NEADS Logo - Home
Find us on: Facebook YouTube Twitter

Quick Question:
Is there a national general post-secondary students association? Does it do any disability-related advocacy work?


Upcoming Events

More Events

Link of the day

More Links

Donate Now to support NEADS! We need your support!
Donations are tax deductible and you will receive a charitable tax receipt for 100% of your gift.

Donate Now Through CanadaHelps.org!

Media

Conservative Plan for 2014 Takes Action on Employment for Persons with Disabilities

For immediate release - February 14, 2014 -

With Action Plan 2014, the Conservative Government continued to address the employment barriers of people with disabilities, particularly people with developmental disabilities – a long overlooked pool of potential workers.  Significant is the fact that the Conservative Government will be providing $15 million over three years to the Canadian Association for Community Living (CACL) for their Ready, Willing and Able initiative, an important new jobs strategy. 

"I applaud both the Government of Canada and CACL on this initiative which will see more people with developmental disabilities join the ranks of the employed, which is where they should be.  Increasing the diversity of Canada's workforce will benefit both employers and employees through the addition of new talents," stated Tony Dolan, Chairperson of the Council of Canadians with Disabilities (CCD).  In addition, $11.4 million over four years will be invested in vocational training for people with Autism Spectrum Disorder.  "Job seekers with disabilities were one of the winners in yesterday's budget and this win is long overdue.  CCD commends Finance Minister Flaherty for committing funding to make employment more accessible to and inclusive of people with developmental disabilities."

CCD also commends the Government of Canada for its ongoing work to make the Registered Disability Savings Plan (RDSP) accessible and inclusive.  For example, with this Budget, the Government announced its intentions to work with banks on low cost bank accounts for beneficiaries of the RDSP.  CCD will be watching to see how government and financial institutions remove other barriers in the RDSP.

The Budget also delivered a tax break for Canadians with disabilities.  There will be a GST/HST exemption on training that helps an individual cope with his or her disability.

These are important steps forward on the journey toward a fully accessible and inclusive Canada.  CCD commends the Government of Canada for progress to date, and looks forward to working in partnership with the Government of Canada on those barriers, which are very well known in the disability community - poverty, inaccessibility, and lack of disability-related supports.


-30-

For More Information Contact:

Laurie Beachell, CCD National Coordinator

Tel: 204-947-0303

Tony Dolan, CCD Chairperson

Tel. 902-569-2817

Council of Canadians with Disabilities (CCD)
Conseil des Canadiens avec déficiences (CCD)
926-294 Portage Avenue
Winnipeg, Manitoba
R3C 0B9
204-947-0303
TTY/ATS: 204-943-4757
ccd@ccdonline.ca
http://www.ccdonline.ca/

 

 




Top

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2018, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.

NEADS Logo - Accueil
Trouvez-nous sur : Facebook YouTube

QuestionQuestion:
À quel bureau du gouvernement fédéral dois-je m’adresser pour obtenir de l’information sur les programmes et services à l’intention des personnes handicapées?


Événements prochains

Voir d'autres événements

Autre site d'intérèt


Advertisement



Média

Le plan conservateur 2014 s'attache à l'emploi des personnes handicapées

Pour distribution immediate -12 février 2014 -

Avec son plan d’action 2014, le gouvernement conservateur continue à s’attaquer aux obstacles à l’emploi des personnes handicapées, notamment des personnes avec des troubles du développement -  creuset d’employés si longtemps négligé.  Ce qui est particulièrement important,  c’est que le gouvernement fédéral  versera 15 millions  sur trois ans pour jumeler les personnes atteintes de troubles de développement et les emplois par l’entremise de l’initiative Prêt, Désireux et Capable  de l’Association canadienne pour l’intégration communautaire (ACIC).

« Je félicite le gouvernement du Canada et l’ACIC pour cette initiative qui permettra à toute une nouvelle cohorte de personnes ayant des troubles de développement, de rejoindre les rangs des travailleurs, où elles auraient déjà dû se trouver d’ailleurs. Fertiliser la diversité de la force active par l’adjonction de ces nouveaux talents  ne pourra qu’avantager les  employeurs et les employés, a déclaré Tony Dolan, président du Conseil des Canadiens avec déficiences (CCD). »   De plus,  11,4 millions de dollars seront versés sur quatre ans pour la formation professionnelle des personnes atteintes de troubles du spectre autistique. « Les demandeurs d’emploi en situation de handicap sont parmi les gagnants du budget présenté hier.  Et c’est une victoire longuement méritée.   Le CCD applaudit le ministre Jim Flaherty de s’être financièrement engagé à rendre l’emploi des personnes avec des troubles de développement, beaucoup plus accessible et inclusif, a-t-il ajouté. »

Le CCD félicite en  outre le gouvernement du Canada de ses efforts soutenus pour améliorer le Régime enregistré d’épargne-invalidité (REEI) afin de le rendre plus accessible et inclusif.  Ainsi,  le gouvernement a annoncé son intention de collaborer avec les institutions financières afin d’élargir  les services bancaires à faible coût frais pour les bénéficiaires des REEI.  Le CCD surveillera l’application de cette mesure, pour voir notamment comment ces partenaires élimineront  les autres obstacles prévalant dans le REEI.
Le budget fédéral prévoit aussi un allègement fiscal pour les Canadiennes et les Canadiens en situation de handicap.  Il s’agit d’une exemption de la TPS/TVH applicable à  la formation  afin d’aider les particuliers à composer avec les effets de leurs  limitations fonctionnelles.

Ce sont d’importantes étapes sur le chemin de la pleine accessibilité et de la totale  inclusion du Canada.  Le CCD félicite le gouvernement du Canada pour les  avancées réalisées à ce jour et il  se réjouit de leur partenariat pour l’élimination des obstacles bien connus par la collectivité des personnes handicapées – la pauvreté, l’inaccessibilité et le manque de mesures de soutien liées aux limitations fonctionnelles.
 

-30-
 

Pour de plus amples renseignements :
Laurie Beachell, Coordonnateur national du CCD, tél: 204-947-0303
Tony Dolan, Président du CCD, tél : 902-569-2817

Council of Canadians with Disabilities (CCD)
Conseil des Canadiens avec déficiences (CCD)
926-294 Portage Avenue
Winnipeg, Manitoba
R3C 0B9
204-947-0303
TTY/ATS: 204-943-4757
ccd@ccdonline.ca
http://www.ccdonline.ca/




Haut

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2017, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.