NEADS Logo - Home
Find us on: Facebook YouTube Twitter

Quick Question:
How do I find out if a group of students with disabilities exists on my campus?


Upcoming Events

More Events

Link of the day

More Links

Donate Now to support NEADS! We need your support!
Donations are tax deductible and you will receive a charitable tax receipt for 100% of your gift.

Donate Now Through CanadaHelps.org!

Media

NEADS Board of Directors Election 2012

The National Educational Association of Disabled Students (NEADS) will be holding its Annual General Membership meeting on the 10th day of November 2012 at the Hilton Vancouver Metrotown (6083 McKay Avenue, Burnaby, British Columbia). The Association’s regular members in good standing will elect a new Board of Directors to work with NEADS for the next two years (2013-2014). All persons interested in a position on the board must be regular members in good standing. Positions on the Board must be filled by regular members of NEADS (currently having student status or having graduated within two years of application).

The NEADS Board of Directors is composed of twelve seats; there are ten provincial Directors (e.g. British Columbia Rep., Ontario Rep., Nova Scotia Rep. etc.), one territorial Director and a Director-at-Large (who can be from any part of the country). Candidates for the positions of provincial/territorial Directors must be students or recent graduates with disabilities residing in the area and/or attending a post-secondary institution in the geographic location they seek to represent.

NEADS Board members will be expected to attend a minimum of twelve (12) monthly Board teleconferences, as well as one to two in-person Board meetings per year. Board members are also expected to participate in and chair NEADS standing and project committees, and take part in Committee teleconferences. Provincial/territorial Board members also represent their Province/Territory on the Board, and serve to bring the work of NEADS to the provinces/territories, as well as to bring local issues to the national table. Board members are free to participate in local, regional and provincial committees and activities, within the framework provided by NEADS mandate and mission.

No prior participation in the disability or student movements is required to join the NEADS Board. Members who have strong skill sets in governance, fundraising, and membership/partnership outreach are especially welcome. Any interested and enthusiastic NEADS member with relevant skill sets and a strong work ethic is encouraged to seek election.

If you would like to become a member of the NEADS Board, please complete and sign the Nomination Form as specified online and submit it by NO LATER THAN October 31st: http://www.neads.ca/en/about/events/conference2012/nomination.php

Elections will be conducted on-site in Vancouver. All regular members who have completed a membership application form and paid their dues for 2012 are eligible to vote in the election. If you have any questions, please contact Dr. Mahadeo A. Sukhai, Senior Advisor (Governance and Leadership Development) and Chief Returning Officer, at mahadeo.sukhai@neads.ca
 

Nomination Package
NEADS Board of Directors Elections 2012
Preamble – Eligibility, Roles and Responsibilities of Members of the NEADS Board of Directors
The affairs of the Association shall be managed and administered by a Board of Directors consisting of twelve (12) voting and one (1) ex oficio members. All voting members shall be elected to the Board for two-year terms, as provided for in Articles VII and VIII. Directors may sit on the board for a maximum of three (3) terms.

1. Composition - The Board of Directors will be composed of twelve (12) voting members and an ex-officio member, in the following thirteen (13) positions:
Voting Members:
A. Ten (10) provincial Directors, one from each Province of Canada;
B. One (1) territorial Director, from any of the Yukon, Nunavut and Northwest Territories; and,
C. One (1) Director-at-Large, who may come from anywhere in Canada. 
Ex-officio Members:
D. The Past-Chair or a duly appointed designate
2. Representational Requirements:
A. Provincial and Territorial Directors must be studying and/or residing in the province or territory that they are representing. If a provincial or territorial position cannot be filled by an individual living or studying in that province or territory, after at least two attempts to fill the position following the elections and upon a simple majority vote by the Board of Directors, it shall become an additional Director-at-Large position, and be filled according to the guidelines set out in Article VIII.
B. Provincial and Territorial Directors cannot hold a paid position with the Association. 
C. The Past-Chair will serve in an advisory ex-officio capacity for one term following their term of office and will attend all meetings of the Board. In the absence of a past-Chair, the Executive Committee shall recommend to the Board of Directors, a person who has served on the Executive Committee from a previous term to assume this position. This person shall be referred to as Advisor to the Board.
3. Eligibility – In addition to being duly elected, any and all persons holding a voting seat on the Board of Directors must also be regular members of the Association at the time of election, as well as meet all the requirements outlined in article VI, section 2 (A) and VI, section 2 (B).
A. Persons who are less than eighteen years of age are ineligible to be a Director of the Association.
B. Employees, or persons who hold paid involvement with the Association, are ineligible to be a Director of the Association.
4. Collective Roles and Responsibilities:
A. The Board of Directors will be the governing body of the association and shall have the right to exercise all powers it deems necessary for the governance and operation of the organization, including but not limited to the appointment of a National Coordinator and the employment of any other staff it deems appropriate;
B. The Board of Directors shall carry out the policies established at the biennial and Special General Meetings.
5. Individual Roles and Responsibilities - Each Board member will accept the following responsibilities:
A. Serve as a contact person for the Association within their jurisdiction;
B. Serve as representatives of the association on governmental and consumer related committees within their jurisdiction;
C. Participate in and chair Committees of the Association, as determined by the Executive Committee and Board;
D. Be accountable to the Board of Directors for their activities and decisions as a Board member;
E. Vote on issues brought to the attention of the Board. (A member may abstain if they feel it necessary);
F. Step down from their position as Board member through a two third majority vote of the Board or by resigning the office willingly through a written presentation to the full Board;
G. Respond in a timely manner, in person, by telephone, or through written communication, on all issues brought forward to the Board for discussion and approval;
H. Read and be prepared to respond to all materials considered part of the business of the Board and the Association;
I. File regular reports to the Board of Directors on their work as Board members.
6. Operation of the Board of Directors:
A. The NEADS Board of Directors shall meet once a month by teleconference and regularly in person.
B. Directors are expected to attend all teleconference and face-to-face meetings of the NEADS Board.
C. In the event that they are unable to attend a meeting, Board members are expected to inform the Executive Secretary or Chair of their regrets prior to, or within twenty-four 24 hours after, the meeting in question.
D. Directors who are absent without regrets for three (3) consecutive meetings, or for more than 50% of meetings in a calendar year, or who cannot provide satisfactory rationale for their absence to the Board, may be subject to removal by the Board by 2/3 majority vote of members present and voting.

Time Commitment

Board members will be expected to attend a minimum of 10 teleconferences per year, each lasting up to 2 hours, as well as 1-2 in-person Board retreats per year, dependent upon funding, that typically run Friday-Sunday. Board members are also expected to serve on at least one committee, and attend regular committee meetings by teleconference as required. Correspondence of the Board is primarily by email and telephone; members are also expected to keep up-to-date with and respond to, as necessary, all correspondence.

Note: Prospective Board members may come from a variety of backgrounds – for e.g., community service, student leadership, provincial and regional committees, etc.; or may come from none of these backgrounds. Although specific skill sets are not required, prior experience in Board governance will be a strong asset. Interest in, and experience with, establishing regional and national projects, programs and funding would also be an asset. A strong commitment to participate and engage with the volume of Board business is a must. All interested members are encouraged to apply; you must have a willingness to learn and apply that learning while on the Board.
 
 




Top

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2018, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.

NEADS Logo - Accueil
Trouvez-nous sur : Facebook YouTube

QuestionQuestion:
Est-ce que j’aurai un accès approprié aux services médicaux si j’en ai besoin pendant mon année d’études?


Événements prochains

Voir d'autres événements

Autre site d'intérèt


Advertisement



Média

Élections de 2012 au conseil d’administration de NEADS

L’Association nationale des étudiant(e)s handicapé(e)s au niveau postsecondaire (NEADS) tiendra son assemblée générale annuelle des membres le 10 novembre 2012 à l’hôtel Hilton Vancouver Metrotown (6083, avenue McKay, à Burnaby, en Colombie-Britannique). Les membres réguliers en règle de l’association éliront un nouveau conseil d’administration qui travaillera avec NEADS pendant les deux prochaines années (2013-2014). Toutes personnes qui souhaiteraient se présenter à ces élections doivent être des membres réguliers en règle. Les postes au sein du conseil d’administration doivent être pourvus par des membres réguliers de NEADS qui doivent actuellement être aux études ou avoir reçu leur diplôme deux ans avant d’avoir soumis une demande d’adhésion.

Le conseil d’administration de NEADS est composé de douze membres, soit dix administrateurs provinciaux (un de la Colombie-Britannique, un de l’Ontario, un de la Nouvelle-Écosse, etc.), un administrateur représentant les territoires et un administrateur hors cadre (qui peut venir de n’importe où au Canada). Les candidats doivent être des étudiants ou des diplômés récents handicapés qui habitent dans la région géographique qu’ils veulent représenter ou qui fréquentent un établissement d’enseignement postsecondaire dans cette région. 

On s’attend à ce que les membres du conseil d’administration de NEADS assistent à au moins douze (12) téléconférences mensuelles du conseil ainsi qu’à une ou deux réunions en personne du conseil par année. Les membres du conseil doivent aussi faire partie de comités permanents et de projets de NEADS et en présider, ainsi que participer aux téléconférences de comités. Les administrateurs provinciaux et le représentant territorial du conseil représentent leur province ou les territoires au sein du conseil et ont pour fonction de faire connaître le travail de NEADS dans leurs régions respectives et d’informer le conseil national de l’association des problèmes locaux. Les membres du conseil sont libres de participer aux activités et comités locaux, régionaux et provinciaux, dans le cadre établi par le mandat et la mission de NEADS.  

Il n’est pas nécessaire d’avoir participé à des mouvements de personnes handicapées ou d’étudiants pour siéger au conseil de NEADS. Nous réservons un accueil tout spécial aux candidats qui ont de grandes habiletés en administration, en financement et en communication avec les membres et les partenaires. Nous invitons tous les membres de NEADS qui manifestent de l’enthousiasme et de l’intérêt pour le travail del’association et qui ont des compétences pertinentes et une solide éthique de travail de se porter candidats.

Pour devenir membre du conseil d’administration de NEADS, veuillez remplir et signer le formulaire de mise en candidature en suivant les instructions en ligne et le soumettre AU PLUS TARD le 31 octobre : http://www.neads.ca/fr/about/events/conference2012/nomination.php?id=

Les élections se dérouleront à Vancouver. Tous les membres réguliers qui ont rempli leur formulaire d’adhésion et payé leurs frais d’adhésion pour 2012 ont le droit de voter aux élections. Pour toutes questions, veuillez communiquer avec M. Mahadeo A. Sukhai, conseiller principal (Gouvernance et développement du leadership) et président des élections, à mahadeo.sukhai@neads.ca.

Dossier de mise en candidature

Élections de 2012 au conseil d'administration de NEADS

Préambule – Éligibilité, rôles et responsabilités des membres du conseil d'administration de NEADS
Les affaires de l’Association doivent être gérées et administrées par un conseil d’administration comprenant douze (12) membres votants et un (1) membre d’office. Tous les membres votants doivent être élus au conseil pour un mandat de deux ans, comme le prévoient les articles VII et VIII. Les administrateurs peuvent siéger au conseil pendant un maximum de trois (3) mandats.

1. Composition – Le conseil d'administration est composé de douze (12) membres votants et d’un (1) membre d’office qui occupent les treize (13) postes suivants :
Membres votants :
A. Dix (10) représentants provinciaux, soit un représentant de chaque province du Canada;
B. Un (1) représentant des territoires, provenant du territoire du Yukon, des Territoires du Nord-Ouest ou du territoire du Nunavut; et
C. Un (1) représentant hors cadre, provenant de n’importe où au Canada.
Membres d’office :
D. Le président sortant ou un remplaçant dûment désigné.
2. Exigences en matière de représentation :
A. Les administrateurs provinciaux et territoriaux doivent étudier ou résider dans la province ou l'un des territoires qu’ils représentent. Si un poste de représentant provincial ou celui de représentant territorial n’est toujours pas rempli par une personne vivant ou étudiant dans cette province ou un des  territoires après au moins deux tentatives pour pourvoir le poste après les élections, le conseil d'administration en fera, par un vote à la majorité simple, un autre poste de représentant hors cadre qui sera rempli conformément aux directives précisées à l’article VIII.
B. Les administrateurs provinciaux et territoriaux ne peuvent pas occuper un poste rémunéré à l’Association.
C. Le président sortant occupera de par ses fonctions un rôle consultatif pendant la durée du mandat suivant son propre mandat, et participera à toutes les réunions du conseil d'administration. En l’absence d’un président sortant, le comité exécutif recommandera au conseil d'administration une personne ayant déjà siégé au comité exécutif lors d’un précédent mandat afin de remplir ce rôle. Cette personne est désignée sous le titre de conseiller du conseil d'administration.
3. Admissibilité – En plus d’être élues, toutes les personnes ayant un droit de vote au conseil d'administration doivent également être des membres réguliers de l’Association au moment de leur élection, ainsi que respecter toutes les exigences décrites à l’article VI, section 2 (A) et VI, section 2 (B).
A. Les personnes qui ont moins de dix-huit ans ne sont pas admissibles à être administratrices de l’Association.
B. Les employés ou les personnes qui remplissent des fonctions rémunérées à l’Association ne sont pas admissibles à la fonction d’administrateur de l’Association.
4. Rôles et responsabilités collectifs :
A. Le conseil d’administration sera l’organe directeur de l’association et il doit avoir le droit d’exercer tous les pouvoirs qu’il juge nécessaires pour la gouvernance et le fonctionnement de l’organisation, entre autres, pour la nomination d’un directeur exécutif et l’emploi de tout autre membre du personnel qu’il juge approprié;
B. Le conseil d’administration devrait exécuter les politiques établies aux assemblées générales bisannuelles et extraordinaires.
5. Rôles et responsabilités individuels – Chaque membre du conseil acceptera les responsabilités suivantes :
A. Servir de personne-ressource pour l’association dans leur compétence ou catégorie de handicaps;
B. Agir à titre de représentant de l’association dans des comités gouvernementaux et de consommateurs dans leur compétence;
C. Participer aux comités de l’association et les présider, tels qu’ils sont déterminés par le comité exécutif et le conseil d’administration;
D. Être responsable devant le conseil d’administration de leurs activités et décisions en tant que membre du conseil d’administration;
E. Voter sur des questions portées à l’attention du conseil d’administration. (Un membre peut s’abstenir s’il le juge nécessaire);
F. Se retirer de leur poste de membre du conseil par un vote majoritaire des deux tiers du conseil ou en se démettant de sa charge volontiers au moyen d’une présentation écrite au président;
G. Commenter rapidement, en personne, par téléphone ou par écrit, toutes les questions soumises au conseil d'administration pour discussion et approbation;
H. Lire et être prêt à commenter tous les documents considérés comme faisant partie des affaires du conseil d’administration et de l’Association;
I. Présenter régulièrement des rapports au conseil d'administration sur son travail en tant que membre du conseil.
6. Fonctionnement du conseil d'administration :
A. Le conseil d'administration de NEADS se réunira une fois par mois par téléconférence, et régulièrement en personne.
B. On s’attend à ce que les administrateurs participent à toutes les réunions en face à face du conseil d'administration de NEADS.
C. Si un membre du conseil d’administration ne peut pas assister à une réunion, on s’attend à ce qu’il en informe le secrétaire ou le président avant la réunion en question, ou dans les 24 heures qui suivent ladite réunion.
D. Un administrateur qui, sans avoir prévenu le secrétaire ou le président, s’absente de trois (3) réunions consécutives ou de plus de 50 % des réunions au cours d’une année civile, ou qui ne peut pas fournir une explication satisfaisante de son absence aux réunions du conseil d'administration, peut être destitué de son poste par un vote majoritaire des deux tiers des membres du conseil présents et votants.
Engagement en termes de temps

Les membres du conseil d’administration devront participer à au moins dix (10) téléconférences par année, d’une durée de 2 heures chacune, ainsi qu’à une ou deux séances de réflexion en personne du conseil, selon le financement disponible, qui durent habituellement du vendredi au dimanche. Chaque membre du conseil devra aussi siéger à au moins un comité et assister aux réunions régulières des comités dont il fait partie par téléconférence, au besoin. Les appels téléphoniques et le courrier électronique sont les principaux modes de communication du conseil d’administration; on s’attend aussi à ce que les membres prennent connaissance de toute la correspondance qui leur est adressée à mesure qu’ils la reçoivent et qu'ils y répondent, au besoin.

Note : Les membres éventuels du conseil peuvent venir de différents milieux, comme ceux des services communautaires, du leadership étudiant, des comités provinciaux et régionaux, etc., ou ne venir d’aucun de ces milieux. Bien que des compétences particulières ne soient pas requises, une expérience antérieure au sein d’un conseil d’administration est importante, tout comme un intérêt pour la mise au point de projet ou de programmes et la recherche de sources de fonds régionales et nationales et de l’expérience dans ces domaines. Les membres éventuels du conseil doivent s’engager fermement à participer activement aux travaux et aux affaires du conseil d’administration . Nous encourageons tous les membres que ce travail intéresse à présenter leur candidature. Vous devrez être prêt à apprendre et à appliquer ce que vous apprenez pendant votre mandat au conseil.
 
 

 




Haut

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2017, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.