NEADS Logo - Home
Find us on: Facebook YouTube

Question MarkQuick Question:
Which federal government office can I contact to obtain information on programs and services for disabled persons?


Upcoming Events

More Events

Link of the day

More Links

Donate Now to support NEADS! We need your support!
Donations are tax deductible and you will receive a charitable tax receipt for 100% of your gift.

Donate Now Through CanadaHelps.org!

Media

CCD Says Regulations Are Necessary to Increase the Accessibility of Passenger Transportation

Media Release -  For Immediate Release -  November 16, 2016 -

On Thursday, November 17, 2016 in Montreal, Bob Brown, Co-Chair of the Council of Canadians With Disabilities' CCD) Transportation Committee, will attend the federal government's roundtable discussion on planned accessibility legislation, as it relates to transportation. The federal government regulates air, rail, interprovincial marine and bus transportation. Roundtable organizers want participants to identify gaps in the legal and policy environment and to suggest ways for Canada to make transportation more accessible. Among other recommendations, CCD will urge the adoption of comprehensive accessibility regulations.

In the 1990s, when Canada turned its back on binding accessibility regulations in favour of voluntary codes of practice to prevent barriers, progress in Canada toward a fully accessible transportation system became lamentably slow. The burden to remedy transportation barriers through litigation fell on people with disabilities and their organizations, such as CCD.

CCD has firsthand experience with how carriers are ignoring voluntary codes. In 2000, VIA Rail purchased and attempted to put into service inaccessible passenger rail cars, which violated the standards of the voluntary rail code. The cars purchased by VIA had been rejected by other countries that had accessibility regulations. Travelers using wheelchairs would have essentially been segregated in a sleeper compartment on the lounge car. With great risk to its continued viability, CCD went to court to challenge this violation of the human rights of travelers with disabilities. The Supreme Court of Canada sided with CCD.

"A country that is committed to human rights and accessibility does not leave it to community organizations to police the transportation industry in order to prevent carriers from violating the mobility rights of people with disabilities," states Bob Brown, Co-Chair of the CCD Transportation Committee, who will be present at the Roundtable.

Relatedly, CCD will also call for the strengthening of the Canadian Transportation Agency (CTA), which regulates the transportation system and protects the human rights of persons with disabilities to an accessible transportation network. For example, Canada could empower the CTA to take proactive actions to remedy barriers without a complaint first coming from a traveler with a disability. This would lead to greater system-wide change.

Another area that will be addressed concerns the federal government using its spending power to promote accessibility and universal design. To ensure that accessibility becomes a priority, CCD will urge the Federal Government to attach universal design requirements to all infrastructure spending, procurement activities and subsidies to industry.

The Council of Canadians with Disabilities (CCD) is a national organization of people with disabilities working for an inclusive and accessible Canada.

-30-

For more information, contact:

Bob Brown, Co-Chair, CCD Transportation Committee: bob.brown.001@hotmail.com

Pat Danforth, Co-Chair CCD Transportation Committee: pidanforth@shaw.ca

James Hicks, CCD National Coordinator: james@ccdonline.ca




Top

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2017, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.

NEADS Logo - Accueil
Trouvez-nous sur : Facebook YouTube

QuestionQuestion:
À quel bureau du gouvernement fédéral dois-je m’adresser pour obtenir de l’information sur les programmes et services à l’intention des personnes handicapées?


Événements prochains

Voir d'autres événements

Autre site d'intérèt


Advertisement



Média

Pour améliorer l'accessibilité des transports : des règlements s'imposent déclare le CCD

Communiqué de presse - Pour publication immédiate - Le 16 novembre 2016 -

Le jeudi 17 novembre 2016, Bob Brown, coprésident du Comité des transports du CCD, participera à Montréal à une table ronde fédérale portant sur la loi prévue sur l’accessibilité et plus particulièrement sur la question des transports. Le gouvernement fédéral règlemente les transports aériens, ferroviaires, interprovinciaux, maritimes et par autobus. Les organisateurs de la table ronde demanderont aux participants de dépister les lacunes sur les plans juridique et politique et de suggérer des moyens d’accroître l’accessibilité des transports. Le CCD recommandera, entre autres, d’adopter une règlementation globale en matière d’accessibilité.

Dans les années 1990, lorsque le Canada a décidé, aux fins de prévention des obstacles, de rejeter les règlements d’accessibilité contraignants pour adopter des codes de pratique volontaire, la pleine accessibilité du système de transport a avancé à pas de tortue. Et ce sont les personnes en situation de handicap qui, avec leurs organisations – comme le CCD -, ont emprunté la voie judiciaire pour éliminer les obstacles aux transports.

Le CCD a concrètement vécu ce rejet des codes de pratique volontaire par les transporteurs. En l’an 2000, VIA Rail avait acheté des wagons de passagers inaccessibles et tenté de les mettre en service, violant ainsi les normes du code de pratique volontaire. D’autres pays dotés de règlements d’accessibilité, avaient refusé d’acheter ces wagons. Les passagers en fauteuil roulant auraient alors été relégués dans un compartiment-couchette dans la voiture-bar. Malgré les risques portés à sa viabilité, le CCD n’a pas hésité à contester judiciairement cette violation des droits humains des voyageurs en situation de handicap. La Cour suprême du Canada lui a donné raison !

« Un pays qui s’est engagé envers les droits de la personne et l’accessibilité ne se décharge pas sur les organisations communautaires pour contrôler l’industrie des transports et empêcher les transporteurs d’enfreindre les droits des personnes handicapées à la libre circulation », a déclaré Bob Brown, coprésident du Comité des transports du CCD, qui participera à la table ronde.

Corollairement, le CCD réclamera le renforcement de l’Office de transports du Canada (OTC) qui régule le système de transport et qui garantit aux personnes en situation de handicap le droit à un réseau de transport accessible. Le gouvernement pourrait, par exemple, autoriser l’OTC à agir proactivement en ce qui a trait à l’élimination des obstacles au lieu d’être obligé d’attendre une plainte d’un voyageur ayant des limitations fonctionnelles.

Le CCD demandera aussi au gouvernement d’utiliser son pouvoir de dépense pour promouvoir l’accessibilité et la conception universelle. Afin que l’accessibilité devienne une priorité, il lui recommandera d’assujettir toutes les dépenses d’infrastructure, toutes les activités d’approvisionnement et toutes les subventions aux industries, aux exigences de la conception universelle.

Le Conseil des Canadiens avec déficiences (CCD) est une organisation nationale de personnes en situation de handicap œuvrant pour un Canada accessible et inclusif.

-30-

Pour de plus amples renseignements, contacter : Bob Brown, coprésident du Comité des transports du CCD: bob.brown.001@hotmail.com

Pat Danforth, coprésident du Comité des transports du CCD: pidanforth@shaw.ca

James Hicks, coordonnateur national du CCD: james@ccdonline.ca




Haut

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2017, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.