NEADS Logo - Home
Find us on: Facebook YouTube Twitter

Quick Question:
How do I find out if a group of students with disabilities exists on my campus?


Upcoming Events

More Events

Link of the day

More Links

Donate Now to support NEADS! We need your support!
Donations are tax deductible and you will receive a charitable tax receipt for 100% of your gift.

Donate Now Through CanadaHelps.org!

Media

Scholarship supports promising research careers of graduate students with disabilities

November 28, 2011 – Making public parks more accessible and understanding how the human body compensates after the loss of an eye are what Jason Angel and Stefania Moro hope to accomplish with their research. The two graduate students are the latest recipients of a unique scholarship aimed at helping burgeoning scientists living with a disability to pursue and advance a career in rehabilitation research.

Called the TD Grant in Medical Excellence: A Scholarship in Rehabilitation Related Research for People with Disabilities, the award provides funding for students with disabilities pursuing a career in rehabilitation research. The scholarship is administered by the Toronto Rehabilitation Institute (Toronto Rehab) and is open to students from several universities in Ontario: McMaster, Ryerson, University of Toronto, Waterloo, York and Wilfrid Laurier.

Among the first of its kind in Canada, the scholarship will provide $20,000 each to Jason and Stefania, who now join a growing list of 12 graduate students who have received one-time and renewed awards since the scholarship’s inception. Since 2006, TD Bank Financial Group has pledged $550,000 to support the program, which was created by Toronto Rehab and its foundation to engage people with disabilities in a meaningful way in rehabilitation research.

“This scholarship enhances the relevance and quality of rehabilitation research and breaks down the barriers that students with disabilities often face when pursuing higher education,” says Dr. Geoff Fernie, Institute Director of Research, Toronto Rehabilitation Institute, University Health Network, who developed the idea for the scholarship. “This is important because out of the four million people living with a disability in Canada, only about eight per cent complete a bachelor’s degree, and even fewer complete a graduate degree.”

Having grown up in the rural woods of Maine, Jason has always had a love of the outdoors and travel. This passion continued after a car crash in 1990 which left him with a spinal cord injury.

“My spirit of adventure didn’t end when I started using a wheelchair,” says Jason. “I realized how environmental barriers can prevent people with disabilities from participating in travel, employment, and everyday life. With the right knowledge and a bit of effort, many of these barriers can be eliminated or minimized.”

Jason’s determination led him to the field of research. In 2001, Jason enrolled at Salem State University in Salem, Massachusetts to study what he loves – travel and tourism. After graduating, Jason along with his wife, Patty, moved to Canada in 2010 to complete a master’s degree at the University of Waterloo in the Environmental Studies Tourism Policy and Planning program.

Recognizing the importance of accessibility for people with disabilities and its enormous potential economic impact on the tourism industry, he is currently auditing accessibility at five parks in southern Ontario and plans to make recommendations to improve accessibility particularly for people with limited mobility or who use wheelchairs.

For Stefania, the scholarship will advance the graduate student’s already groundbreaking work. She is the first researcher to study auditory and visual processing in a rare group of patients - those who have had one eye surgically removed at a young age due to cancer.

She believes that people with a sensory deficit can be trained to adapt, which in turn will result in rich perceptual experiences and less stress on their remaining senses. Her research explores crossmodal plasticity - or how people with one eye adapt - and whether other senses are enhanced and thus compensate for the loss.

“There is evidence of cortical plasticity. People with one eye have enhanced senses as a form of compensation,” says Stefania, who suffered a traumatic injury to her left eye as a child. “This gives researchers and medical practitioners useful information to teach people how to improve their lives. My life experiences and my knowledge of the importance of maintaining my seeing eye and complementary senses have driven me to advocate for vision research and the resulting clinical applications which will improve patients’ lives.”

Stefania's research has previously been supported by the Canadian National Institute of the Blind's (CNIB) Baker award which was presented to her supervisor, Dr. Jennifer Steeves of York University's Perceptual Neuroscience Laboratory. In 2005, the CNIB also awarded Stefania the Walter and Wayne Gretzky Scholarship to support her undergraduate studies.

Stefania plans to explore her findings further through the use of functional magnetic resonance imaging at York University and intends to pursue a doctoral program in Vision Science research. The scholarship will help her advance this area of research.

For Jason, through the scholarship and his ongoing support from family, friends and his wife, “I have every opportunity to achieve my goal of changing the world.”

About Toronto Rehabilitation Institute
One of North America’s leading rehabilitation sciences centres, Toronto Rehabilitation Institute (Toronto Rehab) is revolutionizing rehabilitation by helping people overcome the challenges of disabling injury, illness or age related health conditions to live active, healthier, more independent lives through innovative patient care, groundbreaking research and inter-professional education. Rehab, along with Toronto Western, Toronto General and Princess Margaret Hospitals, is a member of the University Health Network and is affiliated with the University of Toronto. Visit us online:www.torontorehab.com orwww.uhn.ca.

Contact:
Todd Leach. Senior Advisor, Public Affairs and Communications
Toronto Rehab/University Health Network
416-597-3422 Ext. 3025

 




Top

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2018, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.

NEADS Logo - Accueil
Trouvez-nous sur : Facebook YouTube

QuestionQuestion:
Qu’est-ce que je dois faire pour obtenir des livres en braille, sur audiocassette ou sur disquette?


Événements prochains

Voir d'autres événements

Autre site d'intérèt


Advertisement



Média

Une bourse soutient les carrières en recherche prometteuses d’étudiants handicapés des cycles supérieurs

28 novembre 2011 – Rendre les parcs publics plus accessibles et comprendre comment le corps humain compense la perte d’un œil sont les buts que Jason Angel et Stefania Moro espèrent atteindre grâce à leur recherche. Les deux étudiants diplômés sont les plus récents bénéficiaires d’une bourse unique destinée à aider les jeunes scientifiques handicapés à poursuivre une carrière en recherche relative à la réadaptation et à progresser dans ce domaine.

La bourse, appelée TD Grant in Medical Excellence: A Scholarship in Rehabilitation Related Research for People with Disabilities (bourse de recherche en réadaptation de la TD pour personnes handicapées), offre des fonds aux étudiants handicapés qui poursuivent une carrière en recherche en réadaptation. La bourse est administrée par le Toronto Rehabilitation Institute (Toronto Rehab) et est offerte aux étudiants de plusieurs universités de l’Ontario, dont les universités McMaster, Ryerson, de Toronto, Waterloo, York et Wilfrid Laurier.

En recevant chacun 20 000 $, Jason et Stefania s’ajouteront donc à la liste de plus en plus longue de 12 étudiants diplômés qui ont reçu une aide financière unique ou renouvelable depuis la création de la bourse, soit l’une des premières de son genre au Canada. Depuis 2006, le Groupe Financier Banque TD a consacré 550 000 $ au soutien du programme qui a été créé par Toronto Rehab et sa fondation pour faire participer les personnes handicapées de façon concrète et sérieuse aux recherches en réadaptation.

« Cette bourse accroît la pertinence et la qualité de la recherche en réadaptation et élimine les obstacles auxquels les étudiants handicapés font souvent face lorsqu’ils poursuivent des études supérieures », affirme le Dr Geoff Fernie, directeur de la recherche au Toronto Rehabilitation Institute, University Health Network, qui a développé l’idée de la bourse. « Ceci est important, car parmi les quatre millions de personnes vivant avec une incapacité au Canada, seulement environ 8 % terminent un baccalauréat et encore moins obtiennent un grade supérieur. »

Jason, qui a grandi dans les régions rurales boisées du Maine, a toujours adoré le grand air et les voyages. Il a conservé cette passion après avoir subi, en 1990, un traumatisme de la moelle épinière à la suite d’un accident de voiture.

« Mon goût de l’aventure n’a pas disparu lorsque j’ai commencé à me servir d’un fauteuil roulant », dit Jason. « Je me suis rendu compte que les obstacles environnementaux peuvent empêcher les personnes handicapées de voyager, d’avoir un emploi et de participer à la vie de tous les jours. Des bonnes connaissances et un peu d’effort rendent possible l’élimination ou la réduction au minimum d’un grand nombre de ces obstacles. »

La détermination de Jason l’a attiré vers le domaine de la recherche. En 2001, Jason s’est inscrit à la Salem State University à Salem, au Massachusetts, pour étudier ce qu’il aimait avant tout : les voyages et le tourisme. Après avoir obtenu son diplôme, Jason et son épouse, Patty, sont déménagés au Canada en 2010 pour que Jason puisse faire une maîtrise en études environnementales (politique et planification du tourisme) à l’Université de Waterloo.

Ayant pris conscience de l’importance de l’accessibilité pour les personnes handicapées et de ses énormes répercutions économiques possible sur l’industrie du tourisme, il vérifie actuellement l’accessibilité de cinq parcs dans le sud de l’Ontario et a l’intention de faire des recommandations en vue d’en améliorer l’accessibilité, notamment pour les personnes à mobilité réduite ou qui se servent d’un fauteuil roulant.

Dans le cas de Stefania, la bourse lui permettra de faire progresser son travail déjà avant-gardiste. Cette étudiante diplômée est la première chercheuse à étudier le traitement de l’information auditive et visuelle d’un groupe rare de patients : ceux qui se sont faits chirurgicalement enlever un œil à un jeune âge en raison d’un cancer.

Elle croit que les personnes ayant une déficience sensorielle peuvent être formées pour s’adapter, ce qui leur permettra de vivre de riches expériences perceptuelles et réduira le stress imposé à leurs autres sens. Dans sa recherche, elle explore la plasticité intermodale, ou la façon dont les personnes n’ayant qu’un œil s’adaptent, et tente de déterminer si les autres sens s’en trouvent aiguisés et compensent ainsi la perte.

« Il y a lieu de croire à l’existence d’une plasticité corticale. Les personnes qui ont un seul œil ont des sens plus aiguisés, ce qui est une forme de compensation », dit Stefania, qui a subi une blessure traumatique à l’œil gauche lorsqu’elle était enfant. « Ceci donne aux chercheurs et aux médecins praticiens de l’information utile pour apprendre aux gens comment améliorer leur vie. Mon expérience de vie et mes connaissances de l’importance de conserver l’acuité de la vision qu’il me reste et de mes sens complémentaires m’ont amenée à promouvoir la recherche sur la vision et des applications cliniques qui en résulteront et qui amélioreront la vie des patients. »

La recherche de Stefania a déjà bénéficié d’une bourse Baker de l’Institut national canadien pour les aveugles (INCA) qui a été présentée à son superviseur, la Dre Jennifer Steeves du laboratoire de neuroscience perceptuelle de l’Université York. En 2005, l’INCA a aussi remis à Stefania une bourse Walter et Wayne Gretzky pour la soutenir dans ses études de premier cycle.

Stefania a l’intention de poursuivre l’examen de ses résultats en employant l’imagerie par résonnance magnétique fonctionnelle à l’Université York et elle compte faire des études doctorales en recherche sur les sciences de la vision. La bourse l’aidera à poursuivre ses recherches dans ce domaine.

Pour sa part, Jason affirme que grâce à la bourse et au soutien continu de sa famille, de ses amis et de sa femme, il a toutes les chances d’atteindre son but, qui est de changer le monde.

Quelques mots sur le Toronto Rehabilitation Institute
Le Toronto Rehabilitation Institute (Toronto Rehab) est un des principaux centres de sciences de la réadaptation de l’Amérique du Nord. Il révolutionne la réadaptation en aidant les gens à surmonter les défis que présentent les blessures, les maladies ou les troubles de la santé handicapants liés au vieillissement afin qu’ils puissent mener une vie active, plus saine et plus autonome grâce à des soins innovateurs administrés aux patients, à la recherche avant-gardiste et à l’éducation interprofessionnelle. Toronto Rehab, comme les hôpitaux Toronto Western, Toronto General et Princess Margaret, est un membre du University Health Network et est affilié à l’Université de Toronto. Visitez-nous en ligne à : www.torontorehab.com ou www.uhn.ca.

Personne-ressource :
Todd Leach, conseiller principal, Affaires publiques et communications
Toronto Rehab/University Health Network
416-597-3422, poste 3025

 




Haut

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2017, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.