NEADS Logo - Home
Find us on: Facebook YouTube Twitter

Quick Question:
Where can I find information about financial assistance to support my post-secondary studies?


Upcoming Events

More Events

Link of the day

More Links

Donate Now to support NEADS! We need your support!
Donations are tax deductible and you will receive a charitable tax receipt for 100% of your gift.

Donate Now Through CanadaHelps.org!

Media

NEADS receives funding from Government of Canada to hold employment forums in British Columbia

(Ottawa, August 28, 2012) - The National Educational Association of Disabled Students (NEADS) is pleased to announce that we have entered into a contribution agreement with the Government of Canada in British Columbia to hold three one-day “Strategies to Employment” Forums in Victoria, Vancouver and Kelowna during the coming academic year. This project is funded in part by the Government of Canada's Youth Awareness program with just over $78,000 to support the costs of planning and implementing these events. The employment forums will be held in Victoria on October 13th at the Victoria Marriott Inner Harbour, in Vancouver on November 9th at the Hilton Vancouver Metrotown and in Kelowna in February or March, 2013 – location and date to be confirmed.

“In today's environment, it is more important than ever that all Canadians have the skills needed to participate and succeed in the job market," said the Honourable James Moore, Minister of Canadian Heritage and Official Languages and Minister Responsible for British Columbia.  "That is why, through Economic Action Plan 2012, our government is investing an additional $30 million over three years to help people with disabilities gain employment."

The overall vision of the project is to assist post-secondary students/graduates with disabilities in conducting effective job searches and to learn strategies to help them overcome the barriers they may face in finding employment upon graduation.  By participating in the forums, students and graduates with disabilities will be in a better position to obtain paid employment following graduation. All events will be accessible, inclusive and cross-disability focused.  Speakers will include campus career counsellors, human resources/recruitment experts from private sector companies, representatives from government employment programs, and persons with disabilities who have successfully transitioned from college or university education into a career. Youth with disabilities in post-secondary programs of study will be the primary participants, but we will also seek to involve disabled youth in high schools in each community. Each employment forum will include an exhibit area with displays from private sector companies, government programs, employment agencies and non-governmental organizations that have employment programs.

We will be using an accessible online registration system as we have done with previous NEADS events. More details about these events will be posted on the NEADS website in the coming weeks. For further information, please contact the NEADS office: National Educational Association of Disabled Students (NEADS), Rm. 426 Unicentre, Carleton University, Ottawa, Ontario, K1S 5B6, tel. (613) 380-8065, ext. 201,

Victoria Strategies to Employment event page:

http://www.neads.ca/en/about/projects/jss/victoria2012.php

Captioned videos of workshops in Victoria:

http://www.neads.ca/en/norc/videos/

Vancouver Strategies to Employment event page:

http://www.neads.ca/en/about/projects/jss/vancouver2012.php

Captioned videos of workshops in Vancouver:

http://www.neads.ca/en/norc/videos/

Vancouver Strategies to Employment signed Youtube video, by Jessica Dunkley, Project Assistant:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CHDW3Zg9eNg

For more information, please contact the NEADS National Office:
National Educational Association of Disabled Students (NEADS)
Rm. 426 Unicentre, Carleton University
Ottawa, Ontario, K1S 5B6
tel. (613) 526-8008
www.neads.ca

 




Top

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2018, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.

NEADS Logo - Accueil
Trouvez-nous sur : Facebook YouTube

QuestionQuestion:
Est-ce que je devrai payer des frais d’utilisation de services spéciaux au niveau postsecondaire?


Événements prochains

Voir d'autres événements

Autre site d'intérèt


Advertisement



Média

NEADS reçoit des fonds du Gouvernement du Canada pour tenir des forums sur l’emploi en Colombie-Britannique

(Ottawa, 28 août 2012) – L’Association nationale des étudiant(e)s handicapé(e)s au niveau postsecondaire (NEADS) est heureuse d’annoncer la signature d’un accord de contribution avec le gouvernement du Canada qui lui permettra de tenir trois forums d’une journée sur les stratégies de recherche d’emploi dans les villes de Victoria, Vancouver et Kelowna, en Colombie-Britannique, pendant l’année universitaire qui débutera bientôt. Ce projet est en partie financé par le programme Sensibilisation jeunesse du gouvernement du Canada et prévoit 78 000 $ pour payer le coût de la planification et de la tenue de ces forums. Ceux-ci auront lieu à Victoria le 13 octobre au Victoria Marriott Inner Harbour, à Vancouver le 9 novembre au Hilton Vancouver Metrotown et à Kelowna en février ou mars 2013, à une date et dans un lieu qui restent à confirmer.

« Dans le contexte actuel, il est plus important que jamais que tous les Canadiens et Canadiennes aient les compétences nécessaires pour être actif et réussir sur le marché du travail », a déclaré l’honorable James Moore, ministre du Patrimoine canadien et des Langues officielles et ministre responsable de la Colombie-Britannique. « C’est pour cette raison que notre gouvernement, dans le cadre de son Plan d’action économique 2012, investit 30 millions de dollars de plus sur trois ans pour aider les personnes handicapées à accéder à l’emploi. »

Le projet a pour but global d’aider les étudiants du niveau postsecondaire et les diplômés handicapés à effectuer une recherche d’emploi efficace et à apprendre à appliquer des stratégies qui les aideront à surmonter les obstacles qu’ils pourraient rencontrer lorsqu’ils se chercheront un emploi après avoir obtenu leur diplôme. Grâce à leur participation aux forums, les étudiants ou diplômés handicapés seront mieux outillés pour se trouver un emploi rémunéré à la fin de leurs études. Tous les événements seront accessibles à tous et conçus de manière à répondre aux besoins de toutes les personnes, quelle que soit leur déficience particulière. Les conférenciers comprendront des conseillers en orientation professionnelle œuvrant sur les campus, des spécialistes en ressources humaines et en recrutement de compagnies du secteur privé, des représentants des programmes d’emploi gouvernementaux et des personnes handicapées qui ont réussi leur transition des études collégiales ou universitaires à une carrière. L’assistance sera surtout composée de jeunes handicapés inscrits à des programmes d’études postsecondaires, mais nous allons aussi tenter de faire participer aux forums de jeunes étudiants des écoles secondaires dans chaque communauté. À chaque forum, il y aura une aire d’exposition dans laquelle des compagnies du secteur privé, des programmes gouvernementaux, des agences de placement et des organismes non gouvernementaux offrant des programmes d’emploi auront monté des kiosques. 

Nous allons utiliser un système d’inscription en ligne accessible comme nous l’avons fait pour des événements antérieurs de NEADS. Nous afficherons d’autres détails sur ces événements sur le site Web de NEADS au cours des prochaines semaines. Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec le bureau de NEADS à l’adresse suivante: Association nationale des étudiant(e)s handicapé(e)s au niveau postsecondaire (NEADS), Pièce 426, Unicentre, Université Carleton, Ottawa (Ontario)  K1S 5B6, tél. : 613-380-8065, poste 201, 

Victoria Strategies to Employment event page:

http://www.neads.ca/en/about/projects/jss/victoria2012.php

Vancouver Strategies to Employment event page:

http://www.neads.ca/en/about/projects/jss/vancouver2012.php

Vancouver Strategies to Employment signed Youtube video, by Jessica Dunkley, Project Assistant:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CHDW3Zg9eNg

Frank Smith, coordonnateur national
Association nationale des étudiant(e)s handicapé(e)s au niveau postsecondaire (NEADS), Bureau 426, Unicentre, Université Carleton
Ottawa (Ontario)  K1S 5B6
Tél. : 613-380-8065, poste 201
www.neads.ca

 




Haut

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2017, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.