NEADS Logo - Home
Find us on: Facebook YouTube

Quick Question:
What funding can I get from the Canada Student Loans Program?


Upcoming Events

More Events

Link of the day

More Links

Donate Now to support NEADS! We need your support!
Donations are tax deductible and you will receive a charitable tax receipt for 100% of your gift.

Donate Now Through CanadaHelps.org!

Media

NEADS receives funding for science and technology project

Ottawa - January 29, 2008: The National Educational Association of Disabled Students (NEADS) is proud to announce a new two-year initiative, developed through a funding partnership with the Imperial Oil Foundation. “Enhancing Opportunities for Post-Secondary Students and Graduates with Disabilities in Science and Technology Related Fields” will launch in April, 2008 and conclude in March, 2010. NEADS will receive $120,000 from the Foundation for the project.

While research has been conducted on factors affecting the inclusion of the general student population in science and technology-related programs, very little work has been done to highlight the issues and challenges faced by students and employees with disabilities within this sector. Furthermore, the identification of role models or success stories in science and technology is not encouraged – every student and educator, or every employer and employee, facing these issues may well believe that they are the first, ever, to do so.

NEADS is in a unique position to remove these barriers, and address issues specific to persons with disabilities in science and technology, by leveraging our extensive network of college and university service providers, and students and recent graduates with disabilities. It is not our goal to “re-invent the wheel” and re-tread research that has already been conducted. Instead, with a specific focus on students and employees with disabilities in the science and technology sector, and with the establishment of partnerships – including organizations who are already conducting science and technology outreach – we hope to contribute in a novel and unique way to the inclusion of students with disabilities in science and technology-related programs and employment.

There are four aspects to the project:

  1. The development of a guidebook “Promoting Careers in Canada’s Science and Technology Sectors to Students and Recent Graduates with Disabilities: Success Stories, Best Practices and Resources”;
  2. The hosting of national conference workshop on “Education and Employment in Science and Technology for People with Disabilities" at the 2008 NEADS National Conference in Ottawa;
  3. Research and development of the concept of national science and technology fair for students with disabilities as an outreach tool to encourage participation and visibility of students with disabilities in the science and technology sector;
  4. The establishment of a network of stakeholders and existing organizations to examine the research findings in the guidebook and develop strategies for communication, dissemination and implementation of strategies to counter barriers faced by students with disabilities in the science and technology fields.

The National Educational Association of Disabled Students (NEADS) is a consumer-controlled, registered charitable organization with a mandate to encourage the self-empowerment of post-secondary students and graduates with disabilities in Canada. NEADS advocates for increased accessibility at all levels so that students with disabilities may gain equal access to a college or university education, which is the right of everyone. The Association also supports the successful transition of students and graduates with disabilities into employment within their chosen field.

Imperial Oil Limited has been contributing to communities across Canada for the past 126 years. Imperial Oil contributed more than $12 million to enhance the well-being of communities across Canada in 2006, building on a tradition of corporate giving that began with the company's inception in 1880. Supporting organizations where we live and work, the company emphasizes investment in education of math and sciences, environment, and civic and community programs where we have employees or business operations.

For more information, please contact the NEADS National Office:
National Educational Association of Disabled Students (NEADS)
Rm. 426 Unicentre, Carleton University
Ottawa, Ontario, K1S 5B6
tel. (613) 526-8008
www.neads.ca


Top

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2018, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.

NEADS Logo - Accueil
Trouvez-nous sur : Facebook YouTube

QuestionQuestion:
Est-ce qu’il y a une organisation qui représente tous les Canadiens et les Canadiennes ayant des déficiences?


Événements prochains

Voir d'autres événements

Autre site d'intérèt


Advertisement



Media

NEADS reçoit du financement pour un projet en sciences et technologies

Ottawa, le 29 janvier 2008: L’Association nationale des étudiant(e)s handicapé(e)s au niveau postsecondaire (NEADS) est heureuse d’annoncer la mise sur pied d’un programme de deux ans grâce à un accord de financement conclu avec la Fondation l’Impériale. Le programme « Accroître les opportunités offertes aux étudiants handicapés au niveau postsecondaire dans les domaines liés aux sciences et aux technologies » sera lancé en avril 2008 et prendra fin en mars 2010. NEADS recevra en tout 120 000 $ de la part de la Fondation pour mener à bien ce projet.

Bien qu’un grand nombre d’études aient été menées dans le but d’identifier les facteurs compromettant l’inclusion des étudiants aux programmes de sciences et technologies, très peu de recherches ont été réalisées afin de déterminer les difficultés et les défis auxquels font face les étudiants et les employés handicapés dans ces secteurs. De plus, la mise en valeur de modèles de rôle et d’exemples à suivre en sciences et en technologies n’est pas encouragée; chaque étudiant et chaque enseignant, chaque employé et chaque employeur pourrait croire qu’il est le premier à faire face à cette situation.

NEADS est dans une position privilégiée pour surmonter ces obstacles et aborder les problématiques touchant les personnes handicapées dans le milieu des sciences et technologies, et ce, en misant sur son vaste réseau formé de collèges et d’universités ainsi que d’étudiants et de nouveaux diplômés handicapés. Notre but n’est pas de « réinventer la roue » et de reprendre des recherches qui ont déjà été réalisées. Au lieu de cela, en nous centrant particulièrement sur les étudiants et les employés handicapés dans le secteur des sciences et des technologies et par l’établissement de partenariats, notamment avec des organisations qui font déjà de l’action sociale en sciences et technologies, nous espérons contribuer de façon novatrice et originale à ouvrir les portes des programmes et des emplois dans ces domaines aux étudiants handicapés.

Le projet comporte quatre aspects :

  1. L’élaboration d’un guide intitulé « La promotion de carrières dans les domaines de la science et de la technologie auprès des étudiants et des nouveaux diplômés handicapés : exemples à suivre, pratiques d’excellence et ressources »;
  2. L’organisation d’un atelier ayant pour titre « Éducation et emploi en sciences et technologies pour les handicapés » au cours de la Conférence nationale 2008 de NEADS qui aura lieu à Ottawa;
  3. De la recherche et du développement sur l’idée d’une foire nationale des sciences et des technologies pour les étudiants handicapés pour en faire un outil de diffusion visant à favoriser la participation des étudiants handicapés dans les domaines de la science et de la technologie;
  4. La mise en place d’un réseau d’intervenants et d’organisations pour qu’ils se penchent sur les résultats de la recherche pendant la préparation du guide et l’élaboration de stratégies de communication, de diffusion et de mise en œuvre de stratégies visant à abolir les obstacles auxquels font face les étudiants handicapés dans les divers champs de la science et de la technologie.

L’Association nationale des étudiant(e)s handicapé(e)s au niveau postsecondaire (NEADS) est une organisation dirigée par les consommateurs et un organisme de bienfaisance reconnu ayant pour mandat d’encourager la prise en charge de soi des étudiants au niveau postsecondaire et des nouveaux diplômés handicapés au Canada. NEADS préconise une plus grande accessibilité des étudiants handicapés à tous les niveaux, afin qu’ils aient accès en toute équité à une éducation collégiale ou universitaire, ce qui est le droit de tous les individus. L’Association appuie également la transition des étudiants et des nouveaux diplômés handicapés vers l’emploi dans leur domaine de spécialité.

La compagnie pétrolière Impériale ltée participe depuis 126 ans à la vie des collectivités partout au Canada. En 2006, elle a versé plus de douze millions de dollars pour contribuer à leur bien-être, poursuivant un mécénat d’entreprise qu’elle a institué dès sa fondation en 1880. L’Impériale appuie des organisations au sein desquelles nous vivons et travaillons, en privilégiant les investissements au titre de l’enseignement des mathématiques et des sciences, de l’environnement ainsi que des programmes municipaux et communautaires dans des secteurs où elle compte des employés et des activités commerciales.

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements, veuillez nous contacter à notre bureau national :
Association nationale des étudiant(e)s handicapé(e)s au niveau postsecondaire (NEADS)
Rm. 426 Unicentre, Carleton University
Ottawa, Ontario, K1S 5B6
Tél. (613) 526-8008
www.neads.ca


Haut

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2017, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.