NEADS Logo - Home
Find us on: Facebook YouTube

Question MarkQuick Question:
Is there appropriate access to medical attention if I am in need throughout the school year?


Upcoming Events

More Events

Link of the day

More Links

Donate Now to support NEADS! We need your support!
Donations are tax deductible and you will receive a charitable tax receipt for 100% of your gift.

Donate Now Through CanadaHelps.org!

Projects

Equity Through Education Project: Phase II

Equity Through Education

On May 17th 2006 the National Educational Association of Disabled Students (NEADS) became one of four Canadian recipients of donations from the second Equity Through Education program supported through BMO Capital Markets.

Our new project, which commenced in the spring of 2006, will continue to support equitable opportunities for post-secondary students and graduates with disabilities. The focus for the next Equity Through Education initiative will have three aspects:

  • Scholarships for students and an award for campus groups;
  • Demonstrations and consultations to enhance our job site – the NEADS Online Work System (NOWS) and;
  • Development of a mentorship program.

Scholarships for Post-Secondary Students With Disabilities and an Award for Disabled Students Groups on Campus to improve student life

A major barrier to access to post-secondary education for students with disabilities is financial in nature, as disability-related academic accommodations are often expensive, and students who are not eligible for government loans programs are concomitantly not eligible for disability bursaries provided by these agencies. While disability scholarships and awards are one way of alleviating this barrier, currently, only a limited number of scholarships are available for post-secondary students with disabilities to defray their education costs (tuition and disability-related accommodations). Most of these scholarships are limited in financial scope; apply to a single part of the population of persons with disabilities; or are entrance scholarships. The great majority of these scholarships focus on the undergraduate college and/or university experience, and do not extend to graduate or professional programs.

One of our purposes is, therefore, to award up to four individual NEADS Equity Through Education Scholarships per year, for three years, at a value of $3,000 each. These scholarships will be offered to encourage full access to post-secondary education for persons with disabilities who often have greater barriers to participation in higher education and extra costs because of their disabilities. The tuition scholarships will be awarded in the following categories of study: University undergraduate (Arts and Science); Graduate/Professional; and College. Students must be registered in a post-secondary institution and provide documented proof of registration. The award will be offered to outstanding applicants, who meet the criteria of the program, as selected by an Equity Through Education Scholarship Selection Committee to be identified by the NEADS board of directors. The scholarships will be paid directly to the post-secondary institution (in the students’ accounts) that the recipients are attending to defray the cost of tuition fees for post-secondary study.

Secondly, we will award one NEADS Equity Through Education Organizational Project Award per year, to be granted to a post-secondary campus group of students with disabilities or access committee addressing disability issues at a university or college, to support innovative programs/initiatives to improve campus life for students with disabilities. The amount of this award will be determined by a selection committee based on the features and merits of the winning proposal, but will be approximately $5,000.

Development of the NEADS Online Work System (NOWS) through demonstration forums for employers and students

The NEADS Online Work System (NOWS) is a bilingual, online service where employers can post opportunities and search for job-ready candidates with disabilities. Students and graduates with disabilities can register to look for employment in their fields of interest and can upload their CVs to be viewed by recruiters from registered employers. NOWS has grown tremendously since its launch in 2003; currently, over 1070 students and graduates with disabilities, as well as 56 employers, from different sectors of the economy, registered to use the site.

NEADS is extending the development and awareness of the NEADS Online Work System www.nows.ca, and to recruit additional employers to the site. To enhance the multi-sector representation of the NOWS registrants and to encourage the employers to use our job site more frequently to post employment opportunities. To allow students and employers, in a one-day event, to learn about the features of our free job site and to use the NOWS service as an important tool in their career and recruitment searches/strategies.

Three to four NOWS events will be held in 2006/2007, and three to four will be held in 2007/2008. These interactive forums, with demonstrations provided by members of our webteam, would be held in different regions of the country in accessible hotels with disability accommodations provided – as required – including sign language interpretation. One of the events in 2006/2007 will be held in conjunction with the NEADS National Conference in Ottawa, with the employer luncheon taking place the Friday before the conference.

Additionally, we will expand NOWS to allow Career Centre and Employment Resource Centre professionals access to the benefits currently offered to students. These new users will have the ability to search for jobs and print them for students and graduates they serve. The screening process for these new accounts will be similar to that of employer accounts.

To further supplement NOWS outreach to employers and its ongoing development, NOWS will be profiled at up to three conferences per year. NEADS will host a NOWS booth at the exhibition/tradeshow portion of these conferences. Exhibits will be focused on conferences and tradeshows targeted at employers and HR professionals – with an emphasis on recruitment, equity and retention.

Development of the framework for a National Mentorship Program

Well-structured and appropriate mentorship experiences can help students to make a more successful transition into the employment market. Students with disabilities, who often face more barriers and obstacles when looking for work than their non-disabled peers, can benefit greatly from such a program.

NEADS will capitalize on the networks established and issues identified by NEADS over the past 20 years, the establishment of the NOWS website, and specifically during the 2005-2007 Job Search Strategies Forums (JSS) Project, and to meet an identified need arising from the JSS Forums, by developing a framework and piloting an extern/peer mentoring program for students with disabilities in post-secondary education.

The mentorship program must be inclusive of a broad range of sectors (including science/technology, biotechnology, university/college, government, financial, etc.). The Program would be designed to have both English and French components. Previously established mentorship programs in post-secondary education settings can be used as models to build this program.


Top

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2017, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.

NEADS Logo - Accueil
Trouvez-nous sur : Facebook YouTube

QuestionQuestion:
Quels types d’aménagements prévoit-on habituellement pour les étudiantes et étudiants handicapés qui fréquentent un collège ou une université?


Événements prochains

Voir d'autres événements

Autre site d'intérèt


Advertisement



Projets

Projet Action-Éducation : Phase II

Action-Éducation

Le 17 mai 2006, l’Association nationale des étudiant(e)s handicapé(e)s au niveau postsecondaire (NEADS) est devenue la quatrième organisation canadienne à recevoir des fonds dans le cadre de la deuxième journée du programme Action-Éducation de BMO Marchés des capitaux.

Un nouveau projet débutera au printemps 2006 et continuera de promouvoir l’équité en emploi pour les diplômés et les étudiants handicapés du postsecondaire. Le projet Action-Éducation comportera trois volets :

  • des bourses d’études pour les étudiants et un prix pour les groupes oeuvrant sur les campus;
  • des démonstrations et des consultations afin d’améliorer le site de NOWS (NEADS Online Work System), notre Système d’emploi en ligne;
  • la mise sur pied d’un programme de mentorat.

Bourses d’études pour les étudiants handicapés du postsecondaire et prix décerné à un groupe d’étudiants handicapé pour un projet d’amélioration de la vie étudiante sur le campus

Un obstacle important qui empêche souvent les étudiants handicapés d’accéder à l’éducation postsecondaire est de nature financière, car les aménagements requis sont souvent coûteux, et les étudiants qui ne sont pas admissibles aux programmes de prêts étudiants ne le sont pas non plus aux bourses offertes aux étudiants handicapés par les programmes de prêts et bourses. Certes, les bourses et prix s’adressant aux étudiants handicapés du postsecondaire sont un moyen de lever cet obstacle, mais le nombre de bourses qui leur sont offertes pour payer leurs études (frais de scolarité et aménagements spéciaux) est actuellement limité. De plus, la majeure partie de ces bourses offrent un montant restreint, ne visent qu’un faible segment des personnes handicapées ou encore permettent seulement de débuter des études postsecondaires. Enfin, ces bourses s’adressent en majorité aux étudiants du premier cycle, et ne couvrent pas les études supérieures ou les programmes professionnels.

Ce volet vise donc vise à offrir jusqu’à quatre bourses d’études Action-Éducation / NEADS par année, d’une durée de trois ans et d’une valeur de 3 000 $ chacune. Ces bourses encourageront le plein accès à l’éducation postsecondaire aux personnes handicapées qui doivent souvent surmonter de plus grands obstacles pour suivre des études supérieures, et qui doivent payer plus cher, en raison de leurs déficiences. Ces bourses d’études, dont le but est de couvrir les frais d’inscription, seront décernées pour les catégories d’études suivantes : premier cycle universitaire (arts et sciences); études supérieures / études professionnelles; études collégiales. Les étudiants doivent être inscrits dans un établissement postsecondaire et présenter une preuve documentée d’inscription. La bourse sera offerte aux candidats exceptionnels qui répondent aux critères du programme, lesquels seront établis par un Comité d’attribution des bourses d’études Action-Éducation, dont les membres seront nommés par le Conseil d’administration de NEADS. Les bourses seront versées directement à l’établissement postsecondaire où le boursier est inscrit (dans son compte), afin de couvrir une partie des frais de scolarité.

En second lieu, nous décernerons une fois l’an un prix Action-Éducation / NEADS à un groupe d’étudiants handicapés ou à un comité d’accès qui œuvre sur un campus, pour un projet visant à faire avancer la cause des étudiants handicapés à l’université ou au collège. Ce prix vise à soutenir les initiatives et/ou programmes novateurs susceptibles d’améliorer la vie des étudiants handicapés sur le campus. Le montant de ce prix, environ 5 000 $, sera déterminé par un comité de sélection, et dépendra des caractéristiques et des mérites de la proposition retenue.

Développement du Système d’emploi en ligne (NOWS) de NEADS, grâce à des forums s’adressant aux employeurs et aux étudiants

NOWS, c’est quoi? : Le Système d’emploi en ligne de NEADS, désigné par son abréviation anglaise NOWS, est un service en ligne bilingue qui permet aux employeurs d’afficher des offres d’emploi et de rechercher des candidats handicapés aptes au marché du travail. Les étudiants et les diplômés handicapés peuvent s’inscrire au système pour rechercher des emplois dans leurs domaines d’intérêt, et ils peuvent placer leur CV sur le site de NOWS, à l’intention des services de recrutement des employeurs inscrits. Ce système a connu une croissance spectaculaire depuis sa création en 2003. À l’heure actuelle, plus de 1 070 étudiants et diplômés handicapés et 56 employeurs de différents secteurs de l’économie sont inscrits.

Le but est d'améliorer le système NOWS (www.nows.ca), mieux le faire connaître et recruter d’autres employeurs. Accroître la représentation des divers secteurs de l’économie parmi les employeurs inscrits à NOWS et encourager les employeurs à utiliser plus fréquemment notre site pour afficher leurs offres d’emploi. Permettre aux étudiants et aux employeurs, dans le cadre d’événements d’une journée, de mieux connaître les fonctionnalités de notre site gratuit de recherche d’emploi, et également d’apprendre comment utiliser NOWS comme outil important dans leurs recherches d’emploi et leurs stratégies de recrutement, respectivement.

Trois ou quatre forums NOWS auront lieu en 2006 2007, et trois ou quatre autres en 2007 2008. Ces forums interactifs, assortis de démonstrations présentées par les membres de notre équipe Web, seront tenus dans différentes régions du pays, dans des hôtels accessibles offrant des aménagements pour personnes handicapées, y compris un service d’interprétation en langage gestuel. En 2006 2007, un des événements aura lieu en parallèle avec la conférence nationale de NEADS à Ottawa, et le dîner des employeurs aura lieu le vendredi précédant la conférence.

De plus, nous accroîtrons les fonctionnalités de NOWS pour permettre aux professionnels des centres de carrières et des centres de ressources en emploi d’avoir les mêmes privilèges actuellement offerts aux étudiants. Ces nouveaux utilisateurs pourront effectuer des recherches dans la banque d’emplois et les imprimer à l’intention des étudiants et des diplômés qu’ils desservent. Le processus d’évaluation de ces nouveaux comptes sera similaire à celui qui est utilisé pour les comptes d’employeurs.

Afin de mieux faire connaître NOWS et les activités en cours aux employeurs, une présentation spéciale sur NOWS aura lieu dans diverses conférences, jusqu’à trois par année. NEADS présentera un kiosque NOWS dans le volet exposition / foire commerciale de ces conférences. Nous viserons les conférences et les foires commerciales qui s’adressent aux employeurs et aux professionnels des ressources humaines, et nous mettrons l’accent sur le recrutement, l’équité en emploi et la rétention.

Élaboration du cadre d’un Programme national de mentorat

Un mentorat bien structuré et approprié peut vraiment aider les étudiants à réussir leur transition vers le marché du travail. Quand ils recherchent du travail, les étudiants handicapés sont souvent confrontés à des barrières et des obstacles plus grands que leurs collègues non handicapés. Un programme de mentorat peut leur être vraiment utile.

Buts : Mettre à profit les réseaux déjà établis et la thématique définie par NEADS au cours des 20 dernières années. Profiter du site Web NOWS, particulièrement dans le cadre des forums sur les stratégies de recherche d’emploi pour 2005 2007. Élaborer un cadre pour le programme de mentorat et réaliser une expérience pilote de mentorat externe et/ou avec pairs pour les étudiants handicapés du postsecondaire, afin de répondre à un besoin manifeste constaté pendant les forums.

Le programme de mentorat doit inclure un large éventail de secteurs (dont la science / technologie, la biotechnologie, les universités et collèges, l’administration publique, le secteur financier, etc.). Le programme offrirait des volets anglais et français. De plus, on pourrait se baser sur les programmes de mentorat déjà établis dans les établissements postsecondaires.


Haut

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2017, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.