NEADS Logo - Home
Find us on: Facebook YouTube

Quick Question:
What accommodations are usually in place for students with disabilities attending college and university?


Upcoming Events

More Events

Link of the day

More Links

Donate Now to support NEADS! We need your support!
Donations are tax deductible and you will receive a charitable tax receipt for 100% of your gift.

Donate Now Through CanadaHelps.org!

Media

New source of support for campus career centres!

Ottawa, November 24, 2011 - Thanks to the generosity of TD Bank Group, the National Educational Association of Disabled Students (NEADS) is launching a new project that will focus on supporting campus career centres in serving students with disabilities.

Since 2001, NEADS has had a variety of employment initiatives focused on students. However, increasingly NEADS has received requests from career centres for resources and information specifically to help with providing career services for students with disabilities. “We’re thrilled to have this opportunity to reach out to career centre staff” said Jennifer Dillon, Project Manager.

“We know career centre staff are working hard to meet the needs of students with disabilities, and this project is intended to provide support and continue building capacity,” said Dillon.

The project will begin with a needs assessment survey that will be sent to all campus career centres across Canada; the purpose is to identify what types of resources, information and training would be of help. Then, in 2012 NEADS will develop, and begin to deliver resources / training to respond to the identified needs.

As part of the project, a collection of case studies of existing campus employment initiatives for students with disabilities will be developed.

A part-time paid employment opportunity for a post-secondary student / recent graduate will also be part of the project.

Outreach to career centres is one part of a larger vision. Following this project NEADS hopes to gain support for a project that will bring together employers and post-secondary students with disabilities. “In order to make a difference we know we need career centres, employers and students all working together towards a common goal” said Dillon.

If you’d like more information about this project, or if you would like to share an employment initiative for students with disabilities from your campus, please email: jennifer.dillon@neads.ca

For more information, please contact the NEADS office:  National Educational Association of Disabled Students (NEADS), Rm. 426 Unicentre, Carleton University, Ottawa, Ontario, K1S 5B6, tel. (613) 380-8065 .




Top

All contents copyright , 1999-2018, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.

NEADS Logo - Accueil
Trouvez-nous sur : Facebook YouTube

QuestionQuestion:
À quel bureau du gouvernement fédéral dois-je m’adresser pour obtenir de l’information sur les programmes et services à l’intention des personnes handicapées?


Événements prochains

Voir d'autres événements

Autre site d'intérèt


Advertisement



Média

Une nouvelle source de soutien pour les centres de carrières des campus!

Ottawa, jeudi 24 novembre 2011 - Grâce à la générosité du Groupe Banque TD, l’Association nationale des étudiant(e) handicapé(e) au niveau postsecondaire (NEADS) lance un nouveau projet dont le but sera d’aider les centres de carrières des campus à offrir des services aux étudiants handicapés.

Depuis 2001, NEADS a pris bon nombre de mesures d’emploi axées sur les étudiants. Toutefois, NEADS a reçu de plus en plus de demandes de centres de carrières à la recherche de ressources et d’information pouvant précisément les aider à fournir des services aux étudiants handicapés. « Nous sommes ravis d’avoir cette occasion de venir en aide au personnel des centres de carrières », a déclaré Jennifer Dillon, gestionnaire du projet.

« Nous savons que le personnel des centres de carrières travaille fort pour répondre aux besoins des étudiants handicapés et ce projet vise à offrir un soutien à ces employés et à continuer d’accroître la capacité de ces centres », a ajouté Mme Dillon.

Le premier volet du projet consistera à envoyer un questionnaire d’évaluation des besoins à tous les centres de carrières des campus canadiens, dans le but de déterminer les types de ressources, d’informations et de formation qui seraient utiles. Ensuite, en 2012, NEADS mettra au point et commencera à offrir des ressources et une formation afin de répondre aux besoins cernés.

Dans le cadre du projet, on fera aussi une série d’études de cas de mesures d’emploi existantes qui sont offertes sur les campus à l’intention des étudiants handicapés.

Le projet offrira aussi une occasion d’emploi rémunéré à temps partiel à un étudiant postsecondaire ou à un diplômé récent.

Ce travail avec les centres de carrières fait partie d’une vision plus large. Après ce projet, NEADS espère obtenir de l’aide pour un projet qui réunira des employeurs et des étudiants handicapés du niveau postsecondaire. « Pour faire bouger les choses, nous savons qu’il faut faire en sorte que les centres de carrières, les employeurs et les étudiants travaillent tous ensemble à l’atteinte d’un but commun », a précisé Mme Dillon.

Pour obtenir plus d’information sur ce projet ou pour nous parler d’une mesure d’emploi pour les étudiants handicapés sur votre campus, veuillez envoyer un courriel à jennifer.dillon@neads.ca

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, veuillez joindre le bureau de NEADS :L'Association nationale des étudiant(e)s handicapé(e)s au niveau postsecondaire (NEADS), bureau 426, Unicentre, Université Carleton, Ottawa (Ontario) K1S 5B6, tél. (613) 380-8065.

 




Haut

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2017, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.