NEADS Logo - Home
Find us on: Facebook YouTube Twitter

Quick Question:
Where can students with learning disabilities receive funding to help cover the cost of disability assessments?


Upcoming Events

More Events

Link of the day

More Links

Donate Now to support NEADS! We need your support!
Donations are tax deductible and you will receive a charitable tax receipt for 100% of your gift.

Donate Now Through CanadaHelps.org!

Media

AMI announces winners of 2018 AMI Robert Pearson Memorial Scholarship

News provided by
Accessible Media Inc. (AMI)    -

Nov 27, 2018, 11:10 ET -

TORONTO, Nov. 27, 2018 /CNW/ - Accessible Media Inc. (AMI) announced today the winners of its 2018 AMI Robert Pearson Memorial Scholarship. The program, which launched in 2012, is open to Canadian students enrolled in a diploma or degree program at a Canadian post-secondary school. Two scholarships valued at $5,000 each are awarded annually to students with a disability, one in English and one in French.

The winners of this year's AMI Robert Pearson Memorial Scholarship are Laura Lefevre of Edmonton, Alberta, and Elisanne Pellerin from Montreal, Quebec. Laura is in Year 1 of a Master's program in Interdisciplinary Studies at Royal Roads University while Elisanne is in the first year of Political Science at the Université du Québec à Montréal.

"I was only diagnosed with Asperger's just over a year ago," Laura says. "I can't explain how it feels to have spoken in a way that others can hear and to have that acknowledged – and to have been heard and acknowledged by AMI! I'm honoured. And shocked. And delighted. And very, very grateful."

"I am very happy to have been awarded this scholarship which is definitely a boost in helping me pay my daily university expenses," Elisanne says. "Furthermore, it is always very much appreciated to be recognized for what we do. This will help me pursue my studies and obtain my doctorate."

AMI partnered, once again, with the National Educational Association of Disabled Students (NEADS) to administer the program. Since its founding in 1986, NEADS has been mandated to support full access to education and employment for post-secondary students and graduates with disabilities across Canada.

Information and eligibility requirements for the 2019 AMI Scholarship program will be posted on the AMI websites in February 2019. Visit www.AMI.ca/scholarship  and www.amitele.ca/bourse-ami-tele  for complete details.

About Accessible Media Inc.

AMI is a not-for-profit media company that entertains, informs and empowers Canadians who are blind or partially sighted. Operating three broadcast services, AMI-tv and AMI-audio in English and AMI-télé in French, AMI's vision is to establish and support a voice for Canadians with disabilities, representing their interests, concerns and values through accessible media, reflection and portrayal. To learn more visit AMI.ca and AMItele.ca.

SOURCE Accessible Media Inc. (AMI)

For further information: Janis Davidson Pressick, Marketing and Communications Manager, (800) 567-6755 Ext. 0971, janis.davidsonpressick@ami.ca Or Greg David, Communications Specialist, Accessible Media Inc., Greg.David@ami.ca, 647-417-0631

Related Links

http://www.accessiblemedia.com

(Source: https://www.newswire.ca/news-releases/ami-announces-winners-of-2018-ami-robert-pearson-memorial-scholarship-701351511.html?fbclid=IwAR3knwyTDhva6ND1hwyoQ2C99KoowgvF_llZvTG3L7GemMTQUV0S3icETDs )




Top

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2018, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.

NEADS Logo - Accueil
Trouvez-nous sur : Facebook YouTube Twitter

QuestionQuestion:
À qui dois-je m’adresser pour obtenir de l’information sur l’aide financière disponible pour payer mes études postsecondaires?


Événements prochains

Voir d'autres événements

Autre site d'intérèt


Advertisement



Média

AMI annonce le nom des lauréats du programme de bourses d’études AMI 2018 en mémoire de Robert Pearson

Montréal, le 27 novembre 2018 – Accessibilité Média Inc. (AMI) a annoncé aujourd’hui le nom des lauréats de son programme de bourses d’études annuel en mémoire de Robert Pearson. Ce programme, lancé en 2012, est ouvert aux étudiants canadiens qui suivent des études menant à un diplôme ou à un grade dans une école postsecondaire canadienne. Deux bourses d’études de 5 000 $ chacune, une en anglais et une en français, sont remises chaque année à des étudiants ayant une incapacité.

Les lauréates du programme de bourses d’études AMI 2018 en mémoire de Robert Pearson sont Élisanne Pellerin, de Montréal (Québec) et Laura Lefèvre, d’Edmonton (Alberta). Cette dernière étudie en première année de maîtrise en études interdisciplinaires à l’Université Royal Roads, alors qu’Élisanne est en première année de sciences politiques à l’Université du Québec à Montréal.

« Je suis bien contente d’avoir gagné cette bourse. C’est un coup de pouce qui va m’aider à continuer mes études et à payer mes factures quotidiennes et universitaires ainsi qu’à obtenir mon doctorat, a dit Élisanne. Ça fait toujours plaisir d’être reconnue dans ce qu’on fait. »

 « Cela ne fait qu’un peu plus d’un an qu’on m’a diagnostiqué le syndrome d’Asperger, a pour sa part dit Laura. Je ne peux pas expliquer ce que je ressens d’être entendue et reconnue par les autres, et entendue et reconnue par AMI! Je suis à la fois honorée, surprise et ravie. Mais surtout très, très reconnaissante. »

Une fois de plus, AMI s’est associée avec l’Association nationale des étudiant(e)s handicapé(e)s au niveau postsecondaire (NEADS) pour gérer ce programme. Depuis sa fondation en 1986, cette association a pour mandat de promouvoir le plein accès à l’éducation et à l’emploi pour les étudiants et diplômés postsecondaires ayant une incapacité partout au Canada.

Les renseignements concernant entre autres les conditions d’admissibilité au programme de bourses d’études d’AMI 2019 seront affichés sur les sites web d’AMI en février 2019. Pour en savoir plus, allez à www.AMI.ca/scholarship ou à www.amitele.ca/bourse-ami-tele.

À propos d'AMI

AMI est un organisme multimédia à but non lucratif qui vise à divertir, informer et motiver les Canadiennes et les Canadiens aveugles ou malvoyants. La vision d’AMI, qui exploite trois services de radiodiffusion (AMI-télé en français, et AMI-tv et AMI-audio en anglais), consiste à faire entendre la voix des Canadiennes et des Canadiens en situation de handicap en représentant leurs intérêts, leurs préoccupations et leurs valeurs par le biais de médias accessibles qui reflètent leur réalité. Pour en savoir plus, visitez AMI.ca et AMItele.ca.

SOURCE : Accessibilité Média Inc. (AMI)
Pour de plus amples informations, communiquez avec :
Bouba Slim, chef marketing et communications
438-288-3610 bouba.slim@ami.ca

ou

Greg David, spécialiste en communications, Accessible Media Inc., Greg.David@ami.ca, 647-417-0631




Haut

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2018, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.