NEADS Logo - Home
Find us on: Facebook YouTube Twitter

Quick Question:
How do I find out if a group of students with disabilities exists on my campus?


Upcoming Events

More Events

Link of the day

More Links

Donate Now to support NEADS! We need your support!
Donations are tax deductible and you will receive a charitable tax receipt for 100% of your gift.

Donate Now Through CanadaHelps.org!

Media

NEADS National Student Awards and Holly Bartlett Memorial Award 2014 winners announced!

(Ottawa, February 11, 2015) - The National Educational Association of Disabled Students (NEADS), and our generous funding partners: Imperial, Scotiabank, Industrial Alliance Insurance and Financial Services and private donors, are pleased to announce the eight outstanding winners of the 2014 NEADS Students Awards Program and The Holly Bartlett Memorial Award. Five students will receive $3,000 and three recipients of the Holly Bartlett Award will receive $1,000 in support of their tuition and student fees.

The recipients of the awards are:

NEADS Student Awards Program

Jennifer Andrews, Bachelor of Business Administration, Okanagan College

Robyn Henderson, Masters of Social Work, Carleton University

Ainsley Latour, Masters of Science (Biology), Memorial University of Newfoundland

Lisa McEwen McGill, Graduate Certificate, Workplace Wellness and Health Promotion, Centennial College.

Maureen Pytlik, Bachelor of Music (Honours) & Bachelor of Mathematics (Honours), Carleton University

NEADS Holly Bartlett Memorial Award

Olga Savitska, Optometry, University of Waterloo

One student, McGill University

Garrett Everding, Computer Engineering, University of Waterloo

"Congratulations to the 2014 winners,” said Dr. Mahadeo Sukhai, NEADS Senior Advisor and Chair of the selection committee. "We received close to 300 applications for the 2014 competition. Choosing the winners was an extremely difficult process. The achievements and perseverance of all candidates were just incredible. The dedication and success of this year's winners  truly embodies  the spirit of two programs. we" wish" all very best in their and look forward to watching success future are grateful  our corporate supporters this scotiabank industrial alliance financial services generous private

"I applaud the winners of the 2014 awards. I am very excited that our association can help support these very deserving students in their education careers,” said Emily Duffett, Chair of NEADS. “The scholarship program is truly a great initiative that sees many deserving applicants each year. Thank you to our generous supporters for making it happen."

About the NEADS Student Awards:

The NEADS National Student Awards Program is offered to encourage full access to post-secondary education for persons with disabilities, who often have greater barriers to participation in higher education, as well as extra costs because of their disabilities. Students must currently be registered in and continuing at post-secondary institution and provide documented proof of registration as part of the application and on receipt of the award. The award is offered to outstanding applicants who meet the criteria of the program. The awards are paid directly to the post-secondary institution (in the students’ accounts) that the recipients are attending to defray the cost of tuition fees for post-secondary study.

About the NEADS Holly Bartlett Memorial Award:

The Holly Bartlett Memorial Award was established by the NEADS board of directors after the passing of Holly in 2010. Holly Bartlett served on the NEADS Board of Directors as the association’s Nova Scotia Director for a number of years. Holly's accomplishments, in a life that was way too short, were phenomenal. The Holly Bartlett Memorial Award is a tribute to Holly. The scholarship assists students with disabilities realize success in post-secondary education. This is the fifth year for the Award in Holly's memory and the first time we have been able to grant 3 awards instead of one per year that was offered in the first few years of the program.

-30-

For further information contact:


Frank Smith, National Coordinator
National Educational Association of Disabled Students (NEADS)
Rm. 426 Unicentre, Carleton University
Ottawa, Ontario, K1S 5B6
tel. (613) 380-8065 ext. 201
"Supporting access to post-secondary education and employment for students with disabilities"

 




Top

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2018, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.

NEADS Logo - Accueil
Trouvez-nous sur : Facebook YouTube

QuestionQuestion:
À quel bureau du gouvernement fédéral dois-je m’adresser pour obtenir de l’information sur les programmes et services à l’intention des personnes handicapées?


Événements prochains

Voir d'autres événements

Autre site d'intérèt


Advertisement



Média

Annonce des lauréats des bourses d’études nationales et de la bourse d’études commémorative Holly Bartlett de NEADS pour 2014

(Ottawa, 11 février 2015) — L’Association nationale des étudiant(e)s handicapé(e)s au niveau postsecondaire (NEADS) et ses généreuses sociétés commanditaires, soit l’Impériale, la Banque Scotia et l’Industrielle Alliance, Assurance et Services financiers, ainsi que des donateurs privés ont le plaisir d’annoncer les noms des huit candidats exceptionnels retenus pour les bourses offertes aux étudiants dans le cadre du Programme national de bourses d’études de NEADS et de la bourse commémorative Holly Bartlett pour 2014. Cinq boursiers recevront chacun 3 000 $ et trois lauréats de la bourse Holly Bartlett obtiendront 1 000 $ pour les aider à payer leurs frais de scolarité et d’étudiants.

Les boursiers sont :

Programme national de bourses d’études de NEADS —

Jennifer Andrews, baccalauréat en administration des affaires, Collège Okanagan

Robyn Henderson, maîtrise en travail social, Université Carleton

Ainsley Latour, maîtrise en sciences (biologie), Université Memorial de Terre-Neuve

Lisa McEwen McGill, certificat d’études supérieures en promotion du bien-être et de la santé en milieu de travail, Collège Centennial

Maureen Pytlik, baccalauréat en musique (avec spécialisation) et baccalauréat en mathématiques (avec spécialisation), Université Carleton

Bourse commémorative Holly Bartlett de NEADS —

Olga Savitska, optométrie, Université de Waterloo

Une étudiante, baccalauréat en sciences (neuroscience), Université McGill

Garrett Everding, génie informatique, Université de Waterloo

« Félicitations aux gagnants des prix de 2014 », a dit M. Mahadeo Sukhai, D. Ph., consultant principal de NEADS et président du Comité de sélection. « Nous avons reçu près de 300 excellentes candidatures dans le cadre du concours de cette année. La sélection des gagnants a été extrêmement difficile, car les réalisations et la persévérance de tous les candidats étaient tout à fait incroyables. La détermination et le succès des boursiers de cette année reflètent vraiment l’esprit des deux programmes. Nous leur souhaitons la meilleure des chances dans leurs études et nous espérons qu’ils connaîtront beaucoup de succès à l’avenir. Nous remercions nos sociétés commanditaires du programme de cette année : Impériale, la Banque Scotia et l’Industrielle Alliance, Assurance et Services financiers, ainsi que nos généreux donateurs privés. »

« Je félicite les boursiers de 2014. Je suis très heureuse que notre association puisse aider ces étudiants très méritants dans leurs études, a affirmé Emily Duffett, présidente du Conseil d’administration de NEADS. Le programme de bourses est vraiment une excellente initiative à laquelle de nombreux candidats méritants participent chaque année. Merci à nos généreux commanditaires qui nous permettent d’offrir ces bourses. »

À propos des bourses d’études de NEADS :

Le Programme national de bourses d’études de l’Association nationale des étudiant(e)s handicapé(e)s au niveau postsecondaire (NEADS) est offert dans le but de favoriser le plein accès aux études postsecondaires pour les personnes handicapées, qui doivent souvent faire face à des obstacles supplémentaires en plus d’avoir à assumer des coûts additionnels pour pouvoir poursuivre leurs études. Les étudiants doivent être inscrits dans un établissement postsecondaire et être en mesure de fournir une preuve d’inscription en même temps que leur demande ainsi qu’au moment où ils reçoivent leur bourse. Les bourses sont décernées à des candidats exceptionnels qui satisfont aux critères établis pour le programme. Les sommes sont versées directement aux établissements d’enseignement des boursiers (dans le compte des boursiers) et servent à régler les frais de scolarité exigés pour les études postsecondaires.

À propos de la bourse d’études commémorative Holly Bartlett :

Cette bourse a été créée par le Conseil d’administration de NEADS après le décès de Holly en 2010. Holly Bartlett a été la représentante de la Nouvelle-Écosse au sein du Conseil d’administration de NEADS pendant plusieurs années. Holly a réalisé des choses phénoménales pendant sa vie, qui a été bien trop courte. La bourse d’études Holly Bartlett est un moyen de lui rendre hommage. La bourse aide des étudiants handicapés à connaître du succès dans leurs études postsecondaires. Cette année est la cinquième fois que cette bourse à la mémoire de Holly a été accordée et c’est la première fois que nous avons pu en offrir trois au lieu d’une par année comme ce fut le cas pendant les premières années du programme.

-30 —

Pour plus d’information, veuillez communiquer avec :


Frank Smith, coordonnateur national
Association nationale des étudiant(e)s handicapé(e)s au niveau postsecondaire (NEADS)
Pièce 426, Unicentre, Université Carleton
Ottawa (Ontario) K1S 5B6
Tél. : 613-380-8065, poste 201
« Nous encourageons l’accès à l’enseignement postsecondaire et au marché du travail pour les étudiants et les diplômés handicapés »

 




Haut

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2017, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.