NEADS Logo - Home
Find us on: Facebook YouTube

Quick Question:
What accommodations are usually in place for students with disabilities attending college and university?

Upcoming Events

More Events

Link of the day

More Links

Donate Now to support NEADS! We need your support!
Donations are tax deductible and you will receive a charitable tax receipt for 100% of your gift.

Donate Now Through!


New Guidelines on Accommodating Students With Disabilities in Post-Secondary in New Brunswick

16 October 2014
FREDERICTON (GNB) – The New Brunswick Human Rights Commission has published a guideline on accommodating students with disabilities in post-secondary institutions.

“This guideline aims to help universities and colleges meet their legal duty to accommodate students with physical or mental disabilities,” said Randy Dickinson, chair of the commission. “We hope that it will help reduce the need for students to file a human rights complaint about a failure to accommodate.”

While the New Brunswick Human Rights Act prohibits discrimination based on 14 characteristics, most complaints filed with the commission concern mental or physical disabilities, mainly in relation to employment.

An increasing number of the complaints involve the duty to accommodate. Where uniform practices, policies and facilities have a discriminatory effect on students based on any of the 14 characteristics, educational institutions have a duty to accommodate the students so as to avoid the discriminatory effect. Examples of accommodation include wheelchair accessible washrooms, extra time to complete an exam, and not penalizing a student for medical absences due to a disability.

The duty to accommodate only requires reasonable accommodation. Educational institutions need not lower academic standards or undergo undue hardship, such as excessive costs or a serious risk to health and safety. Nevertheless, the legal requirements are stringent.

The guideline explains that accommodation must be personalized, since each student is unique, and must be timely and respectful of the student’s dignity and privacy. The guideline sets out the responsibilities of both students and educators.

“New Brunswick has been a leader in improving opportunities for students with disabilities in schools,” said Dickinson. “Now, we need to ensure that, as these students graduate, post-secondary institutions are ready to allow them to pursue their education and make the most of the time and effort that the students and the province have invested in their education.”

The new guideline supplements existing guidelines that apply to accommodation of disabilities in the workplace and in schools from kindergarten to Grade 12.

The Human Rights Act prohibits discrimination and harassment, including bullying, based on 14 characteristics: race, colour, national origin, place of origin, ancestry, religion, age, marital status, sex (including pregnancy and gender identity), sexual orientation, physical or mental disability, social condition (source of income, level of education and occupation) and political belief or activity. The act applies to public and private sector employment, housing, public services, publicity and certain associations, except when they fall under federal jurisdiction.

The New Brunswick Human Rights Commission is the government agency that promotes equality and investigates and conciliates complaints of discrimination and harassment filed under the Human Rights Act.


  • Guideline on Accommodating Students in Post-Secondary Institutions

Media Contact(s)

Francis Young, New Brunswick Human Rights Commission, 1-888-471-2233.


All contents copyright , 1999-2018, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.

NEADS Logo - Accueil
Trouvez-nous sur : Facebook YouTube

QuestionQuestion:
À qui dois-je m’adresser pour obtenir de l’information sur l’aide financière disponible pour payer mes études postsecondaires?


Événements prochains

Voir d'autres événements

Autre site d'intérèt


Advertisement



Média

Nouvelle ligne directrice sur les mesures d’adaptation pour les étudiants ayant une incapacité dans les établissements d’enseignement postsecondaire Nouveau-Brunswick

Nouvelle ligne directrice sur les mesures d’adaptation pour les étudiants ayant une incapacité dans les établissements d’enseignement postsecondaire
16 octobre 2014
 
Renseignements pour les médias

FREDERICTON (GNB) – La Commission des droits de la personne du Nouveau-Brunswick a fait paraître une ligne directrice sur les mesures d’adaptation pour les étudiants ayant une incapacité dans les établissements d’enseignement postsecondaire.

« Cette ligne directrice a pour objectif d’aider les universités et les collèges à s’acquitter de leur obligation légale de répondre aux besoins des étudiants ayant un handicap physique ou mental », a déclaré le président de la commission, Randy Dickinson. « Nous espérons qu’elle évitera aux étudiants d’avoir à déposer des plaintes pour atteinte aux droits de la personne en raison d’un manquement des établissements à leurs obligations. »

Bien que la Loi sur les droits de la personne du Nouveau-Brunswick interdise la discrimination relative à 14 caractéristiques, la plupart des plaintes déposées auprès de la commission sont liées aux handicaps mental ou physique en milieu de travail, tout particulièrement.

Un nombre croissant de plaintes portent sur la responsabilité de prendre des mesures d’adaptation. Lorsque les pratiques normalisées, les politiques et les lieux sont à l’origine d’un effet discriminatoire relativement à l’une des 14 caractéristiques chez les étudiants, les établissements d’enseignement ont l’obligation de répondre aux besoins des étudiants de manière à remédier à l’effet discriminatoire. Les mesures d’adaptation comprennent, entre autres, des toilettes accessibles en fauteuil roulant, du temps supplémentaire pour terminer un examen, et le fait de ne pas pénaliser un étudiant qui s’absente pour des raisons médicales imputables à un handicap.

L’obligation d’adaptation n’exige que des mesures raisonnables. Les établissements d’enseignement n’ont pas à réduire les exigences scolaires ou à subir des contraintes excessives, comme des coûts excessifs ou des risques graves pour la santé et la sécurité. Les exigences juridiques sont néanmoins strictes.

La ligne directrice explique que l’adaptation doit être individualisée, puisque chaque étudiant est unique, et qu’elle doit s’effectuer en temps opportun et respecter la dignité et la vie privée de l’étudiant. La ligne directrice établit à la fois les responsabilités des étudiants et des éducateurs.

« Le Nouveau-Brunswick a été un chef de file pour ce qui est d’améliorer les possibilités des élèves ayant des incapacités dans les écoles, a affirmé M. Dickinson. Maintenant, nous devons nous assurer que les établissements d’enseignement postsecondaire seront prêts à accueillir ces élèves sur le point d’obtenir leurs diplômes, et qu’ils seront en mesure de leur permettre de poursuivre leurs études et de profiter pleinement du temps et des efforts investis dans leur éducation. »

La nouvelle ligne directrice complète les directives existantes relatives aux mesures d’adaptation à l’intention des personnes handicapées au travail et dans les écoles, de la maternelle à la 12e année.

La Loi sur les droits de la personne interdit la discrimination, le harcèlement et l’intimidation relative aux 14 caractéristiques suivantes : la race, la couleur, l’origine nationale, le lieu d’origine, l’ascendance, la religion, l’âge, l’état matrimonial, le sexe (y compris la grossesse et l’identité de genre), l’orientation sexuelle, l’incapacité physique ou mentale, la condition sociale (la source de revenu, le niveau de scolarité et l’emploi) ainsi que les convictions ou l’activité politique. La loi s’applique aux emplois dans les secteurs public et privé, au logement, aux services publics, à la publicité et à certaines associations, sauf lorsqu’elles relèvent de l’autorité fédérale.

La Commission des droits de la personne du Nouveau-Brunswick est l’organisme gouvernemental chargé de la promotion de l’égalité, qui enquête et essaie de résoudre les plaintes relatives à la discrimination et au harcèlement déposées en vertu de la Loi sur les droits de la personne.

LIEN :

Ligne directrice sur l’accomodement des étudiants ayant une incapacité dans les établissements d’enseignement postsecondaire

 http://www2.gnb.ca/content/gnb/fr/nouvelles/communique.2014.10.1193.html

Renseignements pour les médias

Francis Young, Commission des droits de la personne du Nouveau-Brunswick, 1-888-471-2233.




Haut

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2017, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.