NEADS Logo - Home
Find us on: Facebook YouTube

Quick Question:
What accommodations are usually in place for students with disabilities attending college and university?


Upcoming Events

More Events

Link of the day

More Links

Donate Now to support NEADS! We need your support!
Donations are tax deductible and you will receive a charitable tax receipt for 100% of your gift.

Donate Now Through CanadaHelps.org!

Media

Youth with Disabilities Advise on the Creation of an Accessible and Inclusive Canada

Media Release - For Immediate Release │October 31, 2016

On Tuesday, November 1, 2016 in Ottawa at the National Youth Forum, Natalie Spagnuolo, a member of the Council of Canadians with Disabilities' (CCD) Social Policy Committee, will provide recommendations on where the Government of Canada should provide leadership to improve opportunities for participation by people with disabilities as it moves forward with promised accessibility legislation.

Ms. Spagnuolo, who will address Minister Carla Qualtrough, Minister of Sport and Persons with Disabilities, intends to encourage action in 6 areas:

1. Targeted employment programs for youth with disabilities;

2. A poverty reduction strategy which is inclusive of Canadians with disabilities;

3. Comprehensive income and disability-related supports, which are not tied to employability;

4. A national commitment to deinstitutionalization;

5. Amendment of the Immigration and Refugee Protection Act to remove the medical inadmissibility clause, which prevents the immigration of people with disabilities to Canada;

6. Amendment of existing legislation to address well-documented barriers (for example, the Elections Act (people with vision impairment cannot independently verify their ballot) and the Canada Transportation Act (lack of accessibility regulations).

"Accessibility and inclusion are processes that require continuous dialogue and work," states Ms. Spagnuolo. "As society evolves over time, new barriers arise, and it is important to recognize the expertise of disabled people – and especially youth with disabilities – so that disability communities are in charge of identifying the sources of their exclusion and working out the solutions to these issues."

In addition to being a member of CCD's Social Policy Committee, Ms. Spagnuolo is a Ph.D candidate in Critical Disability Studies at York University. For CCD, accessibility and inclusion legislation is an opportunity to implement the United Nations Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities, which Canada ratified in 2010 with the support of Parliament and the Provincial and Territorial Governments. CCD is the lead organization on a multi-agency research collaboration, The Alliance. Its purpose is to consult Canadians on the development of federal accessibility and inclusion legislation. -

30-

For more information contact: Barry McMahon, Chairperson CCD National Accessibility and Inclusion Act Committee - email: mcmahon858@gmail.com. John Rae, Chairperson, CCD Social Policy Committee – email: thepenguin@rogers.com. Natalie Spagnuolo, CCD Social Policy Committee Member – email: natalie.spagnuolo@gmail.com.

Contact: Council of Canadians with Disabilities (CCD), 909-294 Portage Avenue, Winnipeg, MB R3C 0B9 Tel: 204-947-0303 Fax: 204-942-4625 Email: ccd@ccdonline.ca http://www.ccdonline.ca/en/




Top

All contents copyright , 1999-2018, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.

NEADS Logo - Accueil
Trouvez-nous sur : Facebook YouTube

QuestionQuestion:
Qu’est-ce que je dois faire pour obtenir des livres en braille, sur audiocassette ou sur disquette?


Événements prochains

Voir d'autres événements

Autre site d'intérèt


Advertisement



Média

Pour un Canada accessible et inclusif : les recommandations des jeunes en situation de handicap

COMMUNIQUÉ DE PRESSE Pour distribution immédiate │31 octobre 2016

Le mardi 1er novembre 2016, lors du Forum national des jeunes à Ottawa, Natalie Spagnuolo, membre du Comité de politique sociale du Conseil des Canadiens avec déficiences (CCD), recommandera au gouvernement du Canada, dans ses avancées vers la loi promise sur l’accessibilité, d’exercer son leadership dans des secteurs précis et ce, afin d’optimiser la participation des personnes en situation de handicap.

Dans son message à l’honorable Carla Qualtrough, Mme Spagnuolo exhortera la ministre des Sports et des Personnes handicapées à agir dans les six secteurs suivants :

1. Des programmes d’emploi ciblés pour les jeunes en situation de handicap ;

2. Une stratégie de réduction de la pauvreté englobant les Canadiens avec des limitations fonctionnelles ;

3. Un soutien du revenu complet et des aides liées aux limitations fonctionnelles, indépendants de l’employabilité ;

4. Un engagement national envers la désinstitutionnalisation ;

5. Abrogation, dans la Loi sur l’immigration et la protection des réfugiés, des motifs de non-admissibilité d’ordre médical qui entravent l’immigration des personnes handicapées au Canada ;

6. Modification des lois existantes afin d’éliminer les obstacles bien documentés (par exemple, la Loi électorale (les personnes ayant une déficience visuelle ne peuvent vérifier leur bulletin de vote en toute autonomie) et la Loi sur les transports au Canada (absence de règlements d’accessibilité).

« L’accessibilité et l’inclusion sont des processus exigeant un dialogue et un travail soutenus. De nouveaux obstacles se dressent au fur et à mesure que la société évolue. Il est donc important de reconnaître l’expertise des personnes en situation de handicap – et notamment des jeunes – afin que les collectivités afférentes soient chargées d’identifier les sources de leur exclusion et de travailler à des solutions, déclare Mme Spagnuolo. »

En plus de siéger au Comité de politique sociale du CCD, Mme Spagnuolo est doctorante en Critical Disability Studies à l’université York. Pour le CCD, la Loi sur l’accessibilité et l’inclusion ouvrira la voie à l’application de la Convention des Nations Unies relative aux droits des personnes handicapées, que le Canada a ratifiée en 2010 avec l’appui du Parlement et des gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux. Le CCD est l’organisation directrice de l’Alliance, une collaboration multi-organismes de recherche, chargée de consulter les Canadiens sur l’élaboration de la Loi canadienne sur l’accessibilité et l’inclusion.

-30-

Pour plus de renseignements, contacter : Barry McMahon, président du Comité de la Loi canadienne sur l’accessibilité et l’inclusion Courriel : mcmahon858@gmail.com. John Rae, président, Comité de politique sociale du CCD Courriel : thepenguin@rogers.com. Natalie Spagnuolo, membre du Comité de politique sociale du CCD Courriel : natalie.spagnuolo@gmail.com

Contact : Conseil des Canadiens avec déficiences (CCD) 926-294 avenue Portage Winnipeg, Manitoba R3C 0B9 Tél: 204-947-0303 AST: 204-943-4757 Courriel: ccd@ccdonline.ca




Haut

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2017, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.