NEADS Logo - Home
Find us on: Facebook YouTube

Question MarkQuick Question:
How do I make arrangements for books in Braille, on tape or diskette?


Upcoming Events

More Events

Link of the day

More Links

Donate Now to support NEADS! We need your support!
Donations are tax deductible and you will receive a charitable tax receipt for 100% of your gift.

Donate Now Through CanadaHelps.org!

Media

Canada makes further commitment to support rights of persons with disabilities

December 1, 2016 - Ottawa, Ontario - Global Affairs Canada -

The Honourable Stéphane Dion, Minister of Foreign Affairs, and the Honourable Carla Qualtrough, Minister of Sport and Persons with Disabilities, today announced that the Government of Canada has begun a consultation process on Canada’s accession to the United Nations Optional Protocol to the Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities (the Optional Protocol).

The UN Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities protects and promotes the rights and dignity of persons with disabilities without discrimination and on an equal basis with others.

Provinces and territories have an important role to play in considering Canada’s possible accession to the Optional Protocol, and consultations are currently taking place with them on this matter. The process will also involve engagement with Indigenous governments that may be implicated, as well as Indigenous organizations and civil society.

Quotes

“I support this protocol because it further empowers Canadians with disabilities and because it is consistent with Canada’s commitment to promote inclusion, always and everywhere.” - Stéphane Dion, Minister of Foreign Affairs

“Our willingness to move this protocol forward is a significant step in supporting the rights of Canadians with disabilities. This announcement helps us foster equality and inclusiveness and brings us closer to a more accessible Canada.” - Carla Qualtrough, Minister of Sport and Persons with Disabilities

Quick facts

• Canada ratified the United Nations Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities in 2010. Parties to the convention are required to promote, protect and ensure the full and equal enjoyment of all human rights by persons with disabilities.

• The Committee on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities is a body of independent experts that monitors the implementation of the convention by states parties. States parties to the convention are expected to submit reports to the committee every four years, with an initial report due two years following ratification. Canada submitted its initial report in February 2014, and will appear before the committee in spring 2017.

• The Optional Protocol gives people with disabilities a new safeguard for their rights by establishing two procedures aimed at strengthening the implementation and monitoring of the convention. The first is a complaint procedure that allows individuals and groups to bring petitions to the Committee on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities claiming that their rights under the convention have been violated. The second is an inquiry procedure that gives the Committee authority to investigate allegations of grave or systematic violations of the provisions of the convention by a state party. The Optional Protocol was adopted by the UN in 2006 and entered into force in 2008. As of November 2016, there are 92 states parties to the protocol.

• The International Day of Persons with Disabilities will be marked on December 3. This year’s theme, Achieving 17 Goals for the Future We Want, highlights the recent adoption of the 17 Sustainable Development Goals and the role of these goals in building a more inclusive and equitable world for persons with disabilities.

Associated links

• Promoting rights of persons with disabilities

• Rights of people with disabilities

• Consulting with Canadians on accessibility legislation

• International Human Rights Treaty Adherence Process in Canada

• Optional Protocol to the Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities

• United Nations Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities

Contacts:

Chantal Gagnon, Press Secretary, Office of the Minister of Foreign Affairs, 343-203-1851, chantal.gagnon@international.gc.ca

Ashley Michnowski, Press Secretary, Office of the Minister of Sport and Persons with Disabilities, 819-934-1122 / TTY: 1-866-702-6967

Media Relations, Office Global Affairs Canada, 343-203-7700 media@international.gc.ca

Follow us on Twitter: @CanadaFP Follow Minister Dion on Twitter: @MinCanadaFA

Like us on Facebook: Canada’s foreign policy - Global Affairs Canada

Media Relations, Office Employment and Social Development Canada, 819-994-5559, media@hrsdc-rhdcc.gc.ca Twitter: @AccessibleGC Facebook: Accessible Canada

http://news.gc.ca/web/article-en.do?mthd=index&crtr.page=1&nid=1163849&_ga=1.185348201.1511794130.1478277798




Top

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2017, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.

NEADS Logo - Accueil
Trouvez-nous sur : Facebook YouTube

QuestionQuestion:
Est-ce que j’aurai un accès approprié aux services médicaux si j’en ai besoin pendant mon année d’études?


Événements prochains

Voir d'autres événements

Autre site d'intérèt


Advertisement



Média

Le Canada s'engage à soutenir davantage les droits des personnes handicapées

Le 1er décembre 2016 - Ottawa, Ontario - Affaires mondiales Canada -

Le ministre des Affaires étrangères, l’honorable Stéphane Dion, et la ministre des Sports et des Personnes handicapées, l’honorable Carla Qualtrough, ont annoncé aujourd’hui que le gouvernement du Canada a lancé un processus de consultation sur l’adhésion du Canada au Protocole facultatif se rapportant à la Convention relative aux droits des personnes handicapées des Nations Unies (le Protocole facultatif).

La Convention des Nations Unies relative aux droits des personnes handicapées (la Convention) assure la protection et la promotion des droits et de la dignité des personnes handicapées, afin qu’elles soient traitées sans discrimination et en toute égalité.

Les provinces et les territoires ont un rôle important dans la décision éventuelle du Canada d’adhérer au Protocole facultatif, d’où la tenue des consultations actuelles. Le processus prévoit également une collaboration avec les administrations autochtones qui pourraient être concernées, ainsi qu’avec des organisations autochtones et de la société civile.

Citations

« J’appuie notre adhésion à ce Protocole, car il renforce les droits des personnes handicapées et il est cohérent avec l’engagement du Canada à promouvoir l’inclusion, ici comme ailleurs. » - Stéphane Dion, ministre des Affaires étrangères

« Notre volonté d’aller de l’avant avec ce protocole constitue un élément important de notre appui aux droits des Canadiens handicapés. Cette annonce nous aide à favoriser l’égalité et l’inclusion, et nous rapproche d’un Canada plus accessible. » - Carla Qualtrough, ministre des Sports et des Personnes handicapées

Les faits en bref

•Le Canada a ratifié la Convention des Nations Unies relative aux droits des personnes handicapées en 2010. Les parties à la Convention doivent promouvoir, protéger et assurer la pleine et égale jouissance de tous les droits de la personne pour toutes les personnes handicapées.

•Le Comité des droits des personnes handicapées est un organe constitué d’experts indépendants qui surveille la mise en œuvre de la Convention par les États parties, lesquels doivent soumettre des rapports au comité tous les quatre ans, avec un rapport initial exigé deux ans après la ratification. Le Canada a présenté son premier rapport en février 2014, et comparaîtra devant le Comité au printemps 2017.

•Le Protocole facultatif offre aux personnes handicapées un mécanisme supplémentaire pour protéger leurs droits en établissant deux procédures visant à renforcer la mise en œuvre de la Convention et le contrôle de son application. La première est une procédure de recours permettant aux personnes et aux groupes de faire appel au Comité des droits des personnes handicapées lorsqu’ils déclarent être victimes d’une violation de leurs droits aux termes de la Convention. La seconde est une procédure d’enquête donnant au Comité le pouvoir de mener des enquêtes sur des allégations de violations graves ou systématiques des dispositions de la Convention par un État partie. Le Protocole facultatif a été adopté par les Nations Unies en 2006 et est entré en vigueur en 2008. En date de novembre 2016, le Protocole facultatif compte 92 États parties.

•La Journée internationale des personnes handicapées sera célébrée le 3 décembre. Le thème de cette année, « Atteindre 17 objectifs pour l’avenir que nous voulons », s’inscrit dans la récente adoption des 17 objectifs de développement durable et souligne leur rôle dans la construction d’un monde plus inclusif et plus équitable pour les personnes handicapées.

Liens connexes

•Promotion des droits des personnes ayant un handicap

•Droits des personnes handicapées

•Consulter les Canadiens au sujet d’une loi prévue sur l’accessibilité

•Processus d’adhésion au Canada aux traités internationaux en matière de droits de la personne

•Protocole facultatif se rapportant à la Convention relative aux droits des personnes handicapées

•Texte intégral de la Convention [des Nations Unies] relative aux droits des personnes handicapées

Contacts

Chantal Gagnon, Attachée de presse, Cabinet du ministre des Affaires étrangères, 343-203-1851, chantal.gagnon@international.gc.ca

Ashley Michnowski, Attachée de presse, Cabinet de la ministre des Sports et des Personnes handicapées, 819-934-1122 / ATS : 1-866-702-6967

Le Service des relations avec les médias Affaires mondiales Canada 343-203-7700 media@international.gc.ca

Suivez-nous sur Twitter : @CanadaPE Suivez le ministre Dion sur Twitter : @MinCanadaAE Aimez-nous sur

Facebook : La politique étrangère du Canada - Affaires mondiales

Canada Bureau des relations avec les médias, Emploi et Développement social Canada, 819-994-5559, media@hrsdc-rhdcc.gc.ca, Twitter : @GCAccessible Facebook : Canada Accessible

http://nouvelles.gc.ca/web/article-fr.do?mthd=index&crtr.page=1&nid=1163849&_ga=1.121246152.1511794130.1478277798




Haut

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2017, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.