NEADS Logo - Home
Find us on: Facebook YouTube

Quick Question:
Is there a national group that represents students with disabilities?


Upcoming Events

More Events

Link of the day

More Links

Donate Now to support NEADS! We need your support!
Donations are tax deductible and you will receive a charitable tax receipt for 100% of your gift.

Donate Now Through CanadaHelps.org!

Reports

August 2005 Office Report

Inclusion of Students With Disabilities in College and University Sponsored Activities Project - Guide Now Available

At the end of March, 2005 we completed the Inclusion Project. This one year initiative was supported through a contribution agreement from the Government of Canada's, Social Development Partnerships Program (SDPP). The project looked at the accessibility of extra-curricular activities for students with disabilities in Canadian colleges and universities. The project team – led by Chris Gaulin and Jennifer Dunn, with Jennison Asuncion as advisor – conducted focus groups with campus activity programmers and students in different regions of the country, developed and distributed two questionnaires across Canada, and held both a training session and a workshop during the weekend of the “Right On!” conference. An excellent publication has been developed called “Making Extra-Curricular Activities Inclusive – An Accessibility Guide for Campus Programmers.” This guide is available online -- in HTML, Word and PDF formats along with a project activity report -- and from the office: http://www.neads.ca/en/about/projects/inclusion/guide/ Partners in the project were the Canadian Federation of Students and the Canadian Organization of Campus Activities, and members of our board were on the advisory group. We will be promoting the guide throughout the next year. An article on the Inclusion Project, written by Jennifer Dunn, appears in the Spring 2005 issue of the NEADS Newsletter.

Access to Academic Materials For Post-Secondary Students With Print Disabilities Project - Final Report Now Available

The project Access to Academic Materials for Post-Secondary Students With Print Disabilities was also funded with support from the Social Development Partnerships Program. It was a sixteenth month initiative, starting in December, 2003, developed as a partnership between the National Educational Association of Disabled Students (NEADS), the Council on Access to Information for Print-Disabled Canadians and the Learning Disabilities Association of Canada (LDAC). The Canadian Association of Disability Service Providers in Post-Secondary Education (CADSPPE) and Adaptech also participated in the project as advisors. Our steering committee included students (representatives from our board), librarians and disability service providers. Board member reps. were Rachael Ross, President and Robin Drodge, our previous Newfoundland and Labrador Rep. The research team was led by consultants Liam Kilmurray, Neil Faba and Laurie Alphonse. The overall goal of the project was to address issues relating to the acquisition of academic materials in formats of choice. Activities of the project included: meetings of the steering committee, a workshop at the national conference, the development of questionnaires that were distributed across Canada to students and service providers, a request for submissions from stakeholder groups: producers, service providers and NGOs; and research into the “current state” of alternate format materials production and distribution in the Canadian post-secondary system.

A final report was completed in May. It is now available on the NEADS website in Word, PDF and HTML versions: http://www.neads.ca/en/about/projects/atam/ Copies can be ordered from the office. Now that the report is released, we will be continuing to work with all stakeholders, including the Council on Access to Information and Library and Archives Canada, LDAC and CADSPPE to see that the report and its recommendations are promoted.

NEADS Online Work System (NOWS)

Registration in our job site NOWS www.nows.ca is growing steadily. We now have 52 employers that have joined NOWS and over 800 students and graduates with disabilities. A very successful demonstration of the NOWS site and its capabilities was delivered in Toronto in the middle of March at the Courtyard Marriott Hotel. About 55 people participated through the day in the employer luncheon and student dinner. We also made a presentation on NOWS at the June conference of the Canadian Association of Career Educators and Employers held in Ottawa.

2004 National Conference – “Right On!”

Our 2004 national conference was a great success, with over 200 delegates participating. Thanks to our conference planning committee and Chair Jason Mitschele for putting on such a terrific event. A complete proceedings report is available on our conference website: www.neads.ca/conference2004 along with audio and PowerPoint files from workshop presentations. An article on the conference, prepared for Jobpostings Magazine, appears in the Spring 2005 newsletter.

Funding From BMO Nesbitt Burns Through "Equity Through Education": Job Search Strategies Forums

In May BMO Nesbitt Burns announced it would be providing NEADS with a generous donation through its Equity Through Education Program. The proceeds raised on May 11th for Equity Through Education will be shared with seven non-governmental organizations in Canada and the United States that support education and diversity. The other groups in this country are the Canadian Merit Scholarship Foundation, the Foundation for the Advancement of Aboriginal Youth and Pathways to Education. The funding from BMO Nesbitt Burns will be used by NEADS to support a series of “Job Search Strategies” workshops across the country over the next two years.

During our board of directors meeting, held in June in Ottawa, NEADS board members welcomed Stephen McDonnell, Senior Manager, Diversity and Workplace Equity, BMO Financial Group and Murray McGuire, Director, Product Management, Trade Finance Internal Group, BMO Nesbitt Burns. Stephen and Murray presented NEADS with a cheque representing our portion of the proceeds raised through Equity Through Education. Thank you BMO Nesbitt Burns!

For more information on this exciting project and announcements about upcoming forums keep checking our website.

Frank Smith, National Coordinator
National Educational Association of Disabled Students
Rm. 426 Unicentre, Carleton University
Ottawa, Ontario, K1S 5B6
tel. (613) 526-8008


Top

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2017, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.

NEADS Logo - Accueil
Trouvez-nous sur : Facebook YouTube

QuestionQuestion:
Quels sont mes droits en tant que personne handicapée voulant poursuivre des études postsecondaires?


Événements prochains

Voir d'autres événements

Autre site d'intérèt


Advertisement



Rapports

Rapport de NEADS - août 2005

Intégration des étudiant(e)s handicapés aux activités parrainées par les collèges et les universités – Le guide est maintenant disponible

À la fin de mars 2005, nous avons terminé le Projet d’intégration. Cette initiative d’une année a été soutenue grâce à une entente de contribution du Programme de partenariats pour le développement social (PPDS) du gouvernement du Canada. Ce projet visait à étudier l’accessibilité des activités parascolaires pour les étudiants handicapés dans les collèges et universités du Canada. L’équipe de projet – dirigée par Chris Gaulin et Jennifer Dunn (Jennison Asuncion jouant le rôle de conseillère) – a tenu des réunions avec des groupes témoins composés de préposés à la programmation des activités parascolaires sur les campus et d’étudiants dans les différentes régions du pays. Elle a élaboré et distribué deux questionnaires dans tout le Canada, et tenu une séance de formation et un atelier pendant la fin de semaine de la conférence « Tout droit! ». Une excellente publication a été réalisée dans le cadre de ce projet, intitulée « Rendre inclusives les activités parascolaires – Un guide d’accessibilité pour les programmeurs des campus ». Ce guide est disponible en ligne – en formats HTML, Word et PDF, ainsi qu’un rapport sur les activités du projet –, et auprès du bureau de NEADS : http://www.neads.ca/fr/about/projects/inclusion/guide/

Les partenaires de ce projet étaient la Fédération canadienne des étudiantes et étudiants et la Canadian Organization of Campus Activity Programmers, et les membres de notre conseil ont fait partie du groupe consultatif. Nous ferons la promotion du guide au cours de la prochaine année. Un article sur le Projet d’intégration, rédigé par Jennifer Dunn, a été publié dans le bulletin de NEADS du printemps 2005.

La version finale du rapport « Accès aux documents scolaires pour les étudiants incapables de lire les imprimés » est maintenant disponible

Le projet « Accès aux documents scolaires pour les étudiants incapables de lire les imprimés » a également été financé avec le soutien du Programme de partenariats de développement social. Il s’agissait d’une initiative de 16 mois, qui a débuté en décembre 2003 et a été rendue possible par un partenariat entre l’Association nationale des étudiant(e)s handicapé(e)s au niveau postsecondaire (NEADS), le Conseil sur l’accès à l’information pour les Canadiennes et les Canadiens incapables de lire les imprimés et Troubles d’apprentissage – Association canadienne. L’Association canadienne des conseillers en services aux étudiants handicapés au niveau postsecondaire (ACCSEHP) et Adaptech ont également participé au projet, à titre de conseillers. Notre comité directeur comprenait des étudiants (représentants de notre conseil d’administration), des bibliothécaires et des fournisseurs de services aux handicapés. Les représentants du conseil d’administration étaient Rachael Ross, Présidente et Robin Drodge, notre ancien représentant de Terre Neuve et du Labrador. L’équipe de recherche a été dirigée par les consultants Liam Kilmurray, Neil Faba et Laurie Alphonse. L’objectif global était d’étudier les enjeux relatifs à l’acquisition de documents scolaires en média substitut, au choix des étudiants. Le projet a comporté les activités suivantes : réunions du comité directeur, présentation d’un atelier à la conférence nationale, élaboration de questionnaires qui ont été distribués dans tout le Canada aux étudiants et aux fournisseurs de services, invitation faite aux groupes intéressés de présenter des mémoires, notamment les producteurs, les fournisseurs de services et les ONG, et enfin recherche sur « l’état actuel » de la production et de la distribution de documents scolaires en médias substituts dans le système postsecondaire canadien.

Le rapport final a été terminé en mai. Il est maintenant disponible sur le site Web de NEADS, en versions Word, PDF et HTML : http://www.neads.ca/fr/about/projects/atam/

On peut également commander des copies du bureau de NEADS. Maintenant que le rapport est publié, nous continuerons notre travail auprès de toutes les parties intéressées, y compris le Conseil sur l’accès à l’information et Bibliothèque et Archives Canada, Troubles d’apprentissage – Association canadienne et l’ACCSEHP, pour déterminer comment nous ferons la promotion du rapport et de ses recommandations.

Système d’emploi en ligne de NEADS (NOWS)

Le nombre d’inscriptions sur notre site d’emploi NOWS (www.nows.ca) augmente progressivement. Quelque 52 employeurs et 800 étudiants et diplômés handicapés se sont maintenant inscrits à NOWS. Une présentation très réussie du site NOWS et de ses capacités a été faite à Toronto à la mi mars, à l’hôtel Courtyard Marriott. Quelque 55 personnes ont participé pendant la journée au lunch des employeurs et au dîner des étudiants. Nous avons également fait une présentation au sujet de NOWS à la conférence de la Canadian Association of Career Educators and Employers à Ottawa.

Conférence nationale de 2004 – « Tout droit! »

Notre conférence de 2004 a connu un vif succès, plus de 200 délégués y ayant participé. Nous remercions notre comité organisateur de la conférence et son président, Jason Mitschele, pour avoir organisé un événement aussi réussi. Les actes complets de la conférence sont disponibles sur le site Web de la conférence à l’adresse www.neads.ca/conference2004, ainsi que des fichiers audio et PowerPoint provenant de nos présentations en atelier. Un article sur la conférence, rédigé par Jobpostings Magazine, a été publié dans notre bulletin du printemps 2005.

Financement de BMO Nesbitt Burns, dans le cadre du programme « Action Éducation » : Tribunes de stratégies de recherche d’emploi

En mai, nous annoncions que BMO Nesbitt Burns remettrait à NEADS un don généreux dans le cadre de son programme Action Éducation. Les fonds recueillis le 11 mai pour le programme Action Éducation seront partagés avec sept organisations non gouvernementales au Canada et aux États-Unis, qui soutiennent l’éducation et la diversité. Les autres groupes participants au Canada sont la Fondation canadienne des bourses de mérite, la Foundation for the Advancement of Aboriginal Youth et Pathways to Education. Les fonds versés par BMO Nesbitt Burns seront utilisés par NEADS pour soutenir une série d’ateliers de « stratégies de recherche d’emploi », dans tout le pays, au cours des deux prochaines années.

Au cours de la réunion de notre conseil d’administration en juin à Ottawa, les membres du conseil d’administration de NEADS ont accueilli Stephen McDonnell, gestionnaire principal, Diversité et équité au travail, BMO Groupe financier, et Murray McGuire, directeur, Gestion des produits, Financement du commerce - groupe interne, BMO Nesbitt Burns. Stephen et Murray ont remis à NEADS un chèque représentant notre part des fonds recueillis dans le cadre du programme Action Éducation. De nouveau, un gros merci à BMO Nesbitt Burns!

Pour en savoir plus au sujet de ce projet passionnant et connaître nos prochaines activités, nous vous invitons à visiter notre site Web.

Frank Smith, coordonnateur national
Association nationale des étudiant(e)s handicapé(e)s au niveau postsecondaire (NEADS)
Pièce 426, Unicentre, Université Carleton
Ottawa (Ontario) K1S 5B6
Tél. : (613) 526-8008


Haut

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2017, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.