NEADS Logo - Home
Find us on: Facebook YouTube

Enhancing Accessibility in Post-Secondary Education Institutions

Enhancing Accessibility in Post-Secondary Education Institutions

SOCIAL INCLUSION

Social interactions between students are an important aspect of campus life in PSE institutions as they allow students to make new friends, join groups or clubs, and participate in school events. Having a healthy social life is essential for all students including students with disabilities. However, students with disabilities may be prevented from fully participating in social events and activities if barriers exist.

The following are steps which some PSE institutions have recommended to help ensure students with disabilities are able to fully participate in the social community at college/university:

  • Have a centre specifically for students with disabilities to promote inclusion and the removal of barriers. The centre could also organize social opportunities, provide information on available services for students with disabilities, and act as a forum for disability issues on campus. This centre could also work as a smaller part of a larger group which promotes inclusion for a variety of underrepresented groups.
  • Support students with disabilities who wish to join social groups, clubs or communities. Creating an online community can be a safe and convenient way for students with disabilities to interact, socialize, and organize events.
  • Create a method for students with disabilities to advocate for disability issues by, for example, including representation on the student union or government or by creating a liaison service to advocate on their behalf.
  • Events that are run by the college/university should be held in accessible locations and include accommodations such as interpreters or captioning services.
  • For events that are being held off-campus, accessible transportation should be provided.
  • Anyone organizing an event that is not run by the college/university but is being held on campus should be directed to a centralized location for detailed information on how to make their event accessible. This could include a website with a guide for planning accessible events, an accessibility checklist with reference to the appropriate resources, or contact information for an accessibility coordinator who would be able to review their event plans and provide advice, etc.
  • Even where accessibility is not mandatory, make efforts to promote it among clubs, groups and teams.
  • Promote disability awareness and inclusion through workshops and campus wide events for staff, faculty and students.
  • Reserve accessible residence space for students with disabilities and provide assistance services to ensure that students with disabilities can fully participate in residence life.

Resources Social Inclusion Resources



Back to Enhancing Accessibility Guide




Top

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2017, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.

NEADS Logo - Accueil
Trouvez-nous sur : Facebook YouTube

Enhancing Accessibility in Post-Secondary Education Institutions

Améliorer l’accessibilité dans les établissements d’enseignement postsecondaire

INTÉGRATION SOCIALE

Les contacts sociaux entre les étudiants constituent un élément important de la vie dans les établissements d’enseignement postsecondaire. Ils permettent aux étudiants de se faire des amis, de devenir membres de groupes ou de clubs et de participer aux activités qui se déroulent dans l’établissement. Il est essentiel à tous les étudiants, y compris aux étudiants handicapés, d’avoir une vie sociale saine et active. Toutefois, certains obstacles peuvent empêcher les étudiants handicapés de participer pleinement aux événements et aux activités sociales.

Voici quelques mesures suggérées par des établissements d’enseignement postsecondaire afin de s’assurer que les étudiants handicapés sont en mesure de participer pleinement à la vie sociale au collège ou à l’université.

  • Créer un centre à l’intention des étudiants handicapés afin de promouvoir l’intégration et l’élimination des obstacles. Ce centre pourrait également organiser des activités sociales, fournir des renseignements sur les services offerts aux étudiants handicapés et servir de lieu de discussion des questions relatives à l’incapacité sur le campus. Ce centre pourrait également constituer un élément d’une organisation plus vaste préconisant l’intégration de divers groupes sous-représentés.
  • Aider les étudiants handicapés qui souhaitent se joindre à des groupes sociaux, des clubs ou des communautés. La création d’un groupe en ligne est un moyen sûr et pratique permettant aux étudiants handicapés d’avoir des contacts et des relations sociales et d’organiser des activités.
  • Donner aux étudiants handicapés un moyen de promouvoir leurs intérêts, par exemple en s’assurant qu’ils sont représentés au sein de la direction de l’association des étudiants ou en créant un service de liaison chargé de la défense de leurs intérêts.
  • Les activités organisées par le collège ou l’université devraient avoir lieu dans des endroits accessibles et comprendre certaines mesures d’adaptation, notamment des services d’interprétation ou de sous-titrage.
  • Dans le cas des activités qui se déroulent à l’extérieur du campus, l’établissement devrait offrir des services de transport accessible.
  • Quiconque tient sur le campus une activité non organisée par le collège ou l’université doit être dirigé vers un service centralisé où il obtiendra tous les renseignements nécessaires pour faire en sorte que l’activité soit accessible. Il peut s’agir d’un site Web comprenant un guide de planification d’activités accessibles, d’une liste de vérification de l’accessibilité comportant des références aux ressources appropriées ou des coordonnées du responsable de l’accessibilité, qui pourra examiner le programme et donner des conseils pertinents.
  • Même lorsque l’accessibilité n’est pas obligatoire, en faire la promotion auprès des clubs, des groupes et des équipes de l’établissement.
  • Sensibiliser le personnel, les professeurs et les étudiants à l’incapacité et promouvoir l’intégration des personnes handicapées au moyen d’ateliers et d’activités offerts à l’échelle du campus tout entier.
  • Réserver des logements accessibles aux étudiants handicapés, dans les résidences, et leur offrir les services de soutien nécessaires pour qu’ils puissent pleinement participer à la vie étudiante dans les résidences.

Resources Ressources - Intégration sociale



Améliorer l’accessibilité dans les établissements d’enseignement postsecondaire




Haut

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2017, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.