NEADS Logo - Home
Find us on: Facebook YouTube Twitter

Quick Question:
What funding can I get from the Canada Student Loans Program?


Upcoming Events

More Events

Link of the day

More Links

Donate Now to support NEADS! We need your support!
Donations are tax deductible and you will receive a charitable tax receipt for 100% of your gift.

Donate Now Through CanadaHelps.org!

High School Transition

Student Success Stories

Photo of Holly Bartlett



"There is a lot
to be said about
going where
nobody else
has been before."

Holly Bartlett

Holly Bartlett is a fourth year honours psychology student at St. Francis Xavier University in Antigonish, Nova Scotia. For three years, Holly was in the business program, after which she changed to psychology. She is presently applying to grad school. She is visually impaired and has a guide dog named Willow, who helps her live independently.

Holly likes to take on new challenges, and isn’t easily intimidated. One of the reasons she decided to go to St. Francis Xavier was because most students with visual impairments do not choose this campus. They usually choose to attend St. Mary’s University, affiliated with the Atlantic Centre, which specializes in accommodating students with disabilities on the East coast.

Holly says that although Saint Francis Xavier had never had a student with a visual impairment as severe as hers, the university staff was excellent in accommodating her needs. “There is a lot to be said about going where nobody else has been before,” she says. “Rules have not been formed yet and the staff is much more flexible in accommodating one’s particular needs when their experience is new.”

Holly’s advice for a secondary student who would like to pursue a postsecondary education is to spend lots of time scouting out schools before accepting an offer of admission. Holly was very thorough when transitioning from secondary to post-secondary education. She says that as a result, she felt as prepared as one can be for her first year of postsecondary study. One of the keys for her was her involvement with a group called the Atlantic Provinces Special Education Authority (APSEA). This is a governmental agency funded by the Atlantic Provinces to prepare students with visual and hearing impairments to transition from secondary to post-secondary education. APSEA holds a post-secondary week in the spring for students in the Atlantic provinces. During this week, participants discuss and role-play issues such as how to disclose to your professor that you have a disability. Holly had a transition facilitator at APSEA who provided information on all the campuses she was considering attending. When Holly chose an institution to attend, APSEA sent a staff member with Holly to her new campus to help her and Willow become acquainted with the area. Holly also visited the university in August and introduced herself to all her professors. She discussed her required accommodations, such as more time on tests and extensions on assignments in order to have time to electronically scan any research text.

Holly says she has learned many study skills over her time at university, which have helped her become a more independent student. She makes sure to start early on all big assignments. She finds it very difficult to research in the library as none of the computers at St. Francis Xavier are accessible to visually impaired persons. As a result, Holly must make appointments with the librarian to find resources for her work. Occasionally, research texts must be ordered from other libraries, which can take two to three days. After the library has received the books, the pages must be scanned into the computer so she can read the material. No assignment can be completed at the last minute. Holly started developing these habits in her first year, but as the years have gone by and her course load has become heavier, she has perfected her strategy. This is especially crucial for lectures such as mathematics, where it is critical to follow what is written by the professor. In addition to starting early on assignments, Holly advises that students read all lecture notes before the class begins.

Holly is not currently involved with a disabled students’ group. There is no such group on her campus. However, from 1998-2000, she sat on the NEADS Board of Directors as the Nova Scotia Representative.

Outside of classes, Holly loves to travel and has taken advantage of opportunities to visit Mexico and Guatemala at spring break with her school. No challenge is too great for Holly.




Top

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2018, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.

NEADS Logo - Accueil

QuestionQuestion:
Est-ce que le conseiller d’orientation de mon école secondaire peut m’aider à choisir un collège ou une université qui pourra répondre aux besoins particuliers liés à ma déficience tout en offrant des programmes de la qualité requise dans le domaine de mon choix?


événements prochains

Voir d'autres événements

Autre site d'intérêt


Une expérience de travail payée et enrichissante pour des diplômés postsecondaires

Stages lancement de carrière

Aller de l'avant

Exemples de russites tudiantes

Photo of Holly Bartlett



"J'en aurais long
dire sur le
fait d'aller
tudier l o
personne n'a
os le faire
auparavant."

Holly Bartlett

Holly Bartlett est tudiante de quatrime anne au programme de psychologie de l'Universit St. Francis Xavier Antigonish (Nouvelle-cosse). Pendant trois ans, Holly a tudi en administration des affaires et a ensuite bifurqu vers des tudes en psychologie. Elle fait actuellement une demande aux tudes suprieures. Holly prsente une dficience visuelle et a un chien guide du nom de Willow qui l'aide vivre de faon autonome.

Holly aime relever de nouveaux dfis et ne se laisse pas facilement intimider. Une des raisons qui l'a pousse tudier l'Universit St. Francis Xavier est du fait que la plupart des tudiant-e-s prsentant une dficience visuelle ne choisissent pas habituellement ce campus. Ils choisissent plutt de frquenter l'Universit St. Mary's qui est affilie au Centre des rgions de l'Atlantique, lequel se spcialise offrir des amnagements spciaux aux tudiant-e-s handicaps de la Cte Est.

Holly mentionne que mme si l'Universit Saint Francis Xavier n'a jamais eu d'tudiant?e?s prsentant une dficience visuelle aussi grave que la sienne, le personnel de l'universit a pu tout de mme rpondre ses besoins. " J'en aurais long dire sur le fait d'aller tudier l o personne n'a os le faire auparavant " dclare-t-elle. " Du fait qu'il n'y a pas encore de rglementation pour ces services, le personnel est beaucoup plus souple accommoder les besoins particuliers d'une personne handicape lorsque l'exprience est nouvelle. "

Le conseil de Holly pour un tudiant du secondaire qui veut poursuivre des tudes postsecondaires est de consacrer beaucoup de temps dpister les coles avant d'accepter une offre d'admission. Holly a effectu sa transition du cycle secondaire celui des tudes postsecondaire de faon rigoureuse. Elle dit qu'en bout de ligne, elle tait assez bien prpare pour entrer en premire anne d'tudes postsecondaires. Pour elle, une des cls de cette prparation a t sa participation au sein de la Commission de l'enseignement spcial des provinces de l'Atlantique (CESPA). Cette agence gouvernementale est finance par les provinces atlantiques pour aider les tudiant-e-s ayant des dficiences visuelle et auditive faire leur transition du cycle secondaire aux tudes postsecondaires. La CESPA organise une semaine axe sur les tudes postsecondaires au printemps pour les tudiant-e-s des provinces atlantiques. Durant cette semaine, les participant-e-s peuvent discuter et participer des jeux de rle portant sur des sujets comme la faon de divulguer sa dficience son professeur. Holly a eu accs un animateur de transition la CESPA qui lui a fourni de l'information sur tous les campus o elle envisageait faire une demande d'admission. Lorsque Holly a choisi son tablissement d'enseignement, la CESPA a envoy un membre du personnel pour l'accompagner lors de la visite de son nouveau campus pour l'aider, ainsi que Willow, se familiariser son nouvel environnement. Holly a galement visit l'universit au mois d'aot et est alle se prsenter ses nouveaux professeur-e-s. Elle a pu discuter des amnagements dont elle avait besoin, comme des priodes prolonges pour les examens et des dlais plus longs pour la remise des travaux pour qu'elle puisse avoir le temps de scanner les documents de rfrences.

Holly dit avoir appris de nombreuses techniques pour tudier au cycle universitaire; ce qui a contribu ce qu'elle devienne une tudiante plus autonome. Elle s'assure par exemple de commencer ds le dbut de la session ses gros travaux d'tudes. Elle trouve trs difficile de faire des recherches la bibliothque du fait que l'universit ne dispose pas d'ordinateurs accessibles aux personnes ayant une dficience visuelle. Par consquent, Holly doit prendre rendez-vous avec la bibliothcaire afin de trouver les ressources ncessaires pour ses travaux. Occasionnellement, les documents de recherches doivent tre commands dans d'autres bibliothques, ce qui peut prendre parfois de deux trois jours. Une fois que la bibliothque a reu les livres en question, il faut les scanner pour pouvoir ensuite les tlcharger dans un ordinateur de lecture. Elle ne peut pas attendre la dernire minute pour terminer ses travaux. Elle a acquis ces habitudes au cours de sa premire anne d'tudes, mais par la suite et en raison de sa charge d'tudes qui est devenue plus lourde, elle a su raffiner sa stratgie. Cela est particulirement important pendant les cours de mathmatiques, par exemple, o il est essentiel de pouvoir suivre ce que le professeur crit au tableau. En plus de commencer tt ses travaux, Holly suggre aux tudiant-e-s de relire toutes leurs notes avant le dbut du cours.

Actuellement, Holly ne fait pas partie d'un groupe d'tudiant-e-s handicaps, car il n'y en a pas dans son campus. Toutefois, de 1998 2000, elle a sig au Conseil d'administration de NEADS en tant que reprsentante de la Nouvelle-cosse. part de ses tudes, Holly aime voyager et a eu l'occasion de visiter le Mexique et le Guatemala au cours de la semaine de relche du printemps avec son cole. Pour Holly, rien n'est impossible!




Haut

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2024, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.