NEADS Logo - Home
Find us on: Facebook YouTube

Question MarkQuick Question:
Will there be any fees that come with the use of special services at the post-secondary level?


Upcoming Events

More Events

Link of the day

More Links

Donate Now to support NEADS! We need your support!
Donations are tax deductible and you will receive a charitable tax receipt for 100% of your gift.

Donate Now Through CanadaHelps.org!

Media

NEADS National Student Awards and Holly Bartlett Memorial Award -- Deadline March 15th

The National Educational Association of Disabled Students (NEADS) is now accepting applications for the NEADS National Student Awards Program and the Holly Bartlett Memorial Award. These awards are offered to encourage full access to post-secondary education for persons with disabilities enrolled in undergraduate, graduate or professional degree programs at recognized Canadian universities, or in certified diploma programs at Canadian colleges. A minimum of seven outstanding applicants, who meet the criteria of the Student Awards Program, will be receiving an award in the amount of $3,000 to support the costs of their tuition and student fees. One deserving applicant will receive the new Holly Bartlett Memorial Award in the amount of $1,000.

Funding for the NEADS Student Awards has been supported since 2006 by BMO Capital Markets' Equity Through Education Program, a charitable initiative aimed at creating a more diverse workplace by offering educational opportunities to people who are most in need of support. In May 2006, NEADS became one of four Canadian recipients of donations from the second Equity Through Education trading day and our scholarship program was established after the funding announcement. This year we are thrilled to announce that Enbridge Pipelines Inc. has become a new sponsor of the program, providing support to three awards in 2012/2013.

“We are very excited about this new partnership with NEADS, and proud to sponsor and support the NEADS awards to post-secondary students,” said Dr. Lori Campbell, Manager of Diversity at Enbridge Pipelines. “We’re pleased to offer these awards to students to help offset some of the costs of tuition so they can continue focusing on excelling in both the classroom and their community.”

"We are very proud of the NEADS Student Awards Program, and our 45 recipients over its first five years," said Dr. Mahadeo Sukhai, NEADS' Senior Advisor and the director of the student awards program. "This program is the first of its kind in Canada, and was created to recognize overall excellence among students with disabilities in all aspects of post-secondary education. Our winners to date all embody the very best qualities of academic and community involvement. We hope that the program continues to grow, and we look forward to this year's crop of outstanding applicants."

"Holly Bartlett was loved by all who knew her", said Frank Smith, NEADS' National Coordinator. "It was my privilege and pleasure to work with Holly while she served on our Board of Directors. Holly's accomplishments, in a life that was way too short, were phenomenal. We believe that she should be honoured and the Holly Bartlett Memorial Award is a fitting tribute because it will help other students with disabilities realize success in post-secondary education. This is the second year for the Award in Holly's memory."

For more information, please contact the NEADS office: National Educational Association of Disabled Students (NEADS), Rm. 426 Unicentre, Carleton University, Ottawa, Ontario, K1S 5B6, tel. (613) 380-8065, or go directly to our Equity Through Education Student Awards website:
http://www.neads.ca/en/about/projects/ete2/scholarship/




Top

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2014, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.

NEADS Logo - Accueil
Trouvez-nous sur : Facebook YouTube

QuestionQuestion:
Quels sont mes droits en tant que personne handicapée voulant poursuivre des études postsecondaires?


Événements prochains

Voir d'autres événements

Autre site d'intérèt


Advertisement



Média

Programme national de bourses d'études de NEADS et Bourse d'études Holly Bartlett -- Date limit - le 15 Mars

L'Association nationale des étudiant(e)s handicapé(e)s au niveau postsecondaire (NEADS) accepte maintenant les candidatures pour son Programme national de bourses d'études et la Bourse d’études Holly Bartlett. Ces bourses sont offertes aux étudiants ayant une déficience afin de favoriser leur accès aux études postsecondaires, et ce, en les aidant à poursuivre leur formation au niveau du certificat, du baccalauréat, des études supérieures ou professionnelles dans une université ou un collège canadien reconnu. On offrira au moins sept bourses d'une valeur de 3 000 $ à des candidats méritants qui respectent les critères du Programme national de bourses d’études afin de les aider à régler les frais d'inscription et de scolarité. Un candidat méritant recevra la nouvelle Bourse d’études Holly Bartlett d’un montant de 1 000 $.

Les fonds servant au Programme de bourses d’études de NEADS proviennent depuis 2006 du programme Action-Éducation de BMO Marchés des capitaux, un organisme de bienfaisance ayant pour but de créer un environnement de travail plus diversifié en offrant des possibilités de formation aux gens qui en ont le plus besoin. En mai 2006, NEADS a été l'un des bénéficiaires canadiens des dons recueillis au cours de la deuxième journée boursière Action-Éducation et l’Association a établi son programme de bourses après l’annonce de l’obtention de ce financement. Cette année, nous sommes très heureux d’annoncer qu’Enbridge Pipelines Inc. a accepté de devenir un nouveau commanditaire du programme en versant des fonds pour trois bourses en 2012-2013.

« Nous sommes très ravis de ce nouveau partenariat avec NEADS et nous sommes fiers de commanditer et de soutenir les bourses de NEADS pour les étudiants du niveau postsecondaire », a dit Mme Lori Campbell, directrice de la diversité chez Enbridge Pipelines. « Nous sommes heureux d’offrir ces bourses aux étudiants pour les aider à payer une partie de leurs frais de scolarité afin qu’ils puissent continuer de se concentrer sur l’atteinte de l’excellence dans leurs études et dans leur travail communautaire. »

« Nous sommes très fiers du Programme de bourses d’études de NEADS qui est venu en aide à 45 boursiers au cours de ses cinq premières années d'existence », explique Mahadeo Sukhai, Ph. D., conseiller principal de NEADS et directeur du programme de bourses d’études. « Ce programme est le premier du genre au Canada. Il a été créé afin de reconnaître l'excellence parmi les étudiants handicapés poursuivant des études postsecondaires. Jusqu'à présent, tous nos boursiers incarnent des qualités liées aussi bien au succès scolaire qu'à l'engagement de la collectivité. Nous espérons que le programme poursuivra son essor et attendons avec intérêt la fournée de candidatures de cette année. »

« Toutes les personnes qui la connaissaient aimaient Holly », dit Frank Smith, coordonnateur national de NEADS. « Travailler avec elle pendant qu’elle faisait partie du conseil d’administration a été un privilège et un plaisir pour moi. Holly a réalisé des choses phénoménales pendant sa vie, qui a été bien trop courte. Nous croyons qu’elle mérite qu’on l’honore et que la bourse Holly Bartlett est un moyen tout indiqué pour le faire parce qu’elle aidera d’autres étudiants handicapés à connaître du succès dans leurs études postsecondaires. Cette année, ce sera la deuxième fois que cette bourse à la mémoire de Holly sera accordée. »

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, veuillez joindre le bureau de NEADS : L'Association nationale des étudiant(e)s handicapé(e)s au niveau postsecondaire (NEADS), bureau 426, Unicentre, Université Carleton, Ottawa (Ontario) K1S 5B6, tél. (613) 526-8008, ou consulter directement le site Web du programme Action-Éducation:
http://www.neads.ca/fr/about/projects/ete2/scholarship/
 




Haut

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2017, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.