NEADS Logo - Home
Find us on: Facebook YouTube

Question MarkQuick Question:
How do I make arrangements for books in Braille, on tape or diskette?


Upcoming Events

More Events

Link of the day

More Links

Donate Now to support NEADS! We need your support!
Donations are tax deductible and you will receive a charitable tax receipt for 100% of your gift.

Donate Now Through CanadaHelps.org!

Projects

Persons with disabilities
Accessibility
Making Activities Inclusive
Templates
Resources
NEADS Conference 2004

Making Extra-Curricular Activities Inclusive

An accessibility guide for campus programmers

March 2005

Written and compiled by Chris Gaulin and Jennifer Dunn

Edited by Chris Gaulin, Jennifer Dunn, Frank Smith, and Jennison Asuncion

Introduction & Acknowlegements

In 2004, the National Educational Association of Disabled Students (NEADS) launched a groundbreaking project recognizing the need for a more inclusive campus life for post-secondary students with disabilities. Funded by the Government of Canada, through the Social Development Partnerships Program, the project investigated issues of concern to students and graduates with disabilities in accessing extracurricular activities on their campuses.

This guidebook is a compilation of the findings of the project’s four research components. In the spring of 2004, fifty individuals who are responsible for the planning and organizing of extracurricular activities on college and university campuses across Canada were surveyed using a questionnaire developed by our project team. These campus programmers, who work for student unions, were asked about the manner in which they plan activities and if and how they accommodate the participation of students with disabilities in their events. In addition to the survey research, four focus groups were held with campus programmers to discuss barriers to the inclusion of persons with disabilities in out-of-classroom campus life.

In the fall, NEADS surveyed over 200 students and recent graduates with disabilities on their experiences with extracurricular activities. The questionnaire that was developed for the student phase of our research dealt with student government, elections, orientation, and student clubs and associations. One focus group was held with students with disabilities to discuss factors that affect their participation in campus activities.

In November 2004 the project team hosted a training session in Ottawa for campus activity programmers. The focus of the session was on planning extra-curricular activities that are inclusive of students with disabilities. A number of post-secondary institutions from across Canada were present to share their experiences.

NEADS also held its tenth national conference in Ottawa in November. As part of the event, a presentation on inclusion in student life took place. Some 200 conference delegates participated in this session including students, disability service providers, campus programmers, and other stakeholders.

This guidebook is intended for use by individuals on university and college campuses who are interested in making their activities inclusive to all students. The suggestions outlined are, for the most part, recommendations from students with disabilities themselves. We have also included the perspectives of campus activity programmers on what has been most effective in their experience in holding events and delivering programs. Comments from students and programmers who participated in our survey research are included in side-bars in this resource.

While this guide provides a great deal of information, it is most effective when coupled with the advice of students with disabilities on your campus.

We wish to acknowledge the contributions made to this resource by the students with disabilities and event planners who took the time to participate in our research. The expertise provided by our partners, the Canadian Federation of Students and the Canadian Organization of Campus Activities, was essential to the development of this guide.

This guide was made possible thanks to funding from the Government of Canada, through the Social Development Partnerships Program.


Top

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2014, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.

NEADS Logo - Accueil
Trouvez-nous sur : Facebook YouTube

QuestionQuestion:
Qu’est-ce que je dois faire pour obtenir des livres en braille, sur audiocassette ou sur disquette?


Événements prochains

Voir d'autres événements

Autre site d'intérèt


Advertisement



Projets

Personnes handicapées
Accessibilité
Rendre les activités inclusives
Modèles
Ressources
NEADS Conférence 2004

Rendre inclusives les activités parascolaires

Un guide d’accessibilité pour les programmeurs des campus

Mars 2005

Rédigé et compilé par Chris Gaulin et Jennifer Dunn.

Révisé par Chris Gaulin, Jennifer Dunn, Frank Smith et Jennison Asuncion.

Introduction et remerciements

En 2004, l’Association nationale des étudiant(e)s handicapé(e)s au niveau postsecondaire (NEADS) a lancé un projet novateur reconnaissant la nécessité d’une vie plus inclusive sur les campus pour les étudiants handicapés au niveau postsecondaire. Financé par le gouvernement du Canada, dans le cadre du Programme de partenariats pour le développement social, le projet comportait une enquête sur les sujets préoccupant les étudiants handicapés de premier, de deuxième ou de troisième cycle, qui souhaitent accéder à des activités parascolaires sur leur campus.

Ce guide compile les conclusions des quatre éléments de recherche du projet. Au printemps de 2004, 50 personnes responsables de la planification et de l’organisation des activités parascolaires dans des collèges et universités de tout le Canada ont participé à une enquête. Un questionnaire mis au point par notre équipe de projet a été utilisé pour recueillir leur avis. Ces programmeurs de campus, qui travaillent pour les syndicats d’étudiants, ont été interrogés sur la façon dont ils planifient des activités et dont, le cas échéant, leurs activités tiennent compte de la participation des étudiants handicapés. En plus de la recherche pour le sondage, on a organisé quatre groupes de discussion avec les programmeurs de campus pour discuter des obstacles à l’inclusion des personnes handicapées dans les activités parascolaires sur le campus.

À l’automne, NEADS a mené un sondage auprès de 200 étudiants et récents diplômés handicapés, au sujet de leur expérience des activités parascolaires. Le questionnaire élaboré pour la phase étudiante de notre recherche concernait le gouvernement étudiant, les élections, l’orientation ainsi que les clubs et associations d’étudiants. Un des groupes de discussion réunissait des étudiants handicapés pour discuter des facteurs qui interviennent dans leur participation aux activités sur le campus.

En novembre 2004, l’équipe de projet a organisé à Ottawa, pour les programmeurs d’activités sur le campus, une séance de formation sur la planification des activités parascolaires de manière à y inclure les étudiants handicapés. Plusieurs établissements postsecondaires de tout le Canada ont envoyé des représentants pour faire connaître leur expérience.

NEADS a également organisé sa dixième conférence nationale à Ottawa en novembre. Celle-ci comprenait notamment un exposé sur l’inclusion dans la vie étudiante. Environ 200 délégués de la conférence ont participé à cette séance, y compris des étudiants, des fournisseurs de services pour handicapés, des programmeurs de campus et d’autres intervenants.

Ce guide est destiné aux personnes qui, dans des universités et des collèges, souhaitent rendre leurs activités inclusives pour tous les étudiants. Les suggestions présentées sont principalement des recommandations provenant d’étudiants eux-mêmes handicapés. Nous avons ajouté les opinions des programmeurs d’activités sur le campus au sujet des démarches ayant été les plus efficaces par rapport aux activités et à l’exécution des programmes. Des commentaires d’étudiants et de programmeurs ayant participé à notre recherche figurent dans des encadrés dans les marges.

Bien que ce guide fournisse beaucoup de renseignements, il sera beaucoup plus utile si vous l’utilisez en conjonction avec l’avis des étudiants handicapés sur votre campus.

Nous souhaitons reconnaître la contribution des étudiants handicapés ainsi que des planificateurs d’activités qui ont pris le temps de participer à notre recherche. La compétence de nos partenaires, la Fédération canadienne des étudiantes et étudiants et la Canadian Organization of Campus Activities, a été essentielle à l’élaboration du présent guide.

Nous remercions également le gouvernement du Canada, pour le financement essentiel consenti dans le cadre du Programme de partenariats pour le développement social.


Haut

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2017, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.