Media

Legislation to create a new Canada Disability Benefit begins second reading in the House of Commons

From: Employment and Social Development Canada

News release

September 20, 2022 Gatineau, Quebec, Employment and Social Development Canada

One in four working-age persons with disabilities lives below the poverty line in Canada. Working-age persons with disabilities in Canada are twice as likely to live in poverty as those without. This is why the Government of Canada is taking action to reduce poverty and improve the financial security of working-age persons with disabilities.

Earlier today, Bill C-22 – the Canada Disability Benefit Act, began second reading in the House of Commons. This ground-breaking legislation was reintroduced on June 2, 2022, by the Minister of Employment, Workforce Development and Disability Inclusion, Carla Qualtrough. If passed by Parliament, Bill C-22 will create a new Canada Disability Benefit (CDB). 

The CDB would be a federal income supplement for working-age persons with disabilities. It would become an important part of Canada’s social safety net, alongside Old Age Security, the Guaranteed Income Supplement, and the Canada Child Benefit.

In the spirit and principle of “Nothing Without Us,” the Government is engaging with the disability community, as well as other stakeholders, including Indigenous organizations and disability researchers and experts, to inform the design of the proposed benefit. In the summer of 2021, the Minister launched a first round of engagement with the disability community through ministerial roundtables and an online public survey that received more than 8,500 responses. Engagement is ongoing with community-led and Indigenous-led activities, and will continue into 2023.

The provinces and territories also play a central role in providing supports and services to persons with disabilities, and, as such, they are being engaged on the CDB as well. In July 2021, Federal, Provincial and Territorial Ministers Responsible for Social Services met for an initial discussion on the proposed new benefit and that engagement continues. The Government of Canada remains committed to ensuring that the CDB supplements existing provincial and territorial supports and benefits.  

Quotes

“With the second reading of Bill C-22, we are one step closer to creating a Canada Disability Benefit. With this Benefit, we have a chance to help hundreds of thousands of people, and seriously reduce poverty in Canada. This is a once-in-a-generation opportunity to do better by persons with disabilities, and to be better as a country. Let’s not miss it.”

– Carla Qualtrough, Minister of Employment, Workforce Development and Disability Inclusion

Quick facts

According to the most recent Canadian Survey on Disabilities (2017) the poverty rate of working-age persons with disabilities is almost double that of Canadians without disabilities.

The same survey found that Canadians with disabilities—including women, men, LGBTQ2 people, racialized people and Indigenous people—are more likely to be financially insecure than other Canadians:

25 percent of Canadians with disabilities spend more than 30% of their total income on shelter costs;

Fifty-nine percent of Canadians with disabilities aged 25 to 64 have gainful employment, compared to 80% of Canadians without disabilities; and

Canadians with disabilities aged 25 to 64 earn less than Canadians without disabilities (12% less for Canadians with milder disabilities and 51% less for Canadians with more severe disabilities).

Related products

Backgrounder: Supporting Canadians with disabilities - Canada Disability Benefit - Canada.ca

Associated links

Federal, provincial and territorial ministers meet to discuss collaboration on the well-being of persons with disabilities - Canada.ca

Rights of people with disabilities - Canada.ca

Minister of Employment, Workforce Development and Disability Inclusion Mandate Letter

Contacts

For media enquiries, please contact:

Tara Beauport, Press Secretary, Office of the Minister of Employment, Workforce Development and Disability Inclusion, Carla Qualtrough, tara.beauport@hrsdc-rhdcc.gc.ca

Media Relations Office, Employment and Social Development Canada, 819-994-5559, media@hrsdc-rhdcc.gc.ca

Follow us on Twitter

Source:

NEADS Logo - Accueil

QuestionQuestion:
Est-ce qu’il y a une organisation qui représente tous les Canadiens et les Canadiennes ayant des déficiences?


Événements prochains

Voir d'autres événements

Autre site d'intérèt


Une expérience de travail payée et enrichissante pour des diplômés postsecondaires

Stages lancement de carrière

Média

Le projet de loi visant à créer une nouvelle Prestation canadienne pour les personnes en situation de handicap débute l’étape de la deuxième lecture à la Chambre des communes

De : Emploi et Développement social Canada

Communiqué de presse

Le 20 septembre 2022  - Gatineau (Québec) - Emploi et Développement social Canada

Une personne en situation de handicap en âge de travailler sur quatre vit sous le seuil de la pauvreté au Canada. Les personnes en situation de handicap en âge de travailler au Canada ont deux fois plus de chance de vivre sous le seuil de la pauvreté que les autres. C’est pourquoi le gouvernement du Canada prend des mesures pour réduire la pauvreté et renforcer la sécurité financière de ces personnes.

Plus tôt aujourd’hui, le projet de loi C-22 – Loi sur la prestation canadienne pour les personnes handicapées a commencé l’étape de la deuxième lecture à la Chambre des communes. Ce projet de loi novateur a été déposé de nouveau le 2 juin 2022 par la ministre de l’Emploi, du Développement de la main-d’œuvre et de l’Inclusion des personnes en situation de handicap, Carla Qualtrough. S’il est adopté par le Parlement, le projet de loi C-22 créera une nouvelle Prestation canadienne pour les personnes en situation de handicap (PCPSH).  

La PCPSH serait un supplément de revenu fédéral pour les personnes en situation de handicap qui sont en âge de travailler.  Cette prestation serait un élément important du filet de sécurité sociale du Canada au même titre que la Sécurité de la vieillesse, le Supplément de revenu garanti et l’Allocation canadienne pour enfants.

Dans l’esprit et le principe de « Rien sans nous », le gouvernement collabore avec la communauté des personnes en situation de handicap ainsi qu’avec d’autres intervenants, y compris des organisations autochtones et des chercheurs et experts en matière d’invalidité, pour éclairer la conception de la prestation proposée. À l’été 2021, la ministre a lancé une première ronde de mobilisation de la communauté des personnes en situation de handicap dans le cadre de tables rondes ministérielles ainsi que d’un sondage public en ligne qui a permis de recueillir plus de 8 500 réponses. La mobilisation se poursuit avec des activités menées par les communautés et les Autochtones se poursuivront jusqu’en 2023.

Les provinces et les territoires jouent également un rôle essentiel dans la prestation de mesures de soutien et de services aux personnes en situation de handicap et, à ce titre, ils sont également sollicités sur la PCPSH. En juillet 2021, les ministres fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux responsables des services sociaux se sont réunis pour une première discussion au sujet de la nouvelle prestation proposée et les efforts de mobilisation se poursuivent. Le gouvernement du Canada reste déterminé à faire en sorte que la PCPSH devienne un supplément aux aides sociales et autres mesures de soutien provinciaux et territoriaux existants. 

Citations

«Avec la deuxième lecture du projet de loi C-22, nous nous rapprochons de la création d'une prestation canadienne pour personnes en situation de handicap. Avec cette prestation, nous avons la possibilité d'aider des centaines de milliers de personnes et de réduire sérieusement la pauvreté au Canada. C'est une occasion unique de faire mieux pour les personnes en situation de handicap et de faire mieux en tant que pays. Ne manquons pas cette opportunité."

– Carla Qualtrough, La ministre de l’Emploi, du Développement de la main-d’œuvre et de l’Inclusion des personnes en situation de handicap 

Faits en bref

Selon la plus récente Enquête canadienne sur l’incapacité (2017), le taux de pauvreté des personnes en situation de handicap en âge de travailler est près du double de celui des Canadiens et Canadiennes qui n’ont pas d’incapacité.

La même enquête a révélé que les Canadiens en situation de handicap, y compris des femmes, des hommes, des membres de la communauté LGBTQ2, des personnes racisées et des Autochtones, sont plus susceptibles que les autres Canadiens et Canadiennes de se trouver en situation d’insécurité financière :

25 % des Canadiens en situation de handicap consacrent plus de 30 % de leur revenu total à se loger;

59 % des Canadiens en situation de handicap âgés de 25 à 64 ans ont un emploi rémunérateur, comparativement à 80 % des Canadiens n’ayant aucune incapacité;

les Canadiens en situation de handicap âgés de 25 à 64 ans gagnent moins que les Canadiens n’ayant aucune incapacité (12 % de moins pour les Canadiens ayant une incapacité légère et 51 % de moins pour les Canadiens ayant une incapacité plus grave).

- 30 -

Produits connexes

Document d’information : Soutenir les Canadiens et Canadiennes en situation de handicap – Prestation canadienne pour les personnes en situation de handicap – Canada.ca

Liens connexes

Réunion des ministres fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux pour discuter de la collaboration en faveur du bien-être des personnes en situation de handicap – Canada.ca

Droits des personnes handicapées – Canada.ca

Lettre de mandat de la ministre de l’Emploi, du Développement de la main-d’œuvre et de l’Inclusion des personnes en situation de handicap

Personnes-ressources

Pour les demandes des médias, veuillez contacter :

Tara Beauport, Attachée de presse, Cabinet de la ministre de l’Emploi, du Développement de la main-d’œuvre et de l’Inclusion des personnes en situation de handicap, Carla Qualtrough, tara.beauport@hrsdc-rhdcc.gc.ca

Bureau des relations avec les médias, Emploi et Développement social Canada, 819-994-5559, media@hrsdc-rhdcc.gc.ca

Suivez-nous sur Twitter

Source : 




Haut

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2022, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.