NEADS Student Awards Program winners announced

(Ottawa, August 30, 2012) - The National Educational Association of Disabled Students (NEADS), and our funding partners BMO Capital Markets, Enbridge Liquids Pipelines, Scotiabank, and Industrial Alliance Insurance and Financial Services, are pleased to announce the 10 outstanding winners of the 2012 NEADS Students Awards Program. All recipients receive $3,000 for tuition and student fees.

The recipients of the awards are:

Jennifer Andrews, Business Administration - Finance, Okanagan College
Ella Bowles, PhD in Ecological Evolutionary Genetics, University of Calgary
Cynthia Bruce, PhD in Educational Studies, Acadia University
Shoshana Erlich, Child and Youth Care, Ryerson University
Kelly McEwen, Nursing Education Program, Southern Institute of Science and Technology/University of Saskatchewan
Carrie Moffatt, Bachelor of  Law - Juris Doctor Degree, University of Victoria
Maureen Pytlik, Bachelor of Music (Honours), Carleton University
Michael Robinson, Honours BA Communications and Journalism, University of Ottawa
And another University of Ottawa student, who wishes to remain anonymous.

"Congratulations to the 2012 winners of the NEADS Equity Through Education Student Awards,” said Dr. Mahadeo Sukhai, NEADS Past-President and Chair of the selection committee. "We received over 300 excellent applications for this year's competition. Choosing the winners was an extremely difficult process. The achievements and perseverance of many of our candidates was just incredible. The dedication and success of this year's winners truly embodies the spirit of the Awards program. We wish the winners all the very best in their studies, and look forward to watching their successes in the future. We are grateful to our corporate supporters of this year's program: BMO Capital Markets, Enbridge Liquids Pipelines, Scotiabank and Industrial Alliance and Financial Services."

The NEADS Student Awards Program will be accepting applications for 2013 beginning in the late fall of 2012. Keep checking our website for information and for the online application form, which will be active once we announce the intake of applications.

For further information contact:

Frank Smith, National Coordinator
National Educational Association of Disabled Students (NEADS)
Rm. 426 Unicentre, Carleton University
Ottawa, Ontario, K1S 5B6
tel. (613) 380-8065 ext. 201

"Supporting access to post-secondary education and employment for students with disabilities"