NEADS Logo - Home
Find us on: Facebook YouTube

Quick Question:
How can I, as a first year university student with a disability, learn to be an effective self-advocate with professors, tutors and other students at my school?


Upcoming Events

More Events

Link of the day

More Links

Donate Now to support NEADS! We need your support!
Donations are tax deductible and you will receive a charitable tax receipt for 100% of your gift.

Donate Now Through CanadaHelps.org!

Media

NEADS Accepting Applications for National Student Awards and Holly Bartlett Memorial Award: Deadline April 15, 2014

(Ottawa, February 10, 2014) The National Educational Association of Disabled Students (NEADS) is now accepting applications for the NEADS National Student Awards Program and the Holly Bartlett Memorial Award. These awards are offered to encourage full access to post-secondary education for persons with disabilities enrolled in undergraduate, graduate or professional degree programs at recognized Canadian universities, or in certified diploma programs at Canadian colleges. Six outstanding applicants, who meet the criteria of the Student Awards Program, will be receiving an award in the amount of $3,000 to support the costs of their tuition and student fees. One deserving applicant will receive the Holly Bartlett Memorial Award in the amount of $1,000.

Funding for the NEADS Student Awards is provided this year by our sponsors Scotiabank (1), Imperial Oil (3), Industrial Alliance Insurance and Financial Services (1) and private donors. "We are very proud of the NEADS Student Awards Program, and our 62 recipients over its first seven years," said Dr. Mahadeo Sukhai, NEADS' Senior Advisor and the director of the student awards program. "This program is the first of its kind in Canada, and was created to recognize overall excellence among students with disabilities in all aspects of post-secondary education. Our winners to date all embody the very best qualities of academic and community involvement. We hope that the program continues to grow, and we look forward to this year's crop of outstanding applicants."

"Holly Bartlett was loved by all who knew her", said Frank Smith, NEADS' National Coordinator. "It was my privilege and pleasure to work with Holly while she served on our Board of Directors. Holly's accomplishments, in a life that was way too short, were phenomenal. We believe that the Holly Bartlett Memorial Award is a fitting tribute because it will help other students with disabilities realize success in post-secondary education. This is the fourth year for the Award in Holly's memory." NEADS has given out 3 Holly Bartlett Awards since the inception of this program.

For more information, please contact the NEADS office: National Educational Association of Disabled Students (NEADS), Rm. 426 Unicentre, Carleton University, Ottawa, Ontario, K1S 5B6, tel. (613) 380-8065, or go directly to our NEADS Student Awards/Holly Bartlett Memorial Award website:
http://www.neads.ca/en/about/projects/ete2/scholarship/ or http://www.neads.ca/en/about/projects/ete2/scholarship/holly.php

 




Top

All contents copyright , 1999-2018, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.

NEADS Logo - Accueil
Trouvez-nous sur : Facebook YouTube

QuestionQuestion:
Est-ce qu’il y a une organisation qui représente tous les Canadiens et les Canadiennes ayant des déficiences?


Événements prochains

Voir d'autres événements

Autre site d'intérèt


Advertisement



Média

NEADS accepte les demandes dans le cadre de son Programme national de bourses d’études et pour la Bourse d’études Holly Bartlett jusqu’au 15 avril 2014

(Ottawa, 10 février 2014) L’Association nationale des étudiant(e)s handicapé(e)s au niveau postsecondaire (NEADS) accepte maintenant les candidatures pour son Programme national de bourses d’études et la Bourse d’études Holly Bartlett. Ces bourses sont offertes aux étudiants ayant une déficience afin de favoriser le plein accès aux études postsecondaires, et ce, en les aidant à poursuivre leur formation au niveau du certificat, du baccalauréat ou des études supérieures ou professionnelles dans une université ou un collège canadien reconnu. On offrira six bourses d’une valeur de 3 000 $ à des candidats exceptionnels qui respondent aux critères du Programme national de bourses d’études afin de les aider à régler les frais d’inscription et de scolarité. Un candidat méritant recevra la Bourse d’études Holly Bartlett d’un montant de 1 000 $.

Les fonds servant au Programme de bourses d’études de NEADS de cette année proviennent de la Banque Scotia (1), de la Compagnie Pétrolière Impériale Ltée (3), de l’Industrielle Alliance, assurance et services financiers (1) et de donateurs privés. « Nous sommes très fiers du Programme de bourses d’études de NEADS qui est venu en aide à 62 boursiers au cours de ses sept premières années d’existence », a déclaré Mahadeo Sukhai, Ph. D., conseiller principal de NEADS et directeur du programme de bourses d’études. « Ce programme est le premier du genre au Canada. Il a été créé afin de reconnaître l’excellence d’étudiants handicapés dans tous les aspects des études postsecondaires. Jusqu’à présent, tous nos boursiers incarnent des qualités liées aussi bien au succès scolaire qu’à l’engagement dans la collectivité. Nous espérons que le programme poursuivra son essor et attendons avec intérêt la fournée de candidats exceptionnels de cette année. »  

« Toutes les personnes qui la connaissaient aimaient Holly », se rappelle Frank Smith, coordonnateur national de NEADS. « Travailler avec elle pendant qu’elle faisait partie du conseil d’administration a été un privilège et un plaisir pour moi. Holly a réalisé des choses phénoménales pendant sa vie, qui a été bien trop courte. Nous croyons qu’elle mérite qu’on l’honore et que la bourse Holly Bartlett est un moyen tout indiqué pour le faire parce qu’elle aidera d’autres étudiants handicapés à connaître du succès dans leurs études postsecondaires. Cette année, ce sera la quatrième fois que cette bourse à la mémoire de Holly sera accordée. » NEADS a décerné 3 bourses Holly Bartlett depuis le début de ce programme.

Pour plus d’information, veuillez communiquer avec le bureau de NEADS :
L’Association nationale des étudiant(e)s handicapé(e)s au niveau postsecondaire (NEADS), bureau 426, Unicentre, Université Carleton, Ottawa (Ontario) K1S 5B6, tél. 613-380-8065, ou consulter directement les pages Web du Programme national des bourses d’études et de la Bourse d’études Holly Bartlett à
http://www.neads.ca/fr/about/projects/ete2/scholarship/ et http://www.neads.ca/fr/about/projects/ete2/scholarship/holly.php

 




Haut

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2017, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.