NEADS Logo - Home
Find us on: Facebook YouTube Twitter

Enhancing Accessibility in Post-Secondary Education Institutions

Enhancing Accessibility in Post-Secondary Education Institutions

Academic Accommodation Types

The following are some of the possible ways PSE institutions accommodate students with disabilities. Please note, however, that this is not an exhaustive list.

Notetakers

  • Students with certain physical or learning disabilities may have difficulty taking clear and concise notes. When available, instructors could provide students with disabilities with supplementary copies of lecture notes, overheads or PowerPoint presentations. Ideally, instructors would post notes and other materials online so they are accessible to all students.
  • Allow students to record lectures or have professors create ďPodcastsĒ of their lectures. This allows students to listen to the lecture at later dates and play back key information to clarify notes.
  • Students with disabilities could submit a request form indicating the classes they will require notes for. Volunteers could then be recruited. This could include having a representative from disability services or the instructor ask the class for volunteers at the beginning of lecture. An email requesting volunteers could also be sent out to those who are enrolled in those classes.
  • Methods for copying notes could include use of non-carbonized two-ply paper, photocopying of classmates notes, or ideally by creating electronic copies.
  • Consider supplying laptops to registered volunteer note-takers who do not have their own laptops. This would facilitate note-taking for the student requiring the accommodation and might act as an incentive for individuals to volunteer.

Visual Language Interpreting

  • Interpreting Services should be available for deaf and hard of hearing students. Interpreters would need to match the preferred sign-language style of the student.
  • The interpreter should interpret into Sign Language everything that is heard in the classroom, as well as interpret all questions and comments signed by the student.
  • When possible, interpreters could also be provided with class notes or presentations ahead of time to help prepare.

Captioning

  • Some Deaf or Hard of Hearing students who donít use sign language may request captioning services.
  • Communication Access Realtime Translation (CART) should be made available for lectures, labs and seminars, so that all course content is captured and displayed in print-based format on a laptop that the student will view.
  • Often real-time captioning services are not located on campus and will need to be contracted out to local providers. Assistance with securing funding should be provided to students with disabilities.
  • It should be taken into consideration that in some communities it is very difficult to find qualified sign language interpreters and CART service providers. Options need to be explored to facilitate access for students who require these services.

Classroom Features

  • Students should be able to request class relocations if they are scheduled in an inaccessible room. These requests should be addressed quickly to ensure students arenít forced to miss classes.
  • Students with disabilities who require it should be given priority seating whether it be at the front of the class, near electrical outlets, near a speaker system, etc.
  • Listening systems, such as infrared listening systems or FM sound systems, should be made available in as many classrooms as possible so that students can amplify sound during lectures and tutorials.
  • Classrooms and labs should be equipped with wheelchair accessible tables and computer workstations.
  • Seating with ergonomic back support may be a necessary accommodation for some students. Proper equipment that can be loaned or installed in the classroom should be available as required, For more on physical accessibility, see the section on Physical Accessibility (page 21).

Procedural Adjustments

  • For those who require it, allow for a reduced course load while still maintaining full-time status. Disability services should discuss with students with disabilities the advantages and disadvantages of studying with various course loads.
  • Assignment substitutions, such as substituting a written report for an oral one, could be considered for students with certain disabilities.

Field and Practicum Supports

  • Offer field and practicum placement supports for registered students who may require accommodation support in practicum or experiential learning courses. This could include a field mentor, use of assistive technology or equipment or an alternate field placement or project.

Learning Skills Services

  • Many students, not just those with disabilities, would benefit from learning services to help them build and improve effective academic skills. However, students with disabilities, particularly learning disabilities, may require special considerations.
  • As learning services can be shared among many different departments, it may be beneficial to have a central agency where students can go to obtain assistance with their academic skills. As well, disability advisors should be aware of these services so they can properly inform and refer students with disabilities.
  • Consider having one or more academic strategists or advisors who have training in learning supports for students with disabilities and ensure that these strategists are available to students registered with disability services.
  • If it is not possible to hire staff with these particular credentials, graduate level students in relevant programs such as Special Education, Education Studies, or Psychology may be a good resource.
  • Learning skills counsellors or strategists could help students with disabilities identify strengths, weaknesses, academic goals and appropriate training.
  • The institution should offer a variety of learning methods such as one-on-one training sessions, group sessions, workshops or seminars. Topics may include:
    • Learning styles and strategies
    • Study skills and memory strategies
    • Motivation and concentration skills
    • Problem solving skills
    • Time management and organizational skills
    • Effective presentation and public speaking skills
    • Writing effective essays and reports
    • Note-taking skills
    • Preparing for and writing tests / exams (including multiple choice and essay)
    • Self-advocacy and networking skills

Testing Accommodations

Special accommodations may be necessary for students with disabilities that could affect the completion of in-class exams, tests, and quizzes. Accommodations could include the following:

  • Allow additional time -- from 25% to 100% additional time depending on the nature of the disability is not unusual. However, some students may require up to three times as long to complete a test. The accommodation, in this case, must suit the studentsí disability..
  • Allow for short, supervised breaks when the disability or chronic condition, such as chronic pain or ADHD, interferes with performance.
  • Allow for in-class exams, tests and quizzes to be written in a separate, distraction reduced environment;
  • Allow for the use of approved assistive technologies such as computers, calculators, electronic dictionaries and/or spell-check.. (for more on assistive technologies see Assistive Technologies on page 26).
  • Provide alternate formats such as Braille, large print, and digital format. (for more on alternate formats see Alternate Formats on page 24).
  • Allow for use of scribes.

Exam Accommodations

  • Exam period accommodations can be more difficult to arrange if they are coordinated through a central office, such as the registrarís office, who may not know an accommodation is needed. It is therefore important to provide clear and detailed information for students with disabilities on the process of requesting exam accommodations. For example, create an online guide that lists available exam accommodations and how to request them, as well as any other information that students with disabilities will need to know, such as procedures or rules.
  • Ensure that the exam accommodation requesting process is simple and easy to complete. Provide options for booking accommodations online or make staff available to help coordinate accommodations.
  • As exam accommodation requests often have strict timelines, ensure students are aware of upcoming deadlines. This can be accomplished by notices or an updated calendar on the disability service website. Use a list-serve to email reminders, and encourage faculty members to announce deadlines to their classes.

Tutoring

  • Tutoring services are available at many PSE institutions and are usually open to all students. Disability services should be aware of these services and able to assist students with disabilities in acquiring them.
  • Whenever possible, direct students to tutoring services that have experience with people with disabilities; it may be useful to maintain a registry of tutors and tutoring agencies with this experience.
  • Assist students with disabilities with acquiring funding whenever there is a cost involved.

Alternate Formats and Assistive Technology

  • Provide access to alternate formats and assistive technology. For more on these see Alternate Formats on page 24 and Assistive Technology on page 26.

Special Arrangements

  • Sometimes situations will arise where a student with a disability requires uncommon accommodations or special arrangements such as attendant care. Even if the mechanism for this is not already built in to the institution, be willing to investigate the options and help facilitate the request.

Resources Academic Accommodation Resources



Back to Enhancing Accessibility Guide




Top

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2018, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.

NEADS Logo - Accueil
Trouvez-nous sur : Facebook YouTube

Enhancing Accessibility in Post-Secondary Education Institutions

Améliorer l’accessibilité dans les établissements d’enseignement postsecondaire

Genres de mesures d’adaptation liées aux études

Vous trouverez ci-dessous un certain nombre de moyens utilisés par des établissements d’enseignement postsecondaire canadiens pour répondre aux besoins des étudiants handicapés. Veuillez noter que cette liste n’est pas exhaustive.

Prise de notes

  • Les étudiants qui souffrent de certaines incapacités physiques ou de troubles d’apprentissage peuvent avoir de la difficulté à prendre des notes claires et concises. Lorsqu’ils en ont, les professeurs pourraient remettre des copies de leurs notes, acétates et présentations PowerPoint. Idéalement, les professeurs devraient pouvoir afficher les notes et autres documents en ligne afin qu’ils soient accessibles pour les étudiants.
  • Les professeurs peuvent permettre aux étudiants d’enregistrer leurs exposés ou les leur remettre sous forme de fichiers balados. Les étudiants peuvent ainsi écouter les exposés après les cours et corriger ou compléter leurs notes.
  • Les étudiants handicapés présentent une demande où ils indiquent les titres des cours pour lesquels ils ont besoin de notes. Par la suite, le professeur ou un membre des services aux personnes handicapées demande aux étudiants, au début de chacun des cours indiqués, lesquels accepteraient de servir de preneurs de notes bénévoles. Une demande de volontaires par courriel peut aussi être transmise aux étudiants inscrits à ces cours.
  • Il existe différentes méthodes pour reproduire les notes de cours, notamment la rédaction sur papier autocopiant, la photocopie et la création de copies électroniques.
  • Envisager la possibilité de fournir un ordinateur portable aux preneurs de notes bénévoles inscrits qui n’en ont pas. Cela facilitera les choses pour l’étudiant qui a besoin de mesures d’adaptation tout en servant de stimulant pour les éventuels preneurs de notes bénévoles.

Interprétation en langage visuel

  • Des services d’interprétation doivent être offerts aux étudiants sourds ou malentendants, et les interprètes doivent être en mesure d’utiliser le style de langage gestuel de l’étudiant.
  • L’interprète doit pouvoir traduire en langage gestuel tout ce qui se dit dans la classe, mais aussi répéter à voix haute les questions et les commentaires exprimés en langage gestuel par l’étudiant.
  • Il est souhaitable de remettre les notes de cours ou les exposés à l’interprète avant de donner le cours, afin qu’il puisse se préparer.

Sous-titrage

  • Certains étudiants sourds ou malentendants qui n’utilisent pas le langage gestuel peuvent demander des services de sous-titrage.
  • Mettre à la disposition des étudiants le système Communication Access Realtime Translation (CART). Les étudiants pourront ainsi enregistrer toute la matière donnée lors de conférences, d’exposés, de laboratoires et de séminaires, puis l’afficher sous forme de texte sur un écran d’ordinateur portable et le lire.
  • En général, on ne trouve pas de services de sous-titrage en temps réel dans les campus. Il faut donc confier ce travail en sous-traitance à des fournisseurs de la localité. Il est recommandé d’aider les étudiants à trouver les fonds nécessaires pour obtenir ces services.
  • On doit prendre en considération que, dans certaines communautés, il est très difficile de trouver des interprètes du langage des signes et des fournisseurs de services CART. Des solutions alternatives doivent être étudiées pour que les étudiants qui ont besoin de ces services puissent y avoir accès.

Caractéristiques des classes

  • Permettre aux étudiants de demander que l’on utilise un local différent si le local prévu n’est pas accessible. Il faut rapidement répondre à ce genre de demande pour éviter que les étudiants manquent des cours.
  • Il faut donner la priorité aux étudiants handicapés qui souhaitent choisir leur siège de manière à s’asseoir à l’avant de la classe, près d’une prise électrique, à proximité d’un haut-parleur, etc.
  • Des systèmes d’écoute, à infrarouge notamment, ou des systèmes de sonorisation FM devraient être installés dans le plus de classes possible, afin que les étudiants puissent amplifier le son pendant les exposés et les séances de tutorat.
  • Les classes et les laboratoires devraient être munis de tables et de postes de travail informatique accessibles en fauteuil roulant.
  • Des sièges avec dossier ergonomique peuvent se révéler une mesure d’adaptation nécessaire pour certains élèves. L'équipement approprié pouvant être prêté ou installé dans la salle de classe doit être disponible au besoin. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, consultez la section sur l’accessibilité physique (page 27).

Adaptation des procédures

  • Permettre aux étudiants qui doivent réduire leur charge de cours de conserver leur statut d’étudiants à temps plein. Le personnel des services aux personnes handicapées doit expliquer aux étudiants handicapés les avantages et les désavantages associés aux différentes charges de cours.
  • Envisager la possibilité de permettre aux étudiants atteints de certaines incapacités de présenter leurs travaux sous une forme différente, par exemple faire un exposé oral plutôt que de remettre un exposé écrit.

Mesures de soutien relatives aux travaux sur le terrain et aux stages

  • Aider les étudiants inscrits qui ont besoin de mesures d’adaptation pour effectuer des travaux pratiques ou des stages. Cette aide peut se traduire par la présence d’un mentor sur le terrain, par l’utilisation de technologies ou de matériel d’assistance ou par la recherche d’un stage ou d’un projet différent, mieux adapté aux capacités de l’étudiant.

Services d’aide à l’apprentissage

  • Plusieurs étudiants, outre les étudiants handicapés, auraient avantage à obtenir des services d’aide à l’apprentissage afin d’améliorer leurs aptitudes aux études. Toutefois, les étudiants handicapés, surtout ceux qui souffrent de troubles de l’apprentissage, peuvent avoir des besoins particuliers dont il faut tenir compte.
  • Comme les services d’aide à l’apprentissage peuvent être utilisés par plusieurs départements, il peut être avantageux de former un organisme central auquel les étudiants s’adressent pour obtenir de l’aide afin d’améliorer leurs aptitudes aux études. De leur côté, les conseillers pour les personnes handicapées doivent être informés de l’existence de ces services de manière à pouvoir correctement renseigner et diriger les étudiants handicapés.
  • Envisager la possibilité d’embaucher un ou plusieurs conseillers ou spécialistes des stratégies pédagogiques qui ont étudié les aides à l’apprentissage destinées aux étudiants handicapés et veiller à ce que les services de ces personnes soient accessibles aux étudiants inscrits auprès des services aux personnes handicapées.
  • S’il n’est pas possible d’embaucher de tels spécialistes, les étudiants de deuxième ou troisième cycle en éducation spécialisée, en pédagogie ou en psychologie peuvent constituer une ressource intéressante.
  • Les conseillers et les spécialistes des stratégies d’apprentissage peuvent aider les étudiants handicapés à cerner leurs forces et leurs faiblesses, à se fixer des objectifs en matière d’études et à suivre la formation pertinente.
  • L’établissement devrait utiliser plusieurs méthodes pédagogiques pour transmettre les stratégies d’apprentissage, notamment les séances de formation individuelles, la formation en groupe, les ateliers et les séminaires. Voici une liste de sujets pertinents à aborder :
    • Les styles et les stratégies d’apprentissage
    • Les techniques d’étude et les procédés mnémotechniques
    • La motivation et la capacité de concentration
    • Les techniques de résolution de problèmes
    • La gestion du temps et le sens de l’organisation
    • Comment faire des exposés efficaces et l’art de parler en public
    • Rédaction d’essais et de rapports
    • Techniques de prise de notes
    • Se préparer en vue des tests et des examens (réponses à choix multiples et rédaction de réponses à développement)
    • Habiletés à défendre ses propres intérêts et à créer un réseau

Mesures d’adaptation relatives aux évaluations

Les étudiants handicapés peuvent avoir besoin de mesures d’adaptation particulières lorsqu’ils subissent des examens, des tests et des interrogations en classe. En voici quelques-unes :

  • Leur donner de 25 % à 100 % plus de temps, selon la nature de l’incapacité ne représente pas une mesure inhabituelle. Toutefois, certains étudiants peuvent avoir besoin de trois fois plus de temps pour terminer un examen. Si ce type de cas se présente, la mesure d’adaptation doit répondre aux besoins découlant du handicap.
  • Accorder du temps pour de courtes pauses supervisées lorsque l’invalidité ou l’affection chronique – douleurs chroniques ou TDAH – a des conséquences sur le rendement de l’étudiant.
  • Permettre aux étudiants handicapés de subir les examens, les tests ou les interrogations ailleurs que dans la classe, dans un endroit où les distractions sont réduites.
  • Permettre l’utilisation des technologies d’assistance approuvées, comme les ordinateurs, les calculatrices, les dictionnaires électroniques ou les correcteurs d’orthographe (pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, consulter la section sur les technologies d’assistance, à la page 32).
  • Permettre l’utilisation de médias substituts, comme le braille ou les textes en gros caractères et en format numérique (pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, consulter la section sur les médias substituts, à la page 30).
  • Permettre aux étudiants de recourir à des personnes qui peuvent transcrire les réponses pour eux.

Mesures d’adaptation relatives aux examens

  • L’obtention des mesures d’adaptation nécessaires pourrait être plus difficile à obtenir pendant les examens si la coordination de ceux-ci est faite à partir d’une instance centralisée, le bureau du registraire, par exemple, dont les représentants pourraient ne pas être informés des mesures nécessaires. Il est donc important de fournir des renseignements clairs et précis sur le processus de demande de mesures d’adaptation visant les examens. Vous pouvez par exemple créer un guide en ligne où les mesures d’adaptation pertinentes sont énumérées, où le processus de demande est expliqué et où les autres renseignements utiles aux étudiants handicapés, par exemple les procédures ou les règles à suivre, sont précisés.
  • Veiller à ce que le processus de demande de mesures d’adaptation relatives aux examens soit simple et facile à suivre. Offrir la possibilité de demander les mesures d’adaptation en ligne ou s’assurer de la disponibilité du personnel nécessaire pour coordonner ces mesures.
  • Comme les demandes de mesures d’adaptation relatives aux examens doivent souvent être présentées avant des dates fixées bien précises, il faut s’assurer que les étudiants sont au courant des dates limites à venir, soit en affichant des avis, soit en mettant à jour le calendrier diffusé sur le site Web des services aux personnes handicapées. Utiliser un serveur de liste pour expédier des rappels par courriel et demander aux membres du corps professoral d’informer leurs étudiants des dates limites à respecter.

Tutorat

  • Des services de tutorat sont offerts dans de nombreux établissements d’enseignement postsecondaire et, en général, tous les étudiants peuvent y recourir. Le personnel des services aux personnes handicapées doit connaître l’existence de ces services et pouvoir aider les étudiants handicapés à les obtenir.
  • Dans toute la mesure du possible, diriger les étudiants vers les services de tutorat qui ont de l’expérience avec les personnes handicapées; il peut être utile de tenir un répertoire de tuteurs et d’agences de tutorat ayant une telle expérience.
  • Aider les étudiants handicapés à obtenir les fonds nécessaires chaque fois qu’ils doivent payer pour obtenir les services voulus.

Médias substituts et technologies d’assistance

  • Faire en sorte que les étudiants handicapés aient accès aux médias substituts et aux technologies d’assistance. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, consulter la section sur les médias substituts, à la page 30, et la section sur les technologies d’assistance, à la page 32.

Dispositions particulières

  • Il arrive qu’un étudiant handicapé ait besoin de mesures d’adaptation inhabituelles ou de services particuliers (ceux d’un accompagnateur pédagogique, par exemple). Même si votre établissement n’a pas établi de procédures pour se procurer de tels services, n’hésitez pas à faire les recherches nécessaires pour aider l’étudiant à obtenir ce dont il a besoin.

Resources Ressources - Genres de mesures d’adaptation



Améliorer l’accessibilité dans les établissements d’enseignement postsecondaire




Haut

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2017, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.