Projects

Employment Connections: A Transition Tool Kit for Youth with Disabilities

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

  1. I’m a recent graduate with a disability, and I’m having difficulty finding employment opportunities. Where can I find jobs?

    There are many job search facilities for students to make use of: traditional avenues of job searching, such as newspaper classified ads and listings kept at community employment centres, are always a good place to start in your hunt. But these are by no means the only methods of finding work.

    The Internet provides endless potential for employment searching. Online job banks, such as the Human Resources Development Canada Job Bank (http://jb-ge.hrdc-drhc.gc.ca/), Workopolis.ca, Monster.ca and numerous others, list job openings both in Canada and abroad. Also, many companies highlight vacant positions on their own Web sites. Visit the sites of companies you might like to work for, and see if they have a job for you.

    Internships are another good way for students or recent graduates to gain a foothold in the workforce. If you’re still a student, visit the career centre on your campus to see what internship programs they know of. If you’ve graduated, that doesn’t mean you can’t find an internship. Ability Edge (www.careeredge.ca) and various programs operating under the Federal Government’s Youth Employment Strategy (YES) are other options to consider if you’re in the hunt for an internship opportunity. It might also be possible to set up an internship yourself with an organization you’re interested in working with. Contact companies in the field in which you want to work, and ask if they are willing to arrange something.

    Another way to establish yourself in the labour force is to start your own business. This is an involved and at times risky path. But for anyone with the determination to succeed, starting your own venture can be extremely rewarding. The chance to run your own business can quickly teach you employment skills you might never pick up as an employee of a larger company. Entrepreneurs with disabilities looking to start their own business can obtain loans and guidance from organizations such as the Canadian Association of Independent Living Centres (CAILC)’s Navigating the Waters program, and the Business Development Bank of Canada, both of which are described in the Transition and Employment Programs Across Canada section of this document. In addition, business loans can be obtained from your local bank branch, or from community organizations.



  2. I’m a person with a disability, interested in starting my own business. Where can I turn for help? What’s involved in starting a business? What kind of business should I start?

    As mentioned above, starting a business is a great way for people with the right ideas and the right attitude to make their mark in the world of work. In addition to the organizations discussed in the previous question, help can also be obtained from post-secondary career centres, many disability resource centres and service providers, and your local Human Resources Centre for Students.

    Anyone thinking of starting a business should be aware of what’s involved. Most successful organizations start with an effective business plan, which will describe the product or service you’ll offer, how you’ll go about offering that product or service, the resources you’re going to need, and a rough estimate of costs involved in your venture. The programs mentioned in this booklet can give you advice and guidance on preparing a business plan. They can also provide you with loan money, which you’ll need to secure to operate your business, unless you’re prepared to fund it yourself. Remember to keep in mind that any loan you negotiate will have to be paid back within a reasonable time. You’ll also need to determine things like where you’ll operate (in an office space versus within a home office environment), the equipment and resources you’ll need, and how many employees to hire, if any.

    As for the type of business to start, there are as many possibilities as there are companies in existence today. Often, companies that are successful offer a product or service not easily obtained anywhere else. This can be a completely new idea, or adapting an existing product or service to cater to a section of the population not currently served. That said, you don’t necessarily have to offer anything out of the ordinary to succeed. A competitive business plan and a positive attitude can lead you to success.



  3. I’m afraid that when a company learns of my accommodation requirements because of my disability they won’t want to hire me. What should I do?

    First of all, it’s important to remember that a company’s first priority when filling a position is to find the best person for the job. If the person who best fits the skill-set the company needs happens to have a disability, that organization would be remiss not to hire him or her.

    In most cases, honesty is the best policy. Just as with post-secondary professors, employers can’t help you if they’re not aware of your disability and accommodation requirements. Being up front about these things at the job interview can make things easier for you in the long run. When discussing your disability and proper accommodations, don’t use a tone that suggests you consider yourself a burden to the company; speak with the confidence that you know you’re the best person for the job, and that these are just things that need to be considered for you to reach your utmost potential. It might also be beneficial if you come to the interview with contacts for organizations the company can work with to fill your accommodation needs. Your local Independent Living Centre or disability service provider can direct you to places that can provide your employer with advice, funding for adaptive technology, or lending of technology products.



  4. Many employment programs exist for people with disabilities, but similar programs specifically for individuals with learning disabilities aren’t readily available. Where can I turn for learning disabilityrelated employment programs?

    Many organizations – Ability Edge and the Canadian Association of Independent Living Centres’ (CAILC) Navigating the Waters initiative, to name just two – offer employment programs for a cross-disability clientele. Other employment training and placement programs, such as those offered through the Federal Government’s Youth Employment Strategy (YES), as well as the Federal Student Work Experience Program (FSWEP), offer job opportunities to young people both with and without disabilities.

    The Learning Disabilities Association of Canada (LDAC) operates a program called Destination Employment. The initiative, funded through the HRDC’s Opportunities Fund, was set up to integrate or reintegrate Canadians with learning disabilities into the workforce. The program offers successful applicants free assessments where needed, as well as job skills training. Additionally, participants and project coordinators will work together to identify and approach potential employers to arrange four to eight week job placements. The program is available through LDAC offices in cities across Canada. For more information, contact:

    Learning Disabilities Association of Canada
    323 Chapel St.
    Ottawa, ON
    K1N 7Z2
    Tel: 613-238-5721
    Fax: 613-235-5391
    Email: information@ldac-taac.ca
    Web site: www.ldac-taac.ca



  5. I have a hidden disability. How do I properly disclose to my employer?

    This is a tricky question, and one which all people with hidden disabilities must deal with every day. A good general rule was suggested by a panel member at the Victoria Student Leadership and Employment Forum. He said that the best time to identify a hidden disability is at the interview stage. Invariably in an interview the employer will offer a candidate the opportunity at the end of the time to ask questions or seek clarification of any thing that has gone before. At this stage, mentioning ones hidden disability, if it has any relevance to the job, or will require any accommodation, is important.

    As mentioned above this should be done in a positive and friendly manner. One should also have a clear understanding of their accommodation needs in the new work environment, and be able to provide the employer with a sense of how they can be met and any programs that are available to support the accommodations.



  6. Are there offices of Human Resources Development Canada that I can contact for further information on federal government programs and services for youth with disabilities?

    Yes, there are over 320 local and regional offices across Canada. Visit the Human Resources Development Canada Web site, www.hrdc-drhc.gc.ca and select Our Offices on the home page or contact the Youth Info Line at 1-800-935-5555.

NEADS Logo - Accueil

QuestionQuestion:
En tant qu’étudiante handicapée de première année, comment est ce que je peux apprendre à faire valoir mes droits efficacement auprès des professeurs, des tuteurs et des autres étudiants de mon université?


événements prochains

Voir d'autres événements

Autre site d'intérêt


Une expérience de travail payée et enrichissante pour des diplômés postsecondaires

Stages lancement de carrière

Projets

Connexions Emploi : une trousse doutils pour les jeunes ayant une dficience

Foire aux questions (FAQ)

  1. Je suis un rcent diplm ayant une dficience et jai de la difficult me trouver un emploi. O puis-je chercher pour me trouver un emploi?

    Il y a un grand nombre de services de recherche demploi pour tudiant-e-s, soit les annonces classes dans les journaux et les listes des centres demploi de la localit qui demeurent un bon endroit pour commencer votre recherche. Ces services ne reprsentent pas les seules mthodes votre porte pour dnicher un emploi. Internet prsente des possibilits illimites pour une telle recherche. Les guichets demploi en ligne, comme celui de Dveloppement des ressources humaines Canada (http://jb-ge.hrdc-drhc.gc.ca), de Workopolis.ca, de Monster.ca et de nombreux autres, prsentent des ouvertures demploi tant au Canada qu ltranger. De nombreuses compagnies affichent galement les postes vacants sur leur propre site Web. Nhsitez pas visiter les sites des entreprises o vous aimeriez travailler pour savoir sil y a un emploi pour vous.

    Les stages constituent galement une autre bonne avenue pour les tudiant-e-s et les rcents diplm-e-s et permettent de se placer les pieds au sein du march du travail. Si vous tes encore tudiant, visitez le centre demploi de votre campus pour savoir si de tels programmes sont offerts. Si vous tes diplme, il est encore possible de participer un stage. Avantage sans limites (www.avantage.org) et divers autres programmes offerts dans le cadre de la Stratgie emploi jeunesse (SEJ) du gouvernement fdral sont deux endroits consulter si vous cherchez des possibilits de stages. Il vous est mme possible de mettre sur pied votre propre stage avec une organisation o vous aimeriez travailler. Communiquez avec des entreprises dans votre domaine de prdilection et demandez-leur si elles sont ouvertes prendre des dispositions pour ce faire.

    Un autre moyen pour vous tablir au sein du march du travail est de dmarrer votre propre entreprise. Cette avenue peut tre une dmarche exigeante et parfois risque. Toutefois, si vous tes dtermin russir, cela peut reprsenter une exprience trs enrichissante. Mener sa propre entreprise peut vous donner lopportunit dacqurir rapidement les comptences professionnelles que vous ne pourriez obtenir comme employe dune grande entreprise. Les entrepreneur-e-s ayant une dficience qui cherchent dmarrer leur propre affaire peuvent obtenir des prts et des conseils dorganisations comme lAssociation canadienne des centres de vie autonome (ACCVA) et son programme Affronter la mer et arriver bon port, et la Banque de dveloppement du Canada. Vous trouverez une description de ces deux organismes dans la section Programmes de transition et demploi au Canada du prsent document. De plus, vous pouvez obtenir des prts aux entreprises de votre succursale bancaire locale ou dorganisations communautaires.



  2. Je suis une personne ayant une dficience intresse dmarrer ma propre entreprise. O dois-je madresser pour obtenir de laide? En quoi consiste le dmarrage dune entreprise? Quel type dentreprise devrais-je envisager?

    Comme il est mentionn plus haut, pour les personnes qui ont les bonnes ides et la bonne attitude, dmarrer une entreprise constitue une excellente faon de faire leur marque dans le monde du travail. En plus des organisations dcrites la question prcdente, on peut obtenir de laide auprs des centres demploi des campus, de nombre de centres de ressources et de services pour personnes handicapes, et votre centre local de ressources humaines pour tudiants.

    Pour ceux et celles qui envisagent de dmarrer une entreprise, il faut tenir compte de tous les facteurs. La plupart des organisations qui ont russi commencent leur entreprise avec un plan daffaires efficace qui dcrit le produit ou le service offert, le mode de prestation du produit ou du service, les ressources ncessaires et une estimation gnrale des cots impartis. Les programmes dcrits dans cette brochure peuvent vous donner des conseils sur la prparation dun plan daffaires. Ils peuvent galement vous accorder un prt dont vous aurez besoin pour le fonctionnement de votre entreprise, moins que vous ne soyez prt financer votre projet vous-mme. Il faut tenir compte que tous les prts que vous ngociez doivent tre ventuellement rembourss dans un dlai raisonnable. Vous aurez galement dterminer des facteurs comme lemplacement de votre entreprise (dans un espace bureau ou dans un bureau votre domicile), lquipement et les ressources ncessaires et le nombre demploy-e-s embaucher, le cas chant.

    Pour le type dentreprise, il existe autant de possibilits que de compagnies dj existantes. Souvent, des compagnies russissent offrir un produit ou un service quon peut difficilement trouver. Ce peut tre une ide compltement nouvelle ou une adaptation dun produit ou dun service dj existant offert un segment de la population qui nest pas actuellement desservie. Cela tant dit, il nest pas ncessaire doffrir quelque chose qui sort de lordinaire pour russir. Un plan daffaires concurrentiel et une attitude positive peuvent contribuer au succs de votre entreprise.



  3. Je crains quen apprenant mes besoins damnagement pour mon emploi en raison de ma dficience, lemployeur ne veuille pas membaucher. Que devrais-je faire?

    Tout dabord, il est important de se rappeler que la priorit dune entreprise qui dsire combler un poste est de trouver la meilleure personne pour lemploi. Si une personne rpondant lensemble des qualifications dont lentreprise a besoin est une personne handicape, lorganisation ne ferait preuve que dinsouciance si elle ne lembauchait pas.

    Dans la plupart des cas, lhonntet demeure la meilleure politique. Tout comme avec des professeur-e-s, les employeur-e-s ne peuvent vous aider sils ne sont pas au courant de votre dficience et de vos besoins damnagement. En tant honnte au cours de lentrevue, cela peut vous faciliter les choses long terme. Lorsque vous parlez de votre dficience et des amnagements ncessaires, vitez de prendre un ton qui laisse croire que vous pouvez reprsenter un poids pour la compagnie; exprimezvous en tant confiant que vous tes la meilleure personne pour lemploi et quil faut tenir compte de ces aspects pour que vous puissiez atteindre votre plein potentiel. Il serait galement avantageux si vous vous prsentiez votre entrevue avec les coordonnes et linformation dorganisations avec lesquelles lentreprise peut travailler pour rpondre vos besoins damnagement. Le centre local de vie autonome ou un conseiller de services pour personnes handicapes peut vous diriger aux endroits qui fourniront votre employeur les conseils, le financement ou le prt dquipement technologique.



  4. Il existe de nombreux programmes demploi pour les personnes handicapes, mais les programmes adresss aux personnes ayant des troubles dapprentissage ne sont pas facilement accessibles. O puis-je trouver des programmes spcifiquement adresss aux personnes ayant des troubles dapprentissage et accessibles?

    Nombre dorganisations Avantage sans limites et linitiative Affronter la mer et arriver bon port de lAssociation canadienne des centres de vie autonome (ACCVA), pour nen nommer que deux offrent des programmes demploi la clientle de tout type de dficience. Dautres programmes de formation lemploi et de placement, comme ceux offerts par la Stratgie emploi jeunesse (SEJ) du gouvernement fdral, ainsi que le Programme fdral dexprience de travail tudiant (PFETE) offrent des possibilits demploi aux personnes avec ou sans dficience.

    Lassociation Troubles dapprentissage Association canadienne (TAAC) offre un programme intitul Cap sur lemploi. Cette initiative, finance par le Fonds dintgration de DRHC, a t mise en uvre pour rintgrer les Canadien-ne-s ayant des troubles dapprentissage au sein de la population active. Le programme offre gratuitement aux candidat-e-s choisis des valuations, lorsque ncessaire, et de la formation lemploi. De plus, les participant-e-s et les coordonnatrices de projet travaillent ensemble pour identifier et approcher des employeur-e-s ventuels afin dorganiser des placements demploi de quatre huit semaines. Le programme est offert par les bureaux de TAAC dun bout lautre du Canada.

    Pour plus dinformation :
    Troubles dapprentissage Association canadienne
    323, rue Chapel
    Ottawa (Ontario) K1N 7Z2
    Tl. : 613-238-5721
    Tlc. : 613-235-5391
    Courriel : information@ldac-taac.ca
    Site Web : www.ldac-taac.ca



  5. Jai une dficience non visible. Comment puis-je en informer adquatement mon employeur?

    Voil une question complexe et un problme que toute personne ayant une dficience non visible doit aborder quotidiennement. Un membre dun groupe de discussion du Forum de leadership tudiant et de lemploi de Victoria en est arriv une rgle gnrale astucieuse. Il a suggr que le meilleur moment pour parler dune dficience non visible est lors de lentrevue pour un stage. Invariablement, la fin de lentrevue, lemployeur permet au ou la candidate de poser des questions ou de demander des claircissements sur certains points de lentrevue. ce moment-l, il est important de mentionner sa dficience non visible, si elle est doit avoir une incidence sur lemploi ou ncessite des amnagements.

    Comme nous lavons dj mentionn, la divulgation de cette information doit tre faite avec une attitude positive et amicale. Il faut clairement faire comprendre son employeur ses besoins en amnagement dans le nouveau lieu de travail et lui donner une ide des moyens pour y arriver, et de tout programme offert pour financer ces amnagements.



  6. Y a-t-il un bureau de Dveloppement des ressources humaines Canada o je pourrais obtenir de linformation sur les programmes et les services du gouvernement fdral destins aux personnes handicapes?

    Oui, il existe plus de 320 bureaux locaux et rgionaux rpartis dans lensemble du Canada. Visitez le site Web de Dveloppement des ressources humaines www.hrdc-drhc.gc.ca et slectionnez le lien Nos bureaux partir de la page daccueil ou encore composez la Ligne Info-jeunesse : 1-800-935-5555.




Haut

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2024, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.