NEADS Logo - Home
Find us on: Facebook YouTube

Question MarkQuick Question:
How can I, as a first year university student with a disability, learn to be an effective self-advocate with professors, tutors and other students at my school?


Upcoming Events

More Events

Link of the day

More Links

Donate Now to support NEADS! We need your support!
Donations are tax deductible and you will receive a charitable tax receipt for 100% of your gift.

Donate Now Through CanadaHelps.org!

Media

Canadian Hearing Society launches national scholarship program for Deaf and hard of hearing students

News Release - May 18, 2017 Toronto, ON

The Canadian Hearing Society is proud to introduce a National Scholarship Program that will help break down barriers to higher education and build brighter futures for Deaf and hard of hearing Canadians.

“Education has the power to transform lives today and for generations to come,” said Julia Dumanian, President and CEO, Canadian Hearing Society. “The Canadian Hearing Society National Scholarship Program offers students the financial support to help them achieve their academic goals, leading to fulfilling careers.”

The program, launched during Speech and Hearing Awareness month in May, offers up to $3,000 a year for students wanting to attend post-secondary institutions, inside or outside of Canada.
 
The scholarships include:

    $3,000 awarded to three full-time students for up to three consecutive years
    $2,000 awarded to four full-time students for one year
    $500 awarded to six part-time students for one year

“We wanted to create something enduring, something that will play a key role in transforming the future of a Deaf or hard of hearing person,” said Pam Feldman, Director of Fundraising and Scholarship Program Manager. “Higher education can improve the quality of life and earning potential for these students and their families, and for future generations. Statistics indicate that many Deaf and hard of hearing Canadians live below the poverty line and this Scholarship Program will help create a pathway to success.”

Program will award nine scholarships worth $20,000

The program is offering nine scholarships with a total annual value of up to $20,000, the largest number of scholarships and highest value awarded to students in the organization’s 77-year history.

“Education, employment and training is a key CHS area of focus,” said Dumanian. “Among our many goals is a concentration on youth, whether through promoting barrier-free education, enhancing and expanding training programs, or supporting access to college and university.”

The scholarship is available to full and part-time students, including people who are already working and looking to upgrade their skills. The scholarship application deadline is June 22, 2017. Successful candidates will be notified by August 31, 2017.
 
For additional information, please go to: http://www.chs.ca/scholarships email giving@chs.ca or call 1-866-518-0000.

The Canadian Hearing Society gratefully acknowledges its donors and corporate partners for providing ongoing funding for this important educational program.
 
-30 -

About the Canadian Hearing Society

Trusted since 1940, the Canadian Hearing Society has been providing industry-leading services, programs and products to Deaf and hard of hearing Canadians to ensure barrier-free access and increased quality of life. It is an independent, registered non-profit organization that reinvests proceeds from product and program sales back into community services, the focus of the organization. For more information about CHS’ services, visit www.chs.ca.
 
For media inquiries, please contact:
Kara-Ann Miel
Director, Marketing & Communications
Canadian Hearing Society
Voice or Text: 416-577-7993
Email: kmiel@chs.ca
 



Top

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2017, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.

NEADS Logo - Accueil
Trouvez-nous sur : Facebook YouTube

QuestionQuestion:
Quels sont mes droits en tant que personne handicapée voulant poursuivre des études postsecondaires?


Événements prochains

Voir d'autres événements

Autre site d'intérèt


Advertisement



Média

La Société canadienne de l’ouïe lance son Programme national de bourses pour étudiants sourds et malentendants

17 mai 2017 - Toronto ON

La Société canadienne de l’ouïe est fière de lancer un programme national de bourses pour aider à supprimer les obstacles qui empêchent les Canadiens sourds ou malentendants d’accéder à des études supérieures et à un meilleur avenir.

« L’éducation a le pouvoir de transformer des vies aujourd’hui et dans les générations à venir », dit Julia Dumanian, présidente et directrice générale de la Société canadienne de l’ouïe. « Le Programme national de bourses de la Société canadienne de l’ouïe offre à des étudiants un soutien financier pour les aider à atteindre des objectifs scolaires susceptibles de déboucher sur une carrière.

Le programme lancé durant le Mois de l’ouïe, en mai, offre jusqu’à 3 000 $ par année aux étudiants qui veulent fréquenter un établissement d’enseignement post-secondaire au Canada ou à l’étranger.
La bourse comprend :

    3 000 $ versés à trois étudiants à plein temps pour jusqu’à trois années consécutives
    2 000 $ versés à quatre étudiants à plein temps pour une année
    500 $ versés à six étudiants à temps partiel pour une année

« Nous voulions créer quelque chose de durable, quelque chose qui contribuera à transformer l’avenir d’une personne sourde ou malentendante », nous explique Pam Feldman, directrice du Financement et gestionnaire du Programme de bourses. « Les études supérieures peuvent améliorer la qualité de vie et le potentiel de revenu pour ces étudiants, leurs familles et les générations avenir. Les statistiques indiquent que les personnes sourdes ou malentendantes vivent sous le seuil de pauvreté et ce programme de bourses aidera à tracer la voie vers le succès, »

Le programme accordera neuf bourses, d’une valeur totale de 20 000 $.

Ce programme offre neuf bourses totalisant annuellement 20 000 $, soit le plus grand nombre de bourses et l’aide financière la plus importante jamais accordés par la Société à des étudiants au cours de ses 77 années d’existence.

« L’éducation, l’emploi et la formation sont parmi les principaux centres d’intérêt de la SCO. À la poursuite de nos buts, nous nous concentrons sur les jeunes, soit en faisant la promotion d’une éducation sans obstacles et en élargissant nos programmes de formation, soit en soutenant l’accès au collège et à l’université », d’expliquer Mme Dumanian.

La bourse s’adresse aux étudiants à plein temps ou à temps partiel, y compris ceux qui occupent déjà un emploi et souhaitent parfaire leurs connaissances. La date limite pour les demandes de bourse est le 22 juin 2017. Les candidats retenus en seront avisés le 31 août.

Pour plus d’information, veuillez visiter le site www.chs.ca/bourses, adresser un courriel à giving@chs.ca ou composer le 1-866-518-0000.

La Société canadienne de l’ouïe exprime sa reconnaissance aux généreux donateurs et à ses partenaires du secteur privé pour leur engagement ininterrompu à soutenir financièrement cet important programme.
 
-30 –
 
À propos de la Société canadienne de l’ouïe

Fondée en 1940, la Société canadienne de l’ouïe offre des services, programmes et produits de pointe aux Canadiens sourds ou malentendants afin d’assurer un accès sans difficulté et une qualité de vie améliorée.  C’est un organisme indépendant à but non lucratif qui réinvestit ses profits de la vente de produits et programmes dans les services communautaires, ce qui représente la raison d'être principale de l’organisation.  Pour de plus amples renseignements sur la SCO, nous vous invitons à consulter le site Web à l'adresse www.chs.ca 
 



Haut

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2017, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.