NEADS Logo - Home
Find us on: Facebook YouTube

Quick Question:
Will there be any fees that come with the use of special services at the post-secondary level?

Upcoming Events

More Events

Link of the day

More Links

Donate Now to support NEADS! We need your support!
Donations are tax deductible and you will receive a charitable tax receipt for 100% of your gift.

Donate Now Through!


Announcing the NEADS Board of Directors for 2014-2016

(Ottawa, December 5, 2014)

We are pleased to announce the board of directors for 2014-2016 of the National Educational Association of Disabled Students (NEADS). Applications received over the last several weeks have filled 7 seats on the board. The following directors will serve for two years, commencing immediately:

Emily Duffett, Nova Scotia Director
Nicole Gibson, Newfoundland and Labrador Director
Christine Gothreau, New Brunswick Director
Harmonie Maggie Richard, Prince Edward Island Director
Sarah Jama, Ontario Director
Anuya Pai, Alberta Director
Jewelles Smith, British Columbia Director

About Our Directors:

Emily Duffett: "I am a graduate of Acadia University and currently the chair of the Nova Scotia League for Equal Opportunities (NS LEO) and on the board of directors for the Spina Bifida and Hydrocephalus Association of the province, Community Incorporated. Importantly I have served as the Nova Scotia Director for NEADS for the past 3 years. I am involved in a number of other initiatives that have helped to build my skill set that will allow me to continue to be an asset to NEADS. These experiences have prepared me for another term with NEADS by learning the dynamics of working on various boards, and impressing upon me the importance of working toward full inclusion for persons with disabilities in the post-secondary environment. Through these experiences I have learned grant writing, fundraising, event planning, among many other skills."

Nicole Gibson: “I am a recent graduate from Memorial University with a degree in Police Studies and Sociology. I am currently enrolled working on my honours - in hopes of graduate school Fall 2015. I have extensive volunteer work with young people who face complex needs and disabilities who find the mainstream educational system extremely difficult. These conditions result in a lack of confidence for further engagement in a post secondary environment. Evidently, when some do attempt to attend university or college, the lack of support from the institution and government creates an unfair injustice to the individual and leaves them at a disadvantage. It is an honour to sit amongst some of the finest representatives throughout the country and try to find ways to break down the barriers to education. It goes without saying, I myself have been diagnosed with a disability and throughout my time in university have faced some unique barriers - that I'm grateful were resolved. My goal while sitting on the board would be to help bring awareness to the barriers some young people face while trying to gain a post-econdary education and do something about them! My goal is to work within my university, other institutions and the provinces to create awareness about the issues and ultimately - break down the barriers!!”

Christine Gothreau: "I was raised in a smaller community and now attend a small university, Mount Allison University in New Brunswick. I am a volunteer at the Meighen Centre, which supports disabled students on campus. These experiences have given me a strong sense of the importance of helping others and giving back. I can help people by being a strong advocate for myself and others. I am a motivated person who works hard to reach my goals. When students reach the university level, they should also have professors that understand that all students have different needs and that should be factored into the accommodations."

Harmonie Maggie Richard: "I am currently an Academic Coach and lead Student Mentor for Accessibility Services at the University of Prince Edward Island. I have been working with students that have disabilities since I was in grade 8 and have been inspired to continue my education in this field. I organized the 2014 East Coast Student Leadership Conference this past November, I am also a Campus Life Advisor and involved with a variety of different university societies. I love being involved on campus and in the community while making sure that all students have the same opportunity to learn and grow."

Anuya Pai: "As a PhD student at the University of Calgary, I co-chair the Community Health Sciences Student Executive and also chair a committee to advocate for accessible transport for students with disabilities at the University. I believe that it is crucial for all people with disabilities to have access to high quality educational and employment opportunities, whatever their circumstances. The very existence and reputation of NEADS as a leading disability organization demonstrates that people with disabilities are fully capable of making valuable contributions to their communities and deserve to have their voices heard. I am thrilled to join the Board of Directors and be a part of further expanding NEADS' influence in society."

Jewelles Smith: "I am a mother, artist, and activist. I live in the beautiful city of Revelstoke, BC and commute to a PhD program at the University of British Columbia (Okanagan) with Dr. Rachelle Hole. My dissertation is a human rights monitoring project documenting the experiences of disabled mothers in Canada. I am committed to the work of leadership and mentorship and look forward to applying my skills and related experience with the NEADS board in the coming months. I have worked with DAWN (Disabled Women’s Network) Canada and I bring to this to the board table.”

Sarah Jama: “I am a third year Psychology major at McMaster University, and a student with Spastic Cerebral Palsy. I am the Social Science Caucus Leader on the McMaster Students Union (MSU) Student Representative Assembly, and the Abilities Coordinator for the MSU's Diversity Services. I am writing the MSU’s first Accessibility Policy, and am serving a three year term on the President’s Advisory Committee on Building an Inclusive Community. As a member of the NEADS board of directors, I will be a vocal advocate for students with disabilities, and will work to eliminate barriers to learning that students may face while obtaining an education.”

We will be recruiting in board positions where we currently have vacancies in the months ahead.

For further information on the new NEADS board of directors and/or the work of the National Educational Association of Disabled Students contact the national office.

Since its founding in 1986, the National Educational Association of Disabled Students (NEADS), has had the mandate to support full access to education and employment for post-secondary students and graduates with disabilities across Canada. Based at Carleton University in Ottawa, NEADS is a consumer-controlled, cross-disability charitable organization (corporation # 107761975RR0001), focused on responding to the educational and employment needs of post-secondary students and recent graduates with disabilities through specific projects, resources, research, publications and partnerships. NEADS is governed by a national Board of Directors representative of all of the provinces and territories.

Our work as an organization focuses on three core Strategic Program areas:
1.    Student debt reduction
2.    Student experience in class and on campus
3.    Student and graduate employment

Frank Smith, National Coordinator
National Educational Association of Disabled Students (NEADS)
Rm. 426 Unicentre, Carleton University
Ottawa, Ontario, K1S 5B6
tel. (613) 380-8065 ext. 201  

"Supporting access to post-secondary education and employment for students
with disabilities"



All contents copyright , 1999-2018, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.

NEADS Logo - Accueil
Trouvez-nous sur : Facebook YouTube

QuestionQuestion:
À qui dois-je m’adresser pour obtenir de l’information sur l’aide financière disponible pour payer mes études postsecondaires?


Événements prochains

Voir d'autres événements

Autre site d'intérèt


Advertisement



Média

Présentation du Conseil d’administration de NEADS pour 2014 2016

Ottawa, 5 décembre 2014 Nous sommes heureux d’annoncer les noms des membres du Conseil d’administration de 2014-2016 de l’Association nationale des étudiant(e)s handicapé(e)s au niveau postsecondaire (NEADS). Les candidatures reçues au cours des dernières semaines ont permis de remplir sept sièges au Conseil. Les administratrices suivantes siégeront au Conseil pour un mandat de deux ans qui commence immédiatement :


Emily Duffett, administration de la Nouvelle-Écosse

Nicole Gibson, administratrice de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador

Christine Gothreau, administratrice du Nouveau-Brunswick

Harmonie Maggie Richard, administratrice de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard

Sarah Jama, administratrice de l’Ontario

Anuya Pai, administratrice de l’Alberta

Jewelles Smith, administratrice de la Colombie-Britannique


Quelques mots sur nos administratrices : 

Emily Duffett : « Je suis une diplômée de l’Université Acadia et je suis la présidente de la Nova Scotia League for Equal Opportunities (NS LEO) et un membre du Conseil d’administration de la section provinciale de l’Association de spina bifida et d’hydrocéphalie du Canada, appelée Community Incorporated. Fait important, je suis l’administratrice de la Nouvelle-Écosse au Conseil d’administration de NEADS depuis trois ans. Je participe à plusieurs autres initiatives qui m’ont aidée à accroître mes compétences et qui me permettront de continuer d’être un atout pour NEADS. Ces expériences m’ont préparée pour un autre mandat avec NEADS en m’apprenant la dynamique du travail au sein de divers conseils et m’ont bien fait comprendre l’importance de travailler en vue d’assurer l’inclusion entière des personnes handicapées dans le milieu postsecondaire. Grâce à ces expériences, j’ai appris comment rédiger des demandes de subvention, collecter des fonds, planifier des événements et bien d’autres choses. » 

Nicole Gibson : « J’ai récemment obtenu mon diplôme de l’Université Memorial en techniques policières et en sociologie. Je suis actuellement inscrite dans mes domaines de spécialisation et j’espère entamer mes études supérieures à l’automne de 2015. J’ai fait beaucoup de bénévolat auprès de jeunes qui vivent avec des déficiences, qui font face à des besoins complexes et qui trouvent extrêmement difficile de poursuivre leurs études dans le système d’éducation traditionnel, ce qui fait qu’ils n’ont pas la confiance nécessaire pour s’engager dans des études postsecondaires. Évidemment, lorsque certains d’entre eux tentent quand même de poursuivre des études postsecondaires, le manque de soutien de l’établissement et du gouvernement crée une injustice qui désavantage ces jeunes. Je suis honorée de me retrouver parmi quelques-uns des meilleurs représentants de toutes les régions du pays et d’essayer de trouver des moyens de supprimer les obstacles à l’éducation. Il va sans dire que j’ai moi-même reçu un diagnostic de déficience, et tout au long de mes études universitaires, j’ai fait face à des obstacles uniques auxquels on a pu trouver des solutions, ce dont je suis reconnaissante. En tant que membre du Conseil d’administration, mon but est d’aider à sensibiliser les gens aux obstacles auxquels certains jeunes font face lorsqu’ils essaient de poursuivre leurs études au niveau postsecondaire, et de faire quelque chose pour supprimer ces obstacles! J’ai pour but de travailler au sein de mon université et avec d’autres établissements et les provinces pour accroître la sensibilisation aux problèmes et, en fin de compte, supprimer les obstacles! » 

Christine Gothreau : « J’ai été élevée dans une petite collectivité et je fréquente maintenant l’Université Mount Allison, un petit établissement au Nouveau-Brunswick. Je fais du bénévolat au Centre Meighen, qui soutient les étudiants handicapés sur le campus. Ces expériences m’ont bien fait comprendre l’importance d’aider les autres et de redonner ce que j’ai reçu. Je peux aider les gens en défendant vigoureusement mes droits et intérêts et ceux des autres. Je suis une personne motivée qui travaille dur pour atteindre ses buts. Lorsque les étudiants atteignent le niveau universitaire, ils devraient aussi avoir des professeurs qui comprennent que tous les étudiants ont des besoins différents, ce dont il faudrait tenir compte dans les mesures d’adaptation. »  

Harmonie Maggie Richard : « En ce moment, je suis une accompagnatrice universitaire et représentante des étudiants-mentors pour les services d’accessibilité de l’Université de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard. J’ai commencé à travailler avec des élèves ayant des déficiences lorsque j’étais en huitième année et cela m’a inspirée à poursuivre mes études dans ce domaine. J’ai organisé la conférence 2014 de la côte Est sur le leadership étudiant, qui a eu lieu en novembre. Je suis aussi une conseillère en vie sur le campus et je participe aux activités de diverses associations universitaires. J’adore participer à la vie universitaire et communautaire tout en m’assurant que tous les étudiants ont les mêmes occasions d’apprendre et de grandir. » 

Anuya Pai : « En tant qu’étudiante au doctorat à l’Université de Calgary, je suis coprésidente du Comité de direction des étudiants en sciences de santé communautaire et je suis aussi présidente d’un comité revendiquant un transport accessible pour les étudiants handicapés à l’Université. Je crois qu’il est essentiel que toutes les personnes handicapées aient accès à des possibilités d’éducation et d’emploi de grande qualité, quelles que soient leurs circonstances. L’existence même et la réputation de NEADS en tant qu’organisme de premier plan dans le milieu démontrent que les personnes handicapées sont tout à fait capables de faire des contributions valables à leurs collectivités et méritent qu’on entende leur voix. Je me réjouis de me joindre au Conseil d’administration et de contribuer à étendre encore plus l’influence de NEADS dans la société. » 

Jewelles Smith : « Je suis une mère, une artiste et une activiste. Je vis dans la belle ville de Revelstoke, en Colombie-Britannique, et je fais la navette entre mon domicile et l’Université de la Colombie-Britannique (campus de l’Okanagan) avec la Dre Rachelle Hole pour poursuivre mes études au niveau du doctorat. Ma thèse est un projet d’observation du respect des droits de la personne qui documente les expériences des mères handicapées au Canada. Le leadership et le mentorat me tiennent à cœur et je suis impatiente d’utiliser mes compétences et mon expérience connexes au sein du Conseil d’administration de NEADS pendant les prochains mois. J’ai déjà fait partie du Conseil d’administration de NEADS ainsi que de l’organisme DAWN Canada (Réseau d’action des femmes handicapées du Canada) et je peux apporter cette expérience à la table du Conseil. » 

Sarah Jama : « Je suis en troisième année de mon baccalauréat avec spécialisation en psychologie à l’Université McMaster et je suis une étudiante ayant une paralysie cérébrale spasmodique. Je suis la leader du Comité sur les sciences sociales de l’assemblée des représentants des étudiants de l’association des étudiants de McMaster (MSU) et la coordonnatrice pour les personnes handicapées aux Services de diversité de la MSU. Je rédige actuellement la première politique sur l’accessibilité de la MSU et je siège au Comité consultatif du président sur l’établissement d’une communauté inclusive pour un mandat de trois ans. En tant que membre du Conseil d’administration de NEADS, je vais défendre énergiquement les droits et intérêts des étudiants handicapés et je m’efforcerai de supprimer les obstacles à l’apprentissage auxquels peuvent faire face les étudiants pendant leurs études. » 

Pendant les prochains mois, nous allons faire du recrutement dans les autres provinces afin de pourvoir les sièges vacants au Conseil.  

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur le nouveau Conseil d’administration de NEADS ou le travail de l’Association nationale des étudiant(e)s handicapé(e)s au niveau postsecondaire, communiquez avec le bureau national. 

Depuis sa fondation en 1986, l’Association nationale des étudiant(e)s handicapé(e)s au niveau postsecondaire (NEADS) a eu pour mandat de promouvoir le plein accès à l’éducation et à l’emploi pour les étudiants et diplômés handicapés du niveau postsecondaire partout au Canada. 

Basé à l’Université Carleton à Ottawa, NEADS est un organisme de bienfaisance (no 107761975RR0001) dirigé par ses membres dont le but premier est de répondre aux besoins des étudiants et des diplômés récents du niveau postsecondaire ayant des déficiences de tous genres au moyen de projets spéciaux, de ressources, de recherches, de publications et de partenariats. NEADS est régi par un conseil d’administration national représentant toutes les provinces et tous les territoires. 

Notre travail en tant qu’organisation se fonde sur trois domaines stratégiques de base :

1.         la réduction de l’endettement des étudiants;

2.         l’expérience vécue par les étudiants en classe et sur le campus;

3.         l’emploi des étudiants et des diplômés. 

Frank Smith, coordonnateur national

Association nationale des étudiant(e)s handicapé(e)s au niveau postsecondaire (NEADS)

Pièce 426, Unicentre, Université Carleton

Ottawa (Ontario)  K1S 5B6

Tél. : 613-380-8065, poste 201 http://www.neads.ca/">www.neads.ca


« Nous faisons la promotion de l’accès à l’éducation et à l’emploi pour les étudiant(e)s handicapé(e)s du niveau postsecondaire. »

 

 

 




Haut

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2017, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.