NEADS Logo - Home
Find us on: Facebook YouTube

Quick Question:
How do I find out if a group of students with disabilities exists on my campus?


Upcoming Events

More Events

Link of the day

More Links

Donate Now to support NEADS! We need your support!
Donations are tax deductible and you will receive a charitable tax receipt for 100% of your gift.

Donate Now Through CanadaHelps.org!

Media

The NEADS Graduate Student Experience Project

As the number of students with disabilities entering graduate school continues to increase, disability service providers, graduate departments, and universities as a whole are having to develop new strategies to facilitate their success. Currently, there is a critical lack of research and information in this area, as little significant research on this population has been undertaken within Canada or the United States, and demographic data are significantly lacking. There is a considerable need to better understand the overall experiences of disabled students in graduate studies.

The National Graduate Student Experience Taskforce was formed in response to these issues by the National Educational Association of Disabled Students (NEADS) in 2012. The Taskforce has the following goals:

·         To examine the experiences of, and barriers faced by, graduate students with disabilities across Canada;

·         To develop a discussion paper outlining the current systemic issues for graduate students with disabilities;

·         To produce information to develop strategies to facilitate the success of students with disabilities in graduate programs;

·         To develop recommendations for the continued improvement of graduate experience for students with disabilities, which can be translated into policy at an institutional, provincial and/or national level.

The Taskforce is comprised of graduate students with disabilities, disability service providers, student financial aid administrators, graduate student services directors, faculty, community service agencies, assistive technology specialists, and legal experts. Graduate deans and university senior administrators act in an advisory capacity to the taskforce.

The work of the Taskforce consists of several phases. First, an online survey instrument is being distributed to students across Canada  to profile the experiences of, and barriers faced by, graduate students with disabilities in master’s and doctoral programs. This survey instrument  explicitly focuses on the application/interview process; disability-related accommodations and relationship with the disability service provider on campus; the student-supervisor relationship; academic integrity and intellectual property, including conferences and publications; and, collaborations and interactions with faculty and peers. The survey results will shape a key informant interview protocol that will be applied to graduate students with disabilities. The Canadian disability service provider, financial aid administrators, and graduate faculty constituencies will  be surveyed concurrently to obtain their perspectives on issues, barriers and accommodations for graduate students with disabilities. The Taskforce is also undertaking a detailed review of the legislative landscape in Canada, a comprehensive evaluation of the student experience literature, as well as a scan of relevant policies and best practices from across the globe.

To date, members of the Taskforce have presented at several relevant conferences in Canada, including the Canadian Association of Student Financial Aid Administrators (CASFAA) and the Canadian Association of College and University Student Services (CACUSS), as well as at the Simon Fraser University Summer Institute. The NEADS Committee that oversees the work of the taskforce took part in the 2nd Annual INSPIRE Virtual Symposium, presenting the most relevant aspects of the project. Our outreach efforts have fostered several further collaborative opportunities with other organizations.

This innovative and timely research project will provide significant background for policy and practice changes that will enhance the experience of the growing numbers of graduate students with disabilities in Canadian universities and the taskforce is an integral part of that goal.

For more information about the work of the Taskforce, please contact the Taskforce Chair, Dr. Mahadeo A. Sukhai, at mahadeo.sukhai@neads.ca.

National Educational Association of Disabled Students

Rm. 426 Unicentre, 1125 Colonel By Drive,  Carleton University

Ottawa, Ontario, K1S 5B6 Canada

Telephone: 613-380-8065

Toll-Free: 1-877-670-1256

Fax: 613-369-4391

E-mail: info@neads.ca

 

 

 

 

 




Top

All contents copyright , 1999-2018, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.

NEADS Logo - Accueil
Trouvez-nous sur : Facebook YouTube

QuestionQuestion:
À quel bureau du gouvernement fédéral dois-je m’adresser pour obtenir de l’information sur les programmes et services à l’intention des personnes handicapées?


Événements prochains

Voir d'autres événements

Autre site d'intérèt


Advertisement



Média

Le projet de NEADS sur l'expérience des étudiants aux cycles supérieurs

Comme le nombre d’étudiant(e)s handicapé(e)s qui s’inscrivent à des programmes d’études supérieures continue d’augmenter, les fournisseurs de services aux étudiant(e)s handicapé(e)s, les départements d’études supérieures et les universités dans leur ensemble doivent mettre au point de nouvelles stratégies pour favoriser leur succès. À l’heure actuelle, on manque cruellement de recherche et d’information dans ce domaine puisque peu d’études importantes sur cette population ont été entreprises au Canada ou aux États-Unis et qu’il existe peu de données démographiques pertinentes. Le besoin de mieux comprendre l’expérience générale des  étudiant(e)s handicapé(e)s faisant des études supérieures est considérable.

Le Groupe de travail national sur l’expérience des étudiants aux cycles supérieurs a été créé en 2012 par L’Association nationale des étudiant(e)s handicapé(e)s au niveau postsecondaire (NEADS) examiner ces questions. Le Groupe avait les buts suivants :

•    Étudier les expériences vécues par les étudiant(e)s aux cycles supérieurs ayant un handicap partout au Canada, ainsi que les obstacles auxquels ils doivent faire face;
•    Rédiger des documents de travail sur les préoccupations des étudiant(e)s aux cycles supérieurs ayant un handicap;
•    Compiler des renseignements afin d’établir des stratégies pour améliorer le degré de succès des étudiant(e)s aux cycles supérieurs ayant un handicap;
•    Formuler des recommandations pour une amélioration continue de l’expérience des étudiant(e)s aux cycles supérieurs ayant un handicap, ce qui peut ensuite devenir une politique à l’échelle provinciale ou nationale.   

Le Groupe de travail est composé d’étudiant(e)s aux cycles supérieurs ayant une déficience, de fournisseurs de services aux personnes handicapées, de responsables de l’aide financière aux étudiants, de directeurs de services aux étudiant(e)s des cycles supérieurs, de professeurs, de représentants d’organismes de services communautaires, de spécialistes des technologies adaptées et de légistes. Des doyens d’écoles d’études supérieures et des hauts dirigeants d’universités jouent un rôle consultatif auprès du Groupe.

Le travail du Groupe comprend plusieurs étapes. Premièrement, un questionnaire de sondage en ligne a été mis à la disposition des étudiant(e)s partout au Canada afin de recueillir de l’information sur les expériences vécues et les obstacles rencontrés par des étudiant(e)s ayant une déficience inscrits à des programmes de maîtrise et de doctorat. Le questionnaire porte explicitement sur le processus de demande/d’entrevue; les adaptations liées à la déficience et la relation avec le fournisseur de services aux personnes handicapées sur le campus; la relation entre l’étudiant(e) et son superviseur; l’intégrité universitaire et la propriété intellectuelle, ce qui inclut les conférences et les publications; et les collaborations et interactions avec les professeurs et les pairs. Les résultats du sondage serviront à établir un protocole pour des entretiens avec des informateurs clés qui sera utilisé pour des entrevues avec des étudiant(e)s aux cycles supérieurs ayant un handicap. En parallèle, on fera un sondage auprès des fournisseurs de services aux étudiant(e)s handicapé(e)s, des responsables de l’aide financière aux étudiants et des professeurs d’écoles d’études supérieures pour recueillir leurs avis concernant les problèmes et les obstacles auxquels font face les étudiant(e)s handicapé(e)s des cycles supérieurs et les mesures d’adaptation à leur intention. Le Groupe de travail a aussi entrepris un examen détaillé des lois et règlements au Canada, une étude exhaustive de la littérature sur l’expérience des étudiants et une revue des politiques et pratiques exemplaires du monde entier.
 
Jusqu’à présent, des membres du Groupe de travail ont fait des exposés à plusieurs conférences pertinentes au Canada, y compris celles de l’Association canadienne des responsables de l’aide financière aux étudiants (ACRAFE) et de l’Association des services aux étudiants des universités et collèges du Canada (ASEUCC), ainsi qu’à l’atelier d’été de l’Université Simon Fraser. Le comité de NEADS qui supervise le travail du Groupe a participé au 2e symposium virtuel annuel INSPIRE en présentant les aspects les plus pertinents du projet. Nos efforts pour établir des contacts avec diverses organisations ont donné lieu à d’autres occasions de collaboration.

Ce projet de recherche innovateur et opportun produira une quantité considérable d’information appuyant des changements des politiques et pratiques qui amélioreront l’expérience du nombre croissant d’étudiant(e)s ayant une déficience qui font des études supérieures dans les universités et collèges canadiens, et le Groupe de travail aura largement contribué à atteindre ce but.

Pour plus d’information sur le travail du Groupe, veuillez communiquer avec son président, Mahadeo A. Sukhai, D. Ph., à mahadeo.sukhai@neads.ca.

 




Haut

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2017, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.