NEADS Logo - Home
Find us on: Facebook YouTube Twitter

Quick Question:
Where can students with learning disabilities receive funding to help cover the cost of disability assessments?


Upcoming Events

More Events

Link of the day

More Links

Donate Now to support NEADS! We need your support!
Donations are tax deductible and you will receive a charitable tax receipt for 100% of your gift.

Donate Now Through CanadaHelps.org!

Access to Academic Materials for Post-Secondary Students with Print Disabilities

CONSTRUCTION AND DISSEMINATION OF THE SURVEYS

Objectives

The central objective set out at the start of this research project was to gather information on the accessibility, availability, timeliness and quality of educational materials in alternate formats for post-secondary students with print disabilities. The surveys used in our research were constructed with this objective in mind. The questions were formulated to help NEADS identify gaps in the process of producing alternate formats for students. They were also designed to allow respondents to suggest ways in which the process could be improved; thus informing recommendations meant to streamline the delivery and improve the quality of these materials.

Production

The project was developed by the National Educational Association of Disabled Students in close consultation with the Council on Access to Information for Print Disabled Canadians and the Learning Disabilities Association of Canada. Other partner groups were then invited to join a steering committee. In consultation with the NEADS board of directors and steering committee it was decided to start developing the Access to Academic Materials surveys in the Winter of 2004. The goals of the project were to understand the current state of alternate format production in Canada and the opinions of students and service providers regarding the standards, quality, and levels of effectiveness of the various technologies and services for students with print disabilities in post-secondary institutions in Canada. NEADS hired a consultant, Dr. Liam Kilmurray, to construct the surveys and to produce a statistical package for their analysis. The surveys for this project built upon the 1999 NEADS Survey, Working Towards A Co-ordinated National Approach to Services, Accommodations and Policies for Post-Secondary Students with Disabilities: Ensuring Access to Higher Education and Career Training, but focused specifically on students with print disabilities. The steering committee would aid in the construction of the survey. The membership of this steering committee represents a core of expertise in the area of library services and alternate formats and technologies. It includes representation from students with disabilities, service providers, and consists of stakeholder organizations. The steering committee provided invaluable advice regarding the construction of the project surveys.

The steering committee met on several occasions with the national co-ordinator and the consultants to identify areas of concern and interest, and to clarify questions and definitions. It was through this process that the surveys emerged. Also invaluable in the process was an online project forum that enabled participants (the steering committee, national co-ordinator and consultants) to exchange ideas and information. An essential element in the construction of the surveys was the test piloting undertaken. Six students and five service providers participated in this aspect of the research. The surveys were completed by these people and returned with comments, and from this some changes were made and final versions of both surveys were developed. Alternate format student questionnaires were professionally produced by T-Base Communications.

Dissemination

Once the surveys were finalized, the NEADS list of disability service providers at post-secondary institutions was utilized to contact schools with regard to participation in the project research. The contact person at the various institutions (usually the service provider, occasionally the librarian) was telephoned and asked to provide the numbers of students with print disabilities at their institution. The contact person was also asked to provide the numbers of particular formats that they would like to receive the survey in. For example, they were asked to state how many Braille, large print, diskette, or cassette tape versions of the survey they would need. From this, and after a round of follow up phone calls and contacts, the numbers of various formats for the surveys were collated and a master list was constructed from which the surveys would be mailed out.

Over a period of several weeks, staff at the NEADS office at Carleton University organized a mass mail-out of surveys to various institutions. The objective in the initial phone-around was to enlist the participation of service providers at the schools to complete the service provider questionnaire and to ask them to distribute student surveys to those students with print disabilities registered at their offices. Students and service providers were asked to complete the survey within one week of receiving it. Further, online versions of both surveys was also constructed and made available through the NEADS website.

While waiting for the surveys were to be returned, the process of constructing the statistical files for eventual analysis of the data proceeded. The program SPSS was chosen as the main method with which to enter and analyze the data. Once the surveys were returned, the data was entered, and the consultant constructed several presentations of preliminary data to iron out any discrepancies that emerged. The final leg of the journey was the production of a final report, in which the statistical data would be represented in chart and graph format and the ‘open-ended’ and commentary information were analyzed and used to complement the statistical findings of the final report.

Methodology

The methodological approach to this survey was straightforward: and surveys were sent out on a convenient sample basis. That is, a list of institutions across Canada was constructed from NEADS’ disability service provider list, the service providers (or librarians) were contacted and asked how many surveys they felt would be needed for the participation of the students within their institution who fit the profile of print disability. From the numbers supplied by the colleges and universities, and the breakdown of survey types requested (i.e. Braille, large print, cassette, French language, etc.) packages were assembled and sent directly to the service providers for dissemination.

With respect to the response rates to the surveys, it should be noted that this methodology contained the risk that an overestimation of the target student population would occur. Also, there were instances where an institution simply requested some of each available survey format with, apparently, the intention of disseminating these to students upon the request of the relevant format. This resulted occasionally in a larger mail out of surveys than could ever be responded to from the relevant institutions. This is one of the inevitable results of a convenient dissemination methodology. While it does not affect the validity of the responses received, it does alter the response rate when counted against those surveys mailed out.

General Overview

A total 2,613 surveys were sent out to both the students and the service providers.

Forty-nine institutions participated in the student survey, with 130 respondents, and 55 institutions participated in the service provider survey, with 67 respondents, and two who did not identify their institution.

The total number of responses received to both of the ‘Access to Academic Materials’ surveys was 197 . Of this number, 67 were from service provider surveys returned and 130 student surveys. For both surveys, we received responses from universities, CEGEPs, technical vocational institutions and community colleges. Seven identified themselves as university colleges (primarily from BC). These institutions ranged from the largest universities to the smallest community colleges. The responses to the student survey were received from 49 separate institutions. For the service provider survey, 55 separate institutions were represented, two were unidentified.

Students from Ontario represented the largest percentage of respondents (48.46% of respondents). This was followed by Alberta (13.08% of respondents), Quebec (10.77% of respondents), and British Columbia (9.23% of respondents). The highest number of service provider responses came from Ontario (25.76%), followed by Quebec (18.18%), British Columbia (16.67%), and Alberta (15.15%).

Limitations of the Research

As with all surveys, the limits of what the research is able to say are bounded by the amount of information provided by the respondents. Statistical analysis can combine the responses of many people and compare, contrast and crosstab various areas of information. However, in the final analysis of the survey research this study is limited by both responses provided and questions asked. One of the issues to emerge from the student profiles was that there were more students reporting a learning disability (47%) than those who reported a blind/visually impaired disability (21%). The higher number of students with learning disabilities was also evidenced in the CILS report, where some two-thirds of students have a learning disability, and one-third a visual disability (see Appendix 2A ‘student profiles’). A similar situation prevailed in the 1999 NEADS survey, where students with learning disabilities outnumbered those with print disabilities by a ratio of over two to one. Having said that, the identified preferred formats by student respondents were affected by the types of disabilities represented in our student respondent group. While students with learning disabilities and blind/visually impaired students may often use and benefit from the same types of electronic format materials, students who have learning disabilities almost never use Braille texts unless they are also blind.

In addition to this, there were many questions in both surveys where the respondent could check more than one box, that is report more than one response. For example, under question 12 in the student survey (please state the nature of your disability/disabilities), the respondent might have a medical disability and a visual disability, or a learning disability and a mobility disability. In such cases, the response rate to the question may be higher than the number of respondents, and to represent this statistically we have added up the total responses and made each category a percentage, as was the case with question 12 of the student survey. The end result of allowing multiple responses is that we can get closer to the identification of the respondents, who are not forced to choose between categories in an either/or scenario, but who can identify a range of disabilities, or technologies, that best describe them and their needs. Despite any limitations in this survey, the reported number of students with disabilities attending service provider respondent institutions is 22,250. Students with print disabilities totalled 4,218. Therefore, the survey data is based on a very broad population.

Table of Contents


Top

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2018, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.

NEADS Logo - Accueil

QuestionQuestion:
Est-ce que le conseiller d’orientation de mon école secondaire peut m’aider à choisir un collège ou une université qui pourra répondre aux besoins particuliers liés à ma déficience tout en offrant des programmes de la qualité requise dans le domaine de mon choix?


événements prochains

Voir d'autres événements

Autre site d'intérêt


Une expérience de travail payée et enrichissante pour des diplômés postsecondaires

Stages lancement de carrière

Accs aux documents scolaires pour les tudiant(e)s incapables de lire les imprims

CONSTRUCTION ET DIFFUSION DES ENQUTES

Objectifs

Lobjectif principal dfini ds le dbut du projet de recherche tait dobtenir de linformation sur laccessibilit, la disponibilit, la pertinence et la qualit des documents scolaires en mdia substitut destins aux tudiants de niveau postsecondaire incapables de lire les imprims. Les questionnaires utiliss pour notre recherche ont donc t labors en fonction de cet objectif. Les questionnaires utiliss pour notre recherche ont donc t labors en fonction de cet objectif. Les questions ont t formules afin de dterminer quelles sont les lacunes dans le processus de production des mdias substituts pour les tudiants.

Production

Le projet a t labor par lAssociation nationale des tudiant(e)s handicap(e)s au niveau postsecondaire, en troite collaboration avec le Conseil sur laccs linformation pour les Canadiennes et les Canadiens capables de lire les imprims et Troubles dapprentissage Association canadienne. Dautres partenaires ont t invits participer un comit directeur. En consultation avec le conseil dadministration de NEADS et le comit directeur, il a t dcid de commencer llaboration des enqutes sur laccs aux documents scolaires lhiver 2004. Les objectifs du projet taient de comprendre ltat actuel de la production de mdias substituts au Canada, et dobtenir les opinions des tudiants et des dispensateurs de services au sujet des normes, de la qualit et du degr defficacit des diverses technologies offertes aux tudiant(e)s incapables de lire les imprims dans les tablissements postsecondaires au Canada. NEADS a engag un consultant, le professeur Liam Kilmurray, pour laborer les enqutes et produire un logiciel statistique afin danalyser les rsultats. Les enqutes pour ce projet ont t bases sur lenqute raliss en 1999 par NEADS, intitule Pour une approche pancanadienne des services, des amnagements et des politiques destins aux tudiant(e)s handicaps de niveau postsecondaire : assurer laccs aux tudes postsecondaires et la formation axe sur la carrire, mais portaient expressment sur les tudiant(e)s incapables de lire les imprims. Le comit directeur a apport son aide llaboration des enqutes. Les membres du comit directeur reprsentent un groupe dexpertise dans le domaine des services de bibliothque et des mdias et technologies de substitut. On y trouve des reprsentants des tudiant(e)s handicap(e)s, des dispensateurs de services et dorganisations intresses. Le comit directeur a fourni des conseils prcieux au sujet de llaboration des enqutes pour ce projet.

Le comit directeur sest runi plusieurs occasions avec le coordonnateur national et les consultants, afin de dfinir les sujets de proccupation et dintrt, et pour clarifier les questions et les dfinitions. Cest par ce processus que les enqutes ont vu le jour. De plus, une tribune en ligne sur le projet a t fort prcieuse dans tout ce processus, car elle a permis aux participants (le comit directeur, le coordonnateur national et les consultants) dchanger des ides et de linformation. Llment essentiel dans llaboration des enqutes a t les tests pilotes. Six tudiants et cinq dispensateurs de services ont particip ce volet de la recherche. Ces personnes ont rempli les questionnaires et les ont retourns avec leurs commentaires, ce qui nous a permis dapporter quelques modifications pour en arriver la version finale des deux questionnaires. Les questionnaires dtudiants en mdia substitut ont t produits de faon professionnelle par T-Base Communications.

Diffusion

Lorsque les questionnaires ont t mis au point, on a utilis la liste de NEADS des dispensateurs de services aux tudiant(e)s handicap(e)s dans les tablissements postsecondaires pour communiquer avec les coles au sujet de leur participation ce projet de recherche. Nous avons tlphon aux personnes-ressources dans les divers tablissements (habituellement le fournisseur de service, parfois le bibliothcaire) et nous leur avons demand de nous fournir les numros des tudiant(e)s incapables de lire les imprims, dans leurs tablissements. Nous leur avons galement demand de nous fournir le nombre de questionnaires dans les divers mdias substituts quils aimeraient recevoir. Par exemple, nous leur avons demand combien de versions ils aimeraient recevoir en Braille, en gros caractres, sur disquette ou sur cassette. Par la suite, et aprs une srie dappels tlphoniques de suivi et de communications, nous avons runi le nombre requis de questionnaires dans les divers mdias substituts, et nous avons ralis une liste matresse partir de laquelle les envois postaux ont t raliss.

Pendant plusieurs semaines, le personnel du bureau de NEADS lUniversit Carleton a organis un envoi postal massif des questionnaires aux divers tablissements. Lobjectif de la srie initiale dappels tlphoniques consistait obtenir la participation des dispensateurs de services dans les diffrentes coles, afin quils remplissent les questionnaires sadressant aux dispensateurs de services, puis leur demander de distribuer les questionnaires destins aux tudiant(e)s incapables de lire les imprims, et inscrits leurs bureaux. Nous avons demand aux tudiants et aux dispensateurs de services de remplir les questionnaires en dedans dune semaine, aprs leur rception. De plus, nous avons ralis une version en ligne des deux questionnaires et les avons affichs sur le site Web de NEADS.

En attendant le retour des questionnaires, nous avons entrepris la construction des fichiers statistiques en vue de lanalyse des donnes. Nous avons choisi le programme SPSS comme principal outil de saisie danalyse des donnes. Aprs la rception des questionnaires, nous avons procd la saisie des donnes, et le constructeur a construit plusieurs prsentations des donnes prliminaires, afin dliminer toute non-concordance qui aurait pu se prsenter. La dernire tape du projet a t la production du rapport final, dans lequel les donnes statistiques seraient reprsentes sous forme de tableau et de graphique et les commentaires et linformation libres seraient analyss, afin de complter les rsultats statistiques du rapport final.

Mthodologie

Lapproche mthodologique pour cette enqute tait simple, et les enqutes ont t envoyes selon une base dchantillonnage volontaire. En dautres mots, nous avons dress une liste des tablissements canadiens partir de la liste des dispensateurs de services aux tudiant(e)s handicap(e)s de NEADS, puis nous avons communiqu avec les dispensateurs de services (ou les bibliothcaires) et nous leur avons demand combien de questionnaires, selon eux, seraient requis pour obtenir la participation des tudiant(e)s incapables de lire les imprims dans leurs tablissements. Daprs les chiffres fournis par les collges et les universits, et le type de questionnaire demand (p. ex., Braille, gros caractres, cassettes, en franais, etc.), des trousses ont t prpares et envoyes directement aux dispensateurs de services, en vue de leur diffusion.

En ce qui concerne le taux de rponse aux questionnaires, il faut noter que cette mthode prsente le risque de surestimer la population tudiante cible. De plus, dans certains cas, un tablissement aurait tout simplement pu demander chaque type de questionnaire disponible, apparemment dans le but de les distribuer aux tudiants sur demande, dans le mdia voulu. Il est donc arriv que lon poste en nombre suprieur des questionnaires qui auraient pu tre retourns par ces tablissements. Cest lun des rsultats invitables dune mthode de diffusion sur une base volontaire. Bien que cela ninflue pas sur la validit des rponses reues, une telle situation influe nanmoins sur le taux de rponse, par rapport au nombre de questionnaires envoys par la poste.

Aperu gnral

En tout, 2 613 questionnaires ont t envoys aux tudiants et aux dispensateurs de services.

En tout, 49 tablissements ont particip lenqute auprs des tudiants (130 rpondants), et 55 tablissements lenqute auprs des dispensateurs de services (67 rpondants), et deux rpondants nont pas indiqu leur tablissement.

Le nombre total de rponses reues pour les deux enqutes sur laccs aux documents scolaires tait de 197 . De ce nombre, 67 questionnaires provenaient de dispensateurs de services, et 130 dtudiants. Pour les deux questionnaires, nous avons reu des rponses provenant duniversits, de cgeps, de collges techniques et professionnels et de collges communautaires. Sept tablissements ont t prsents comme des collges universitaires (surtout de la C.-B. Les tablissements do provenaient les rponses allaient des grandes universits aux petits collges communautaires. Pour lenqute auprs des tudiants, les rponses provenaient de 49 tablissements distincts. Pour lenqute auprs des dispensateurs de services, les rponses provenaient de 55 tablissements distincts, et deux rpondants n'ont pas indiqu leur tablissement.

Les tudiants de lOntario ont reprsent le plus fort pourcentage des rpondants (48,46 %). Suivaient lAlberta (13,08 %), le Qubec (10,77 %) et la Colombie-Britannique (9,23 %). Pour ce qui est des rponses des dispensateurs de services, elles provenaient surtout de lOntario (25,76 %), du Qubec (18,18 %), de la Colombie-Britannique (16,67 %) et de Alberta (15,15 %).

Limites de la recherche

Comme dans toutes les enqutes, ce que lon peut tirer des rsultats de la recherche dpend en dfinitive de la quantit dinformation fournie par les rpondants. Lanalyse statistique peut combiner les rponses de nombreuses personnes et comparer, contraster et recouper divers segments dinformation. Toutefois, en dernire analyse, cette tude est limite par les questions poses et les rponses fournies. Un des problmes qui ressort du profil des tudiants, cest quil y avait plus dtudiants mentionnant un trouble dapprentissage (47 %) que la ccit ou la malvoyance (21 %). Le nombre plus lev dtudiants ayant des troubles dapprentissage tait manifeste galement dans le rapport CILS, dans lequel on a indiqu que les deux tiers des tudiants avaient un trouble dapprentissage, et un tiers un handicap visuel (voir lannexe 2A, qui traite des profils des tudiants ). Une situation similaire avait t constate dans lenqute de NEADS de 1999, dans laquelle les tudiants ayant un trouble dapprentissage taient plus nombreux que ceux qui taient incapables de lire, dans une proportion de deux sur un. Ceci dit, les mdias prfrs par les tudiants dpendaient videmment du type dhandicap reprsent dans notre groupe dtudiants rpondants. Bien que les tudiants ayant un trouble dapprentissage et les tudiants malvoyants peuvent souvent utiliser avec profit les mmes types de mdias lectroniques, les tudiants qui ont un trouble dapprentissage nutilisent presque jamais les textes en Braille, moins quils soient galement aveugles.

De plus, les deux questionnaires comportaient de nombreuses questions auxquelles le rpondant pouvait cocher plus dune case, et donc avoir plusieurs rponses. Par exemple, la question 12 du questionnaire pour les tudiants (Veuillez indiquer votre (vos) dficience(s)), le rpondant pouvait indiquer une dficience mdicale et une dficience visuelle, ou un trouble dapprentissage et une dficience motrice. Le cas chant, le taux de rponse la question pouvait tre plus lev que le nombre de rpondants, et pour en tenir compte dans lanalyse statistique, nous avons additionn les rponses totales, et nous avons attribu chaque catgorie un pourcentage, comme pour la question 12 dans le questionnaire des tudiants. En dfinitive, les rponses multiples nous permettent de mieux identifier les rpondants, qui nont pas choisir entre des catgories ou selon un scnario, car ils peuvent indiquer une plage de dficiences qui dcrivent leurs besoins, ou une plage de technologies qui y rpondent. Malgr les limites de cette enqute, le nombre rpertori dtudiants ayant un handicap et frquentant les tablissements identifis par les dispensateurs de services est de 22 250. Les tudiants capables de lire les imprims sont au nombre de 4 218. Par consquent, les donnes de lenqute sont bases sur une population trs large.

Table des matires


Haut

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2024, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.