NEADS Accepting Applications to the 2023 Student Awards Program

Deadline: Wednesday May 31st, 2023 at 5pm PT, pacific time

(Ottawa, March 1st, 2023)

The National Educational Association of Disabled Students (NEADS) is now accepting applications for the Canada Post Award, the AMI Robert Pearson Memorial Scholarships, the Connor Clark & Lunn Financial Group scholarship, NEADS National Student Awards, the NEADS Holly Bartlett Memorial Award, the NEADS Christine Nieder Memorial Award and the Katelyn Mitchell Memorial Scholarship for the Visually Impaired.

These awards are offered to encourage full access to post-secondary education for persons with disabilities enrolled in undergraduate, graduate or professional degree programs at recognized Canadian universities, or in certified diploma programs at Canadian colleges or cégep. Where possible, funding will be prioritized to students with disabilities who identify as multi-marginalized e.g. Indigenous, from a visible minority group, part of the LGBTQ2+ community or a first Generation Canadian.

One outstanding applicant will be awarded $10,000 from Canada Post. The Canada Post Student Award recognizes contributions made to Canadian society through community development and knowledge sharing, and will be given to a student who demonstrates leadership, innovation, respect and integrity in their research, studies and community involvement.

Two outstanding applicants (one English, one French) will be eligible for a $5,000 AMI Sir Robert Pearson Memorial scholarship funded by Accessible Media Inc. In its 12th year, this scholarship is named in honour of Accessible Media Inc.’s Accessibility Officer, who passed away in December 2015. Robert Pearson was a long-time employee of AMI and fervent supporter of accessibility in Canada and around the world.

Another applicant who displays community leadership, and who is enrolled in a three+ year program in business, economics, computer science/technology or engineering will receive the Conor Clark & Lunn Financial Group Scholarship valued at $5000.

A to be determined number of applicants will receive a NEADS Student Award in the amount of $3,000. These awards are made possible through generous support from funding sources such as Employment and Social Development Canada’s Supports for Student Learning program. The amount of $3,000 NEADS Student Awards varies yearly depending on amount of funding received.

One eligible applicant will receive the Holly Bartlett Memorial Award, and another will receive the Christine Nieder Memorial Award. Both of these awards are valued at $1,000 and were established in memory of Holly and Christine who were both past NEADS board members. The Christine Nieder Award will where possible be awarded to a student pursuing a graduate program.

Finally, an applicant who self identifies during the application process as being  blind, visually impaired or deaf blind will receive the Katelyn Mitchell Memorial Scholarship for the Visually Impaired. Valued at $1,000, this scholarship is made possible through a group of private donors in Western Canada.

“We are excited to continue to support Canadian disabled post-secondary students for a 16th year and are incredibly proud of having between 2007 and 2021 provided $524,000 of financial assistance to 176 incredibly talented disabled students across Canada,” says Katja Newman, Director of the NEADS Student Awards Program.

Apply for all award types through one central application on the NEADS website until Wednesday May 31st, 2023 at 5pm PT, Pacific time at this link: 

For inquiries related to the application process, contact the NEADS’ Financial Assistance Programs Team at For any other inquiries, contact:

Frank Smith
National Coordinator
National Educational Association of Disabled Students (NEADS)
Rm. 514 Unicentre, Carleton University
Ottawa, Ontario, K1S 5B6

NEADS Social Media

Instagram | Facebook | Twitter | YouTube | LinkedIn

NEADS Websites

Main Site | Scholarships | Employment | Rights | Mailing List Sign-Up