NEADS Logo - Home
Find us on: Facebook YouTube

Learning Today - Leading Tomorrow

Conference Info

Sponsors

Schedule

Video Files

Workshops

Speakers

Contact Us

Sponsors

Guest Speakers

Stephen Fletcher

The Honourable Steven John Fletcher

Minister of State (Democratic Reform)
Charleswood–St. James–Assiniboia (Manitoba)

Steven Fletcher is the Minister of State for Democratic Reform. In his role as Minister he is responsible for Senate reform legislation, House of Commons seat distribution, the creation of a Canadian agency to promote democracy abroad and many other initiatives surrounding voter turn-out and Canadian democracy. Steven is one of five Ministers who serve on the Treasury Board cabinet committee.

Fletcher was first elected to the House of Commons in 2004 in the west Winnipeg federal riding of Charleswood St. James Assiniboia. He was re-elected in 2006 and 2008 with increasing margins. In the 2008 election he won with 54% of the vote or over 13,000 vote plurality.

Fletcher has also been inducted into the Terry Fox Hall of Fame, he has received the King Clancy Award and he is also the recipient of her Majesty's Golden Jubilee Medal for his contributions to Canada. Fletcher is also a recipient of the Champions of Mental Health award for his work in raising awareness for Mental Health.

Prior to his election, Mr. Fletcher worked as an engineer in the Mining Industry until an automobile collision with a moose, left him a quadriplegic, paralyzed from the neck down. He returned to University where he obtained a Master's in Business Administration (MBA). He was elected for two terms as the president of the student body at the University of Manitoba (UMSU). He also served two terms on the University of Manitoba Board of Governors and as a member of the Board of Directors of the Canadian Alliance of Student Associations (CASA). Mr. Fletcher was twice elected the President of the Progressive Conservative Party of Manitoba and has played a leading role in many community organizations




Top

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2017, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.

NEADS Logo - Accueil
Trouvez-nous sur : Facebook YouTube

Apprendre aujourd’hui – diriger demain

Information sur la conférence

Commanditaires

Inscription

Horaire

Ateliers

Conférenciers

Élection

Nous joindreCommanditaires

Conférenciers invités

Stephen Fletcher

L'honorable Steven John Fletcher

Ministre d’État (Réforme démocratique)
Charleswood–St. James–Assiniboia (Manitoba)

À titre de ministre d’État (Réforme démocratique), Steven Fletcher est responsable des projets de loi de réforme du Sénat, de la répartition des sièges à la Chambre des communes, de la création d’une agence canadienne de promotion de la démocratie à l’étranger et de plusieurs autres initiatives entourant la participation électorale et la démocratie canadienne. Il est l’un des cinq ministres membres du Comité du Cabinet sur le Conseil du Trésor.

Fletcher a été élu pour la première fois aux Communes en 2004 dans la circonscription de Charleswood—St. James—Assiniboia dans l’ouest de Winnipeg. Il a été réélu en 2006 et 2008 avec toujours plus de voix. En 2008, il a recueilli 54 % des suffrages avec une marge de plus de 13 000 voix.

Fletcher a été intronisé au Temple de la renommée Terry Fox et a reçu le prix King Clancy et la Médaille du Jubilé de Sa Majesté pour ses contributions au Canada. Il est aussi lauréat du prix des Champions de la santé mentale pour son travail de sensibilisation à la santé mentale.

Avant son élection, M. Fletcher a travaillé comme ingénieur dans l’industrie minière jusqu’à ce qu’une collision avec un orignal le laisse paraplégique, paralysé du cou aux pieds. Retourné à l’université, il a obtenu une maîtrise en administration des affaires (MBA). Il a été élu à deux reprises président de l’association étudiante de l’Université du Manitoba. Il a aussi rempli deux mandats au bureau des gouverneurs de l’Université du Manitoba et au conseil d’administration de l’Alliance canadienne des associations étudiantes. Il a été élu deux fois président du Parti progressiste-conservateur du Manitoba et a joué un rôle de premier plan au sein de nombreux organismes communautaires.




Haut

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2017, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.