NEADS Logo - Home
Find us on: Facebook YouTube

Learning Today - Leading Tomorrow

Conference Info

Sponsors

Schedule

Video Files

Workshops

Speakers

Contact Us

Sponsors

Workshop Speakers

Emma Arenson Photo

Emma Arenson

University of Western Ontario

Emma became interested in disability rights and disability culture when she was placed in special education at the age of eight. Despite being told that she would not finish high school or go to university, Emma has completed the first year of her Masters in Art History at the University of Western Ontario. She received her Bachelor of Arts (Honours) in Art History from Queen's University in 2009. She has been accepted to study law at Ottawa University in 2011. She owns her own stained glass business and likes to swim, play tennis, and bike.

Alison West Armstrong Photo

Alison West Armstrong

Algonquin College

Alison holds a Masters in Education in Human Needs and Social Services from Antioch University, and a Bachelor of Arts from the University of Western Ontario. Alison has 10 years experience working with students who have psychiatric disabilities and other “non visible” disability groups at Algonquin College. She has worked in collaboration with other student services and community agencies to promote Mental Illness Awareness Week, Mental Health Week, and has developed transition programs to assist students with mental illness who are beginning post-secondary education.

Jennison Asuncion Photo

Jennison Asuncion

Adaptech Research Network

Jennison holds both a Bachelor of Arts (with distinction) in Political Science and a Masters in Educational Technology from Concordia University. He co-directs the Adaptech Research Network and has been conducting research on the use and accessibility of information and communication technology and postsecondary students with disabilities for 13 years. Jennison has a particular interest in the accessibility of various forms of social media used by these students. Jennison is Senior Advisor to the NEADS and is responsible for developing and managing NEADS social media strategy.

Randy Bolton Photo

Randy Bolton

Reaching E-Quality Employment Services (REES)

Randy has over eight years of experience in the employment field and many more in transition experience. He is a Certified Job Search Coach with extensive education, training and experience in Career Counselling, Applied Counselling and Case Management. He has provided employment marketing and support services to persons with disabilities and health conditions for Reaching E-Quality Employment Services for over six years.

Jillian Budd Photo

Jillian Budd

Adaptech Research Network

Jillian is currently an undergraduate in Honours Psychology at Concordia University. She is a long-time research assistant with the Adaptech Research Network. Jillian also works with adolescents with learning disabilities at the Department of Educational and Counselling Psychology at McGill University

Elizabeth Cherniak Photo

Elizabeth Cherniak

Brock University

Elizabeth is a graduate student in Comparative Literature & Arts at Brock University. She has the experience of “hearing” for half her life and being “deafened” for the other half. Also, as a skilled teacher of English as a Second Language, Elizabeth teaches “listening” to international students.

Jason Dunkerley Photo

Jason Dunkerley

Active Living Alliance for Canadians with a Disability

Jason is the coordinator of All Abilities Welcome, a national initiative aimed at promoting greater inclusion of Canadians with a disability in community recreation programming. As a three-time Paralympic medallist in track for visually impaired competitors, Jason is passionate about physical activity and how exposure to it can positively impact the lives of people of all abilities

Catherine Fichten Photo

Catherine Fichten

Adaptech Research Network

Catherine received a Bachelor of Science degree in Psychology from McGill University, a Master's Degree in Experimental Psychology from Concordia University, and Ph.D. in Clinical Psychology from McGill University. She is currently a Professor in the Department of Psychology at Dawson College and an Associate Professor in the Department of Psychiatry at McGill University. She is also a clinical psychologist at the Behavioural Psychotherapy and Research Unit of the Jewish General Hospital. Her research interests include factors which affect success in post-secondary education for students with disabilities, with a special focus on computer and information technologies.

David Fourney Photo

David Fourney

Ryerson University

David is a Ph.D. Candidate in Industrial Engineering at Ryerson University. He holds degrees in Psychology and Computer Science from the University of Saskatchewan. A hard of hearing person, David is internationally recognized for his expertise in accessibility. He is a Canadian technical expert involved in the development of various international standards in the fields of ergonomics and user interfaces. A long-time advocate for the needs of post-secondary students with disabilities, David served two terms on the Board of NEADS as the Saskatchewan Director (1994-1998). David's research interests include accessible media, and methods for inclusive design.

Jasmine Gillis Photo

Jasmine Gillis

Memorial University of Newfoundland

Jasmine is from St. Fintan’s, a small town on the West Coast of Newfoundland. Hard of hearing since her childhood, Jasmine has used a hearing aid and FM system throughout her academic career. Jasmine will be graduating in May with a Bachelor of Science, major in Psychology from Sir Wilfred Grenfell College, a campus of Memorial University

Blair Gosselin Photo

Blair Gosselin

GE Canada

Blair is in his final year of studies at McMaster University, where he is enrolled in the Engineering and Management Program with a major in Electrical Engineering. During his time at McMaster, Blair has held two internship positions. The first was a four-month internship with Toolbox Solutions, a category-management consulting firm. Blair is currently on his second internship, an eight-month placement as an assistant account management with GE Capital Canada.

Tammy Harrison Photo

Tammy Harrison

Nova Scotia Community College

As a Disability Services Coordinator with the Nova Scotia Community College Disability Services Department, Tammy brings 11 years of secondary and adult teaching experience as well as almost 8 years of disability service experience. She has specific interests in executive functioning, ergonomics and assistive technology resources and tools.

Murdena Kolenko Photo

Murdena Kolenko

Nova Scotia Community College

As a Disability Resource Facilitator with the Nova Scotia Community College, Murdena carries a wealth of information related to disabilities and how they impact an individual in a learning environment and life. Through 31 years of service in the school system in Labrador West, Newfoundland and Labrador, Murdena worked with students who had various social, emotional and learning barriers to overcome. Currently, as a service facilitator for adults, Murdena continues to work with individuals who experience barriers to learning.

Heather Korol Photo

Heather Korol

Reaching E-Quality Employment Services (REES)

Heather has been involved in the human service field for over 10 years. She has completed two degrees in the field and these studies include a Bachelor in Human Development: Development Studies and a Bachelor in Community Rehabilitation and Disability Studies. Heather is the Manager of Programs and Operation at Reaching E-Quality Employment Services (REES) where she assists with the promotion, facilitation and maintenance of employment for people with disabilities.

Sylvie Lirette Photo

Sylvie Lirette

Université de Moncton

After working as an occupational therapist in the field of mental health for six years, Sylvie is returning to school to get a Master's and redirect her career toward social work. She would like to share the resources that have allowed her to successfully transition from university to the workforce.

Nancy Moulday Photo

Nancy Moulday

TD Bank Financial Group

Nancy is Manager of Recruitment for TD Business Banking. She has held various positions with the organization during her more than 23-year career, including roles HR and recruitment where she was involved with hiring hundreds of staff from inside and outside the bank. Currently, Nancy manages recruitment for the Commercial Banking Associate program. Nancy is also the past president of The Canadian Association of Career Educators and Employers (CACEE) and currently sits on its advisory committee

Mai Nhu Nguyen Photo

Mai Nhu Nguyen

Adaptech Research Network

Mai received her Bachelor of Science degree in psychology from Université de Montréal. She is currently working as a research associate for the Research Adaptech Network. Her research interests relate to the benefits of internet for students with disabilities, particularly those with hearing impairments.

Merrick Pilling Photo

Merrick Pilling

York University

Merrick Pilling is a doctoral candidate in Women's Studies at York University. Research interests include theorizing madness, the intersections between critical disability studies and queer and trans studies, and the impacts of dominant understandings of mental health on the everyday lives of queer and trans people.

Carolina Pineda Photo

Carolina Pineda

McGill University

Carolina is a doctoral candidate in Anthropology at McGill University. Her research focuses on the experiences of individuals living with chronic illness in Montreal. This research builds on her experiences living with an autoimmune disease, systemic lupus erythematosus. Alongside her studies Carolina advocates for the rights of students with disabilities as the Project Manager for l’Association québécoise des étudiants ayant des incapactites au postsecondaire. She was awarded a NEADS Equity Through Education Award in 2007 and, more recently, a Student Leadership Award from Canadian Association of Disability Service Providers in Post-Secondary Education (CADSPPSE).

Kara Quennell Photo

Kara Quennell

McGill University

Kara is currently working on her undergraduate honours thesis in Medical Anthropology at McGill University. Her interest in health and disability stems from her work and volunteering in the inner city of Saskatoon as well as her own experience living with Systemic Lupus Erythrematosus (SLE).

Jennifer Richardson Photo

Jennifer Richardson

University of Regina

Jennifer was diagnosed with dyslexia in her third year of university and has gone on to obtain a Bachelors of Social Work and Bachelor of Health Studies through the University of Regina. Currently she is completing her Masters of Social Work, focusing on culturally appropriate cancer services and health care.

Faisel Saeed Photo

Faisel Saeed

BMO Financial Group

Faisel has a PhD in Computer Science and has overcome several obstacles in academia faced by a person with a mobility disability. He has held several roles in technology, finance and risk management including scientific research at NASA. Faisel is currently working as a Senior Manager in Enterprise Analytics at BMO Financial Group where he manages a team of 8 people. He has successfully recruited and managed employees with and without disabilities. Faisel has served on the board of directors for several non-profit organizations. He is currently serving on the board of directors for March of Dimes.

Margaret Sanderson Photo

Margaret Sanderson

Brock University

Margaret is the University Accessibility Co-ordinator at Brock University. In this position Margaret has established the Accessibility for Ontarians with Disabilities Act (AODA) compliance framework for the university, produces the Accessibility@Brock newsletter, advises academic and administrative areas on accessibility issues and acts as staff liaison to the Brock University Accessibility Advisory Committee. Margaret returned to university as a mature student with a disability and graduated from University of Waterloo in 2007 with a Masters in Planning; research concentration in the area of accessibility planning for persons with disabilities.

Leah Simeone Photo

Leah Simeone

University of Ottawa

Leah is a third year student-at-law at the University of Ottawa. She works with the Canadian Hard of Hearing Society as well as Reach Canada to promote disability awareness and accessibility in Ontario and Canada. She hopes to continue her work in disability rights as she establishes her legal career.

Mahadeo Sukhai Photo

Mahadeo Sukhai

NEADS

Dr. Mahadeo Sukhai is a senior post-doctoral fellow in translational leukemia biology at the Ontario Cancer Institute in Toronto and an associate researcher at the Centre for the Study of Students (CSS) in post-secondary education at The Ontario Institute for Studies in Education of the University of Toronto. Dr. Sukhai has served on the NEADS board of directors for six years, as president and secretary. Dr. Sukhai has received numerous awards for his scientific, community and leadership achievements, and has multiple publications to his credit. Dr. Sukhai co-directed the NEADS-CSS financial barriers study.

Carol Thiessen Photo

Carol Thiessen

Manitoba Hydro

Carol is the Employment Equity Specialist at Manitoba Hydro and is herself a person with a disability. She is responsible for coordinating, reviewing and enhancing employment systems that support the education, recruitment, development and retention of employment equity group members. Carol is the Chair of the Manitoba Employment Equity Practitioners Association, and is a board member of Reaching E-Quality Employment Services and the Canadian Council on Rehabilitation and Work (CCRW). She has a Bachelor of Commerce Degree, a Master of Public Administration, a Master of Business Administration and is a Certified Human Resources Professional.

Shari Thompson Photo

Shari Thompson

University of Saskatchewan

Shari is an Employment Coordinator at the Student Employment & Career Centre, at the University of Saskatchewan. Shari works with students to facilitate a successful transition from education to employment and with employers to coordinate on-campus recruitment efforts. For the past nineteen years Shari has worked in the employment field, including four years as an Employment Marketer for people with disabilities. She has a passion for employment, job search and helping students or alumni find the work and the career that they love.

Cara Wilkie Photo

Cara Wilkie

Bakerlaw

Cara leads Bakerlaw’s consulting practice and has conducted projects for the Council of Canadians with Disabilities, the Canadian Human Rights Commission, the Accessibility Directorate of Ontario, and Disability Rights Promotion International. She litigates in courts and administrative tribunals, with a focus on human rights, employment, health, and civil litigation.

Conrad Winn Photo

Conrad Winn

COMPAS Inc.

Dr. Conrad Winn is founding CEO of COMPAS. One of Canada’s experts in public opinion and market research, Conrad has provided research to hundreds of clients over the last 30 years. He is currently engaged by the Government of Canada through Human Resources and Skills Development Canada to explain to people with disabilities, and their caregivers, how the Registered Disability Savings Plan (RDSP) can benefit them. He is a Professor at Carleton University in Ottawa, specializing in strategic communications and public affairs strategies.

Jeffrey Zavala Photo

Jeffrey Zavala

York University

Jeffery has overcome obstacles of a learning disability to obtain an Honours Bachelors of Arts in Humanities and Communication studies. He is currently working on his second degree with a double major in Anthropology and Latin American & Caribbean Studies at York University and owns his own business. Jeffery has served as Chair of the board of directors for a community based radio station, and more recently began working for the Canadian Council of Rehabilitation and Work as a Project Coordinator for the YAST program.




Top

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2017, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.

NEADS Logo - Accueil
Trouvez-nous sur : Facebook YouTube

Apprendre aujourd’hui – diriger demain

Information sur la conférence

Commanditaires

Inscription

Horaire

Ateliers

Conférenciers

Élection

Nous joindreCommanditaires

Conférenciers

Emma Arenson Photo

Emma Arenson

Université de Western Ontario

Emma s’intéresse aux droits des personnes handicapées et à la culture des personnes handicapées depuis qu’on l’a placée dans une classe adaptée alors qu’elle avait 8 ans. Même si on lui a dit qu’elle ne finirait pas ses études secondaires et qu’elle n’irait pas à l’université, Emma a terminé la première année de sa maîtrise en histoire de l’art à l’Université Western Ontario. Elle a obtenu son baccalauréat ès arts (avec distinction) en histoire de l’art à l’Université Queen's en 2009. Elle entreprendra ses études de droit à l’Université d’Ottawa en 2011. Elle est propriétaire de sa propre entreprise de fabrication d’objets en vitrail et elle aime se baigner, jouer au tennis et faire de la bicyclette.

Alison West Armstrong Photo

Alison West Armstrong

Collège Algonquin

Alison est titulaire d’une maîtrise en éducation avec spécialisation en besoins humains et en services sociaux de l’Université Antioch et d’un baccalauréat ès arts de l’Université Western Ontario. Elle a travaillé pendant dix ans avec des étudiants ayant des déficiences psychiques et d’autres groupes d’étudiants ayant des déficiences non visibles au Collège Algonquin. Elle a travaillé en collaboration avec d’autres services d’étudiants et organismes communautaires à faire la promotion de la Semaine de sensibilisation aux maladies mentales et de la Semaine de la santé mentale, et elle a établi des programmes de transition pour aider les étudiants ayant une maladie mentale qui entament des études postsecondaires.

Jennison Asuncion Photo

Jennison Asuncion

RĂ©seau de Rechercne Adaptech

Jennison est titulaire d’un baccalauréat ès arts (avec distinction) en sciences politiques et d’une maîtrise en technologie pédagogique de l’Université Concordia. Il codirige le Réseau de Recherche Adaptech et fait depuis 13 ans de la recherche sur l’utilisation et l’accessibilité des technologies de l’information et des communications et sur les étudiants handicapés au niveau postsecondaire. Jennison manifeste un intérêt particulier pour l’accessibilité de diverses formes de médias sociaux qu’utilisent ces étudiants. Il est conseiller principal à NEADS et est responsable de l’élaboration et de la gestion d’une stratégie de NEADS en matière de médias sociaux.

Randy Bolton Photo

Randy Bolton

Reaching E-Quality Employment Services (REES)

Randy a plus de huit ans d’expérience dans le domaine de l’emploi et plusieurs autres années d’expérience en matière de transition. Il est un conseiller agréé en recherche d’emploi ayant fait beaucoup d’études, suivi une longue formation et acquis énormément d’expérience en counseling professionnel, counseling appliqué et gestion de cas. Depuis plus de six ans, il fournit des services d’emploi, de marketing et de soutien aux personnes ayant des déficiences de tous genres pour Reaching E-Quality Employment Services.

Jillian Budd Photo

Jillian Budd

RĂ©seau de Rechercne Adaptech

Jillian est actuellement une étudiante inscrite au programme de baccalauréat avec spécialisation en psychologie à l’Université Concordia. Elle est depuis longtemps une adjointe à la recherche du Réseau de Recherche Adaptech. Elle travaille aussi auprès des adolescents ayant des troubles d’apprentissage au département de psychopédagogie et de psychologie du counseling de l’Université McGill.

Elizabeth Cherniak Photo

Elizabeth Cherniak

Université Brock

Elizabeth fait des études supérieures en littérature et en arts comparatifs à l’Université Brock. Elle a été entendante pendant la moitié de sa vie et est ensuite devenue sourde. De plus, en tant que professeure d’anglais langue seconde qualifiée, elle enseigne comment « entendre » à des étudiants étrangers.

Jason Dunkerley Photo

Jason Dunkerley

Alliance de vie active des Canadiens/Canadiennes ayant un handicap

Jason est le coordonnateur de Participation sans frontières, une initiative nationale visant à promouvoir l’inclusion plus grande des Canadiens handicapés dans les programmes communautaires de loisirs. Jason, trois fois médaillé paralympique aux épreuves sur piste pour concurrents aveugles, se passionne pour l’activité physique et sa capacité d’influer positivement sur la vie de toutes les personnes qui la pratiquent, quelles que soient leurs habiletés.

Catherine Fichten Photo

Catherine Fichten

RĂ©seau de Rechercne Adaptech

Catherine a obtenu un baccalauréat ès sciences avec spécialisation en psychologie à l’Université McGill, une maîtrise en psychologie expérimentale à l’Université Concordia et un doctorat en psychologie clinique à l’Université McGill. Elle enseigne actuellement au Département de psychologie du Collège Dawson et est professeure agrégée au Département de psychiatrie de l’Université McGill. Elle est également psychologue clinicienne à l’unité de psychothérapie et de recherche comportementale de l’Hôpital Général Juif. Elle s’intéresse de façon particulière à la recherche sur les facteurs qui influent sur le succès des étudiants handicapés au niveau postsecondaire, notamment les technologies informatiques et de l’information.

David Fourney Photo

David Fourney

Université Ryerson

David est un candidat au doctorat en ingénierie industrielle à l’Université Ryerson. Il est titulaire de diplômes en psychologie et en informatique de l’Université de la Saskatchewan. David, qui est une personne malentendante, est reconnu à l’échelle internationale pour ses compétences spécialisées en accessibilité. Il est un spécialiste technique canadien participant à l’élaboration de diverses normes internationales dans les domaines de l’ergonomie et de l’interface utilisateur. David, qui milite depuis longtemps pour les besoins des étudiants handicapés du niveau postsecondaire, a rempli deux mandats au Conseil d’administration de NEADS en tant qu’administrateur de la Saskatchewan (1994-1998). Sur le plan de la recherche, David s’intéresse aux médias accessibles et aux méthodes de conception universelle.

Jasmine Gillis Photo

Jasmine Gillis

Université Memorial de Terre-Neuve

Jasmine est native de St. Fintan’s, un petit village sur la côte ouest de Terre-Neuve. Malentendante depuis son enfance, Jasmine a utilisé un appareil auditif et un système FM tout au long de sa carrière universitaire. Jasmine obtiendra en mai un baccalauréat ès sciences avec spécialisation en psychologie du Collège Sir Wilfred Grenfell, un campus de l’Université Memorial.

Blair Gosselin Photo

Blair Gosselin

GE Canada

Tammy Harrison Photo

Tammy Harrison

Nova Scotia Community College

En tant que coordonnatrice des services aux personnes handicapées du département des services aux personnes handicapées du Nova Scotia Community College, Tammy cumule onze ans d’expérience en enseignement auprès des étudiants du secondaire et des apprenants adultes et presque huit ans d’expérience en services aux personnes handicapées. Elle s’intéresse de façon plus particulière aux fonctions exécutives, à l’ergonomie et aux ressources et outils relevant des technologies d’aide.

Murdena Kolenko Photo

Murdena Kolenko

Nova Scotia Community College

En tant qu’employé du Nova Scotia Community College chargé de fournir des ressources aux personnes handicapées, Murdena est une mine d’information sur les déficiences et leur impact sur le milieu d’apprentissage et la vie des individus. Pendant ses 31 ans de service dans le système scolaire de l’ouest du Labrador et de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, il a travaillé avec des étudiants ayant divers obstacles à surmonter sur le plan social, émotionnel et de l’apprentissage. Dans le cadre de ses fonctions actuelles, Murdena continue de travailler avec des adultes aux prises avec des obstacles à l’apprentissage en les aidant à accéder aux services dont ils ont besoin.

Heather Korol Photo

Heather Korol

Reaching E-Quality Employment Services (REES)

Heather travaille dans le domaine des services à la personne depuis plus de dix ans. Elle a obtenu deux grades dans le domaine, dont un baccalauréat en développement humain et un autre en études sur la réadaptation communautaire et l’incapacité. Heather est directrice des programmes et des opérations à Reaching E-Quality Employment Services (REES) où elle contribue à la promotion, à la facilitation et au maintien de l’emploi pour les personnes handicapées.

Sylvie Lirette Photo

Sylvie Lirette

Université de Moncton

Après avoir travaillé en tant qu’ergothérapeute dans le domaine de la santé mentale pendant six ans, Sylvie retourne aux études pour obtenir une maîtrise et réorienter sa carrière vers le travail social. Elle aimerait partager les ressources qui lui ont permis de réussir sa transition entre les études universitaires et le monde de l’emploi.

Nancy Moulday Photo

Nancy Moulday

Groupe financier Banque TD

Nancy est directrice du recrutement aux Services bancaires commerciaux TD. Pendant sa carrière au sein de cette organisation, qui s’échelonne sur plus de 23 ans, elle a occupé divers postes, y compris en ressources humaines et en recrutement, qui l’ont amenée à participer à l’embauche de centaines d’employés de l’intérieur et de l’extérieur de la banque. À l’heure actuelle, elle gère le recrutement pour le programme à l’intention des associés, Services bancaires commerciaux. Nancy a aussi été présidente de la Canadian Association of Career Educators and Employers (CACEE) et fait actuellement partie de son comité consultatif.

Mai Nhu Nguyen Photo

Mai Nhu Nguyen

RĂ©seau de Rechercne Adaptech

Mai a obtenu son baccalauréat ès sciences en psychologie à l’Université de Montréal. Elle est actuellement adjointe à la recherche pour le Réseau de Recherche Adaptech. Dans le cadre de ses recherches, elle s’intéresse particulièrement aux avantages d’Internet pour les étudiants handicapés, notamment ceux ayant des déficiences auditives.

Merrick Pilling Photo

Merrick Pilling

Université York

Merrick Pilling est une candidate au doctorat en études féminines à l’Université York. Sur le plan de la recherche, elle s’intéresse à la théorie de la démence, au recoupement entre les études critiques sur la condition des personnes handicapées et les études sur les homosexuels et les transgenres, de même qu'aux impacts des « manières dominantes de comprendre » la santé mentale sur la vie quotidienne des personnes homosexuelles et transgenres.

Carolina Pineda Photo

Carolina Pineda

Université McGill

Carolina est une candidate au doctorat en anthropologie à l’Université McGill. Ses recherches sont axées sur les expériences de personnes vivant avec une maladie chronique à Montréal. Cette recherche fait fond sur sa propre expérience de la vie avec une maladie auto-immune, le lupus érythémateux disséminé. En plus de poursuivre ses études, Carolina défend les droits des étudiants handicapés en tant que gestionnaire de projet pour l’Association québécoise des étudiants ayant des incapacités au postsecondaire. Elle a obtenu un prix du programme Action-Éducation de NEADS en 2007 et, plus récemment, un prix de leadership étudiant de la Canadian Association of Disability Service Providers in Post-Secondary Education (CADSPPSE).

Kara Quennell Photo

Kara Quennell

Université McGill

Kara rédige actuellement sa thèse dans le cadre du programme de premier cycle spécialisé en anthropologie médicale à l’Université McGill. Son intérêt pour la santé et l’incapacité découle de son travail à titre d’employée et bénévole au centre-ville de Saskatoon, ainsi que de sa propre expérience de la vie avec le lupus érythémateux disséminé.

Jennifer Richardson Photo

Jennifer Richardson

Université de Regina

Jennifer a reçu le diagnostic de dyslexie pendant sa troisième année d’études universitaires, ce qui ne l’a pas empêchée d’obtenir un baccalauréat en travail social et un baccalauréat en études de la santé à l’Université de Regina. Elle termine actuellement sa maîtrise en travail social en se concentrant sur les services oncologiques et les soins de santé culturellement appropriés.

Faisel Saeed Photo

Faisel Saeed

BMO Groupe financier

Margaret Sanderson Photo

Margaret Sanderson

Université Brock

Margaret est la coordonnatrice de l’accessibilité à l’Université Brock. Ses fonctions l'ont amené à établir le cadre de conformité de l’Université avec la Loi de 2005 sur l’accessibilité pour les personnes handicapées de l’Ontario. De plus, elle produit le bulletin Accessibility@Brock, conseille les secteurs universitaire et administratif sur les questions d’accessibilité et assure la liaison entre le personnel et le Comité consultatif sur l’accessibilité de l’Université Brock. Margaret est retournée aux études en tant qu’étudiante adulte handicapée et a obtenu en 2007 une maîtrise en urbanisme à l’Université de Waterloo. Sa recherche a surtout porté sur la planification de l’accessibilité pour les personnes handicapées.

Leah Simeone Photo

Leah Simeone

Université d'Ottawa

Mahadeo Sukhai Photo

Mahadeo Sukhai

NEADS

Mahadeo Sukhai est détenteur d’une bourse de perfectionnement professionnel en biologie translationnelle de la leucémie à l’Institut ontarien du cancer de Toronto et un chercheur associé au Centre for the Study of Students (CSS) (centre d'étude des étudiants au niveau postsecondaire) de l’Institut d’études pédagogiques de l’Ontario à l’Université de Toronto. Il a été membre du Conseil d’administration de NEADS pendant six ans, à titre de président et de secrétaire. Il a reçu de nombreux prix pour ses réalisations dans les domaines des sciences, de l’action communautaire et du leadership et a de multiples publications à son actif. Monsieur Sukhai a codirigé l’étude conjointe de NEADS et du CSS sur les obstacles financiers.

Carol Thiessen Photo

Carol Thiessen

Manitoba Hydro

Carol est la spécialiste de l’équité en emploi de Manitoba Hydro et est elle-même une personne handicapée. Elle est responsable de la coordination, de l’examen et de l’amélioration des systèmes d’emploi qui favorisent l’éducation, le recrutement, le perfectionnement et le maintien en poste de membres des groupes visés par la législation sur l’équité en emploi. Carol est la présidente de la Manitoba Employment Equity Practitioners Association et un membre des conseils d’administration de Reaching E-Quality Employment Services et du Conseil canadien de la réadaptation et du travail (CCRT). Elle a un baccalauréat en commerce, une maîtrise en administration publique et une maîtrise en administration des affaires et elle est une conseillère en ressources humaines agréée.

Shari Thompson Photo

Shari Thompson

Université de la Saskatchewan

Shari est une coordonnatrice de l’emploi au centre d’emploi et de carrières de l’Université de la Saskatchewan. Elle travaille avec les étudiants pour faciliter leur transition réussie entre les études et l’emploi, ainsi qu’avec les employeurs pour coordonner les efforts de recrutement sur le campus. Au cours des 19 dernières années, Shari a travaillé dans le domaine de l’emploi, dont quatre années en tant que spécialiste du marketing pour les personnes handicapées. Elle se passionne pour l’emploi, la recherche d’emploi et l’aide aux étudiants ou aux anciens afin qu’ils trouvent le travail et la carrière qu’ils aimeront.

Cara Wilkie Photo

Cara Wilkie

Bakerlaw

Cara dirige le service de consultation de Bakerlaw et a mené des projets pour le Conseil des Canadiens avec déficiences, la Commission canadienne des droits de la personne, la Direction générale de l’accessibilité pour l’Ontario et Disability Rights Promotion International. Elle plaide devant les tribunaux et les instances administratives notamment dans les procès axés sur les droits de la personne, l’emploi, la santé et les affaires civiles.

Conrad Winn Photo

Conrad Winn

COMPAS Inc.

Monsieur Winn est le p.-d.g. fondateur de COMPAS. Il est un des spécialistes du Canada en matière de recherche sur l’opinion publique et l’étude de marché, ayant réalisé des recherches pour des centaines de clients au cours des 30 dernières années. À l’heure actuelle, il travaille pour le ministère fédéral des Ressources humaines et du Développement des compétences pour expliquer aux personnes handicapées et à leurs fournisseurs de soins comment ils peuvent bénéficier du Régime enregistré d’épargne-invalidité (REEI). Professeur à l’Université Carleton d’Ottawa, il se spécialise en communications stratégiques et en stratégies en matière d’affaires publiques.

Jeffrey Zavala Photo

Jeffrey Zavala

Université York

Jeffery a surmonté les obstacles attribuables à un trouble d’apprentissage et a obtenu un baccalauréat ès arts avec spécialisation en lettres et sciences humaines et en communication. Il travaille actuellement à l’obtention de son deuxième diplôme avec double mention en anthropologie et en études latino-américaines et caraïbes à l’Université York et est propriétaire de sa propre entreprise. Jeffery a été président du conseil d’administration d’une station radiophonique communautaire et, plus récemment, a commencé à travailler avec le Conseil canadien de la réadaptation et du travail en tant que coordonnateur du projet YAST (Youth Ability in Skill Trades).




Haut

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2017, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.