NEADS Logo - Home
Find us on: Facebook YouTube Twitter

Enhancing Accessibility in Post-Secondary Education Institutions

Enhancing Accessibility in Post-Secondary Education Institutions

Admissions

Accommodations for students with disabilities should start in the admissions process. The following best practices have helped PSE institutions provide accessible services to prospective students with disabilities.

  • Encourage students with disabilities to self-identify so that their disability can be taken into consideration during the admission process as self-identification can initiate early access to accommodation services. Self-identification entails indicating that there is a disability that requires supports. Further details and any required documentation, can be provided to the disability services centre for acquriing appropriate accommodations.
  • Ensure that detailed, accessible information is available through the admissions office or the registrar regarding services available for students with disabilities, as these are often the first points of contact.
  • Work with secondary schools to provide students with information on the services available for students with disabilities during the admission process.
  • If a program requires a submission of previous work (such as a portfolio), an admission interview or a test, accommodations may be necessary during these processes. For example, individuals may wish to submit a portfolio in an alternate format or may require interpreter services for an admission interview or a scribe for testing. Provide clear instructions on how to request these accommodations.

Resources Admissions Resources



Back to Enhancing Accessibility Guide




Top

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2018, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.

NEADS Logo - Accueil
Trouvez-nous sur : Facebook YouTube

Enhancing Accessibility in Post-Secondary Education Institutions

Améliorer l’accessibilité dans les établissements d’enseignement postsecondaire

Admission

La prise de mesures d’adaptation à l’intention des étudiants handicapés doit commencer dès le début du processus d’admission. Les pratiques exemplaires qui suivent ont aidé divers établissements d’enseignement postsecondaire à fournir des services accessibles à de futurs étudiants handicapés.

  • Encourager les étudiants handicapés à déclarer leur incapacité, pour qu’on en tienne compte pendant le processus d’admission et afin d’accélérer l’obtention des services relatifs aux mesures d’adaptation. Cette autodéclaration implique que l’étudiant indique avoir un handicap qui nécessite un soutien. Les détails concernant son handicap et toute la documentation requise peuvent être fournis au centre de service pour les personnes handicapées afin d’obtenir des mesures d’adaptation appropriées.
  • S’assurer que le bureau des admissions et celui du registraire disposent de renseignements détaillés et accessibles sur les services offerts aux étudiants handicapés, car ces bureaux sont souvent les premiers avec lesquels les étudiants entrent en contact.
  • Demander aux écoles secondaires de fournir des renseignements sur les services offerts par les établissements d’enseignement postsecondaire aux étudiants handicapés pendant le processus d’admission.
  • Ne pas oublier que les étudiants handicapés peuvent avoir besoin de mesures d’adaptation s’ils doivent présenter des travaux qu’ils ont faits dans le passé (un portfolio, par exemple) ou se soumettre à un entretien ou à un test d’admission. Ainsi, certaines personnes souhaiteront peut-être soumettre leur portfolio dans un média substitut ou auront besoin de services d’interprétation pendant l’entretien ou ceux d’un transcripteur pendant le test. Fournir des directives précises sur le processus de demande de ces mesures d’adaptation.

Resources Ressources - Admission



Améliorer l’accessibilité dans les établissements d’enseignement postsecondaire




Haut

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2017, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.