NEADS Logo - Home
Find us on: Facebook YouTube

Quick Question:
Is there a national group that represents students with disabilities?


Upcoming Events

More Events

Link of the day

More Links

Donate Now to support NEADS! We need your support!
Donations are tax deductible and you will receive a charitable tax receipt for 100% of your gift.

Donate Now Through CanadaHelps.org!

Media

Enhancing Accessibility in Post-Secondary Education Institutions: A Guide for Disability Service Providers

Ottawa, March 29, 2012 -  The association is proud to announce the availability of a new, comprehensive guide on disability service provision and accommodations at colleges and universities in Canada. This Guide is now available on the NEADS website. It is the product of research conducted by the Government of Canada’s Office for Disability Issues and is a resource designed with direct input from Canadian campus disability service providers and student groups.

“The Enhancing Accessibility Guide is a very well-written and comprehensive document,” said Frank Smith, NEADS’ National Coordinator. “It is a resource that will be used extensively by disability service providers on college and university campuses, but it is also very valuable for students with disabilities as it is a model for optimal services and accommodations.”

Access to post-secondary education (PSE) is an integral component of achieving income security, yet people with disabilities are less likely to attend and complete PSE than those without disabilities. Students with disabilities have the potential to be successful in PSE and the support they receive from their institution can play a large role in this success.

NEADS partnered with the Government of Canada to ensure that the Guide was thoroughly reviewed by university and college disability service providers and student disability groups. NEADS then developed the Guide into a web-based tool, the purpose of which is to build awareness of disability issues within Canadian PSE institutions and to share best practices in accessibility and accommodation practices and procedures.

“The Government of Canada is committed to creating opportunities and ensuring the full participation of all people with disabilities, including students, in society,” said the Honourable Diane Finley, Minister of Human Resources and Skills Development. “We are proud to work with organizations such as NEADS, which has done important work in helping students with disabilities gain access to post-secondary education.”

The Guide contains best practice examples of accessibility policies and programs as well as a variety of resources on topics which include Financial Support, Mental Health, Sports and Recreation, Transition to Employment, and many others.

We hope all people, whether service provider, student, or staff, will find this tool useful. You can locate the guide on our website in English (http://www.neads.ca/en/norc/eag/) and French (http://www.neads.ca/fr/norc/eag/

For more information, please contact the NEADS office: National Educational Association of Disabled Students (NEADS), Rm. 426 Unicentre, Carleton University, Ottawa, Ontario, K1S 5B6, tel. (613) 380-8065.

 


 




Top

All contents copyright , 1999-2018, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.

NEADS Logo - Accueil
Trouvez-nous sur : Facebook YouTube

QuestionQuestion:
À qui dois-je m’adresser pour obtenir de l’information sur l’aide financière disponible pour payer mes études postsecondaires?


Événements prochains

Voir d'autres événements

Autre site d'intérèt


Advertisement



Média

Améliorer l’accessibilité dans les établissements d’enseignement postsecondaire : Guide à l’intention des fournisseurs de services aux personnes handicapées

Ottawa, 29 Mars 2012 - L’Association est fière d’annoncer le lancement d’un nouveau guide complet sur la prestation de services aux personnes handicapées dans les collèges et universités du Canada et les mesures d’adaptation qui leur sont offertes. Ce guide est maintenant disponible sur le site Web de NEADS. Cette ressource est le fruit de la recherche effectuée par le Bureau de la condition des personnes handicapées (BCPH) du gouvernement du Canada et a été conçue avec l’apport direct de fournisseurs de services aux personnes handicapées et de groupes d’étudiants handicapés dans les établissements d’enseignement postsecondaire canadiens.

«Le Guide à l’intention des fournisseurs de services aux personnes handicapées est un document complet et très bien rédigé», a déclaré Frank Smith, Coordonnateur national de NEADS.  « Il s’agit d’une ressource qui sera largement utilisée par les fournisseurs de services aux personnes handicapées sur les campus des collèges et université.  De plus, cette ressource sera très utile pour des étudiants handicapés puisque c’est un modèle optimal de service et de mesures d’adaptation.»

L’accès à l’éducation postsecondaire est une condition essentielle à la sécurité du revenu. Or, les personnes handicapées sont moins susceptibles d’entreprendre et de terminer des études postsecondaires (EPS) que les personnes non handicapées. Pourtant, les étudiants handicapés ont le potentiel nécessaire pour réussir des EPS et le soutien qu’ils reçoivent de l’établissement d’enseignement peut jouer un rôle déterminant à cet égard.
 
NEADS a collaboré avec le gouvernement du Canada pour s’assurer que le guide serait entièrement révisé par des fournisseurs de services aux personnes handicapées et des groupes d’étudiants handicapés dans des universités et collèges canadiens. NEADS a ensuite transformé le guide en outil à diffuser sur le Web dont le but est de mieux faire connaître les questions relatives à la condition des personnes handicapées dans les établissements d’enseignement postsecondaire canadiens ainsi que les pratiques exemplaires en matière d’accessibilité et des pratiques et procédures liées aux mesures d’adaptation.

«Le gouvernement du Canada s’est engagé à créer des opportunités et d’assurer la pleine participation de toutes les personnes handicapées, y compris les étudiants, dans notre société », a déclaré l’honorable Diane Finley, Ministre des Ressources humaines et du Développement des compétences. « Nous sommes fiers de travailler avec des organisations telles que NEADS qui a fait un travail important pour aider les étudiants handicapés à accéder à des études postsecondaires ».
Le Guide présente des exemples de pratiques exemplaires qu’on trouve dans les politiques et programmes visant à accroître l’accessibilité, ainsi que diverses ressources sur l’aide financière, la santé mentale, les activités sportives et récréatives, la transition entre études et marché du travail et plusieurs autres sujets. 

Nous espérons que toutes les parties intéressées, aussi bien les fournisseurs de services que les étudiants et les employés, trouveront cette ressource utile. Vous pouvez trouver le Guide sur notre site Web en français (http://www.neads.ca/fr/norc/eag/) et en anglais (http://www.neads.ca/en/norc/eag/).

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, veuillez joindre le bureau de NEADS : L'Association nationale des étudiant(e)s handicapé(e)s au niveau postsecondaire (NEADS), bureau 426, Unicentre, Université Carleton, Ottawa (Ontario) K1S 5B6, tél. (613) 380-8065.

 


 




Haut

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2017, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.