NEADS Logo - Home
Find us on: Facebook YouTube

Quick Question:
How do I find out if a group of students with disabilities exists on my campus?


Upcoming Events

More Events

Link of the day

More Links

Donate Now to support NEADS! We need your support!
Donations are tax deductible and you will receive a charitable tax receipt for 100% of your gift.

Donate Now Through CanadaHelps.org!

Media

DAWN-RAFH Canada launches multi-year initiative to address Violence Against Women with Disabilities and Deaf Women

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE - November 25, 2015 (Montreal) - DAWN-RAFH Canada is pleased to announce the launch of “Legislation, Policy and Service Responses to Violence Against Women with Disabilities and Deaf Women”, a multi-year initiative which will examine and address the gaps in policy and service provision that contribute to the high levels of violence against this group of women.

Despite the fact that the Canadian Criminal Code and numerous human rights instruments prohibit violence against women, data released this week by the Canadian Centre for Justice Statistics in a report* (copy enclosed) on Criminal Victimization in Canada revealed that sexual assault remains the only crime in Canada for which there has been no decline. This reinforces what women’s organizations already know: that women, particularly Indigenous women AND particularly women with disabilities, AND women who are homeless, AND women who have experienced childhood abuse are the most frequent victims. DAWN-RAFH Canada’s newest initiative seeks to respond to the alarming rates of violence experienced by women with disabilities and Deaf women.

Through DAWN-RAFH Canada’s on-going community development work, we know that when women with disabilities try to access violence prevention services, they face another level of abuse, or secondary systemic violence, due to a lack of capacity on the part of service providers to respond to their particular needs. This initiative seeks to bridge the gap between policy and service delivery by providing women with disabilities with an opportunity to propose responses directly to policy makers and service providers. According to Bonnie Brayton, DAWN-RAFH Canada’s National Executive Director, “the only possible response to the women who face violence in Canada today is a going to be a national strategy that is intersectional, that is based on the social determinants of health and is linked to women’s equality.”

The “Legislation, Policy, and Service Responses” initiative, funded through Status of Women Canada, will initially be implemented in Ontario, Quebec and British Columbia. Along with identifying policy and service gaps, regional working groups in each province will also document examples of best practice in the police, victim services and violence against women sectors and determine steps for duplicating these in other municipalities or regions. Brayton says she is pleased with the Federal government decision to proceed with a national strategy and action plan on violence against women. “We need to move beyond toolkits and project funding and to link a national strategy to the work that many women’s organizations are already doing,” she said.

The DisAbled Women’s Network (DAWN-RAFH) Canada is a national, feminist, cross-disability organization whose mission is to end the poverty, isolation, discrimination and violence experienced by Canadian women with disabilities and Deaf women. Our overarching strategic approach is one of leadership, partnership and networking to engage all levels of government and the wider disability and women’s sectors and other stakeholders in addressing our key issues. *Report of Canadian Centre for Justice Statistics – Statistics Canada: http://www.statcan.gc.ca/daily-quotidien/151123/dq151123a-eng.htm

-30-

Contact: Hanane Khales Communications Coordinator, DisAbled Women's Network (DAWN) Canada Toll free: 1-866-396-0074 Téléphone: (514) 396-0009 EXT. 2505 Fax: (514) 396-6585 communications@dawncanada.net




Top

All contents copyright , 1999-2018, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.

NEADS Logo - Accueil
Trouvez-nous sur : Facebook YouTube

QuestionQuestion:
Comment faire pour savoir si un groupe ou une association d’étudiants handicapés existe sur mon campus?


Événements prochains

Voir d'autres événements

Autre site d'intérèt


Advertisement



Média

DAWN-RAFH Canada lance son initiative étalée sur plusieurs années pour contrer la Violence envers les Femmes en situation de Handicap et les femmes Sourdes

POUR DIFFUSION IMMEDIATE Montréal, le 25 novembre 2015,  DAWN-RAFH Canada est heureux d’annoncer le lancement de son initiative “Législation, Programmes et Services: des réponses à la violence envers les femmes en situation de handicap et les femmes Sourdes”. Etalée sur plusieurs années, cette initiative va examiner et traiter les écarts entre la politique et les prestations de service, qui contribuent aux taux élevés de violence perpétrée contre ce groupe.

En dépit du fait que le Code Criminel Canadien et de nombreux instruments des droits humains qui prohibent la violence envers les femmes, les données publiées cette semaine par le Centre Canadien des Statistiques Judiciaires dans un rapport* (copie jointe) sur la Victimisation Criminelle au Canada, révèlent que le seul crime qui n’a pas diminué au Canada est celui de la violence sexuelle. Ceci vient renforcer ce que les organisations féministes savent déjà, à savoir: que les femmes, particulièrement les femmes autochtones ET spécifiquement les femmes en situation de handicap ET les femmes itinérantes, ET les femmes ayant vécu des abus dans leur enfance, sont souvent les premières victimes.

La nouvelle initiative de DAWN-RAFH Canada cherche à répondre aux taux alarmants de violence vécue par les femmes en situation de handicap et les femmes Sourdes. A travers le travail basé sur le développement communautaire de DAWN-RAFH Canada, nous savons que quand les femmes en situation de handicap essaient d’accéder aux services de prévention de la violence, elles font face à un autre niveau d’abus, ou à la violence systémique secondaire, due au manque de capacité des fournisseurs de service pour répondre à leurs besoins particuliers.

Cette initiative cherche à combler le fossé entre la politique et la prestation de services, en fournissant aux femmes en situation de handicap l’opportunité de proposer des réponses directement aux décideurs politiques et aux fournisseurs de services. Selon Bonnie Brayton, Directrice Exécutive Nationale de DAWN-RAFH Canada, “Aujourd’hui, la seule réponse possible aux femmes faisant face à la violence au Canada sera une stratégie nationale qui est intersectionnelle, basée sur les déterminants sociaux de la santé et qui est en lien avec l’égalité des femmes.” L’initiative “Législation, Programmes et Services: Réponses à la violence envers les femmes en situation de handicap et les femmes Sourdes”, financée par Condition Féminine Canada, va d’abord être implantée en Ontario, au Québec et en Colombie Britannique.

Tout en identifiant les écarts entre la politique et la prestation de service, les groupes régionaux de travail dans chaque province vont également enregistrer des exemples de bonnes pratiques dans les services de police, les services aux victimes et dans les secteurs de violence contre les femmes, et vont déterminer les étapes pour transférer ces bonnes pratiques dans les autres municipalités ou régions. Madame Brayton dit qu’elle est heureuse de la décision du gouvernement fédéral de poursuivre sur la voie d’une stratégie nationale et d’un plan d’action sur la violence envers les femmes. “Nous avons besoin de sortir du cadre de financement perpétuel de projets et de trousses, et de lier une stratégie nationale au travail déjà accompli sur le terrain par différentes organisations”, a-t-elle ajouté. Le Réseau d’action des femmes handicapées (DAWN-RAFH) Canada est une organisation féministe nationale, multi-handicap dont la mission est de mettre fin à la pauvreté, à l’isolement, à la discrimination et à la violence que connaissent les femmes en situation de handicap et les femmes Sourdes.

Notre approche stratégique globale est basée sur le Leadership, le partenariat et le réseautage, pour amener les différents paliers gouvernementaux, les secteurs du handicap et des femmes ainsi que d’autres acteurs à œuvrer à la résolution de nos problèmes clés. *Rapport du Centre Canadien des Statistiques Judiciaires - Statistiques Canada: http://www.statcan.gc.ca/daily-quotidien/151123/dq151123a-fra.htm

-30-

Contact: Hanane Khales Coordonnatrice des Communications Réseau d'Action des Femmes Handicapées (RAFH) Canada Sans frais: 1-866-396-0074 Téléphone: (514) 396-0009 EXT. 2505 Télécopieur: (514) 396-6585 communications@dawncanada.net




Haut

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2017, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.