NEADS Logo - Home
Find us on: Facebook YouTube Twitter

Quick Question:
Will there be any fees that come with the use of special services at the post-secondary level?


Upcoming Events

More Events

Link of the day

More Links

Donate Now to support NEADS! We need your support!
Donations are tax deductible and you will receive a charitable tax receipt for 100% of your gift.

Donate Now Through CanadaHelps.org!

Media

Update on the National Educational Association of Disabled Students' (NEADS) Graduate Student Experience Project

(June 9, 2015 – Ottawa)

As the number of students with disabilities entering Canadian graduate schools continues to increase, faculty in graduate programs, disability service providers, and students, are having to develop new strategies to facilitate their success. There is a considerable need to better understand the overall experiences of disabled students in graduate studies, owing to the paucity of research on the experiences of this population.

The NEADS National Graduate Experience Taskforce was formed in response to these issues by the National Educational Association of Disabled Students (NEADS) in 2012. The Taskforce has the following goals:

-    To examine the experiences of, and barriers faced by, graduate students with disabilities across Canada;
-    To develop discussion papers outlining the current systemic issues for graduate students with disabilities;
-    To produce information which assists in the development of strategies that facilitate the success of students with disabilities in graduate programs;
-    To develop recommendations for the continued improvement of graduate experience for students with disabilities, which can be translated into policy at an institutional, provincial and/or national level.

The Taskforce is comprised of faculty from graduate programs in Canada, disability service providers, student financial aid administrators, graduate student services directors,  community service agencies, assistive technology specialists, legal experts and graduate students with disabilities. Additionally, graduate deans and university senior administrators act in an advisory capacity to the taskforce.

Participating organizations and post-secondary schools engaged in the NEADS Graduate Student Experience Taskforce include:

– National Educational Association of Disabled Students (sponsoring aegis)
– Council of Ontario Universities
– Higher Education Quality Council of Ontario
– Association of Universities and Colleges of Canada
– Canadian Association of Graduate Studies
– Canadian Association of College and University Student Services
– Canadian Association of Student Financial Aid Administrators
– Inter-university Disability Issues Association  
– University of Toronto
– York University
– Western University
– Guelph University
– University of New Brunswick
– Simon Fraser University

The work of the Taskforce consists of several phases. First, an online survey instrument was distributed to students with disabilities across Canada to profile the experiences of, and barriers faced by, graduate students with disabilities in master’s and doctoral programs. This survey explicitly focused on the application/interview process; disability-related accommodations and relationship with the disability service provider on campus; the student-supervisor relationship; academic integrity and intellectual property, including conferences and publications; and, collaborations and interactions with faculty and peers.
The survey results shaped a key informant interview protocol that will be applied to graduate students with disabilities. Canadian disability service providers, financial aid administrators, and graduate faculty constituencies were surveyed concurrently to obtain their perspectives on issues, barriers and accommodations for graduate students with disabilities. The Taskforce also undertook a detailed review of the legislative landscape in Canada, a comprehensive evaluation of the student experience literature, and a scan of relevant policies and best practices from across the globe.

The project’s first discussion paper, Defining a New Culture: Creative Examination of Essential Requirements in Academic Disciplines and Graduate Programs, is now available on the Canadian Association of Graduate Students’ website. Here is the full document in PDF format:

http://www.google.ca/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=1&ved=0CB4QFjAA&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.cags.ca%2Fdocuments%2Fpublications%2F3rdparty%2FDiscussion%2520paper%2520Essential%2520Requirements%2520FINAL%25202014-09-22.pdf&ei=S6F0VaqoOYrYsAXI-oG4Aw&usg=AFQjCNEpnkcsyM5cZGQvSMrKDW7f-71LgQ&sig2=kLBE5y2Q-DqBae0MTc8w2g

To date, members of the Taskforce, led by the Taskforce Chair, Dr. Mahadeo Sukhai, have presented at many regional, national and international conferences and meetings, including the Canadian Association of Graduate Studies (CAGS), the Society for Teaching and Learning in Higher Education (STLHE), the Higher Education Reform Conference 2014, the Canadian Association of Student Financial Aid Administrators (CASFAA), the Canadian Association of College and University Student Services (CACUSS), and at the Simon Fraser University Summer Institute. Most recently, Emily Duffet, NEADS Chair and Ainsley Latour, Director-At-Large presented the project’s findings and recommendation framework during the 2015 Canadian Society for the Study of Higher Education at the University of Ottawa in the Christine Nieder Memorial session.

This innovative and timely project will provide significant background for policy and practice changes that will enhance the experience of the growing numbers of graduate students with disabilities in Canadian universities. The final project report of the NEADS Graduate Student Experience Project  is expected to be released publicly in winter 2015/2016.

For more information about the work of the Taskforce, please contact the  Dr. Mahadeo A. Sukhai, Taskforce Chair at: m.sukhai@utoronto.ca

National Educational Association of Disabled Students (NEADS)
Rm. 426 Unicentre, Carleton University
Ottawa, Ontario, K1S 5B6
tel. (613) 380-8065, www.neads.ca


 




Top

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2018, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.

NEADS Logo - Accueil
Trouvez-nous sur : Facebook YouTube

QuestionQuestion:
Quelle sorte de financement est-ce que je peux obtenir du Programme canadien de prêts aux étudiants?


Événements prochains

Voir d'autres événements

Autre site d'intérèt


Advertisement



Média

Mise à jour concernant le projet sur l’expérience des étudiants des cycles supérieurs de l’Association nationale des étudiant(e)s handicapé(e)s au niveau postsecondaire (NEADS)

(9 juin 2015 – Ottawa)

Comme le nombre d’étudiants handicapés qui entrent aux cycles supérieurs des universités canadiennes continue d’augmenter, les professeurs des programmes d’études supérieures, les fournisseurs de services aux personnes handicapées et les étudiants doivent élaborer de nouvelles stratégies pour faciliter leur succès. Un besoin considérable d’information subsiste pour mieux comprendre les expériences globales des étudiants handicapés des cycles supérieurs, étant donné la rareté de la recherche sur les expériences de cette population.
En 2012, l’Association nationale des étudiant(e)s handicapé(e)s au niveau postsecondaire (NEADS) a créé le Groupe de travail sur l’expérience des étudiants des cycles supérieurs en vue de se pencher sur ces questions. Le Groupe de travail a les buts suivants :

-    examiner les expériences des étudiants handicapés des cycles supérieurs partout au Canada, ainsi que les obstacles auxquels ils font face;
-    rédiger des documents de travail exposant les problèmes systémiques actuels que connaissent les étudiants handicapés des cycles supérieurs;
-    produire de l’information qui aide à mettre au point des stratégies facilitant le succès des étudiants handicapés des cycles supérieurs;
-    élaborer, en vue de poursuivre l’amélioration de l’expérience des étudiants handicapés des cycles supérieurs, des recommandations qui peuvent être utilisées pour établir des politiques aux niveaux institutionnel, provincial et/ou national.

Le Groupe de travail est composé de professeurs de programmes d’études supérieures au Canada, de fournisseurs de services aux personnes handicapées, d’administrateurs de l’aide financière aux étudiants, de directeurs de services aux étudiants des cycles supérieurs, d’organismes de services communautaires, d’experts en technologies d’aide, de spécialistes juridiques et d’étudiants handicapés des cycles supérieurs. En outre, des doyens des études supérieures et des dirigeants universitaires exercent un rôle consultatif auprès du Groupe de travail.

Les organisations et établissements postsecondaires participant aux travaux du Groupe de travail de NEADS sur l’expérience des étudiants des cycles supérieurs comprennent :

– l’Association nationale des étudiant(e)s handicapé(e)s au niveau postsecondaire (organisme parrain);
– le Conseil des universités de l’Ontario;
– le Higher Education Quality Council of Ontario;
– l’Association des universités et collèges du Canada;
– l’Association canadienne pour les études supérieures;
– l’Association des services aux étudiants des universités et collèges du Canada;
– l’Association canadienne des responsables de l’aide financière aux étudiants;
– l’Inter-University Disability Issues Association;
– l’Université de Toronto;
– l’Université York;
– l’Université Western;
– l’Université de Guelph;
– l’Université du Nouveau-Brunswick;
– l’Université Simon Fraser.

Le Groupe de travail procède par étapes. Premièrement, il a distribué un questionnaire en ligne aux étudiants handicapés partout au Canada afin d’établir le profil des expériences des étudiants handicapés inscrits à des programmes de maîtrise et de doctorat, ainsi que des obstacles auxquels ils font face. Ce sondage portait explicitement sur le processus de demande d’inscription et d’entrevue; les mesures d’adaptation liées à la déficience et la relation avec le fournisseur de services pour étudiants handicapés sur le campus; la relation entre les étudiants et leur superviseur; l’intégrité universitaire et la propriété intellectuelle, y compris les conférences et les publications; ainsi que les collaborations et interactions avec les professeurs et les pairs.

Les résultats du sondage ont servi à établir un protocole d’entrevue auprès d’informateurs clés qui sera appliqué aux étudiants handicapés des cycles supérieurs. Des fournisseurs canadiens de services pour personnes handicapées, des administrateurs de l’aide financière et des groupes de professeurs des cycles supérieurs ont été interrogés concurremment pour obtenir leurs points de vue sur les questions, les obstacles et les mesures d’adaptation pour les étudiants handicapés des cycles supérieurs. Le Groupe de travail a aussi entrepris un examen détaillé du paysage législatif canadien, une évaluation exhaustive de la littérature sur l’expérience des étudiants et un recensement des politiques et des pratiques exemplaires pertinentes partout dans le monde.

Le premier document de travail issu du projet, intitulé Defining a New Culture: Creative Examination of Essential Requirements in Academic Disciplines and Graduate Programs, est maintenant disponible sur le site Web de l’Association canadienne pour les études supérieures. Le document intégral en format PDF, en anglais seulement pour l’instant, est disponible à l’adresse suivante :
http://www.google.ca/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=1&ved=0CB4QFjAA&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.cags.ca%2Fdocuments%2Fpublications%2F3rdparty%2FDiscussion%2520paper%2520Essential%2520Requirements%2520FINAL%25202014-09-22.pdf&ei=S6F0VaqoOYrYsAXI-oG4Aw&usg=AFQjCNEpnkcsyM5cZGQvSMrKDW7f-71LgQ&sig2=kLBE5y2Q-DqBae0MTc8w2g

Jusqu’à présent, les membres du Groupe de travail, sous la direction de leur président, le Dr Mahadeo Sukhai, ont fait des présentations à de nombreuses conférences et réunions régionales, nationales et internationales, y compris celles de l’Association canadienne pour les études supérieures (ACES), de la Société pour l’avancement de la pédagogie dans l’enseignement supérieur (SAPES), de l’Association canadienne des responsables de l’aide financière aux étudiants (ACRAFE) et de l’Association des services aux étudiants des universités et collèges du Canada (ASEUCC), ainsi qu’à la Higher Education Reform Conference 2014 et à l’atelier d’été de l’Université Simon Fraser. Plus récemment, Emily Duffet, présidente de NEADS, et Ainsley Latour, administratrice hors cadre, ont présenté les constatations du projet et le cadre de recommandations pendant la séance commémorative Christine Nieder qui a eu lieu lors de la conférence de 2015 de la Société canadienne pour l’étude de l’enseignement supérieur (SCÉES) à l’Université d’Ottawa.

Ce projet innovateur et opportun produira une quantité considérable d’informations contextuelles qui pourront servir à modifier les politiques et les pratiques et ainsi améliorer l’expérience du nombre croissant d’étudiants handicapés des cycles supérieurs inscrits dans les universités canadiennes. Le rapport final du projet de NEADS sur l’expérience des étudiants des cycles supérieurs devrait être publié au cours de l’hiver 2015-2016.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur le Groupe de travail et ses travaux, veuillez communiquer avec le président du Groupe de travail, Mahadeo A. Sukhai, Ph. D., à m.sukhai@utoronto.ca

Association nationale des étudiant(e)s handicapé(e)s au niveau postsecondaire (NEADS)
Pièce 426, Unicentre, Université Carleton
Ottawa (Ontario)  K1S 5B6
Tél. : 613-380-8065, www.neads.ca

 




Haut

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2017, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.