NEADS National Student Awards Program


The NEADS National Student Awards Program is offered to encourage full access to postsecondary education for persons with disabilities, who often have higher costs and greater barriers to participation in higher education.

Students must currently be accepted to or enrolled in a post-secondary institution and provide documented proof of registration as part of the application and on receipt of the award.

The awards will be offered to outstanding applicants who meet the criteria of the program. The awards are paid directly to the post-secondary institution (in the students’ accounts) that the recipients are attending to offset the cost of tuition fees for post-secondary study.


  • Applicants must be Canadian citizens or permanent residents of Canada.
  • Applicants must have a permanent disability*.
  • Applicants must be currently enrolled** at a post-secondary institution as a full-time student.***

*For the purpose of these awards, a permanent disability is a permanent functional limitation which affects the ability of the student to participate fully in post-secondary education.
**For high school students starting post-secondary studies in September 2022: applicants must be accepted to a post-secondary institution at the time of application.
*** Full-time is defined as 40% of a course-load, as per the Canada Student Financial Assistance Program.

Criteria (application will require students to demonstrate: )

  • Self-advocacy.
  • Strong commitment to academia through study, research, and innovation.
  • Exemplary record of volunteerism and/or employment.
  • Demonstrated potential to be an outstanding participant in the community.
  • Clearly-defined career goals or aspirations

Types of awards available

  • NEADS National Student Awards ($3,000 each).
    • The number of awards given each year is subject to the amount of funding received. In 2022 we have 42 NEADS Student Awards available, with contributions funding from Employment and Social Development Canada through the Supports for Student Learning Program.
  • NEADS Holly Bartlett Memorial Award ($1,000).
  • NEADS Christine Nieder Memorial Award for students pursuing graduate studies ($1,000).
  • AMI Robert Pearson Memorial Scholarship (2 at a value of $5,000 each).
    • (One award provided to a student in the English community, and the other to a Francophone student.)
  • Canada Post Award (1 at $10,000).
  • Bridgeman Hogue Memorial Scholarship for the Visually Impaired (1 at $1,000).
  • Connor Clark & Lunn Financial Group Scholarship, for students pursuing education in a business related field (1 at $5,000).

Selection Process

Once your application has been submitted, it will be reviewed for completeness and adherence to the above guidelines. Assuming all guidelines are met, selection committees review applications based on the selection criteria described above.

Due to the volume of applications received, only those selected to receive an award will be contacted.

For any inquiries pertaining to the application process please contact the financial assistance programs team at:

Deadline: May 31, 2022.

Start an Application