NEADS Logo - Home
Find us on: Facebook YouTube

Learning Today - Leading Tomorrow

Conference Info

Sponsors

Schedule

Video Files

Workshops

Speakers

Contact Us

Sponsors

Conference Information

The National Educational Association of Disabled Students (NEADS) is pleased to announce our 2010 national conference, “Learning Today, Leading Tomorrow.” It will take place at the Delta Hotel in Winnipeg, Manitoba from November 12-14, 2010. The conference will focus on solutions to drive change.

This year’s event will be an exciting opportunity for students, consumer advocates, service providers, employers and all others interested in exploring key issues of equal access to post-secondary education and employment for students and graduates with disabilities. We welcome delegates from across Canada and around the world. The conference is being organized by a Conference Planning Committee, comprised of NEADS board members.

Format

The conference operates on a single-track. This means that all delegates will participate in all of our workshops:

NEADS wishes to acknowledge BMO Capital Markets' Equity Through Education Program's support of the Job Search Strategies workshop, which is one in a series of forums being held across the country from 2005 – 2011.

In addition to a Saturday evening banquet, we will hold our Annual General Meeting and elections for our 2011-2012 Board of Directors on Sunday.

Early Registration

If you register on or by October 8, you can take advantage of an early registration fee of $125.00CDN for students and $200.00 CDN for all others. After October 8, the registration fee is $175.00CDN for student delegates and $300.00 CDN for all others. Optional tickets for our Saturday evening Banquet will also be available for a nominal fee of $10.00 CDN

Hotel

Guest rooms are available at the Delta Winnipeg Hotel (350 St. Mary Avenue) at the conference rate of $120 CDN per night plus tax, single or double occupancy. Additional accessible rooms are also available at the Place Louis Riel Hotel (190 Smith Street) at a rate of $125.00 CDN plus tax per night, single or double occupancy.

Delegates can book and pay for their accommodations at the Delta Hotel contacting toll-free 1-888-311-4990. When booking at the Delta, mention the group "NEADS" to get the conference rate. To book and pay for a room at the Place Louis Riel Hotel, contact the hotel toll-free at 1-800-665-0569. When booking, mention the group "NEADS" to get the conference rate. Accessible rooms are available at both hotels upon request, however, roll-in showers are only available at the Place Louis Riel Hotel.

Scent-Free Event

Please note that in consideration of those with allergies and respiratory problems, this conference is a scent-free event. Participants are asked to use unscented products in lieu of scented toiletries and detergents, and to refrain from wearing perfumes and colognes.

Transportation

A taxi from the Winnipeg International Airport to the hotel is approximately $15.00. Accessible taxis are available by request by contacting Unicity Taxi (204-925-3131) or Duffy Taxi (204-925-0101). Delegate may also make use Winnipeg Transit's Route 15 bus to make trip to and from the airport. Adapted transportation can be arrranged by NEADS upon request.

Interpretation/Technical Support

Simultaneous French/English language interpretation will be offered throughout the conference.

All technical equipment and services, including amplification for hard of hearing delegates, will be supplied by our A/V supplier.

Sign language interpreters will be provided during the workshops.

TTY Access

The Delta offers a TTY for your convenience. Arrangements must be made in advance with the conference staff. The hotel will bring a TTY to your room, based on availability.

Conference Site Floorplan

Delta Winnipeg Hotel Floorplan


Top

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2017, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.

NEADS Logo - Accueil
Trouvez-nous sur : Facebook YouTube

Apprendre aujourd’hui – diriger demain

Information sur la conférence

Commanditaires

Inscription

Horaire

Ateliers

Conférenciers

Élection

Nous joindreCommanditaires

Informations sur la conférence

L'Association nationale des étudiant(e)s handicapé(e)s au niveau post secondaire est heureuse de vous annoncer la tenue de sa prochaine conférence : Apprendre aujourd’hui – diriger demain. Cette conférence aura lieu à Winnipeg, à l'hôtel Delta Winnipeg du 12 au 14 novembre 2010.

Cette conférence sera riche en possibilités d’échange pour les étudiants, les consommaticiennes , les fournisseurs de services, les employeurs et tous ceux qui sont intéressés et désirent explorer les principaux enjeux de l’accès équitable à l’éducation postsecondaire et aux possibilités d’emploi pour les étudiants et diplômés handicapés. Nous invitons les délégués de partout au Canada et de partout dans le monde. La conférence est organisée par un Comité de planification, composé des membres du conseil d'administration de NEADS.

Format

La conférence ne comporta pas de séances parallèles cette année. Ainsi, tous les participants pourront participer aux ateliers.

NEADS désire remercier BMO Marchés des capitaux, dont un don généreux dans le cadre de son Programme Action-Éducation nous permet d’offrir l’atelier Stratégies de recherche d’emploi, qui fait partie d’une série d’ateliers tenus dans tout le pays de 2005 à 2011, sur ce thème.

Outre le banquet qui aura lieu le samedi soir, nous tiendrons notre assemblée générale annuelle et nous élirons le dimanche notre conseil d’administration pour 2011-2012.

Inscription

Si vous vous inscrivez d’ici le 8 octobre, vous profiterez d’un tarif préférentiel de 125 $ CAN pour les étudiants, et de 200 $ CAN pour les autres. Après le 8 octobre, les frais d’inscription montent à 175 $ CAN pour les étudiants et à 300 $ CAN pour tous les autres. De plus, on peut se procurer des billets pour le banquet du samedi soir, au coût nominal de 10 $ CAN chacun.

Hôtel

Les participants peuvent réserver une chambre à l’Hôtel Delta Winnipeg (350, avenue St. Mary) au tarif préférentiel pour la conférence de 120 $ CAN la nuitée, taxes en sus, en occupation simple ou double. Des chambres accessibles sont également disponibles à l’hôtel Place Louis Riel (190, rue Smith) au tarif de 125 $ CAN la nuitée plus taxes, en occupation simple ou double.

Les participants peuvent réserver et payer leur chambre à l’Hôtel Delta Winnipeg en appelant sans frais au 1-888-311-4990. Quand vous réservez votre chambre à l’Hôtel Delta Winnipeg, n’oubliez pas de mentionner le code de groupe NEADS pour profiter du taux préférentiel pour la conférence. Pour réserver et payer une chambre à l’hôtel Place Louis Riel, vous pouvez appeler l’hôtel sans frais au 1-800-665-0569. Quand vous réservez votre chambre, n’oubliez pas de mentionner le code de groupe NEADS pour profiter du taux préférentiel pour la conférence. Des chambres accessibles sont disponibles aux deux hôtels sur demande.

Évènement hypodorant

Veuillez noter que, par respect pour les personnes ayant des allergies et des problèmes respiratoires, nous demandons aux participants de ne pas porter de parfum ou d’eau de toilette et d’utiliser des produits inodores.

Se rendre à l'hôtel

Se rendre à l’hôtel de l’aéroport international Winnipeg par taxi coûte environ 15 $. Des taxis accessibles sont disponibles de Unicity Taxi (204 925 3131) et de Duffy Taxi (204 925 0101) sur demande. Les participants peuvent également se servir de l’autobus (la ligne numéro 15) pour se rendre à l’hôtel de l’aéroport. NEADS peut également réserver votre transport adapté si vous faites une demande à l’avance.

Interprétation/Soutien technique

La traduction simultanée entre le français et l’anglais sera disponible tout au long de la conférence.

Tout l’équipement et les services techniques, y compris l’amplification pour les personnes malentendantes, sont fournis par notre équipe.

Les interprètes gestuelles seront disponibles pendant les ateliers.

Accès à un téléscripteur

L’hôtel Delta met un téléscripteur à votre disposition. Il est cependant nécessaire d’arranger ce service à l’avance avec le personnel de la conférence. L’hôtel vous apportera un transcripteur dans votre chambre dans les limites de l’équipement disponible.

Plan d'étage

Plan d'étage Hôtel Delta Winnipeg


Haut

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2017, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.