NEADS Logo - Home
Find us on: Facebook YouTube

Question MarkQuick Question:
Will going to school outside my province or territory limit my ability to access funding?


Upcoming Events

More Events

Link of the day

More Links

Donate Now to support NEADS! We need your support!
Donations are tax deductible and you will receive a charitable tax receipt for 100% of your gift.

Donate Now Through CanadaHelps.org!

Campus Student Groups

Student Leadership Guidebook

Starting an Organization of Students with Disabilities on your Campus

Introduction

This section is designed as a guideline to assist students with disabilities to organize at the grassroots level, using existing resource materials from the National Educational Association of Disabled Students (NEADS). Currently, there are about 40 campus based student groups and committees for post-secondary students with disabilities who are part of the NEADS network.

As you would expect, there is no magic formula for starting and/or maintaining a disabled students group on a campus. The foundation of a particular organization must be carefully thought out to reflect the needs and concerns of the disability community at a post-secondary institution. Keep in mind that every school has a unique environment. The mandate of the organization must fit the needs of the student body. In addition, the environment is defined by the institution's commitment to disability issues.

Forming A Group

The main ingredient for starting a group is effective organizing, beginning with just a few people who have a lot of dedication to the cause. The degree of difficulty people may encounter when they start out depends largely on the attitudes and awareness that are present on campus.

"We completed an access audit two years ago which resulted in a five year plan to address iss-ues identified in the audit." (Service Provider, University, British Columbia, National Approach to Services Project)

The first step to starting a group is finding a name. Whatever you choose to call your organization will serve as an identifier and reflect the objectives of the group. In this way, people should associate the objectives and goals of the group with the chosen name. In deciding goals and objectives the organization will define specific areas of interest members wish to pursue. Although the focus may change over time, it is necessary to know what the group represents as a collective. Write it all down to ensure consistency. This serves as the beginning of a constitutional charter. A constitution is a written mandate.

The development of a mandate is an essential part of gaining recognition. Setting out goals and objectives provides a framework in which to operate. Your goals and objectives should address long term accessibility issues at your school, taking into account the concerns put forward by the group's membership. In that way, the group can continue to address them over time. For example, if lack of wheelchair access is a problem on your campus, removing physical barriers could be a raison d'être for your group. Deaf and hard of hearing students may not have access to adequate interpreting services in the classroom. If that is the case, the organization may consider an issue such as this as a central focus of any campaign to improve accessibility. These are but two examples of areas that may require the work of your group. At the same time, you need not focus on the needs of one group of students with disabilities in deciding the long-term aims of the organization. A collective of students with disabilities can be as diverse in its objectives and goals as the members that it serves.

Operating Structure

The operating structure of a students' group begins with the establishment of a set of rules to govern its activities. A formal management structure may or may not be necessary in a group's infancy. At the same time, it is essential to ensure that elected executive members are well aware of disability issues. Furthermore, the written charter should ensure consumer control over the group's activities. Should you choose to have a Board of Directors' structure, keep it as simple as possible to avoid confusion.

"We have no student-lead support services for students with disabilities, or student advisory groups. We have tried in the past, but have not been able to get students to attend on a regular basis. We do not have student reps on our advisory groups." (Student, College, Ontario, National Approach to Services Project)

A good way to provide the organization with some permanence is to guarantee that there are mechanisms to support the group over time. This can be accomplished by becoming affiliated with the students' union. Each students' union has different rules and procedures that must be followed with respect to affiliation, and you will have to show that there is a need for an organization of students with disabilities. However, if you are able to demonstrate that disabled students want such an organization and will take an active role in it, a Disabled Students' Group can develop the same kind of profile and clout as your campus Women's Centre or International Students' Centre. Also, sponsorship from your student government may provide you with a small budget to support on-going activities.

Establishing a permanent operations centre, for example, an office in a prominent space on campus, is also equally important. When you set up an office, people will know where they can find you. Many groups use their disability services office as a contact point. This is okay, but it might be difficult to maintain autonomy when sharing space with another centre, particularly one that has an affiliation with your campus administration.

Services and Advocacy

A group of students with disabilities may or may not provide services. For example, such groups often decide to have strictly a social function. Still, your organization may want to provide specific services to meet the needs of its members. Some of the services that these groups might provide are:

  1. A peer support service for students with disabilities:
    As part of a peer support service, special orientation workshops for first year students can be arranged. The disability service office at your school may offer some type of orientation, but such a service often can leave out important information that can only be provided adequately by other students with disabilities. Peer support can be an ongoing part of your group's activities and it can encompass all facets of the academic and social experience of your members.
  2. An information or resource centre for interested students:
    A good place to start would be to develop a resource library on issues relating to disability. The group's collection of resources may be put on loan to the campus community or it may only be used in your office space. Making available magazines, books and various kinds of writing on the subject of disability will inform and enlighten fellow students and staff.
  3. A drop in centre to provide a meeting place for members plus services and supports:
    As part of the centre's operations, you could provide needed services to students with disabilities such as: a resting area, photocopying privileges, peer tutoring, note-taking, a TTY line for communication with and for deaf or hard of hearing persons. The drop in centre may also run awareness raising events for the campus population.
  4. An advocacy and support network for students with disabilities:
    Taking on an advocacy role on behalf of the membership in the post-secondary environment will become crucial to the group's effectiveness. The group may decide to advocate for specific projects, services and programs that will make the school environment more accessible. Part of this function could include the initiation of fundraising ventures. The members may also decide to publicize the organization's position on disability issues in the community at large. This kind of activity will expose the organization to other like-minded groups, which can become allies in ongoing advocacy work.

Membership

Membership need not be restricted only to people with disabilities. This may make it more difficult to establish support for the organization. Restricted membership can give the group a negative image. It is often harmful rather than helpful for a new organization to limit the scope of its membership, especially an organization advocating for the rights of an equity group. If all students are allowed to join, you will expand your influence in the campus community, which will encourage integration and dispel myths surrounding people with disabilities.

"The disability centre encourages students to advocate for themselves. Personally, I do. However, there are no seminars or courses on self-advocacy and there are students who are uncomfortable advocating for themselves. Teaching students to advocate would be better than simply stating, "be your own advocate." (Student, University, British Columbia, National Approach to Services Project)

However, your members should ensure that students with disabilities have control over the organization's mandate and activities. The best way to maintain the consumer focus of the group and ensure that it meets the objectives of its members with disabilities is to provide disabled students with the primary decision-making functions. In this way, the organization serves as an excellent vehicle for one-on-one education, while maintaining a consumer perspective. You may choose to sell your organization, when canvassing for membership, as a group that offers students with disabilities and able-bodied students alike an opportunity to learn about the issues in an informal setting.

It is important to recognize that the model of membership that has just been proposed, often called "PHAB" which stands for Physically Handicapped and Able-Bodied, is not the only model, nor is it always the most appropriate. A "Consumers Only" model, which means that only students with disabilities will be part of the group, can be extremely effective as an advocacy body. The "Consumers Only" organization may create a situation in which students with disabilities are more comfortable in airing their issues and concerns. It may also be more effective in dealing with an extremely inaccessible campus which is resistant to positive change.

On-Campus Relationships

A new organization promoting disability issues should establish links on campus in order to be effective. These links include: lines of communication to both the students' union and the administrative body responsible for student life.

Most schools have a person responsible for arranging accommodations for students with disabilities. Depending on the university or college there may also be a specific office assigned to accommodate disabled students. Regardless of the structure of the institution, it is important to enter into a working relationship with key members of your campus administration responsible for issues affecting students with disabilities. It is essential that students with disabilities become knowledgeable about their school's commitment to the quality of education and quality of life offered to students with disabilities. This will involve a complete understanding of policies and programs on campus, which will affect the kinds of accommodations that are provided.

"(Our) Student Equity Committee brings forward all issues of concern for disabled students to proper departments and pushes to have problems rectified." (Student, College, Ontario, National Approach to Services Project)

For example, your group might gain membership to a committee that reviews accessibility on campus. In a situation where there is no committee of that kind, the group should advocate for the existence of one. In the meantime, you should continue to work for awareness of disability issues through other means, including the campus newspaper, radio and of course good old letter writing. A disabled students' advocacy group can also effectively gain active representation for students with disabilities in regard to input into the construction and the design of buildings on campus. Evaluation of both physical access and disability services at your school can be dual roles for the group. Establishing these kinds of relationships is important to ensure that concerns affecting students with disabilities are known throughout the campus.

Some students' unions do not always consider disability issues to be crucial; therefore it is up to your group to change that. Make disability issues a priority by placing them on the agenda come election time. Get to know the members of your council once they are in office. Tell them what the issues are and make them listen. Don't forget, a member of your organization can run for student government — that will ensure students with disabilities are well represented on campus.

"Our senate policy works very well and is almost unanimously supported by academic and administrative staff. It allows individualized accommodation initiatives." (Service Provider, University, Manitoba, National Approach to Services Project)

In addition to disabled student services and your student union, it is also wise to make other areas at your college or university aware of issues affecting people with disabilities. It is important to improve the general environment in which your members study. Improving the environment will make it easier for students with disabilities to pursue their academic programs as this reduces segregation and barriers.

This type of awareness will reach other areas of service on campus forcing them to examine whether or not they are accessible to students with disabilities. Awareness raising serves to educate the faculty, providing instructors with a better understanding of the implications of living with a disability and making them more sensitive to the situations in which special accommodations are required. As a result, the faculty will be prepared and more willing to respond appropriately when students with disabilities request accommodations. As more people become familiar with the group, the interest in the issues will grow, as will your membership. Establishing your group as a valuable resource on campus can only help this endeavour.

Good relationships are nice, but they are not always possible. You may encounter resistance from your school's administration. Do not appear confrontational, and always show willingness to work in a team environment. In the same fashion, members of the student union might shrug your organization off as not important. Keep working with them. That is the only way you will change their minds.

Off-Campus Relationships

It is important to have contact with disability organizations off-campus. This allows your group to be aware of the issues facing people with disabilities in the city where you study. The creation of a network with other groups makes it easier to exchange ideas. This network might include groups from universities and colleges in different parts of the country. In addition, communication with other "like-minded" organizations can only help your cause and increase the effectiveness of your advocacy work. The same principle exists for other organizations in the community; establishing the group as a vital resource will improve its profile beyond the campus environment.

For Further Ideas:

  • Advocacy the Process: Active Living Alliance, Government of Canada, Fitness and Amateur Sport, 1988.
  • Changing Their Minds: A Primer for Student Activists, University Relations Office, Simon Fraser Student Society, 1992.
  • Organizing Back Home, April D'Aubin, Coalition of Provincial Organizations of the Handicapped, July, 1988.
  • Student Association Directory: 1997-98, Canadian Federation of Students, Ottawa, Ontario, August, 1998.
  • Taking Action: A Guide to Successful Organizing and Advocacy in a Post-Secondary Environment for Students With Disabilities, British Columbia Educational Association of Disabled Students, Vancouver, British Columbia, 1993.



Top

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2017, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.

NEADS Logo - Accueil
Trouvez-nous sur : Facebook YouTube

QuestionQuestion:
À qui dois-je m’adresser pour obtenir de l’information sur l’aide financière disponible pour payer mes études postsecondaires?


Événements prochains

Voir d'autres événements

Autre site d'intérèt


Advertisement



Groupes d'étudiantss

Leadership étudiants

Comment mettre sur pied une organisation pour personnes handicapées

Introduction

Voici un guide destiné aux étudiants handicapés qui souhaitent organiser un groupe d'étudiants « à la base ». Le guide explique aussi comment utiliser les ressources de l'Association nationale des étudiants handicapés au niveau postsecondaire (NEADS). À l'heure actuelle, le réseau de NEADS compte quelque 40 groupes et comités universitaires pour les étudiants handicapés au niveau postsecondaire.

Comme on pourrait s'y attendre, il n'y a pas de formule magique qui puisse aider celui qui veut mettre sur pied ou diriger un groupement de personnes handicapées en milieu universitaire. Pour fonder une telle organisation, il faut réfléchir attentivement aux besoins et aux préoccupations des personnes handicapées qui fréquentent l'établissement postsecondaire. N'oubliez pas que chaque école est un environnement unique. Le mandat de l'organisation doit convenir aux besoins du corps étudiant. Par ailleurs, l'environnement se définit notamment à l'engagement de l'établissement à l'égard des personnes handicapées.

Former un groupe

Une bonne organisation est l'ingrédient premier de la recette. Au départ, il suffit de quelques personnes prêtes à vraiment se dévouer à la cause. La difficulté que peuvent connaître ces personnes au début tient pour une bonne part aux attitudes et au degré de conscientisation des gens de la cité universitaire.

« Nous avons réalisé il y a deux ans une vérification de l'accessibilité qui a débouché sur un plan quinquennal visant à régler les problèmes cernés dans le contexte de la vérification. » (Responsable des services d'une université, Colombie-Britannique, projet d'approche nationale à l'égard des services)

Pour qui souhaite mettre sur pied un groupe, la première étape consiste à trouver un nom. Le nom que vous choisirez de donner à votre organisation servira à l'identifier et à mettre en valeur les objectifs du groupe. Ainsi, les gens devraient associer les objectifs et les buts du groupe au nom qui a été choisi. En déterminant les buts et les objectifs de l'organisation, les responsables détermineront les secteurs d'intérêt de ses membres. Si les orientations peuvent varier au fil du temps, il faut savoir ce que le groupe représente collectivement. Notez tout pour demeurer uniforme. C'est ce qui deviendra la charte de l'association. Autrement dit, son mandat mis par écrit.

Le mandat est essentiel pour que l'organisation soit reconnue. L'établissement des buts et des objectifs met en place un cadre à l'intérieur duquel on peut fonctionner. Vos buts et vos objectifs devraient porter sur l'accessibilité à long terme à l'établissement scolaire que vous fréquentez et tenir compte des préoccupations soulevées par les membres du groupe. De cette façon, le groupe peut continuer à s'y attacher au fil du temps. Par exemple, si l'accès des lieux pour les personnes en fauteuil roulant pose des difficultés sur le campus que vous fréquentez, l'élimination des obstacles physiques pourrait être la raison d'être de votre groupe. Les étudiants sourds ou malentendants n'ont peut-être pas accès à des services d'interprétation adéquats en salle de classe. Si c'est le cas, votre organisation peut envisager d'en faire l'élément central d'une campagne pour l'amélioration de l'accessibilité. Ce ne sont là que deux exemples de situations auxquelles votre groupe peut travailler. En même temps, vous n'avez pas à vous concentrer sur les besoins d'un groupe particulier de personnes handicapées pour décider des visées à long terme de l'organisation. Un regroupement d'étudiants handicapés peut être aussi diversifié du point de vue des buts et des objectifs que les membres qu'il représente.

Structure de fonctionnement

Pour établir la structure de fonctionnement de votre groupe d'étudiants, il faut d'abord établir un ensemble de règles régissant les activités du groupe. Au tout début, une structure de direction dans les formes n'est pas forcément nécessaire. En même temps, il est essentiel de s'assurer que les membres élus du conseil sont bien conscients des questions relatives aux déficiences. Par ailleurs, la charte écrite devrait garantir l'emprise du consommateur sur les activités du groupe. Si vous choisissez de constituer un conseil d'administration, essayez de vous en tenir à la démarche la plus simple possible.

« Nous n'avons pas de services de soutien assumés par les étudiants, pour les étudiants handicapés, ni encore de groupes consultatifs d'étudiants. Nous avons essayé cela par le passé, mais nous n'avons jamais pu obtenir que les étudiants assistent régulièrement aux séances. Nous n'avons pas de représentant des étudiants au sein de nos groupes consultatifs. » (Étudiant, Collège Algonquin, Ontario, projet d'approche nationale à l'égard des services)

Une bonne façon de donner une certaine permanence à l'organisation consiste à garantir qu'il y a des mécanismes pour soutenir le groupe au fil du temps. Pour ce faire, on peut s'affilier au syndicat étudiant. Chaque syndicat étudiant compte des règles et procédures qu'il faut respecter en matière d'affiliation, et vous devrez démontrer la nécessité de votre organisation. Toutefois, si vous êtes en mesure de démontrer que les étudiants handicapés veulent d'une telle organisation et qu'ils veulent y jouer un rôle actif, un groupement de personnes handicapées peut en arriver au même profil et à la même influence qu'un centre pour femmes ou un centre pour étudiants étrangers. De même, le parrainage de votre association étudiante peut vous permettre d'obtenir un petit budget pour les activités courantes.

La création d'un centre des opérations permanent, par exemple un bureau bien en vue sur le campus, est tout aussi importante. Si vous vous aménagez un bureau, les gens sauront où vous trouver. De nombreux groupes utilisent le bureau des services pour personnes handicapées comme point de contact. Cela convient, mais il peut être difficile de garder son autonomie si on partage les locaux avec un autre centre, particulièrement un centre qui est affilié à votre administration de campus.

Services et défense des droits

Un groupement d'étudiants handicapés peut fournir ou ne pas fournir des services. Par exemple, un tel groupe décide souvent de n'avoir qu'une visée sociale. Tout de même, votre organisation peut souhaiter fournir des services particuliers pour répondre aux besoins de ses membres. Voici certains des services qu'un tel groupe peut fournir :

  1. Un service d'entraide entre pairs pour les étudiants handicapés :
    Dans le contexte du service d'entraide entre pairs, on peut organiser des ateliers d'orientation à l'intention des étudiants de première année. Le bureau des services aux personnes handicapées de votre école offre peut-être une forme d'orientation, mais ce service laisse souvent de côté des renseignements importants que peuvent seulement fournir d'autres étudiants handicapés. L'entraide entre pairs peut être un élément permanent des activités de votre groupe et englober toutes les facettes de l'expérience scolaire et sociale de vos membres.
  2. Un centre d'information ou de ressources pour les étudiants intéressés :
    Un bon point de départ serait de mettre sur pied une bibliothèque d'ouvrages concernant les handicaps. L'ensemble des ressources du groupe peut être prêté à la cité universitaire ou n'être consultable que sur les lieux mêmes. Le fait de mettre à la disposition des étudiants et du personnel des magazines, des livres et divers écrits sur le sujet servira à les informer et à les éclairer.
  3. Un centre sans rendez-vous, lieu de réunion où services et mesures de soutien sont offerts :
    Au centre en question, vous pourriez fournir les services dont ont besoin les étudiants handicapés : un coin tranquille, des privilèges de photocopie, des leçons particulières données par des pairs, la prise de notes, un ATS pour la communication avec des personnes sourdes ou malentendantes. Le centre sans rendez-vous peut aussi organiser des activités de sensibilisation auprès de la population universitaire
  4. Un réseau de défense et d'entraide des étudiants handicapés :
    Le fait de prendre en charge la défense des droits des membres dans l'environnement postsecondaire est un élément crucial de l'efficacité du groupe. Le groupe peut décider de préconiser des projets, des services et des programmes particuliers, pour rendre l'environnement scolaire plus accessible. Une partie de cette fonction pourrait consister à mettre en branle des projets de souscription de fonds. Les membres peuvent aussi décider de faire connaître à l'ensemble de la population étudiante la position de l'organisation concernant les questions relatives aux personnes handicapées. Ce genre d'activité exposera l'organisation à d'autres groupes animés de sentiments semblables, qui peuvent devenir des alliés.

Membres

Ce ne sont pas forcément les seules personnes handicapées qui peuvent appartenir au groupe. Cela peut rendre plus difficile la tâche qui consiste à établir des appuis à l'égard de l'organisation. La restriction des critères d'admissibilité peut projeter une image défavorable. Cela peut même nuire, plutôt que d'aider une organisation nouvelle, surtout une organisation qui fait valoir les droits d'un groupe désigné. Si tous les étudiants peuvent se joindre au groupe, vous élargissez votre cercle d'influence dans la cité universitaire, ce qui encourage l'intégration et sert à dissiper les mythes concernant les personnes handicapées.

Le DRC (Disability Resource Centre) encourage les étudiants à défendre eux-mêmes leurs droits. Je le fais moi-même. Toutefois, il n'y a pas de colloque ni de cours sur l'autodéfense de ses droits, et certains sont mal à l'aise à l'idée de faire cela. Il vaudrait mieux enseigner aux étudiants comment défendre leurs points de vue, plutôt que de leur dire simplement de se défendre. (Étudiant d'une université, Colombie-Britannique, projet d'approche nationale à l'égard des services)

Toutefois, vos membres devraient s'assurer que les étudiants handicapés contrôlent le mandat et les activités de l'organisation. La meilleure façon de garder le cap sur l'orientation « consommateur » du groupe et de s'assurer que celui-ci répond aux objectifs de ses membres handicapés consiste à confier aux étudiants handicapés les principales fonctions décisionnelles. De cette façon, l'organisation est une excellente tribune pour l'éducation individuelle, sans que la perspective du consommateur ne soit laissée pour compte. Vous pouvez choisir de décrire votre organisation, au moment d'essayer de recruter des membres, comme un groupe qui offre aux étudiants handicapés et aux autres aussi l'occasion d'en apprendre dans un contexte informel.

Il importe de reconnaître que le modèle mixte qui vient d'être proposé, c'est-à-dire celui qui permet de réunir les personnes handicapées et les personnes physiquement aptes, n'est pas le seul. Il n'est même pas forcément celui qui convient le mieux à toutes les situations. Le modèle « consommateurs seulement » - cela veut dire que seuls les étudiants handicapés font partie du groupe - peut donner un organisme très efficace. Cette forme d'organisation peut créer une situation où les étudiants handicapés sont plus à l'aise lorsque vient le temps de soulever des questions et des préoccupations. Cela est peut-être aussi efficace pour qui traite avec une cité universitaire extrêmement inaccessible, qui résiste aux changements positifs.

Personnes-ressources sur le campus

Pour être efficace, une nouvelle organisation devrait établir des liens, sur le campus, avec l'association étudiante et l'organisme administratif responsable de la vie étudiante.

La plupart des écoles comptent un responsable des aménagements à l'intention des étudiants handicapés. Suivant l'université ou le collège dont il est question, il peut y avoir un bureau qui est chargé exclusivement de cette tâche. Quelle que soit la structure adoptée, il importe d'établir des liens de travail avec les principaux membres de votre administration universitaire responsable des questions touchant les étudiants handicapés. Il est essentiel que les étudiants handicapés sachent jusqu'à quel point leur école s'engage à maintenir la qualité de l'éducation et la qualité de vie offertes aux étudiants handicapés. Cela suppose une connaissance approfondie des politiques et des programmes offerts sur le campus, qui auront une incidence sur les aménagements fournis.

« Notre comité d'équité signale à tous les départements intéressés les questions qui préoccupent les étudiants handicapés et fait des pressions pour que les problèmes soient réglés. » (Étudiant, Confederation Collège, Ontario, projet d'approche nationale à l'égard des services)

Par exemple, votre groupe peut faire partie d'un comité qui examine la question de l'accessibilité sur le campus. Dans les cas où il n'y a pas de comité du genre, le groupe devrait en préconiser l'existence. Dans l'intervalle, vous devriez continuer à travailler pour conscientiser les gens aux questions intéressant les personnes handicapées par d'autres moyens, y compris le journal universitaire, la radio et, bien sûr, les bonnes vieilles lettres. Un groupe de défense des étudiants handicapés peut aussi faire représenter activement les étudiants handicapés pour ce qui touche les travaux de construction et de conception des bâtiments. L'évaluation de l'accessibilité physique des lieux et des services aux personnes handicapées à votre école peut relever du mandat de votre groupe. Il importe de cultiver des liens à cet égard pour faire connaître dans l'ensemble de la cité universitaire les préoccupations touchant les étudiants handicapés.

Certains syndicats d'étudiants ne considèrent pas toujours comme cruciales les questions touchant les personnes handicapées ; par conséquent, il appartient à votre groupe de changer les choses. Faites de ces questions une priorité en les inscrivant au programme au moment des élections. Liez connaissance avec les membres de votre conseil une fois qu'ils sont élus. Signalez-leur les enjeux et forcez-les à vous écouter. N'oubliez pas : un membre de votre organisation peut chercher à se faire élire à l'association des étudiants ; cela permettrait que les étudiants handicapés soient bien représentés sur le campus.

Notre politique sénatoriale fonctionne très bien et a le soutien quasi unanime des enseignants et du personnel administratif. Elle prévoit des aménagements individualisés. (Responsable des services d'une université, Manitoba, projet d'approche nationale à l'égard des services)

Mis à part les services aux étudiants handicapés et votre association des étudiants, il est à conseiller aussi de faire connaître les questions concernant les personnes handicapées dans d'autres secteurs de votre établissement collégial ou universitaire. Il importe d'améliorer le contexte général dans lequel vos membres étudient. Cela fera que les étudiants handicapés pourront mieux poursuivre leurs études, du fait d'une ségrégation et d'obstacles amoindris.

Ce genre de conscientisation finira par rejoindre d'autres secteurs de services dans la cité universitaire, et les forcera à déterminer s'ils sont accessibles aux étudiants handicapés. La conscientisation sert à éduquer le corps professoral, donnant aux enseignants une meilleure compréhension des conséquences des handicaps et les rendant encore plus sensibles aux situations où des aménagements particuliers s'imposent. De ce fait, le corps professoral sera préparé et davantage prêt à intervenir comme il se doit lorsque des étudiants handicapés demandent des aménagements. Au fur et à mesure que les gens apprennent à connaître le groupe, l'intérêt porté aux questions que vous soulevez ira en s'accroissant, tout comme le nombre de vos membres. Le fait d'établir votre groupe en tant que ressource précieuse sur le campus ne peut que vous aider.

L'idée de cultiver de bonnes relations de travail, c'est bien beau, mais ce n'est pas toujours possible. Vous pouvez faire face à de la résistance de la part de l'administration de l'école. Ne paraissez pas antagoniste, mainfestez toujours la volonté de travailler en équipe. De même, les membres de l'association des étudiants peuvent conclure sans s'y attarder que votre organisation, dans le fond, n'est pas importante. Ne les lâchez pas. C'est la seule façon de changer leur mentalité.

Relations hors campus

Il importe d'être en communication avec des organisations de personnes handicapées hors campus. Cela permet à votre groupe de connaître les questions auxquelles font face les personnes handicapées dans la ville où vous étudiez. La création d'un réseau avec les autres groupes facilite l'échange d'idées. Ce réseau peut inclure des groupes des établissements universitaires et collégiaux de différentes régions du pays. En outre, le fait de communiquer avec des organisations animées des mêmes idées ne peut qu'aider votre cause et accroître l'efficacité de votre travail. Le même principe s'applique aux autres organisations de la collectivité ; le fait d'établir le groupe comme ressource vitale servira à améliorer son profil au-delà du seul campus.

Autres idées:

  • Advocacy the Process: Active Living Alliance, gouvernement du Canada, Santé et Sport amateur Canada, 1998.
  • Changing Their Minds: A Primer for Student Activists, University Relations Office, Simon Fraser Student Society, 1992.
  • Organizing Back Home, April d'Aubin, Coalition des organisations provinciales, Ombudsman des handicapés, juillet 1988.
  • Répertoire des associations étudiantes - 1997-1998, Fédération canadienne des étudiantes et étudiants, Ottawa (Ontario), août 1998.
  • Taking Action: A Guide to Successful Organizing and Advocacy in a Post-Secondary Enrivonment for Students with Disabilities, British-Columbia Educational Association of Disabled Students, Vancouver (Colombie-Britannique), 1993



Haut

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2017, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.