NEADS Logo - Home
Find us on: Facebook YouTube

Learning Today - Leading Tomorrow

Conference Info

Sponsors

Schedule

Video Files

Workshops

Speakers

Contact Us

Sponsors

Guest Speakers

Jennifer Howard

The Honourable Jennifer Howard

Minister of Labour and Immigration
Minister charged with the administration of the Workers Compensation Act;
Minister responsible for the Status of Women and Persons with Disabilities

Appointed Minister of Labour and Immigration, Minister charged with the administration of the Workers Compensation Act; Minister responsible for The Status of Women and Persons with Disabilities on November 3, 2009.

Jennifer Howard is a well-known and credible advocate who has worked in the community and government on issues such as poverty, health care, neighbourhood safety and equality for women.

Jennifer is a life-long Manitoban – born and raised in Brandon where she graduated from Brandon University. She moved to Winnipeg in 1998. Previously she was the Executive Director of the Women’s Health Clinic - a non-profit community health centre dedicated to improving the health and well-being of girls and women. Jennifer has held positions with the Prairie Women’s Health Centre of Excellence and the Manitoba Action Committee on the Status of Women. She was also a policy advisor to Premier Gary Doer on health care issues.

Jennifer has served on the Boards of numerous organizations, including the College of Registered Nurses of Manitoba, the Canadian Centre for Policy Alternatives (Manitoba), the Rainbow Resource Centre and the University of Winnipeg. Jennifer was named a Woman of Distinction in 1999 by the Brandon YWCA. She has also received a Community Builder Award from LAMBDA, the gay and lesbian business and professional organization.

Jennifer is a keen reader, theatre-goer and singer with a community choir – the Rainbow Harmony Project.




Top

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2017, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.

NEADS Logo - Accueil
Trouvez-nous sur : Facebook YouTube

Apprendre aujourd’hui – diriger demain

Information sur la conférence

Commanditaires

Inscription

Horaire

Ateliers

Conférenciers

Élection

Nous joindreCommanditaires

Conférenciers invités

Jennifer Howard

Mme Jennifer Howard

Ministre du Travail et de l’Immigration
Ministre chargée de l’application de la Loi sur les accidents du travail
Ministre responsable des Personnes handicapées
Ministre responsable de la Condition féminine

Mme Howard est une porte-parole bien connue et digne de confiance qui a travaillé dans la communauté et au sein du gouvernement sur des questions touchant la pauvreté, les soins de santé, la sécurité dans les quartiers et l’égalité des femmes.

Mme Howard a vécu au Manitoba toute sa vie. Elle est née et a grandi à Brandon et a terminé ses études postsecondaires à l’Université de Brandon. Elle a déménagé à Winnipeg en 1998. Auparavant, elle occupait le poste de directrice générale de la Women’s Health Clinic, un centre de santé communautaire sans but lucratif consacré à l’amélioration de la santé et du bien-être des filles et des femmes. Elle a également exercé des fonctions au sein du Centre d’excellence pour la santé des femmes - région des Prairies, et du Manitoba Action Committee on the Status of Women. Mme Howard a aussi été conseillère en politiques pour les questions portant sur les soins de santé auprès du premier ministre M. Gary Doer.

Mme Howard a siégé au conseil d’administration de plusieurs organismes, notamment l’Ordre des infirmières et des infirmiers du Manitoba, le Centre canadien de politiques alternatives (section du Manitoba), le Rainbow Resource Centre et l’Université de Winnipeg. Le YM-YWCA de Brandon lui a décerné le titre de Femme de distinction en 1999. Elle a aussi reçu un prix de « Community Builder » (bâtisseuse de communauté) offert par LAMBDA, l’organisme regroupant des professionnels et gens d’affaires de la communauté gaie et lesbienne.

Mme Howard aime beaucoup lire, aller au théâtre et chanter avec la chorale communautaire – The Rainbow Harmony Project.




Haut

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2017, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.