NEADS Logo - Home
Find us on: Facebook YouTube

Question MarkQuick Question:
How can I, as a first year university student with a disability, learn to be an effective self-advocate with professors, tutors and other students at my school?


Upcoming Events

More Events

Link of the day

More Links

Donate Now to support NEADS! We need your support!
Donations are tax deductible and you will receive a charitable tax receipt for 100% of your gift.

Donate Now Through CanadaHelps.org!

Media

NEADS Announces Winners of the 2016 NEADS National Student Awards and AMI Scholarship Programs!

(Ottawa, January 12, 2017) – The National Educational Association of Disabled Students (NEADS), and our generous funding partners: Imperial, Scotiabank, Industrial Alliance Insurance and Financial Services and private donors, are thrilled to announce the ten outstanding winners of the 2016 NEADS Students Awards Program, including the NEADS Holly Bartlett Memorial Award and the NEADS Christine Nieder Memorial Award. Seven students will receive $3,000 and three recipients of the Holly Bartlett Memorial Award (2) and the Christine Nieder Memorial Award (1), are awarded $1,000 in support of their post-secondary tuition and student fees. The academic programs of the recipients listed below represent the programs of study in progress at the time of application.
 
NEADS Student Awards Winners ($3,000) 
   
Libby Oliver, Bachelor of Fine Arts, University of Victoria, British Columbia
Alise de Bie, PhD in Social Work, McMaster University, Ontario 
Manal Eldeb, PhD in Psychiatry, McGill University, Quebec  
Brianna Knowles, Diploma in Fish, Wildlife and Recreation, British Columbia Institute of Technology, British Columbia 
Xiao Wen Xu, Honours Bachelor of Architectural Studies, University of Waterloo, Ontario
Lara Wong, Diploma in Social Service Work, Humber College, Ontario  
Jessica Watkin,  Masters of Drama, Theatre Theory and Performance Studies, University of Toronto, Ontario 
 
NEADS Holly Bartlett Memorial Award Winners ($1,000)
 
Lindsay Oldham, Bachelor of Earth Science and Economics, Memorial University, Newfoundland
Noémie Germain, baccalauréat en psychoéducation, Université Laval, Quebec 
 
NEADS Christine Nieder Memorial Award Winner ($1,000) 
 
Stuart Matan-Lithwick, PhD in Laboratory Medicine & Pathobiology, University of Toronto, Ontario 
 
Accessible Media Inc. (AMI) Scholarships 
 
Accessible Media Inc. (AMI) previously announced the winners of its 2016 AMI Robert Pearson Memorial Scholarship program on November 3rd, 2016. The program, which launched in 2012, is open to Canadian students enrolled in a diploma or degree program at a Canadian post-secondary school. Two scholarships valued at $5,000 each are awarded annually to students with a disability, one in English and one in French. NEADS manages the AMI Scholarships in a partnership with AMI.
 
The winners of the 2016 AMI Robert Pearson Memorial Scholarship are Sean Heaslip of Vancouver, British Columbia and Valérie Poisson from Montreal, Quebec. Sean is in year one of a Doctoral program in Counseling Psychology at the University of British Columbia while Valérie is pursuing her Masters in Voice Performance at the University of Ottawa.
 
"Congratulations to the 2016 NEADS Awards winners and the recipients of the AMI Scholarship,” said Dr. Mahadeo Sukhai, Director of the Student Awards Program. "We received nearly 300 applications for the 2016 competition. Choosing the winners was an extremely difficult process. The achievements and perseverance of all candidates were just incredible. The dedication and success of this year's winners truly embodies the spirit of all NEADS Student Awards programs and the AMI Scholarship. We wish all winners the very best in their programs and careers and look forward to watching their future success. The Awards Programs wouldn’t be possible without the generous support of our donors, and we are grateful to our corporate and private supporters.”
 
"I applaud the winners of the 2016 awards. I am very excited that our association can help support these very deserving students in their education careers,” said Emily Duffett, Chair of NEADS. “These scholarship programs are truly great initiatives that see many deserving applicants each year and these programs continue to grow. Thank you to our generous supporters for making it happen."
 
About the NEADS Student Awards: 
 
The NEADS National Student Awards Program is offered to encourage full access to post-secondary education for persons with disabilities, who often have greater barriers to participation in higher education, as well as extra costs because of their disabilities. Students must currently be registered in and continuing at post-secondary institution and provide documented proof of registration as part of the application and on receipt of the award. The award is offered to outstanding applicants who meet the criteria of the program. The awards are paid directly to the post-secondary institution (in the students’ accounts) that the recipients are attending to defray the cost of tuition fees for post-secondary study.
 
About the NEADS Holly Bartlett Memorial Award: 
 
The Holly Bartlett Memorial Award was established by the NEADS board of directors after the passing of Holly in 2010. Holly Bartlett served on the NEADS Board of Directors as the association’s Nova Scotia Director for a number of years. Holly's accomplishments, in a life that was way too short, were phenomenal. The Holly Bartlett Memorial Award is a tribute to Holly. The scholarship assists students with disabilities realize success in post-secondary education. This is the sixth year for the Award in Holly's memory.
 
About the Christine Nieder Memorial Award: 
 
The Christine Nieder Memorial Award was established in 2015 to commemorate the life and contributions of Ms. Christine Nieder, NEADS Board member, who passed away in July 2014. The award will be offered to a graduate student with a disability in the amount of $1,000 in recognition of Christine’s passionate work to address barriers faced to participation in graduate programs of study.
 
About the AMI Scholarship Program: 
 
Information and eligibility requirements for the 2017 AMI Scholarship program will be posted on the AMI websites later this month. Visit www.AMI.ca/scholarship and www.AMItele.ca/bourses for complete details.
 
About Accessible Media (AMI) Inc. 
 
Accessible Media Inc. (AMI) is a not-for-profit multimedia organization serving more than five million Canadians who are blind, partially sighted, deaf, hard of hearing, mobility or print restricted. Operating three broadcast services, AMI-tv and AMI-audio in English and AMI-télé in French, AMI’s mission is to make accessible media for all Canadians. To learn more visit AMI.ca and AMItele.ca. For more information, please contact: Janis Davidson Pressick, Communications Manager 800-567-6755 ext. 0971, janis.davidsonpressick@ami.ca
Look for an announcement of intake of applications for all NEADS Awards Programs and the AMI Robert Pearson Memorial Scholarship early in 2017 on the NEADS website: www.neads.ca
 
-30-
 
For further information contact:
 
Frank Smith, National Coordinator National Educational Association of Disabled Students (NEADS) Rm. 426 Unicentre, Carleton University Ottawa, Ontario, K1S 5B6 tel. (613) 380-8065 ext. 201 frank.smith@neads.ca www.neads.ca
"Supporting access to post-secondary education and employment for students with disabilities"
 
 
 
 
 



Top

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2017, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.

NEADS Logo - Accueil
Trouvez-nous sur : Facebook YouTube

QuestionQuestion:
Quelle sorte de financement est-ce que je peux obtenir du Programme canadien de prêts aux étudiants?


Événements prochains

Voir d'autres événements

Autre site d'intérèt


Advertisement



Média

NEADS annonce les lauréats de ses bourses d’études nationales et des bourses d’études AMI de 2016!

(Ottawa, 12 janvier 2017) – L’Association nationale des étudiant(e)s handicapé(e)s au niveau postsecondaire (NEADS) et ses généreuses sociétés commanditaires, soit l’Impériale, la Banque Scotia et l’Industrielle Alliance, Assurance et Services financiers, ainsi que ses donateurs privés sont heureux d’annoncer les noms des 10 candidats exceptionnels retenus pour les bourses offertes aux étudiants dans le cadre du Programme national de bourses d’études de NEADS et des bourses commémoratives Holly Bartlett et Christine Nieder de 2016. Sept boursières recevront chacun 3 000 $ et trois lauréats, dont deux de la bourse Holly Bartlett et l’autre de la bourse Christine Nieder, obtiendront 1 000 $ pour les aider à payer leurs frais de scolarité et d’étudiants. Les programmes d’études des lauréats dans la liste ci-dessous sont ceux auxquels ils étaient inscrits au moment de la présentation de leurs demandes.  

Lauréates du Programme national de bourses d’études de NEADS (3 000 $)   

Libby Oliver, baccalauréat en beaux-arts, Université de Victoria, Colombie-Britannique  

Alise de Bie, doctorat en travail social, Université McMaster, Ontario 

Manal Eldeb, doctorat en psychiatrie, Université McGill, Québec  

Brianna Knowles, diplôme en pêches, faune et loisirs, Institut de technologie de la Colombie-Britannique, Colombie-Britannique 

Xiao Wen Xu, baccalauréat spécialisé en études architecturales, Université de Waterloo, Ontario

Lara Wong, diplôme en travail social, Collège Humber, Ontario  

Jessica Watkin, maîtrise en études en dramatiques, théâtre et interprétation, Université de Toronto, Ontario  

Lauréates des bourses d’études commémoratives Holly Bartlett de NEADS (1 000 $)  

Lindsay Oldham, baccalauréat en sciences de la terre et économie, Université Memorial, Terre-Neuve

Noémie Germain, baccalauréat en psychoéducation, Université Laval, Québec  

Lauréat de la bourse d’études commémorative Christine Nieder de NEADS (1 000 $)   

Stuart Matan-Lithwick, doctorat en médecine de laboratoire et pathobiologie, Université de Toronto, Ontario   

Bourses d’Accessibilité Média Inc. (AMI)   

Accessibilité Média Inc. (AMI) a annoncé le nom des lauréats de son programme de bourses d’études AMI 2016 en mémoire de Robert Pearson le 3 novembre 2016. Ce programme, lancé en 2012, est ouvert aux étudiants canadiens inscrits à des programmes d’études menant à un diplôme ou à un grade dans un établissement d’enseignement postsecondaire canadien. Deux bourses d’études de 5 000 $ chacune, une en français et une en anglais, sont remises chaque année à des étudiants ayant une incapacité. NEADS gère les bourses d’études AMI dans le cadre d’un partenariat avec AMI. 

Les lauréats des bourses d’études AMI 2016 en mémoire de Robert Pearson sont Sean Heaslip, de Vancouver (Colombie-Britannique) et Valérie Poisson, de Montréal (Québec). Sean est actuellement en première année du programme de doctorat en psychologie de l’orientation à l’Université de la Colombie-Britannique, alors que Valérie poursuit une maîtrise en interprétation vocale à l’Université d’Ottawa.

« Félicitations aux récipiendaires des bourses de 2016 de NEADS et à ceux des bourses d’AMI, a dit M. Mahadeo Sukhai, D. Ph., directeur du Programme de bourses d’études. Nous avons reçu plus de 300 candidatures dans le cadre du concours de 2016. La sélection des gagnants a été extrêmement difficile, car les réalisations et la persévérance de tous les candidats étaient tout à fait incroyables. La détermination et le succès des boursiers de cette année reflètent vraiment l’esprit du Programme de bourses d’études de NEADS et du programme de bourses d’AMI. Nous souhaitons la meilleure des chances à tous les boursiers dans leurs études et leur carrière et nous espérons qu’ils connaîtront beaucoup de succès à l’avenir. Nous ne pourrions pas offrir le Programme de bourses sans le soutien financier généreux de nos sociétés commanditaires et donateurs particuliers, et nous les en remercions. » 

« Je félicite les boursiers de 2016. Je suis très heureuse que notre association puisse aider ces étudiants très méritants dans leurs études, a affirmé Emily Duffett, présidente du Conseil d’administration de NEADS. Ces programmes de bourses sont vraiment d’excellentes initiatives auxquelles de nombreux candidats méritants participent chaque année et ils continuent à prendre de l’ampleur. Merci aux sociétés commanditaires et aux particuliers généreux qui nous permettent d’offrir ces bourses. »  

À propos des bourses d’études de NEADS :  

Le Programme national de bourses d’études de NEADS est offert dans le but de favoriser le plein accès aux études postsecondaires pour les personnes handicapées, qui doivent souvent faire face à des obstacles supplémentaires en plus d’avoir à assumer des coûts additionnels pour pouvoir poursuivre leurs études. Les candidats doivent être inscrits à un programme et en train de poursuivre leurs études dans un établissement postsecondaire et ils doivent être en mesure de présenter une preuve d’inscription en même temps que leur demande ainsi qu’au moment où ils reçoivent leur bourse. Les bourses sont décernées à des candidats exceptionnels qui satisfont aux critères établis pour le programme. Les sommes sont versées directement aux établissements d’enseignement des boursiers (dans le compte des boursiers) et servent à régler les frais de scolarité exigés pour les études postsecondaires. 

À propos de la bourse d’études commémorative Holly Bartlett :   

Cette bourse a été créée par le Conseil d’administration de NEADS après le décès de Holly en 2010. Holly Bartlett a été la représentante de la Nouvelle-Écosse au sein du Conseil d’administration de NEADS pendant plusieurs années. Holly a réalisé des choses phénoménales pendant sa vie, qui a été bien trop courte. La bourse d’études Holly Bartlett est un moyen de lui rendre hommage. La bourse aide des étudiants handicapés à connaître du succès dans leurs études postsecondaires. Cette année est la sixième fois que cette bourse à la mémoire de Holly a été accordée. 

À propos de la bourse d’études commémorative Christine Nieder :   

Cette bourse a été créée en 2015 pour commémorer la vie et les contributions de Christine Nieder, membre du Conseil d’administration de NEADS, qui est décédée en juillet 2014. La bourse, d’un montant de 1 000 $, sera offerte chaque année à un étudiant handicapé poursuivant des études supérieures, afin de rendre hommage au travail passionné de Christine en vue de supprimer les obstacles à la participation aux programmes d’études supérieures. 

À propos du programme de bourses d’études d’AMI :   

Les renseignements et les critères d’admissibilité concernant le programme de bourses d’études d’AMI de 2017 seront affichés sur les sites Web d’AMI plus tard ce mois-ci. Visitez les sites www.AMItele.ca/bourses et www.AMI.ca/scholarship pour tous les détails. 

À propos d’Accessibilité Média Inc. :  

Accessibilité Média Inc. (AMI) est un organisme multimédia sans but lucratif au service de plus de cinq millions de Canadiens qui sont aveugles, malvoyants, sourds, malentendants, à mobilité réduite ou incapables de lire les textes imprimés. AMI, qui exploite trois services de diffusion, AMI-tv et AMI audio en anglais et AMI-télé en français, s’est donné pour mission d’offrir des médias accessibles à tous les Canadiens. Pour en savoir plus, visitez AMI.ca et AMItele.ca.Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez contacter Janis Davidson Pressick, gestionnaire des communications, au 800-567-6755, poste 0971, janis.davidsonpressick@ami.ca

L’annonce du début de la période de réception des demandes pour tous les programmes de bourses d’études de NEADS et du programme de bourses d’études AMI en mémoire de Robert Pearson sera affichée au début de 2017 sur le site de NEADS : www.neads.ca

‒ 30 ‒

Pour de plus amples renseignements, contactez :  

Frank Smith, coordonnateur national, Association nationale des étudiant(e)s handicapé(e)s au niveau postsecondaire (NEADS), pièce 426, Unicentre, Université Carleton, Ottawa (Ontario) K1S 5B6, tél. : 613-380-8065, poste 201 frank.smith@neads.ca www.neads.ca

« Nous encourageons l’accès à l’enseignement postsecondaire et au marché du travail pour les étudiants et les diplômés handicapés. »

 

 

 

 




Haut

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2017, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.