NEADS Logo - Home
Find us on: Facebook YouTube

Question MarkQuick Question:
What accommodations are usually in place for students with disabilities attending college and university?


Upcoming Events

More Events

Link of the day

More Links

Donate Now to support NEADS! We need your support!
Donations are tax deductible and you will receive a charitable tax receipt for 100% of your gift.

Donate Now Through CanadaHelps.org!

Projects

Inclusion of Students with Disabilities in College and University-Sponsored Activities

The National Educational Association of Disabled Students (NEADS) is launching a groundbreaking project that will examine how accessible college and university extra-curricular activities are for students with disabilities.

Funded by the Government of Canada through the Social Development Partnerships Program, this initiative is called "Inclusion of Students with Disabilities in College and University-Sponsored Activities.” Areas of focus include new student orientation, student elections, and campus clubs/organizations.

The project will seek the perspectives of both staff and students responsible for organizing and/or supporting out-of-class activities. Students with disabilities will also be surveyed on their experiences in accessing these activities.

At the end of the project NEADS will produce a ‘current state’ report which will highlight best practices and identify opportunities for improvement. We will also produce training material targeted at individuals involved in organizing and/or supporting extracurricular activities on campus who desire to make them inclusive for everyone.

For more information contact Chris Gaulin, Project Manager, at chris.gaulin@neads.ca.

Since 1986, the National Educational Association of Disabled Students has been Canada's consumer-based cross-disability organization advocating for full access to post-secondary education and employment opportunities for students and graduates with disabilities. Visit our web site at www.neads.ca to learn more about the organization and its projects.

Making Extra-Curricular Activities Inclusive: An accessibility guide for campus programmers


Top

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2017, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.

NEADS Logo - Accueil
Trouvez-nous sur : Facebook YouTube

QuestionQuestion:
Est-ce que je devrai payer des frais d’utilisation de services spéciaux au niveau postsecondaire?


Événements prochains

Voir d'autres événements

Autre site d'intérèt


Advertisement



Projets

Intégration des étudiant-e-s handicapés aux activités parrainées par les collèges et les universités

L’Association nationale des étudiant-e-s handicapé-e-s au niveau postsecondaire (mieux connue sous son sigle anglais : NEADS) procède au lancement d’un projet novateur qui examinera le niveau d’accessibilité des activités parascolaires dans les collèges et les universités pour les étudiant-e-s handicapés.

Cette initiative intitulée : «Intégration des étudiant-e-s handicapés aux activités parrainées par les collèges et les universités » est financée par le gouvernement du Canada par le biais du Programme de partenariats pour le développement social. Les secteurs d’intervention toucheront à la nouvelle orientation offerte aux étudiant-e-s, les élections étudiantes et organisations/clubs dans les campus.

Le projet visera à obtenir les perspectives du personnel et des étudiant-e-s responsables de l’organisation et/ou du soutien des activités parascolaires. Les étudiant-e-s handicapés seront également interrogés sur leurs expériences quant à l’accessibilité de ces activités.

Aux termes du projet, NEADS produira un rapport sur «la situation actuelle » qui mettra en évidence les meilleures pratiques appliquées et identifiera les possibilités d’amélioration. Nous publierons également des documents de formation destinés aux personnes responsables de l’organisation et/ou du soutien des activités parascolaires sur campus qui souhaitent rendre leurs activités plus accessibles à tous.

Pour plus d’information, communiquez avec Chris Gaulin, gestionnaire de projet, à :chris.gaulin@neads.ca.

Depuis 1986, l’Association nationale des étudiant-e-s handicapé-e-s au niveau postsecondaire oeuvre, à titre d’organisation de consommateurs présentant divers types de déficiences, pour le plein accès aux études postsecondaires et aux emplois des étudiant-e-s et diplômé-e-s handicapés. Visitez notre site Web à www.neads.ca pour en apprendre un peu plus à propos de notre organisation et nos projets.

Rendre inclusives les activités parascolaires: Un guide d’accessibilité pour les programmeurs des campus


Haut

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2017, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.