, who has a visual-perceptual disorder, Tourette’s Syndrome, Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder, and ADHD, is hoping to graduate this year from the University of Northern British Columbia (UNBC) with a bachelor’s degree in English and history. [Full Story]

Photo of MaryAnne Duchesne

MaryAnne Duchesne

MaryAnne Duchesne is a visually impaired mature student in the Northwest Territories. She is also the Territories Representative on the NEADS Board of Directors and the Secretary/Treasurer of the Association. Being a student with disabilities in the Northwest Territories, where services the rest of the country can take advantage of often don’t reach until much later, has posed many problems. But she says her determination has allowed her to combat most of these challenges. [Full Story]




Top

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2017, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.

NEADS Logo - Accueil

QuestionQuestion:
À qui les étudiants ayant des troubles d’apprentissage peuvent-ils s’adresser afin de recevoir des fonds pour les aider à payer les frais d’évaluation de leur état?


événements prochains

Voir d'autres événements

Autre site d'intérêt


Une expérience de travail payée et enrichissante pour des diplômés postsecondaires

Stages lancement de carrière

Aller de l'avant

Exemples de russites tudiantes

Photo de Holly Bartlett

Holly Bartlett

Holly Bartlett est tudiante de quatrime anne au programme de psychologie de l'Universit St. Francis Xavier Antigonish (Nouvelle-cosse). Pendant trois ans, Holly a tudi en administration des affaires et a ensuite bifurqu vers des tudes en psychologie. Elle fait actuellement une demande aux tudes suprieures. Holly prsente une dficience visuelle et a un chien guide du nom de Willow qui l'aide vivre de faon autonome. [version complte]

Photo de Danny Freeman

Danny Freeman

Danny Freeman est tudiant de quatrime anne en gnie lectrique l'Universit Memorial de Terre-Neuve. Bien qu'il ait t confront nombre de dfis au cours de ses tudes en raison de sa dystrophie musculaire, il a tout de mme russi sa transition du cycle secondaire aux tudes postsecondaires. [version complte]

Photo de Shane Parker

Shane Parker

Lorsqu'il tait en cinquime anne du cycle primaire, un professeur d'ducation physique a pris Shane Parker sous son aile et est devenu son mentor. Shane a pass ses annes d'tudes secondaires sous l'oeil attentif de son professeur. Grce cette aide personnalise, la dtermination et au sens aigu du travail de Shane, celui-ci a pu russir ses tudes. [version complte]

Photo de Shawn Smith

Shawn Smith

Shawn Smith est tudiant en troisime anne au premier cycle l'Universit de l'le-du-Prince-douard (UPEI en anglais), avec une majeure en histoire et une mineure en sciences politiques. Il s'intresse au secteur de l'ducation et vise obtenir un diplme dans ce domaine. Shawn est galement un tudiant prsentant des troubles d'apprentissage. [version complte]

Photo de Jennifer Eddy

Jennifer Eddy

Jennifer Eddy terminera sous peu sa premire anne au Collge Cambrian en Ontario. Elle tudie en administration des affaires et dit qu'elle est extrmement satisfaite de son programme. Jennifer prsente une dficience visuelle modre qui n'est pratiquement pas visible, dans une certaine mesure, aux autres. [version complte]

Photo de Jolle Arvisais

Jolle Arvisais

Jolle Arvisais admet qu'elle est une " des chanceuses ", car elle a effectu sa transition de l'cole secondaire aux tudes postsecondaires sans avoir de problmes relis sa dficience physique. Elle a rcemment obtenu son baccalaurat en travail social de l'Universit du Qubec Montral (UQAM), et fait actuellement carrire dans son domaine d'tudes. [version complte]

Photo de Lena Cook

Lena Cook

Lena Cook est une tudiante atteinte de paralysie crbrale, mais cela ne l'as pas empch d'atteindre ses objectifs d'tudes. Elle est actuellement en troisime anne du baccalaurat en sociologie l'Universit de Saskatchewan. Lena a tudi pendant un an en administration dans un collge communautaire aprs ses tudes secondaires et a choisi de poursuivre des tudes universitaires du fait qu'elle avait de la difficult trouver un emploi. [version complte]

Photo de Catherine McGowan

Catherine McGowan

Les tudes postsecondaires de Catherine McGowan ont t semes d'embches et de dtours, mais chaque chemin qu'elle a emprunt lui a permis d'en apprendre un peu plus sur elle-mme et sur ses capacits. [version complte]

Photo de Jake Fehr

Jake Fehr

Jake Fehr a termin ses tudes au cours de l'automne dernier avec un baccalaurat en sciences de l'Universit de Calgary. Malgr les difficults que pose le fait d'tre un tudiant handicap au niveau postsecondaire, Jake garde de bons souvenirs de son passage l'universit. [version complte]

Photo de Corey Walker

Corey Walker

Corey Walker a de grands objectifs personnels et il n'a pas l'intention que sa dficience l'empche de les atteindre. Corey, qui prsente un trouble de perception visuelle, un syndrome de Tourette, un trouble obsessionnel compulsif et un THADA, espre terminer cette anne ses tudes l'University of Northern British Columbia (UNBC) avec un baccalaurat en anglais et en histoire. [version complte]

Photo de MaryAnne Duchesne

MaryAnne Duchesne

MaryAnne Duchesne est une tudiante adulte des Territoires du Nord-Ouest ayant une dficience visuelle. Elle est galement reprsentante des Territoires au Conseil d'administration de NEADS et secrtaire-trsorire de l'Association. Le fait d'tre une tudiante handicape dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest, o les services dont peuvent profiter les autres rgions du pays prennent plus de temps tre offerts, lui a pos beaucoup de problmes. Elle mentionne toutefois que sa dtermination lui a permis de surmonter ces dfis. [version complte]




Haut

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2024, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.