NEADS Logo - Home
Find us on: Facebook YouTube Twitter

Quick Question:
Where can students with learning disabilities receive funding to help cover the cost of disability assessments?


Upcoming Events

More Events

Link of the day

More Links

Donate Now to support NEADS! We need your support!
Donations are tax deductible and you will receive a charitable tax receipt for 100% of your gift.

Donate Now Through CanadaHelps.org!

Media

Minister Qualtrough hosts important conversation with young Canadians on the future of accessibility

November 1, 2016 Ottawa, Ontario Employment and Social Development Canada -

Youth are key to breaking down barriers for Canadians with disabilities and creating a more accessible and inclusive Canada. That’s why today, the Honourable Carla Qualtrough, Minister of Sport and Persons with Disabilities, hosted an exciting one-day national forum on accessibility with youth with disabilities and youth who have life, work or academic experience related to disabilities.

Minister Qualtrough engaged youth participants on what accessibility means to them and their vision of an accessible Canada. She encouraged participants to continue demonstrating leadership in their communities and continue working towards building a more inclusive and accessible society.

The National Youth Forum is part of the consultation process led by Minister Qualtrough to inform the development of planned accessibility legislation. Canadians from around the country have already begun sharing their views on what an accessible Canada means to them. All Canadians are encouraged to have their say in the consultation process, either by attending an engagement session or by participating in the online consultation at www.Canada.ca/Accessible-Canada Canadians are also encouraged to follow @AccessibleGC on Twitter, AccessibleGC on Facebook and to follow the hashtags #LeadersToday and #AccessibleCanada. The consultation process will run until February 28, 2017.

Quotes

“I am inspired by the incredible leadership shown by youth across Canada in relation to accessibility. The innovative ideas they bring to the table are instrumental to breaking down barriers for all Canadians. By working together and listening to their fresh ideas, I sincerely believe we can make vast progress in creating a truly accessible Canada.” – The Honourable Carla Qualtrough, Minister of Sport and Persons with Disabilities

“As a person on the autism spectrum, I face many challenges. However, it also allows me to look at the world through a different lens. I hope to inspire, and give people a new perspective, on what it means to live with a disability. Most importantly, I would like to show people that just because we have a disability doesn't mean we don't have the ability to do things. ” – Elene Fiala, Member, Youth Forum Planning Committee

“Being able to have a discussion with people who have different disabilities allows us to collaborate as a collective and understand each other more thoroughly.” – Chenyl Graff, Member, Youth Forum Planning Committee

"Accessibility and inclusion are processes that require continuous dialogue and work. As society evolves over time, new barriers arise, and it is important to recognize the expertise of people with disabilities—and especially youth with disabilities—so that disability communities are in charge of identifying the sources of their exclusion and working out the solutions to these issues." – Natalie Spagnuolo, Council of Canadians with Disabilities (CCD)

Quick Facts

• According to the 2012 Canadian Survey on Disability (CSD), among youth age 15–19, 35 percent of those with a severe or very severe disability were employed at one time or another between January 2010 and May 2011, compared with 44 percent of those with a mild or moderate disability, and 57% of those without a disability.

• The 2012 CSD also revealed that, among people age 20–24, 48 percent of those with a severe or very severe disability were employed at one time or another, compared with 73 percent of those with a mild or moderate disability and 87 percent of those without a disability.

• Approximately 14 percent of Canadians aged 15 years or older reported having a disability that limited them in their daily activities. There are approximately 411,600 working-age Canadians with disabilities who are not working but whose disability does not prevent them from doing so; almost half of these potential workers are post-secondary graduates.

Associated Links

Consultation on Planned Accessibility Legislation

Twitter: @AccessibleGC

Facebook: AccessibleGC #AccessibleCanada

- 30 -

For media enquiries, please contact: Ashley Michnowski Press Secretary Office of the Minister of Sport and Persons with Disabilities 819-934-1122 / TTY: 1-866-702-6967 Media Relations Office Employment and Social Development Canada 819-994-5559 media@hrsdc-rhdcc.gc.ca Follow us on Twitter.

 http://news.gc.ca/web/article-en.do?nid=1145779




Top

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2018, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.

NEADS Logo - Accueil
Trouvez-nous sur : Facebook YouTube

QuestionQuestion:
Est-ce qu’une aide financière est offerte pour payer la production de documents en médias substituts?


Événements prochains

Voir d'autres événements

Autre site d'intérèt


Advertisement



Média

La ministre Qualtrough organise une conversation importante avec les jeunes Canadiens au sujet de l'avenir de l'accessibilité

Le 1er novembre 2016 Ottawa (Ontario) Emploi et Développement social Canada

Les jeunes jouent un rôle essentiel dans l’élimination des obstacles auxquels sont confrontés les Canadiens handicapés et dans la création d’un Canada plus inclusif et accessible. C’est pourquoi la ministre des Sports et des Personnes handicapées, l’honorable Carla Qualtrough, a animé aujourd’hui un forum national d’une journée portant sur l’accessibilité. Dans le cadre de ce très intéressant forum, elle a consulté des jeunes handicapés et des jeunes qui ont une expérience de vie, de travail ou d’études liée à l’incapacité.

La ministre Qualtrough a demandé aux jeunes participants de réfléchir à ce que l’accessibilité signifie pour eux et à leur vision d’un Canada accessible. Elle les a encouragés à continuer de faire preuve de leadership dans leur collectivité et à continuer de déployer des efforts en vue de créer une société plus inclusive et accessible.

Le Forum national des jeunes s’inscrit dans le processus de consultation mené par la ministre Qualtrough pour orienter l’élaboration d’une loi prévue sur l’accessibilité. Les Canadiens de partout au pays ont déjà commencé à exprimer leurs points de vue sur ce qu’un Canada accessible signifie pour eux. Tous les Canadiens sont invités à prendre part au processus de consultation en assistant à une séance de mobilisation ou en participant à la consultation en ligne sur le site www.Canada.ca/Canada-Accessible  Les Canadiens sont également invités à s’abonner au compte @GCAccessible sur Twitter, à consulter la page Facebook Canada Accessible et à suivre les mots-clic #LeadersDAujourdhui #CanadaAccessible. Le processus de consultation se terminera le 28 février 2017.

Citations

« Le leadership incroyable en matière d’accessibilité dont font preuve les jeunes dans l’ensemble du Canada est pour moi une source d’inspiration. Les idées novatrices qu’ils apportent sont essentielles à l’élimination des obstacles auxquels sont confrontés les Canadiens. En travaillant ensemble et en prêtant attention à leurs idées nouvelles, je crois sincèrement que nous pouvons réaliser des progrès importants relativement à la création d’un Canada véritablement accessible. » – L’honorable Carla Qualtrough, ministre des Sports et des Personnes handicapées

« En tant que personne présentant un trouble du spectre de l’autisme, je suis confrontée à de nombreuses difficultés. Cependant, cela me permet également de voir le monde sous un angle différent. J’espère inspirer les gens et leur offrir une nouvelle perspective de ce que cela signifie de vivre avec une incapacité. Plus important encore, j’aimerais leur démontrer que vivre avec une incapacité ne veut pas dire ne pas avoir la capacité d’accomplir des choses. » – Elene Fiala, membre du comité de planification du Forum national des jeunes

« Grâce aux discussions que nous tenons auprès de personnes ayant des incapacités différentes, nous pouvons collaborer en tant que communauté et mieux comprendre les besoins de chacun. » – Chenyl Graff, membre du comité de planification du Forum national des jeunes

« L’accessibilité et l’inclusion sont des processus qui nécessitent un dialogue et un travail continus. À mesure que la société évolue au fil du temps, de nouveaux obstacles se dressent; il est donc important de reconnaître l’expertise des personnes handicapées – et tout particulièrement des jeunes handicapés – afin que les communautés de personnes handicapées puissent déterminer les causes de leur exclusion et trouver des solutions à ces problèmes. » – Natalie Spagnuolo, Conseil des Canadiens avec déficiences

Les faits en bref

Selon les résultats de l’Enquête canadienne sur l’incapacité de 2012, parmi les jeunes âgés de 15 à 19 ans, 35 p. 100 des répondants ayant une incapacité grave ou très grave occupaient un emploi à un moment ou à un autre entre janvier 2010 et mai 2011, par rapport à 44 p. 100 pour ceux qui ont une incapacité légère ou modérée, et à 57 p. 100 pour ceux qui n’ont aucune incapacité.

L’Enquête canadienne sur l’incapacité de 2012 révèle également que, parmi les jeunes âgés de 20 à 24 ans, 48 p. 100 des répondants ayant une incapacité grave ou très grave occupaient un emploi à un moment ou à un autre, par rapport à 73 p. 100 pour ceux qui ont une incapacité légère ou modérée, et à 87 p. 100 pour ceux qui n’ont aucune incapacité.

Environ 14 p. 100 des Canadiens âgés de 15 ans ou plus ont déclaré avoir une incapacité qui restreint leurs activités quotidiennes. Environ 411 600 Canadiens handicapés en âge de travailler ne travaillent pas alors que leur incapacité ne les en empêche pas; près de la moitié de ces travailleurs potentiels possèdent un diplôme d’études postsecondaires.

Liens connexes

Consulter les Canadiens au sujet d’une loi prévue sur l’accessibilité Twitter : @GCAccessible Facebook : GCAccessible #CanadaAccessible

- 30 -

Pour les demandes de renseignements des médias, veuillez communiquer avec : Ashley Michnowski, Attachée de presse Cabinet de la ministre des Sports et des Personnes handicapées, 819-934-1122 / ATS : 1-866-702-6967 Bureau des relations avec les médias Emploi et Développement social Canada 819-994-5559 media@hrsdc-rhdcc.gc.ca Suivez-nous sur Twitter

http://nouvelles.gc.ca/web/article-fr.do?nid=1145779&_ga=1.147584119.1511794130.1478277798




Haut

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2017, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.