NEADS Logo - Home
Find us on: Facebook YouTube

Question MarkQuick Question:
What are my rights to post-secondary education as a person with a disability?


Upcoming Events

More Events

Link of the day

More Links

Donate Now to support NEADS! We need your support!
Donations are tax deductible and you will receive a charitable tax receipt for 100% of your gift.

Donate Now Through CanadaHelps.org!

Media

PRESS RELEASE LAUNCH OF A NATIONAL EMPLOYER AWARENESS CAMPAIGN: The HIRE for TALENT campaign aims to increase small business awareness and confidence regarding hiring people with disabilities

Campbellton, New Brunswick – October 18, 2017 –

Today, the Restigouche CBDC is launching a pan-Canadian employer awareness campaign to increase employers’ confidence in hiring persons with disabilities.

The HIRE for TALENT campaign will provide a free Employer Toolkit to help employers tap into this talent pool during their search for skilled workers. By understanding how to create inclusive workplaces, employers will discover the corporate and business advantages of hiring people with disabilities.

The campaign will direct employers to the HIRE for TALENT website ([http://www.hirefortalent.ca) featuring the Employer Toolkit, videos of employer and employee testimonials speaking to the benefits of hiring people with disabilities. On the Website, employers will also have access to a network of organizations offering services and programs that can help businesses recruit, hire, train and retain people with disabilities.

As explained by Reno Michel Haché, Designer and Developer of the HIRE for TALENT Employer Toolkit: “This project is very important for Canada’s labour market considering that Canadian employers are facing increasing employee recruitment challenges. HIRE for TALENT finds its roots in showcasing the skills and competencies that persons with disabilities can bring to the workforce.” According to a 2015 Statistics Canada survey, an estimated 411,600 individuals with disabilities are not currently employed but have the potential to work, and almost half of these qualified workers are post-secondary graduates.

Many companies are discovering the business advantages of hiring people with physical and mental disabilities. Employers often find that workers who identify as having a disability have unique abilities, and tend to work harder to prove themselves, as testifies Dave Demers, Co-owner, The Works in Ottawa: “The workforce is changing, and we’ve found great success with people with disabilities, they really take ownership of their role.”

“By supporting a project like Hire for Talent, the Government of Canada is demonstrating that all workers, including those with disabilities, can make a valuable contribution to the success of Canadian businesses and the growing Canadian economy. Considering that Canadian employers are currently reporting tangible difficulties finding workers, this is an excellent opportunity to tap into this skilled workforce,” said the Honourable Kent Hehr, Minister of Sport and Persons with Disabilities.

The HIRE for TALENT awareness campaign and resources were developed in close collaboration with over 20 partnering organizations, including supported-employment partners, subject matter experts, and disability service providers. The project’s National Advisory Committee is composed of the following six groups who participated in today’s press conference, broadcast live at seven different sites across Canada:

•“We recognize the unique needs employers have in various sectors and the Hire for Talent online toolkit and website can support these needs,” from Maureen Haan, President and CEO, Canadian Council on Rehabilitation and Work (CCRW), St.John’s, NL

•“Effective inclusive hiring practices can result in increased productivity, higher rates of retention, improved employee engagement and an inspired corporate culture,” from Danny Soucy, Executive Director, New Brunswick Association for Community Living, Fredericton, NB.

•“We are very proud to participate in the Hire for Talent campaign that offers an interactive toolkit that will allow you to greet and include a wider diversity of employees while maximizing their full potential within your business”, from Roger Albert, Executive Director, Independent Living, Montreal, QC

•“The Hire for Talent project and website have delivered an outstanding awareness raising suite of resources for employers, showing the true value, talent and skills of persons with disabilities in the Canadian workforce,” from Frank Smith, National Coordinator, National Educational Association of Disabled Students (NEADS), Ottawa, ON.

•“Hire for Talent is a user friendly website that can answer many of your questions or curiosities as well as connect you with the free services available to you”, from Tracy Williams, past president of the Canadian Association for Supported Employment (CASE), Saskatoon, SK.

• “We believe in the power of strong, collaborative partnerships between the government, employment service providers, and employers. Thanks to the advanced and innovative online toolkit, together we can create a more supporting culture and inclusive workplace for people with disabilities”, from Tom Burnell, Chief Executive Officer, Open Door Group, Vancouver, BC

Participation in this employer awareness campaign also includes organizations from the Community Futures Network of Canada —a national network of 268 not-for-profit organizations that provide small business services to entrepreneurs of rural communities. Those organizations will help spread the word to rural Canadian businesses.

The HIRE for TALENT promotional activities, the online Employer Toolkit, and the project’s unique network of partnerships, will enable the awareness campaign to reach the largest possible number of employers across Canada, and offer them support in their efforts to hire and maintain successful employment of people with disabilities.

Funding:

The HIRE for TALENT project is funded by the Government of Canada's Opportunities Fund for Persons with Disabilities.

Restigouche CBDC:

This project is delivered by the Restigouche Community Business Development Corporation (CBDC), based in Campbellton, New Brunswick. Part of the Community Futures Network of Canada, the Restigouche CBDC delivers a range of small business support programs, as well as innovative programs and projects in the areas of online training, research, HR management and career counselling.

- 30 -

For more information or press inquiries, contact: Restigouche CBDC - Delivering the Project Aysleigh Lefurgey Communications Coordinator Aysleigh.Lefurgey@cbdc.ca (506) 753-3344 | 1.888.351.3344




Top

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2017, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.

NEADS Logo - Accueil
Trouvez-nous sur : Facebook YouTube

QuestionQuestion:
Qu’est-ce que je dois faire pour obtenir des livres en braille, sur audiocassette ou sur disquette?


Événements prochains

Voir d'autres événements

Autre site d'intérèt


Advertisement



Média

Pour diffusion immédiate - COMMUNIQUÉ DE PRESSE LANCEMENT D’UNE CAMPAGNE NATIONALE DE SENSIBILISATION DES EMPLOYEURS La campagne OPTEZ pour le TALENT vise à sensibiliser davantage les petites entreprises et à bâtir la confiance d’employeurs cherchant à embaucher des personnes en situation de handicap

Campbellton, Nouveau-Brunswick – le 18 octobre 2017 –

Aujourd’hui, la CBDC Restigouche lance une campagne de sensibilisation pancanadienne destinée aux employeurs qui cherchent à bâtir leur confiance pour l’embauche de personnes en situation de handicap.

La campagne OPTEZ pour le TALENT propose une trousse d’outils de l’employeur gratuite afin d’aider les employeurs à exploiter ce bassin méconnu de main-d’œuvre pendant leur recherche d’employés compétents. En comprenant comment créer des milieux de travail inclusifs, les employeurs découvriront les avantages, tant pour l’entreprise que pour les affaires, associés à l’embauche de personnes en situation de handicap.

La campagne invitera les employeurs à consulter le site Web d’OPTEZ pour le TALENT ([http://www.optezpourletalent.ca), qui comprend la trousse d’outils de l’employeur et les témoignages vidéos d’employeurs et d’employés discutant des avantages d’embaucher des personnes en situation de handicap. Par l’entremise du site Web, les employeurs auront aussi l’accès à un réseau d’organismes qui offrent des services et des programmes pour aider les entreprises à recruter, à embaucher, à former et à maintenir en poste les personnes en situation de handicap.

Voici ce qu’en dit Reno Michel Haché, concepteur et créateur de la trousse d’outils de l’employeur OPTEZ pour le TALENT : « Ce projet est très important pour le marché du travail du Canada, étant donné les défis de recrutement de plus en plus grands que doivent surmonter les employeurs canadiens. OPTEZ pour le TALENT a été conçu afin de mettre en valeur les habiletés et les compétences que les personnes en situation de handicap peuvent apporter à l’effectif ». Selon un sondage de Statistique Canada mené en 2015, environ 411 600 personnes en situation de handicap seraient sans emploi, mais en mesure de travailler. Près de la moitié de ces travailleurs compétents sont titulaires d’un diplôme d’études postsecondaires.

Bon nombre d’entreprises découvrent les avantages d’embaucher des personnes en situation de handicap physique ou mental. Les employeurs constatent souvent que les travailleurs en situation de handicap ont des habiletés uniques et ont tendance à travailler plus fort afin de faire leurs preuves, comme en témoigne Dave Demers, copropriétaire, The Works, à Ottawa : « La main-d’œuvre évolue et nous avons eu beaucoup de succès en embauchant des personnes en situation de handicap. Ces employés assument la pleine responsabilité de leur rôle ».

« En soutenant un projet tel que Hire for talent, le gouvernement du Canada prouve que tous les travailleurs, y compris les travailleurs handicapés, peuvent apporter une précieuse contribution au succès des entreprises canadiennes et à la croissance de notre économie. Étant donné que les employeurs éprouvent d’importantes difficultés à embaucher des travailleurs, c’est une excellente occasion de puiser dans cette main-d’œuvre qualifiée » a affirmé l’honorable Kent Hehr, ministre des Sports et des Personnes handicapées.

La campagne de sensibilisation et les ressources d’OPTEZ pour le TALENT ont été conçues en collaboration étroite avec plus de 20 organismes partenaires, dont des partenaires de soutien à l’emploi, des spécialistes du domaine et des fournisseurs de services dans le domaine des personnes en situation de handicap. Le comité consultatif national du projet comprend des représentants des six groupes suivants qui ont participé à la conférence de presse d’aujourd’hui, diffusé en direct depuis sept endroits différents au Canada :

•« Nous reconnaissons les besoins uniques des employeurs dans divers domaines, et la trousse d’outils en ligne d’Optez pour le talent et son site Web peuvent répondre à ces besoins », affirme Maureen Haan, présidente et directrice générale, Conseil canadien de la réadaptation et du travail (CCRT), St.John’s (T.-N.-L.).

•« Des pratiques d’embauches inclusives et efficaces peuvent mener à des taux de fidélisation plus élevés, un meilleur engagement de la part des employés et une culture organisationnelle innovatrice », affirme Danny Soucy, Directeur général de l’Association du Nouveau-Brunswick pour l’intégration communautaire, Fredericton, N.-B.

•« Nous sommes très fiers de participer à la campagne Optez pour le talent qui vous offrira un guide d’outils interactif vous permettant d’accueillir et d’intégrer une diversité d’employés en maximisant leur plein potentiel au sein de votre entreprise », affirme Roger Albert, Directeur général de Vie autonome, Montréal (Qc).

•« Le projet Optez pour le talent et son site Web propose des ressources de sensibilisation de l’employeur remarquables, démontrant la valeur réelle, le talent et les compétences des personnes en situation de handicap au sein de la main-d’œuvre canadienne », affirme Frank Smith, coordonnateur national de l’Association nationale des étudiant(e)s handicapé(e)s au niveau postsecondaire (NEADS), Ottawa (Ont.).

•« Optez pour le talent est un site Web facile à utiliser qui peut répondre à vos questions et curiosités et peut vous mettre en communication avec les services gratuits qui s’offrent à vous », affirme Tracy Williams, présidente sortante de l’Association canadienne de soutien à l’emploi (ACSE), Saskatoon (Sask.).

•« Nous croyons au pouvoir des partenariats puissants entre le gouvernement, les fournisseurs de services d’emplois et les employeurs. Grâce à la trousse d’outils en ligne novatrice et de qualité supérieure, nous pourrons créer une culture de soutien et des milieux de travail inclusifs pour les personnes en situation de handicap », affirme Tom Burnell, Directeur général de l’Open Door Group, Vancouver (C.-B.).

Les participants à cette campagne de sensibilisation des employeurs comprennent aussi des organismes du Réseau de développement des collectivités du Canada — un réseau national regroupant 268 organismes à but non lucratif qui offrent des services de petites entreprises aux entrepreneurs de collectivités rurales. Ces organismes permettront de diffuser le message aux entreprises situées dans les milieux ruraux du Canada.

Les activités promotionnelles, la trousse d’outils de l’employeur offerte en ligne et le réseau unique de partenaires du projet OPTEZ pour le TALENT permettront à la campagne de sensibilisation de sensibiliser le plus d’employeurs possible au Canada et leur offriront du soutien dans leurs efforts d’embauche de personnes en situation de handicap.

Financement Le projet

OPTEZ pour le TALENT est financé par le gouvernement du Canada par le Fonds d’intégration pour les personnes handicapées.

CBDC Restigouche

Ce projet est mené à bien par la Corporation au bénéfice du développement communautaire (CBDC), situé à Campbellton, au Nouveau-Brunswick. Membre du Réseau de développement des collectivités du Canada, la CBDC Restigouche propose une variété de programmes de soutien aux petites entreprises, ainsi que des programmes et projets novateurs dans les domaines de la formation, de la recherche, de la gestion des RH et de l’orientation professionnelle.

- 30 -

Pour en savoir davantage ou pour des demandes des médias, communiquez avec : CBDC Restigouche – responsable du projet Aysleigh Lefurgey Coordonnatrice des communications Aysleigh.Lefurgey@cbdc.ca 506-753-3344 | 1-888-351-3344




Haut

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2017, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.