NEADS Logo - Home
Find us on: Facebook YouTube Twitter

Quick Question:
How do I make arrangements for books in Braille, on tape or diskette?


Upcoming Events

More Events

Link of the day

More Links

Donate Now to support NEADS! We need your support!
Donations are tax deductible and you will receive a charitable tax receipt for 100% of your gift.

Donate Now Through CanadaHelps.org!

Media

Canadians with Disabilities: Getting Beyond Being a Population in Waiting

Media Release -  September 15, 2015  -  For Immediate Release -

Many people with disabilities, when seeking employment, struggle endlessly against discriminatory barriers in the job market.

"People with disabilities have been a population in waiting: waiting for governments to develop proactive policies inclusive of job seekers with disabilities and waiting to contribute to the economy through employment and paying taxes," states Tony Dolan, Chairperson of the Council of Canadians with Disabilities (CCD).

"A signal that major changes need to be made is the fact that approximately 50% of persons with disabilities are currently unemployed or out of the labour market (the rate is higher for people with severe disabilities), which is unacceptable in a G8 country like Canada," adds Dolan.

In Article 27, the UN Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities requires ratifying countries, like Canada, to "safeguard and promote the realization of the right to work" by people with disabilities.  "To this end, CCD has called on all Federal Parties to share their plans to improve employment outcomes for persons with disabilities," states John Rae, a CCD Vice Chair.  

"People with disabilities, who become employed, are more likely than others to be in short-term or part-time jobs, self-employment, and the 'informal economy'," continues Rae.

Due to their experience of multiple barriers, women with disabilities encounter additional disadvantages in the labour market.  For example, Yves Gingras, HRSDC Senior Director Economic Policy Directorate (Labour Market Analysis), appearing before a parliamentary committee, testified that, "the average total [annual] income for persons with a disability is about $27,000, compared to nearly $38,000 for those without a disability. Women with disabilities earn even less, an average of about $22,000, compared to $31,000 for men with disabilities."[i] Thus, CCD is particularly interested in Federal Parties' plans to improve labour market outcomes for women with disabilities.

Canadians with disabilities are seeking equality in employment.  To this end, CCD has repeatedly recommended to federal parties that they commit to increased investment in the Labour Market Agreements for Persons with Disabilities.  For example, new investments could be focused on youth with disabilities (aged 18-30) transitioning from school to work, including trades, with support for proactive measures such as co-operative placements, summer job programs, supported employment and job retention measures.

-30-

For more information contact:

Tony Dolan, CCD Chairperson, Tel: 902-626-1752 (cell).
John Rae, CCD Second Vice Chair, Tel: 416-941-1547.
James Hicks, National Coordinator, Tel: 343-291-1118.

About CCD - CCD is a national organization of people with disabilities that works for an accessible and inclusive Canada.

Council of Canadians with Disabilities (CCD)
909-294 Portage Avenue
Winnipeg, MB
R3C 0B9
Tel: 204-947-0303
Fax: 204-942-4625
Email: ccd@ccdonline.ca  website: http://www.ccdonline.ca/en/



 




Top

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2018, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.

NEADS Logo - Accueil
Trouvez-nous sur : Facebook YouTube

QuestionQuestion:
Où puis-je trouver des manuels en médias substituts?


Événements prochains

Voir d'autres événements

Autre site d'intérèt


Advertisement



Média

Les Canadiens handicapés : ne plus être la population qui attend

COMMUNIQUÉ DE PRESSE -15 septembre 2015 -   pour distribution immediate -

De nombreuses personnes handicapées en quête d’emploi se heurtent sans cesse à des obstacles discriminatoires dans le marché du travail.

« Les personnes handicapées ont été une population en attente : en attente de politiques gouvernementales proactives, incluant les personnes handicapées en quête d’emploi ; en attente d’emplois leur permettant de devenir des contribuables participant à l’économie canadienne, a déclaré Tony Dolan, président du Conseil des Canadiens avec déficiences.

Environ 50% des personnes handicapées sont sans emploi ou hors du marché du travail (et ce pourcentage est encore plus élevé chez les personnes ayant de graves déficiences).  Cette situation inacceptable pour un pays du G8 comme le Canada, est une alerte  pour  d’importants changements, a ajouté M. Dolan. »

La Convention des Nations Unies relative aux droits des personnes handicapées stipule, à l’article 27, que les pays ayant ratifié la Convention, comme le Canada, « garantissent le droit au travail des personnes handicapées et en  favorisent l’exercice. »  « Par conséquent, le CCD enjoint tous les partis fédéraux de présenter leurs plans visant à optimiser les possibilités d’emploi des personnes handicapées, a souligné John Rae, vice-président du CCD. »

Les personnes handicapées qui trouvent un emploi auront davantage tendance que les autres à occuper des emplois à temps partiel ou de courte durée ou un travail indépendant et de se retrouver dans l’économie parallèle, a poursuivi M. Rae. »

Toujours confrontées à de multiples obstacles, les femmes handicapées sont davantage défavorisées dans le marché du travail.  Ainsi, témoignant devant un Comité parlementaire, Yves Gingras, directeur principal Direction de la politique économique, Analyse du marché du travail, (RHDCC), a affirmé que
« le revenu moyen total des personnes handicapées est de 27 000 $ par rapport à presque 38 000 $ pour les personnes non handicapées. Les femmes handicapées gagnent encore moins, soit environ 22 000 $ par rapport à 31 000 $ pour les hommes handicapés.  »

 
Les Canadiennes et les Canadiens en situation de handicap veulent l’égalité en matière d’emploi.  C’est pourquoi le CCD a sans cesse recommandé aux partis fédéraux de s’engager à bonifier l’investissement dans les Ententes sur le marché du travail visant les personnes handicapées.  Par exemple, de nouvelles subventions pourraient être accordées aux jeunes handicapés (âgés de 18 à 30), pendant leur transition école-marché du travail, échanges y compris, doublées de mesures proactives comme les programmes de placements coopératifs, de travail d’été, d’emplois assistés et de maintien dans l’emploi.

-30-

Pour de plus amples informations contacter :

Tony Dolan, Président du CCD, tél: 902-626-1752 (cell).
John Rae, Second vice-président du CCD, tél: 416-941-1547.
James Hicks, Coordinateur national du CCD, tél: 343-291-1118.

Le CCD :  le CCD est une organisation nationale de personnes handicapées œuvrant pour un Canada accessible et inclusif.Council of Canadians with Disabilities (CCD)

Conseil des Canadiens avec déficiences (CCD)
926-294 avenue Portage
Winnipeg, Manitoba
R3C 0B9

Tél: 204-947-0303
AST: 204-943-4757
Courriel: ccd@ccdonline.ca  http://www.ccdonline.ca/fr/



 

 




Haut

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2017, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.