NEADS Logo - Home
Find us on: Facebook YouTube

Question MarkQuick Question:
Will going to school outside my province or territory limit my ability to access funding?


Upcoming Events

More Events

Link of the day

More Links

Donate Now to support NEADS! We need your support!
Donations are tax deductible and you will receive a charitable tax receipt for 100% of your gift.

Donate Now Through CanadaHelps.org!

Media

NEADS Announces Winners of the 2017 NEADS National Student Awards and AMI Scholarship Programs!

Ottawa, November 8, 2017) –

The National Educational Association of Disabled Students (NEADS), and our generous funding partners: Imperial, Industrial Alliance Insurance and Financial Services and private donors, are thrilled to announce the ten outstanding winners of the 2017 NEADS Students Awards Program, including the NEADS Holly Bartlett Memorial Award and the NEADS Christine Nieder Memorial Award. Five students will receive $3,000 and five recipients of the Holly Bartlett Memorial Award (3) and the Christine Nieder Memorial Award (2) are awarded $1,000 in support of their post-secondary tuition and student fees. The academic programs of the recipients listed below represent the programs of study in progress at the time of application.

NEADS Student Awards Winners ($3,000)

Laurie Chalmers, Bachelor of Social Work, University of Victoria

Ben Fulton, Osgoode Hall Law School JD Candidate, York University

Chantal Lemire, Doctorate, Music Research and Composition, Western University

Chase Valiant, Bachelor of Community Studies, Cape Breton University

Denise Quesnel, Masters of Science, School of Interactive Art and Technology, Simon Fraser University

NEADS Holly Bartlett Memorial Award Winners ($1,000)

Kerri Stone, Bachelor, Honours Psychology, Wilfrid Laurier University

Tamara Orlando, Bachelor, Children’s Studies and Psychology, York University

Ed Schmidt, B.A., Biology and Chemistry, Wilfrid Laurier University

NEADS Christine Nieder Memorial Award Winners ($1,000)

Guillaume Seragalini, Bachelor, Faculty of Education, Saint-Boniface University

David Newman, Doctoral student, Business Administration, Athabasca University

Accessible Media Inc. (AMI) Scholarships

Accessible Media Inc. (AMI) previously announced the winners of its 2017 AMI Robert Pearson Memorial Scholarship program on October 19, 2017. The program, which launched in 2012, is open to Canadian students enrolled in a diploma or degree program at a Canadian post-secondary school. Two scholarships valued at $5,000 each are awarded annually to students with a disability, one in English and one in French. NEADS manages the AMI Scholarships in a partnership with AMI. The winners of this years’ AMI Robert Pearson Memorial Scholarship are Shelby Brown of Calgary, Alberta and Yan Gobeil from Montreal, Quebec. Shelby is in year three of a Bachelor of Arts program majoring in Native Studies at Vancouver Island University while Yan is pursuing his Doctorate in Physics at McGill University.

“A huge congratulations to the 2017 NEADS Awards winners and the recipients of the AMI Scholarship,” said Lauren Gravis, Director of the Student Awards Program. “We received over 250 applications for the 2017 competition. The high amount of outstanding applications made choosing the recipients very difficult.. Our recipients are exemplary of what it means to overcome barriers faced from having a disability and advocating for oneself, while maintaining a track record of success. We are proud of their stupendous achievement and hope these awards pave the way to an even brighter future. We would like to thank our sponsors including Imperial and Industrial Alliance Insurance and Financial Services for generous support in helping make this program possible.”

“Congratulations to our 2017 scholarship winners! I am very excited that our association can aid students in their academic pursuits," said Christine Bezanson, Vice-Chair of NEADS.

About the NEADS Student Awards:

The NEADS National Student Awards Program is offered to encourage full access to post-secondary education for persons with disabilities, who often have greater barriers to participation in higher education, as well as extra costs because of their disabilities. Students must currently be registered in and continuing at post-secondary institution and provide documented proof of registration as part of the application and on receipt of the award. The award is offered to outstanding applicants who meet the criteria of the program. The awards are paid directly to the post-secondary institution (in the students’ accounts) that the recipients are attending to defray the cost of tuition fees for post-secondary study.

About the NEADS Holly Bartlett Memorial Award:

The Holly Bartlett Memorial Award was established by the NEADS board of directors after the passing of Holly in 2010. Holly Bartlett served on the NEADS Board of Directors as the association’s Nova Scotia Director for a number of years. Holly's accomplishments, in a life that was way too short, were phenomenal. The Holly Bartlett Memorial Award is a tribute to Holly. The scholarship assists students with disabilities realize success in post-secondary education. This is the seventh year for the Award in Holly's memory.

About the Christine Nieder Memorial Award:

The Christine Nieder Memorial Award was established in 2015 to commemorate the life and contributions of Ms. Christine Nieder, NEADS Board member, who passed away in July 2014. The award will be offered to a graduate student with a disability in the amount of $1,000 in recognition of Christine’s passionate work to address barriers faced to participation in graduate programs of study.

About the AMI Scholarship Program:

Information and eligibility requirements for the 2018 AMI Scholarship program will be posted on the AMI websites later this month. Visit www.AMI.ca/scholarship and www.AMItele.ca/bourses for complete details.

About Accessible Media (AMI) Inc.

AMI is a not-for-profit media company that entertains, informs and empowers Canadians who are blind or partially sighted. Operating three broadcast services, AMI-tv and AMI-audio in English and AMI-télé in French, AMI’s vision is to establish and support a voice for Canadians with disabilities, representing their interests, concerns and values through accessible media, reflection and portrayal. To learn more visit AMI.ca and AMItele.ca. For more information, please contact: Janis Davidson Pressick, Communications Manager 800-567-6755 ext. 0971, janis.davidsonpressick@ami.ca Look for an announcement of intake of applications for all NEADS Awards Programs and the AMI Robert Pearson Memorial Scholarship early in 2018 on the NEADS website: www.neads.ca

-30-

For further information contact: Frank Smith, National Coordinator , National Educational Association of Disabled Students (NEADS) , Rm. 514 Unicentre, Carleton University Ottawa, Ontario, K1S 5B6 , tel. (613) 380-8065 ext. 201 , email: frank.smith@neads.ca , website: www.neads.ca

"Supporting access to post-secondary education and employment for students with disabilities"




Top

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2017, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.

NEADS Logo - Accueil
Trouvez-nous sur : Facebook YouTube

QuestionQuestion:
À quel bureau du gouvernement fédéral dois-je m’adresser pour obtenir de l’information sur les programmes et services à l’intention des personnes handicapées?


Événements prochains

Voir d'autres événements

Autre site d'intérèt


Advertisement



Média

NEADS dévoile les noms des lauréats des bourses d’études 2017 des programmes de bourses nationaux de NEADS et d’AMI!

(Ottawa, le 8 novembre 2017) —

L’Association nationale des étudiant(e)s handicapé(e)s au niveau postsecondaire (NEADS) et ses généreux partenaires financiers : Imperial, Assurances Industrielle Alliance et Services Financiers, ainsi que des donateurs privés, sont ravis d’annoncer les noms des dix lauréats exceptionnels du Programme de bourses d’études 2017 de NEADS, dont la bourse d’études commémorative Holly Bartlett de NEADS et la bourse d’études commémorative Christine Nieder de NEADS. Cinq étudiants recevront 3000 $ et cinq récipiendaires de la bourse commémorative Holly Bartlett (3) et de la bourse commémorative Christine Nieder (2) recevront 1000 $ pour leurs frais de scolarité postsecondaire et leurs frais étudiants. Les programmes d’études des boursiers énumérés ci-dessous représentent les programmes d’études en cours au moment de la demande.

Lauréats des bourses d’études NEADS (3000 $)

Laurie Chalmers, baccalauréat en travail social, Université de Victoria

Ben Fulton, candidat à la maîtrise en droit de la Osgoode Hall Law School, Université York

Chantal Lemire, candidate au doctorat en recherche et composition musicales, Université Western

Chase Valiant, baccalauréat en études communautaires, Université du Cap-Breton

Denise Quesnel, candidate au doctorat en philosophie, École d’art et de technologie interactifs, Université Simon Fraser

Lauréats de la bourse commémorative Holly Bartlett de NEADS (1000 $)

Kerri Stone, baccalauréat avec spécialisation en psychologie, Université Wilfrid Laurier

Tamara Orlando, baccalauréat en études de l’enfance et psychologie, Université York

Ed Schmidt, baccalauréat en biologie et chimie, Université Wilfrid Laurier

Lauréats de la bourse commémorative Christine Nieder de NEADS (1000 $)

Guillaume Seragalini, baccalauréat en éducation, Université de Saint-Boniface

David Albert Newman, étudiant au doctorat en administration des affaires, Université Athabasca

Bourses d’études Accessible Media Inc. (AMI)

Le 19 octobre 2017, Accessible Media Inc. (AMI) a annoncé les noms des lauréats de son programme de bourses commémoratives AMI Robert Pearson 2017. Lancé en 2012, le programme est ouvert aux étudiants canadiens inscrits à un programme menant à un diplôme d’une école postsecondaire canadienne. Deux bourses d’études d’une valeur de 5000 $ chacune sont accordées annuellement à des étudiants en situation de handicap, une en anglais et une en français. NEADS gère les bourses AMI en partenariat avec l’AMI. Les lauréats de la bourse commémorative AMI Robert Pearson de cette année sont Shelby Brown de Calgary (Alberta), et Yan Gobeil de Montréal (Québec). Shelby est en troisième année d’un programme de baccalauréat en arts avec spécialisation en études autochtones à la Vancouver Island University, alors que Yan poursuit un doctorat en physique à l’Université McGill.

« Toutes nos félicitations aux lauréats des Prix NEADS 2017 et aux lauréats de la Bourse AMI, » a déclaré Lauren Gravis, directrice du Programme de bourses d’études. « Nous avons reçu plus de 250 candidatures pour la compétition de 2017. Le grand nombre de demandes de qualité exceptionnelle a rendu le choix très difficile. Nos récipiendaires sont exemplaires de ce que signifie surmonter les obstacles d’une situation de handicap et défendre ses droits, tout en maintenant une réussite constante. Nous sommes fiers de leurs réalisations exceptionnelles et espérons que ces prix leur ouvriront une voie vers un avenir encore plus prometteur. Nous tenons à remercier nos commanditaires, dont Imperial et Industrielle Alliance et Services Financiers, pour leur généreux soutien qui a rendu ce programme possible. »

« Félicitations à nos lauréats de 2017! Je suis très heureuse que notre association puisse aider les étudiants dans leurs études », a déclaré Christine Bezanson, vice-présidente de NEADS.

À propos des bourses d’études de NEADS :

Le Programme national de bourses d’études de NEADS est offert pour encourager l’accessibilité aux études postsecondaires pour les personnes en situation de handicap, qui font souvent face à de plus grands obstacles à accéder aux études supérieures, ainsi qu’à des coûts supplémentaires engendrés par leur handicap. Les étudiants doivent être actuellement inscrits dans un établissement d’enseignement postsecondaire, poursuivre leurs études et fournir une preuve d’inscription documentée avec la demande et à la réception de la bourse. La bourse est offerte aux candidats exceptionnels qui satisfont aux critères du programme. Les bourses sont versées directement à l’établissement d’enseignement postsecondaire (dans le compte des étudiants) que les lauréats fréquentent pour couvrir le coût des frais de scolarité pour les études postsecondaires.

À propos de la bourse commémorative Holly Bartlett de NEADS :

La bourse commémorative Holly Bartlett a été créée par le conseil d’administration de NEADS après le décès d’Holly en 2010. Holly Bartlett a siégé au conseil d’administration de NEADS à titre de directrice de l’association pour la Nouvelle-Écosse pendant plusieurs années. Les réalisations d’Holly, au courant d’une vie beaucoup trop courte, furent phénoménales. La bourse commémorative Holly Bartlett est un hommage à Holly. La bourse aide les étudiants en situation de handicap à réussir leurs études postsecondaires. C’est la septième année que la bourse est décernée à la mémoire d’Holly.

À propos de la bourse commémorative Christine Nieder :

La bourse commémorative Christine Nieder a été créée en 2015 pour commémorer la vie et les contributions de Madame Christine Nieder, membre du conseil d’administration de NEADS, décédée en juillet 2014. La bourse de 1000 $ sera offerte à une étudiante ou à un étudiant en situation de handicap aux cycles supérieurs en reconnaissance du travail passionné de Christine visant à surmonter les obstacles à la participation aux programmes d’études supérieures.

À propos du Programme de bourses AMI :

Les renseignements et les critères d’admissibilité pour le programme de bourses AMI 2018 seront affichés sur les sites Web de l’AMI plus tard ce mois-ci. Visitez www.AMI.ca/scholarship et www.AMItele.ca/bourses pour plus de détails.

À propos d’Accessible Media Inc. (AMI)

AMI est une entreprise de médias sans but lucratif qui divertit, informe et autonomise les Canadiens aveugles ou partiellement voyants. Exploitant trois services de radiodiffusion, AMI-tv et AMI-audio en anglais et AMI-télé en français, la vision d’AMI est d’établir et de soutenir une voix pour les Canadiens en situation de handicap, en représentant leurs intérêts, leurs préoccupations et leurs valeurs par le biais de médias accessibles, de la réflexion et de la représentation.

Pour en savoir plus, visitez AMI.ca et AMItele.ca. Pour plus d’information, veuillez communiquer avec : Janis Davidson Pressick, directeur des communications, au 800-567-6755, poste 0971, janis.davidsonpressick@ami.ca Vous trouverez l’appel à candidatures pour tous les programmes de bourses NEADS et la bourse commémorative Robert Pearson de l’AMI au début de 2018 sur le site Web de NEADS : www.neads.ca

-30-

Pour plus d’informations, contactez-nous : Frank Smith, coordonnateur national, Association nationale des étudiant(e)s handicapé(e)s au niveau postsecondaire (NEADS), local 514 Unicentre, Université Carleton Ottawa (Ontario), K1S 5B6, Tél. (613) 380-8065, poste 201, frank.smith@neads.ca, www.neads.ca

« Favoriser l’accès aux études postsecondaires et à l’emploi pour les étudiants en situation de handicap. »




Haut

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2017, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.