NEADS Logo - Home
Find us on: Facebook YouTube

Question MarkQuick Question:
How do I find out if a group of students with disabilities exists on my campus?


Upcoming Events

More Events

Link of the day

More Links

Donate Now to support NEADS! We need your support!
Donations are tax deductible and you will receive a charitable tax receipt for 100% of your gift.

Donate Now Through CanadaHelps.org!

Media

Call for Submissions: The Landscape of Accessibility and Accommodation for Students with Disabilities in Canadian Post-Secondary Education

(Ottawa, January 10, 2017) -

The National Educational Association of Disabled Students (NEADS) has received funds from the Government of Canada's Social Development Partnerships Program (SDPP-D), of just over $193,000 for an important new research project: The Landscape of Accessibility and Accommodation for Students with Disabilities in Canadian Post-Secondary Education: 2016 – 2018.

At this time we seek written submissions from institutional offices/departments/faculties (including, but not limited to, student services and student affairs offices, campus disability groups, access centres and access committees, faculties and disability services offices) that describe best practices and lessons learned from working with students with disabilities. We are looking for details on professional development practices, innovative programming for students with disabilities, success stories, and effective policies and practices. We also want to know about gaps in learning, knowledge and service at the local level. If your school has a model program or service we’d like you to tell us about it.

Submissions should be no longer than 1,000 words, and be submitted in writing to the NEADS office by email no later than March 31, 2017 to frank.smith@neads.ca with a subject heading The Landscape of Accessibility and Accommodation for Students with Disabilities Submission. Please be advised, submissions may be used by the research team with attribution and permission -- unless we are informed that a submission is to be kept confidential and to be used in a general way -- in the final report and recommendations of the project.

This project specifically addresses the SDPP-D Program objective to: "support the development and utilization of effective approaches to address social issues and challenges." Building on previous NEADS work, including the landmark report of the National Taskforce on the Experience of Graduate Students with Disabilities, Understanding Accessibility in Graduate Education For Students with Disabilities in Canada (2016); Enhancing Accessibility for Disabled Students - A Guide For Service Providers (2012); and, Working Towards a Coordinated National Approach to Services, Accommodations and Policies for Post-Secondary Students With Disabilities (1999), this project will undertake a thorough examination of the current landscape of accessibility, services, accommodations, technical equipment and supports for students with disabilities at publicly-funded post-secondary institutions across Canada.

The research will occur at the same time as, and is expected to inform, the Government of Canada's consultation on a new planned accessibility legislation, under the leadership of Minister Carla Qualtrough, Minister of Sport and Persons with Disabilities. Consultations and research on post-secondary access and services are timely and will contribute to the Government of Canada's emphasis on access to education and training for persons with disabilities, leading to their participation in the competitive labour market.

“Students with disabilities deserve equal access and opportunity in their schools. In supporting activities that engage and consult students with disabilities, we can make informed decisions on how to make this happen. Ensuring accessibility in post-secondary institutions is a great example of how – together – we are changing the culture around disability and creating a more accessible Canada.” – The Honourable Carla Qualtrough, Minister of Sport and Persons with Disabilities

For further information on this project contact:

Frank Smith, National Coordinator, National Educational Association of Disabled Students (NEADS), Rm. 514 Unicentre, Carleton University, Ottawa, Ontario, K1S 5B6 tel. (613) 380-8065 ext. 201, www.neads.ca, email: frank.smith@neads.ca

http://www.neads.ca/en/about/media/index.php?id=427




Top

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2017, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.

NEADS Logo - Accueil
Trouvez-nous sur : Facebook YouTube

QuestionQuestion:
Est-ce qu’il y a une association nationale générale d’étudiants et d’étudiantes du niveau postsecondaire? Est-ce qu’elle s’occupe de la défense des droits des personnes handicapées?


Événements prochains

Voir d'autres événements

Autre site d'intérèt


Advertisement



Média

Demande d’exposés : Vue d’ensemble de l’accessibilité et des aménagements pour les étudiants handicapés du niveau postsecondaire au Canada

(Ottawa, 10 janvier 2017) - 

L’Association nationale des étudiant(e)s handicapé(e)s au niveau postsecondaire (NEADS) a reçu un peu plus de 193 000 $ du Programme de partenariats pour le développement social (PPDS-PH) du gouvernement du Canada pour un nouveau projet de recherche important : Vue d’ensemble de l’accessibilité et des aménagements pour les étudiants handicapés du niveau postsecondaire au Canada : 2016–2018.

En ce moment, nous sollicitons des exposés écrits de bureaux, départements et facultés (notamment, mais non exclusivement, de bureaux de services aux étudiants et d’affaires étudiantes, de groupes d’étudiants handicapés sur les campus, de centres et de comités d’accès et de bureaux de services aux étudiants handicapés) qui décrivent les meilleures pratiques établies et les leçons apprises en travaillant avec des étudiants handicapés. Nous cherchons des informations détaillées sur les pratiques de perfectionnement professionnel, les programmes innovateurs pour les étudiants ayant des incapacités, des histoires de réussite, et des politiques et pratiques efficaces. Nous voulons aussi savoir quelles sont les lacunes locales au niveau de l’apprentissage, des connaissances et des services. S’il existe un programme ou un service modèle dans votre établissement, nous aimerions que vous nous en parliez.

Les exposés écrits ne doivent pas compter plus de 1 000 mots. Ils doivent être envoyés au bureau de NEADS par courriel à frank.smith@neads.ca au plus tard le 31 mars 2017, en indiquant comme sujet Exposé pour le projet Vue d’ensemble de l’accessibilité et des aménagements pour les étudiants handicapés du niveau postsecondaire au Canada. Veuillez noter qu’il se peut que l’équipe de recherche utilise l’exposé, avec mention de la source et la permission des auteurs, dans le rapport final et les recommandations du projet, à moins qu’on nous avise qu’il doit demeurer confidentiel et ne servir que de façon générale.

Ce projet répond spécifiquement à l’objectif du PPDS-PH qui est d'« appuyer l’élaboration et l’utilisation d’approches efficaces en vue d’aborder les problèmes et les défis d’ordre social ». Il fait fond sur des travaux antérieurs de NEADS, dont le rapport historique de son Groupe de travail national sur l’expérience des étudiants aux cycles supérieurs, intitulé Understanding Accessibility in Graduate Education For Students with Disabilities in Canada (2016), et les rapports Améliorer l’accessibilité dans les établissements d’enseignement postsecondaire : Guide à l’intention des fournisseurs de services aux personnes handicapées (2012) et Pour une approche pancanadienne des services, des aménagements et des politiques destinés aux étudiant-e-s handicap-é-s de niveau postsecondaire (1999). Dans le cadre de ce projet, on entreprendra un examen approfondi de l’état actuel de l’accessibilité, des services, des aménagements, de l’équipement technique et des mesures de soutien dont bénéficient les étudiants handicapés fréquentant des établissements d’enseignement postsecondaire financés par le secteur public partout au Canada.

La recherche se déroulera en même temps que la consultation du gouvernement du Canada sur une nouvelle législation prévue sur l’accessibilité, que dirigera Mme Carla Qualtrough, ministre des Sports et des Personnes handicapées. Les consultations et la recherche sur l’accès et les services au niveau postsecondaire tombent à point et contribueront à confirmer l’importance que le gouvernement accorde à l’accès des personnes handicapées à l’éducation et à la formation qui leur permettront de participer au marché du travail concurrentiel.

« Les étudiants ayant des déficiences méritent d’avoir un accès égal aux possibilités offertes dans leurs écoles. En appuyant les activités qui mobilisent et consultent les étudiants handicapés, nous pouvons prendre des décisions éclairées sur les moyens de leur assurer cette accessibilité. Les efforts en ce sens pour les étudiants du niveau postsecondaire sont un excellent exemple du travail que nous pouvons faire ensemble pour changer la culture liée à l’incapacité et créer un Canada plus accessible. » – L’honorable Carla Qualtrough, ministre des Sports et des Personnes handicapées

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur ce projet, contactez :

Frank Smith, coordonnateur national, Association nationale des étudiant(e)s handicapé(e)s au niveau postsecondaire (NEADS), pièce 514, Unicentre, Université Carleton, Ottawa (Ontario) K1S 5B6, tél. : 613-380-8065, poste 201 www.neads.ca

http://www.neads.ca/fr/about/media/index.php?id=427




Haut

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2017, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.